DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 14, 15, 17 and 32 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 14, 15, 17 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang et al. (US 20190241530) in view of Timmins et al. (Formulation technology can enable Oral Delivery of New Generation Medicines For Inflammatory Bowel Disease) and further in view of yang et al. (US 20160287525), Liu (US 20200241009) and Chow et al. (WO 2007117314 Submitted by the applicant)).
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 14, 15 and 32 are drawn to a delayed-release pharmaceutical composition comprising
ozanimod or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, one or more controlled release substances,
and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the controlled release substance
comprises one or more of pH dependent polymers and pH independent polymers. Claim 17 is drawn to a method of treating irritable bowel disease using the composition of claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, Shang teaches Ozanimod is a selective sphingosine-1-phosphate (S1P) receptor modulator, used for treatment for autoimmune diseases. See Para [0002]. The treatment of ulcerative colitis is taught in claim 18. Shang does not teach a controlled release ozanimod composition. Timmins teaches a delivery systems that aim to target drugs to the inflamed intestinal tissue for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease. Ozanimod is taught as one of such agents. The use of slow release swellable polymers is taught in table 3. The use of a pH sensitive polymer and the addition of a second polymer is also taught as a targeting approach for Lower GI tract. See Table 3.
Regarding claim 2, Shang and Timmins do not teach the release rate of ozanimod at the pH of 5-7.5. However, Yang et al. teach a controlled release oral pharmaceutical composition for delivering active pharmaceutical ingredients to the colon. See Par [0002]. Yang teaches that dissolution rate of less than about 2% to about 20% dissolution at pH 1.2 after about 60 minutes to about 300 minutes; less than about 2% to about 20% dissolution at pH 4.5 after about 60 minutes to about 300 minutes; or at least about a 50% in vitro dissolution rate at pH 7.2 after about 60 minutes to about 480 minutes. See Para [0021].
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the hydrophilic polymer are cellulose derivatives, such as hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose and methacrylate copolymer in a delayed release composition for delivery of active ingredients to the colon. See Claims 15 and 19. Chow teaches that Acrylate and methacrylate are taught to be pH dependent. See Para [0022].
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the use of polyvinylpyrrolidone and polyvinyl acetate in a delayed release composition for delivery of active ingredients to the colon. See claim 18. Chow teaches that that Polyvinyl acetate is pH independent. See Para [0036].
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the use of the excipient in the delayed release composition. See Para [0116]. Shang teaches the specific excipients, such as lubricants and disintegrants. See Para [0105].
Regarding claim 7, Shang teaches the use of ozanimod in the form of tablets, capsules and powder. See Para [0106].
Regarding Claim 8, yang teaches a controlled release matrix for delivering drugs used for treating irritable bowel disease. See the abstract, claims 1 and 40.
Regarding claim 14, Shang teaches Ozanimod is a selective sphingosine-1-phosphate (S1P) receptor modulator, used for treatment for autoimmune diseases. See Para [0002]. The treatment of ulcerative colitis is taught in claim 18. Liu teaches a composition for the treatment of irritable bowel disease with a sphingosine-1-phosphate receptor agonist agent. See the abstract. The use of ozanimod as sphingosine-1-phosphate receptor agonist agent is taught in claim 13. Shang does not teach a controlled release ozanimod composition. Timmins teaches a delivery systems that aim to target drugs to the inflamed intestinal tissue for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease. Ozanimod is taught as one of such agents. The slow release swellable polymers for oral administration are taught in table 3. The use of a pH sensitive polymer and the addition of a second polymer is also taught as a targeting approach for Lower GI tract. See Table 3. Shang and Timmins do not teach the release rate of ozanimod at the pH of 5-7.5. However, Yang et al. teach a controlled release oral pharmaceutical composition for delivering active pharmaceutical ingredients to the colon. See Par [002]. Yang teaches that dissolution rate of less than about 2% to about 20% dissolution at pH 1.2 after about 60 minutes to about 300 minutes; less than about 2% to about 20% dissolution at pH 4.5 after about 60 minutes to about 300 minutes; or at least about a 50% in vitro dissolution rate at pH 7.2 after about 60 minutes to about 480 minutes. See Para [0021].
Regarding Claim 15, Yang teaches the hydrophilic polymer are cellulose derivatives, such as hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose and methacrylate copolymer. See Claims 15 and 19. Yang also teaches the use of polyvinylpyrrolidone and polyvinyl acetate in claim 18.
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches a composition for the treatment of irritable bowel disease with a sphingosine-1-phosphate receptor agonist agent. See the abstract. The use of ozanimod as sphingosine-1-phosphate receptor agonist agent is taught in claim 13.
Regarding Claim 32, Sheng does not teach , wherein the delayed release composition is coated on a core. However, Chow teaches long-lasting sustained dosage compositions, and carriers and active ingredients in the compositions thereof, such as controlled release and extended release drug compositions for oral controlled release dosage formulations containing a drug and a carrier material. See Para [0001]. pharmaceutical composition includes one or more aqueous polymeric colloidal dispersions adapted to coat a drug-containing core. See Para [0007]. Chow teaches The coating may include a surfactant and an aqueous dispersion of one or more insoluble pharmaceutical acceptable polymers, which may be one or more pH-independent and pH-dependent polymers. See Para [0008]. Acrylate and methacrylate are taught to be pH dependent. See Para [0022]. Polyvinyl acetate is taught as pH independent. See Para [0036]. Hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate is taught in claim 12. Chow makes clear that the use a core and polymers in a pharmaceutical delayed release composition is old and well know.
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617