DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakada (JP 2008225006A).
In Re claim 1, ‘006 teaches a pitch conversion device comprising: a main body portion (4) configured to allow an optical fiber to be arranged thereon; and a turning portion (2) configured to be attached to the main body portion, wherein the turning portion includes a first holding portion (21a) configured to hold a plurality of the optical fibers at a first pitch (P1), and a second holding portion (21b) configured to hold a plurality of the optical fibers at a second pitch (P2), the turning portion rotates around an axis passing through an inside thereof in a state of being attached to the main body portion (par. 0018), and a position at which the optical fibers are held is changeable to the first holding portion or the second holding portion depending on a rotation angle of the turning portion (as the turning portion rotates the lateral positions of the fibers change, figs. 1 and 4).
In Re claim 2, ‘006 teaches a contact portion (23) attached to at least one of the main body portion and the turning portion, wherein the contact portion is arranged at a position facing the first holding portion or the second holding portion (fig. 1), and the contact portion is contactable with the optical fibers such that a holding state of the optical fibers held by the first holding portion or the second holding portion is maintained (par. 0021).
In Re claim 4, ‘006 teaches wherein the main body portion includes a first arrangement portion (groove in 4) having a width corresponding to the first holding portion and a second arrangement portion (groove in 6) having a width corresponding to the second holding portion, and the first holding portion or the second holding portion is arranged between the first arrangement portion and the second arrangement portion (fig. 8).
In Re claim 5, ‘006 teaches wherein the turning portion has an outer circumferential surface having a circular cross section (par. 0021, fig. 1), the first holding portion and the second holding portion are arranged on the outer circumferential surface of the turning portion (fig. 1), the first holding portion is provided with a plurality of grooves at a first pitch, and the second holding portion is provided with a plurality of grooves at a second pitch (figs. 1 and 4).
In Re claim 6, ‘006 teaches wherein a plurality of grooves (21c) having a pitch of an intermediate value between a value of the first pitch and a value of the second pitch are provided between the first holding portion and the second holding portion in a circumferential direction of the turning portion (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP 2008225006A) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent # 5,611,017).
‘006 teaches the device of claim 1 but is silent to a roller member as claimed.
‘017 teaches two roller members (36 and 38) that cooperate to secure optical fibers (30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact portion (23) of ‘006 to make it a roller such as that of 36 or 38 of ‘017 as a means to secure the optical fibers onto the turning portion with minimal resistance thus allowing for minimal stress on the optical fibers as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874