DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious the contact portion being a roller as claimed in claim 3 or a cutout portion as claimed in claim 7. The closest relevant prior art of record, Nakada (JP 2008225006A), teaches that contact portion is a block as seen in fig. 8 and that the lid portion 51 does not have a cutout portion that surrounds the contact portion as claimed. Thus, with no teaching from the prior art, and without the benefit of applicant's teachings, there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine/modify the prior art of record in a manner so as to create the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a reinterpretation of the structures as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakada (JP 2008225006A).
In Re claim 1, ‘006 teaches a pitch conversion device comprising: a main body portion (4) configured to allow an optical fiber to be arranged thereon and including a base portion (base of 1B) and a lid portion (51) disposed to cover a part (its over base 1B at 5) of the base portion;
a turning portion (2) attached to the base portion; and
a contact portion (5) rotatably attached (via hinge 50 with respect to lid 51) to the lid portion, wherein the turning portion includes a first holding portion (21a) configured to hold a plurality of the optical fibers at a first pitch (P1), and a second holding portion (21b) configured to hold a plurality of the optical fibers at a second pitch (P2), the turning portion rotates around an axis passing through an inside thereof in a state of being attached to the main body portion (par. 0018), and a position at which the optical fibers are held is changeable to the first holding portion or the second holding portion depending on a rotation angle of the turning portion (as the turning portion rotates the lateral positions of the fibers change, figs. 1 and 4).
In Re claim 2, ‘006 teaches wherein the contact portion is arranged at a position facing (the far side of 5 in fig. 8) the first holding portion or the second holding portion (fig. 1), and the contact portion is contactable (in the groove of 5) with the optical fibers such that a holding state of the optical fibers held by the first holding portion or the second holding portion is maintained.
In Re claim 4, ‘006 teaches wherein the main body portion includes a first arrangement portion (groove in 4) having a width corresponding to the first holding portion and a second arrangement portion (groove in 5) having a width corresponding to the second holding portion, and the first holding portion or the second holding portion is arranged between the first arrangement portion and the second arrangement portion (fig. 8).
In Re claim 5, ‘006 teaches wherein the turning portion has an outer circumferential surface having a circular cross section (par. 0021, fig. 1), the first holding portion and the second holding portion are arranged on the outer circumferential surface of the turning portion (fig. 1), the first holding portion is provided with a plurality of grooves at a first pitch, and the second holding portion is provided with a plurality of grooves at a second pitch (figs. 1 and 4).
In Re claim 6, ‘006 teaches wherein a plurality of grooves (21c) having a pitch of an intermediate value between a value of the first pitch and a value of the second pitch are provided between the first holding portion and the second holding portion in a circumferential direction of the turning portion (fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874