DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the core and shell of claims 12 and 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the patterned electrode". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is the multiple patterned electrodes of claim 1, or just a single electrode of the array of electrodes. For purposes of examination the claim is being interpreted as “the patterned electrodes”.
Claim 13 states that the nanofibers are disposed around the core. It is unclear how the nanofibers can be disposed around the core when claim 12 states that the elements of the device are configured “in a core with a shell”.
In regards to claim 15, it is unclear how “thickness” of the nanofibers is different from the diameter of the nanofibers in paragraph 0015 of the provided specification.
The term “approximately” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how close to 50 μm the thickness of the nanofibers needs to be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai).
In regards to claim 1 Wang teaches a system comprising:
piezoelectric nanofibers ([0008]);
an encapsulation polymer, wherein the encapsulation polymer is configured to fill voids between the piezoelectric nanofibers ([0008] polydimethylsiloxane);
and patterned electrodes in an array, wherein the system has a thickness from 5 μm to 1 mm ([0008-0009]).
In regards to claim 7 Wang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the encapsulation polymer is polydimethylsiloxane or parylene ([0007]).
In regards to claim 8 Wang teaches the system of claim 1. Wang teaches that the polymer and fibers are mixed together in the layer ([0008]). Inherently 100% of the voids would be filled with the polymer if the entire layer is made up of fibers encased in the polymer.
In regards to claim 11 Wang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric nanofibers, the encapsulation polymer, and the patterned electrode are disposed on a substrate ([0008] flexible substrate).
In regards to claim 16 Wang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric nanofibers have a diameter from 10 nm to 10 μm ([0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10-11, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuh (Self-Powered Pressure Sensor with fully encapsulated 3D printed wavy substrate and highly-aligned piezoelectric fibers array) in view of Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai).
In regards to claim 1 Fuh teaches a system comprising:
piezoelectric nanofibers (Figure 1 PVDF fibers);
an encapsulation polymer, wherein the encapsulation polymer is configured to fill voids between the piezoelectric nanofibers (Fig 1 PDMS);
and patterned electrodes in an array (Page 6 Paragraph 2 Patterned electrodes),
Fuh fails to teach a system that has a thickness from 5 μm to 1 mm. Wang teaches piezoelectric fibers on a substrate with a thickness of 1mm ([0008-0009]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the system of Fuh 1mm thick like the device of Wang. Doing so would merely be a mere change in size.
In regards to claim 7 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the encapsulation polymer is polydimethylsiloxane or parylene (Fig 1 PDMS).
In regards to claim 10 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system is flexible (Abstract). Modified Fuh does not teach a Young's modulus from 360 kPa to 870 kPa. It is noted that Applicant has not disclosed in the specification that the Young's modulus provides an advantage or unexpected result. As such, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to determine an optimum Young's modulus of Fuh. Furthermore, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 11 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric nanofibers, the encapsulation polymer, and the patterned electrode are disposed on a substrate (Figure 1 TPE substrate).
In regards to claim 14 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh does not teach a system wherein the encapsulation polymer has a thickness from 10 μm to 25 μm. It is noted that Applicant has not disclosed in the specification that the encapsulation polymer thickness provides an advantage or unexpected result. As such, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to determine an optimum encapsulation polymer thickness of Fuh. Furthermore, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 15 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh does not teach a system wherein the piezoelectric nanofibers have a thickness of approximately 50 μm and the encapsulation polymer has a thickness on either side of the piezoelectric nanofibers of 15 μm. It is noted that Applicant has not disclosed in the specification that the nanofiber thickness encapsulation polymer thickness provides an advantage or unexpected result. As such, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to determine an optimum nanofiber thickness and encapsulation polymer thickness of Fuh. Furthermore, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 16 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric nanofibers have a diameter from 10 nm to 10 μm (Page 2 “diameter range of NMFs are found to be between 1 and 5 μm”).
In regards to claim 18, modified Fuh teaches a method of measuring pressure applied to the system using the system of claim 1, wherein an applied pressure produces a strain in the piezoelectric nanofibers thereby producing a charge that is processed (Figures 3 and 5 and Page 6 paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuh (Self-Powered Pressure Sensor with fully encapsulated 3D printed wavy substrate and highly-aligned piezoelectric fibers array) in view of Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hsu (US 20200330002 A1) .
