DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification filed 01/12/2024 has text that is not solid black and is difficult to read. Examiner respectfully requests that applicant upload a new Specification with solid black lettering with any subsequent Response.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Talebi Fard (US 2022/0353799 A1).
Talebi Fard is directed to the same field of invention as the instant claims, namely path reselection between a remote UE, one or more relay UEs, and a network device based at least in part on signal strength measured at the remote UE. See, for example, Fig. 23 recreated below.
Regarding Claim 1, Talebi Fard teaches the below limitation(s):
a plurality of end wireless devices that include an antenna, a first processor and a first storage medium having first computer program instructions stored thereon (Talebi Fard Fig 20-22 teaches at least two remote UEs (i.e. end wireless devices) that are connected to the network via at least one relay device (i.e. transfer device); Fig 3 wireless device/UE 100 comprises processor 318, memory 326 (i.e. storage medium), and communication interface(s) 320 (i.e. antenna(s))), and
transmit and receive signals to and from a wireless terminal which is a communication target (Fig 25-27 RAN is in wireless communication with Relay UE1, Relay U2, and Remote UE (i.e. wireless terminal));
a plurality of transfer devices that transfer signals which are transmitted and received by the wireless terminal which is a communication target and the end wireless device (Fig 14, Fig 23-25 and [0303] teaches one or more first devices (relay UEs, UE-to-network relay UEs, and/or the like), which examiner is interpreting as the claimed "transfer device"); and
a transfer management device that includes a second processor and a second storage medium having second computer program instructions stored thereon (Fig 3 base station 105 (i.e. transfer management device) comprising processor 344, memory 346 (i.e. storage medium) and communication interface(s) 342 (i.e. antenna(s))), wherein the second computer program instruction, when executed by the second processor, perform processing of:
executing a transfer route control process of controlling paths between the plurality of transfer devices on the basis of the received communication status information, in a case where communication status information indicating a status of communication between the wireless terminal and the end wireless devices is received (Fig 24 wherein UE1 selects a relay UE (i.e. path selection/switching) based on access status info [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength (i.e. a status of communication)),
wherein the first computer program instruction, when executed by the first processor, perform processing of:
executing a switching process of controlling operations of the end wireless devices relating to communication between the end wireless devices and the wireless terminal on the basis of the communication status information (Fig 24 wherein UE1 (i.e. remote UE i.e. wireless terminal) selects a relay UE based on access status info (e.g. communication status); [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength (i.e. a status of communication)), and
the second processor receives the communication status information before the switching process is completed (Fig 24 UE3 (i.e. relay UE i.e. transfer device) transmits response message comprising access information to UE1 prior to relay selection).
Regarding Claim 2, Talebi Fard teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Talebi Fard further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the communication status information received by the end wireless devices indicates a terminal signal strength which is a strength of a signal received by the wireless terminal and transmitted from the antenna (Talebi Fard [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength (i.e. a status of communication)).
Regarding Claim 3, Talebi Fard teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 2.
Talebi Fard further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the communication status information received by the transfer management device indicates a terminal signal strength which is a strength of a signal received by the wireless terminal and transmitted from the antenna (Talebi Fard [0274] UE may detect that signal strength is not sufficient to connect to the network and perform a relay selection/path switching procedure in response; [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength (i.e. a status of communication)).
Regarding Claim 4, Talebi Fard teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 3.
Talebi Fard further teaches the below limitation(s):
determining whether the switching process is executed on the basis of the terminal signal strength (Talebi Fard [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength; see also [0274]).
Regarding Claim 5, Talebi Fard teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 2.
Talebi Fard further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the communication status information received by the transfer management device is information obtained on the basis of the terminal signal strength (Talebi Fard [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength).
Regarding Claim 6, Talebi Fard teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 5.
Talebi Fard further teaches the below limitation(s):
determining whether the switching process is executed on the basis of the terminal signal strength (Talebi Fard [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength), and
the information obtained on the basis of the terminal signal strength is a result of the end wireless device determining whether the switching process is executed on the basis of the terminal signal strength ([0274] UE may detect that signal strength is not sufficient to connect to the network and perform a relay selection/path switching procedure in response).
Regarding Claim 7, Talebi Fard teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Talebi Fard further teaches the below limitation(s):
acquiring the communication status information obtained by the end wireless devices by being transferred by a base station management device that manages the end wireless devices (Talebi Fard Fig 27 wherein Remote UE (wireless device) communicates with Relay UE to obtain access status and perform path reselection to communicate with RAN1 (i.e. base station), wherein examiner is interpreting the Relay UE of Fig 27 as a "base station management device" because it manages connection between the Remote UE and base station RAN1).
Regarding Claim 8, Talebi Fard teaches the below limitation(s):
a plurality of end wireless devices that include an antenna, a first processor and a first storage medium having first computer program instructions stored thereon (Talebi Fard Fig 20-22 teaches at least two remote UEs (i.e. end wireless devices) that are connected to the network via at least one relay device (i.e. transfer device); Fig 3 wireless device/UE 100 comprises processor 318, memory 326 (i.e. storage medium), and communication interface(s) 320 (i.e. antenna(s))), and
transmit and receive signals to and from a wireless terminal which is a communication target (Fig 25-27 RAN is in wireless communication with Relay UE1, Relay U2, and Remote UE (i.e. wireless terminal));
a plurality of transfer devices that transfer signals which are transmitted and received by the wireless terminal which is a communication target and the end wireless device (Fig 14, Fig 23-25 and [0303] teaches one or more first devices (relay UEs, UE-to-network relay UEs, and/or the like), which examiner is interpreting as the claimed "transfer device"); and
a transfer management device that includes a second processor and a second storage medium having second computer program instructions stored thereon (Fig 3 base station 105 (i.e. transfer management device) comprising processor 344, memory 346 (i.e. storage medium) and communication interface(s) 342 (i.e. antenna(s))), wherein the second computer program instruction, when executed by the second processor, perform processing of:
executing a transfer route control process of controlling paths between the plurality of transfer devices on the basis of the received communication status information (Fig 24 wherein UE1 selects a relay UE (i.e. path selection/switching) based on access status info [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength (i.e. a status of communication); [0303] remote UE (i.e. end wireless device) may determine to switch path from Uu to relay path e.g. due to signal strength (i.e. a status of communication)),
in a case where communication status information indicating a status of communication between the wireless terminal and the end wireless devices is received, the method comprising:
the first processor executing a switching process of controlling operations of the end wireless devices relating to communication between the end wireless devices and the wireless terminal on the basis of the communication status information (Fig 24 wherein UE1 (i.e. remote UE i.e. wireless terminal) selects a relay UE based on access status info (e.g. communication status)); and
the second processor receiving the communication status information before the switching process is completed (Fig 24 UE3 (i.e. relay UE i.e. transfer device) transmits response message comprising access information to UE1 prior to relay selection).
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412