DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on December 19, 2025. Claim(s) 1, 5 and 8 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. Claim(s) 3 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 5 and 8 filed on December 19, 2025. The cancellation of the terms in question have been fully accepted, thus the drawing objections set forth in the previous office action are withdrawn.
The applicant’s amendments to claim 1 are sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims, as presented in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, which previously indicated the claims as being anticipated by Ku (US PG Pub No. 20170036648).
The applicant’s amendments to claim 8 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection which previously indicated the claim as being obvious in view of Ku and Hackl et al. (US PG Pub No. 20170210348).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US PG Pub No. 20150020341) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub No. 20140189974).
In regards to claim 1, Huang discloses
a windscreen wiper (windshield wiper blade 9, fig. 2-7) of a vehicle, comprising:
a longitudinal wiper blade (soft rubber strip 5, fig. 2, 5-7);
a longitudinal streamlined fairing including a central mounting (main cover 1, fig. 2-4) and an end cap (auxiliary covers 3, fig. 2-4) disposed at a distal end of the central mounting (see fig. 2 - ann. 1);
an adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4) fixed to the central mounting (main cover 1, fig. 2-4) at a distal end thereof (see fig. 4 - ann. 1);
the adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4) including a central web (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) and two legs (first pressing members 22, fig. 3-4) extending substantially perpendicular from opposing edges of the central web, the end cap (auxiliary covers 3, fig. 2-4) being articulated to the adapter element ([0036]: cover pivotal portion is pivotably connected to auxiliary cover 3); and
a retention means including
a first portion formed in the adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4) and engaging a complementary second portion (second abutment members 123, see fig. 3 - ann. 1) that extends from a lower surface of the central mounting;
wherein the first portion of the retention means includes a tongue (at least one second pressing member 22, fig. 3-4) extending from the central web (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) of the adapter element at a longitudinal extremity thereof (see fig. 3 and 4, pressing member 22 is at the end of the adapter element); and
wherein the second portion (second abutment members 123, see fig. 3 - ann. 1) of the retention means includes a pair of opposed lateral faces (see fig. 3/4 - ann. 1) disposed on the lower surface of the central mounting, said opposed lateral faces being engaged by the first portion of the retention means (see fig. 3/4 - ann. 1).
Huang fails to disclose that a locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4) that is “tapered” extends from the central mounting (main cover 1, fig. 2-4). Further Huang fails to disclose the locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4) having “a cross-section that is cruciform in shape.”
However, Yang, which also discloses an automobile wiper assembly teaches a locating pin with cruciform shape and tapers towards the distal end away from the central mounting it elevates from (see fig. 11, square bump 41c with ridges on sides giving it a cruciform shape):
Given cruciform shape locating pins (as shown by Yang) are known within the art, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the connector of Reynolds with regards to a desired shape (in this case, cruciform tapering towards an end), since such modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04_IV_B)
In regards to claim 2, Huang as modified discloses
the windscreen wiper according to claim 1, wherein the tongue (at least one second pressing member 22, fig. 3-4) extends in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central web (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) of the adapter element (extends vertically).
In regards to claim 5, Huang as modified discloses
the windscreen wiper of claim 1, wherein the locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4 as modified by Yang teaching) engages a complementary structure (snapping through-hole 241) formed in the adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4).
In regards to claim 6, Huang as modified discloses
the windscreen wiper of claim 5, wherein the locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4 as modified by Yang teaching) has a cross-section having a substantially circular or cruciform shape (see rejection in claim 1 regarding cruciform cross-section).
In regards to claim 7, Huang as modified discloses
the windscreen wiper according to claim 5, wherein the locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4) is tapered in a direction extending from said central mounting towards a distal end of said locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4 as modified by Yang teaching).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US PG Pub No. 20150020341) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub No. 20140189974) and Hackl et al. (US PG Pub No. 20170210348).
In regards to claim 8, Huang discloses
a windscreen wiper system, comprising:
a windscreen wiper (windshield wiper blade 9, fig. 2-7) of a vehicle, comprising:
a longitudinal wiper blade (soft rubber strip 5, fig. 2, 5-7);
a longitudinal streamlined fairing including a central mounting (main cover 1, fig. 2-4) and an end cap (auxiliary covers 3, fig. 2-4) disposed at a distal end of the central mounting (see fig. 2 - ann. 1);
an adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4) fixed to the central mounting at a distal end thereof (see fig. 4 - ann. 1); the adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4) including a central web (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) and two legs (first pressing members 22, fig. 3-4) extending substantially perpendicular from opposing edges of the central web, the end cap (auxiliary covers 3, fig. 2-4) being articulated to the adapter element ([0036]); and
a retention means including
a first portion formed in the adapter element (fixing seat 2, fig. 3-4) and engaging a complementary second portion (second abutment members 123, see fig. 3 - ann. 1) that extends from a lower surface of the central mounting;
wherein the first portion of the retention means includes a tongue (at least one second pressing member 22, fig. 3-4) extending from the central web (see fig. 3 - ann. 1) of the adapter element at a longitudinal extremity thereof; and
wherein the second portion (second abutment members 123, see fig. 3 - ann. 1) of the retention means includes a pair of opposed lateral faces (see fig. 3/4 - ann. 1) disposed on the lower surface of the central mounting, said opposed lateral faces being engaged by the first portion of the retention means (see fig. 3/4 - ann. 1).
Huang fails to disclose “a drive motor” configured to drive the wiper arm in a reciprocating motion. Hackl, which discloses a windscreen wiper device system for a vehicle discloses:
[0002] Windscreen wiper devices typically have a wiper arm or wiper lever wherein a wiper blade is moved over the windscreen of a motor vehicle. The wiper blade is moved between a first turning position and a second turning position. For this purpose the wiper arm is connected to a wiper motor via the drive shaft…
Huang and Hackl are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of windshield wiper systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the windshield wiper of Huang with the wiper motor of Hackl to produce a wiper system that moves the blade between two positions, as the prior art included each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
Huang fails to disclose that a locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4) that is “tapered” extends from the central mounting (main cover 1, fig. 2-4). Further Huang fails to disclose the locating pin (at least one engagement member 124, fig. 3-4) having “a cross-section that is cruciform in shape.”
However, Yang, which also discloses an automobile wiper assembly teaches a locating pin with cruciform shape and tapers towards the distal end away from the central mounting it elevates from (see fig. 11, square bump 41c with ridges on sides giving it a cruciform shape):
Given cruciform shape locating pins (as shown by Yang) are known within the art, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the connector of Reynolds with regards to a desired shape (in this case, cruciform tapering towards an end), since such modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04_IV_B)
In regards to claim 9, Huang as modified discloses
a vehicle (motor vehicle as taught in [0002] of Hackl) comprising [[a]]the windscreen wiper system according to claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 4, Huang as modified discloses
the windscreen wiper of claim 1, but fails to disclose the retention means further includes a “transverse face disposed on the lower surface of the central mounting, said transverse face being engaged” by the tongue (at least one second pressing member 22, fig. 3-4).
The tongue is part of the first portion of the engagement means, and disposed at a distal end of the adapter element. The second pressing members (22) of Huang are positioned at the top of the adapter element. They fail to meet the requirement of engaging with a transverse face on the lower surface of the central mounting.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723