DETAILED ACTION
This action is FINAL.
Claim Status
Claims 1-42 are pending.
Claims 25, 31-34, and 36-42 are examined herein.
Claims 1-24, 26-30, and 35 are withdrawn (see restriction/election in the previous office action).
Priority
This application is filed 1/12/2024 and claims the benefit of domestic priority as below:
Information Disclosure Statements
One IDS(s) received on 4/2/2026 has been considered unless marked with a strikethrough. No new IDS(s) have been provided since the last office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed on 08/05/2026, and in the amendments, claims 1, 3-13, 16-17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 28-38, 40 and 41 are currently amended, and claim 42 is newly added. No new matter has been added to the application.
With respect to the objection of claims, the amendments and arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection of claims has been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection of claims 25, and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 102, the arguments/ amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of the claims 25, and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection of claim 40 under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant has amended the claim 40 to remove Compound 41 as an alternative species of the previous action. Accordingly, the previous rejection of the claim 40 under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been withdrawn. The Examiner conducted an additional prior art search directed to the other alternative species encompassed by amended claim 40. Accordingly, a new ground of rejection under 35 USC 102 is set forth below with respect to claim 40 based on the additional search.
New Ground of Rejections
Claim Interpretation
Claims are interpreted in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard
consistent with the specification (See MPEP 2111). The product claims are interpreted to cover the compound per se. Any statement of use does not distinguish the claimed product from an otherwise identical prior art product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by commercial chemical databases (e.g., Chemical Abstracts Service RN: 1340967-08-9, REGISTRY Database, STN International, CAS, Columbus, Ohio, USA, entered STN database on 11/04/2011).
With respect to claim 40, the claim recites the compound 2 in the table. The commercial chemical databases (e.g., Chemical Abstracts Service) disclose the compound 2.
Compound 2 in claim 40 RN: 1340967-08-9
As the claim interpretation, the product claims are interpreted to cover the compound per se. Moreover, although the prior art reference does not explicitly disclose the functional property for the instant application, the prior art compound is structurally identical to the claimed compound. A prior art compound that is structurally identical to the claimed compound is presumed to possess the same inherent properties as the claimed compound. The discovery of a previously unrecognized property of a prior art compound does not render the old compound patentable. (See MPEP 2112)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the calculated physicochemical properties of commercial chemical databases (e.g., Chemical Abstracts Service RN: 1340967-08-9, REGISTRY Database, STN International, CAS, Columbus, Ohio, USA, entered STN database on 11/04/2011) in view of Lowery et al. (WO 2020/142729 A1, pub'd 07/09/2020).
With respect to claim 42, the claim recites that a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to claim 40 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
The commercial chemical databases (e.g., Chemical Abstracts Service) disclose a compound (i.e., RN: 1340967-08-9) falling within the scope of claim 40, as discussed above. The calculated physicochemical properties of the compound include LogP = 1.058 at 25oC, Log D = 1.058 at pH 7.4 25oC, pKa = 16.172±0.30 in acidic and 2.000±0.40 in base at 25oC, and predicted aqueous solubility = 0.0032 mol/L (i.e., 3.2 mM) in unbuffered water at pH 7.041. The predicted aqueous solubility and relatively low LogP and LogD values indicate that the compound has measurable aqueous solubility and relatively low lipophilicity. These properties suggest that conventional pharmaceutical carriers could be considered for preparing a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound, without necessarily requiring specialized solubility agents.
However, the calculated physicochemical properties of the compound fail to teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Lowery teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising cGAS inhibitors and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, solvents, adjuvants or diluents (paragraph [0050]-[0053]). Lowery further teaches methods for preparing pharmaceutical formulations, including tablets, capsules, and aqueous suspensions using suitable pharmaceutically acceptable excipients as conventional formulation approaches (paragraph [0054]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to formulate the compound with a conventional pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, as taught by Lowery, for the purpose of preparing a pharmaceutical composition using known formulation techniques. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to formulate the compound with a conventional pharmaceutically acceptable carrier in view of its calculated physicochemical properties, including its predicted aqueous solubility of 3.2 mM and relatively low LogP and LogD values, which suggest that the compound would be amenable to conventional pharmaceutical formulation techniques. Lowery teaches that pharmaceutical compositions can be prepared using conventional pharmaceutically acceptable carriers and excipients. (paragraph [0050]-[0059]). A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully preparing a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and a conventional pharmaceutically acceptable carrier using known formulation techniques, because the calculated physicochemical properties of the compound suggest that conventional carriers could be used without necessarily requiring specialized solubilizing agents. Accordingly, the combination of the compound with a conventional pharmaceutically acceptable carrier would have been expected to yield a pharmaceutical composition using known formulation method. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
Claim 40, and 42 are rejected.
Claims 25, 31-34, 36-39, and 41 are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEONG JONG KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621