In regards to claim 2, modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh fails to teach a system further comprising a processor in electronic communication with the patterned electrodes. Hsu teaches a processor in electronic communication with a piezoelectric patch sensor in order to interpret the piezoelectric signal and determine muscle movement ([0013] [0045] [0061]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Fuh to include a processor like Hsu in order to interpret the piezoelectric signal of the device as muscle movement.
In regards to claim 3, modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh fails to teach a system comprising a wireless data transmission system in electronic communication with the patterned electrodes. Hsu teaches wireless connection between a piezoelectric patch to a host processor ([0016] [0061]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Fuh to include a wireless data transmitter and a processor like Hsu in order to interpret the piezoelectric signal of the device as muscle movement.
In regards to claim 4, modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh fails to teach a system comprising piezoelectric nanofibers that are poly(vinylidene fluoride- cotrifluoroethylene). Hsu teaches piezoelectric nanofibers that are poly(vinylidene fluoride- cotrifluoroethylene) ([0063]). ]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fibers of modified Fuh to be made of poly(vinylidene fluoride- cotrifluoroethylene) like the fibers of Hsu. Doing so would merely be a simple substitution of one known piezoelectric fiber material for another to obtain predictable results
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuh (Self-Powered Pressure Sensor with fully encapsulated 3D printed wavy substrate and highly-aligned piezoelectric fibers array) in view of Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kaspar (Case Study of Polyvinylidene Fluoride Doping by Carbon Nanotubes).
In regards to claim 5, modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh fails to teach a system wherein piezoelectric nanofibers and/or the encapsulation polymer include a dopant. Kaspar teaches PVDF fibers doped with carbon nanotubes to improve conductivity and permittivity (Figure 10 and Conclusions). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fibers of modified Fuh to be doped with carbon nanotubes like the fibers of Kaspar in order to have increased conductivity and permittivity.
In regards to claim 6, modified Fuh in view of Kaspar teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the dopant is carbon nanotubes, lead zirconate titanate (PZT),barium titanate, and/or zinc oxide (Kaspar Figure 10 and Conclusions)).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuh (Self-Powered Pressure Sensor with fully encapsulated 3D printed wavy substrate and highly-aligned piezoelectric fibers array) in view of Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Filiz (US 20160306481 A1)
In regards to claim 9, modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh fails to teach a system wherein the patterned electrodes are poly(3,4- ethylenedioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate (PEDOT). Filiz teaches PEDOT electrodes for use in piezo based force sensing ([0023]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive material of the electrodes of modified Fuh to be PEDOT electrodes like the electrodes of Filiz. Doing so would merely be a simple substitution of one known electrode material for another to obtain predictable results
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuh (Self-Powered Pressure Sensor with fully encapsulated 3D printed wavy substrate and highly-aligned piezoelectric fibers array) in view of Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kawamura (US 20180045586 A1).
In regards to claim 12 modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1. Modified Fuh fails to teach a device wherein the piezoelectric nanofibers, the encapsulation polymer, and the patterned electrodes are configured in a core with a shell. Kawamura teaches a device wherein a piezoelectric sensor core is inside of a shell ([0126] sensor is a core and housing is a shell). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of modified Fuh to include housing like the device of Kawamura. Doing so would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable result of protecting the sensor with a housing.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuh (Self-Powered Pressure Sensor with fully encapsulated 3D printed wavy substrate and highly-aligned piezoelectric fibers array) in view of Wang (CN106328803A - cited by applicant as Univ. Shanghai) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sun (US 20060195035 A1).
In regards to claim 17, modified Fuh teaches the system of claim 1, wherein an applied pressure produces a strain in the piezoelectric nanofibers thereby producing a charge that is processed (Figures 3 and 5 and Page 6 paragraph 2). Modified Fuh fails to teach using this method to measure blood pressure. Sun teaches using piezoelectric sensors to measure wrist blood pressure ([0052]). would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Fuh so that the sensors are placed at a wrist like the method of Sun. Doing so would allow the device to measure the wrist blood pressure of a user.
Examiner’s Note
Claim 13 contains no prior art rejections, however it is not in condition for
allowance due to its rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Conclusion
/LUCY EPPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791