DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 01/12/2024. Claims 1-17 and 23-25 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2024 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “said entity being provided with an ultra-wideband communication module configured to exchnge at least one of identification and position data with the ultra-wideband positioning system.”. This should read “said entity being provided with an ultra-wideband communication module configured to exchange at least one of identification and position data with the ultra-wideband positioning system”.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the at least one airport visual-signalling device (801) or the at least one airport surveillance stationary device comprises a positioning unit being arranged in or on said device”, This should read “wherein the at least one airport visual-signalling device or the at least one airport surveillance stationary device comprises a positioning unit being arranged in or on said device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 and 23: wherein the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a positioning unit being arranged in or on the at least one airport light-signalling device. The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing the claimed positioning unit is a radar (paragraph [130]: “Surveillance system of the preceding clause, further comprising: [0131] a surface movement positioning system (1100) provided with at least one surface movement radar system (1400) operably connected to a surface movement positioning determining unit (1700), said positioning determining unit (1700) being in data communication with the central monitoring unit (900) for communicating surface movement positioning data from the at least one entity.”)
Claims 1 and 23: wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a first communication unit that is configured for ultra-wideband data communication with the at least one entity. The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing the claimed ultra-wideband data communication is a radio-frequency communication device (paragraph [0078]: “A position determining unit 700 adapted to cooperate with the ranging device 400 of the airport light-signalling device 801 of Fig. 14 can comprise communication unit configured to exchange data wirelessly with the airfield device 801, in particular WiFi, LTE 4G, LTE 5G.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “and optionally on the at least one of the multilateration and ADS_B positioning data and the surface movement positioning data.”. It is unclear what is meant by “ADS_B positioning data”. The term “ADS_B” is not a term known to one of ordinary skill in the art and is not defined by the claim or specification, therefor one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 25 is a dependent claim given its preamble, but the claim to which it depends is not stated. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,13-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rees (US7495600B2).
Regarding claim 1 Rees discloses: Ultra-wideband positioning system for determining a position of at least one entity on an airport field comprising at least one of a manoeuvring area and an apron (Para 11: “In accordance with one embodiment of the present invention, and airport surface target surveillance and tracking system is provided, comprising, a plurality of miniaturized W-band radar scanning sensors distributed within an airport, the W-band sensors illuminating targets within the airport, a multilateration sensor positioned within the airport, the multilateration sensor obtaining a target aircraft tail number for an aircraft target, a data fusion center; and a communication link between the W-band sensors and the data fusion center, and between the multilateration sensor and the central fusion center, wherein target data from the plurality of W-band sensors and the multilateration sensor is communicated to the data fusion center and is evaluated to identify and track the target.”),said system comprising: - at least one airport light-signalling device, selected from a group consisting of an approach light, a runway light, a taxiway light, an elevated light, an inset light, a light box, and a visual docking guidance system (Para 10: “The present invention affords the airport controller much higher fidelity information about aircraft movement and predictive capabilities to alert to a potential runway incursion. Additionally, based on the implementation utilized, pilot(s) involved in a possible incursion may be signaled from within the cockpit or from nearby signaling devices (for example, flashing lights.) Thereby, the present invention reduces runway incursions and improves airport surface awareness and safety.”), said device being located on or around the least one of the manoeuvring area and the apron (Para. 15: “The W-band radar sensor 12 contains a rotating or sector scanning W-band radar and may be based on radar systems seen, for example, in the automobile industry. The W-band radar sensor 12 is of a miniature size, being about the size of an automobile license plate or less, depending on design preference. The small size of the W-band radar sensor 12 facilitates easy non-obstructive distribution about the airport. The W-band radar sensor 12 is relatively inexpensive to a central W-band radar system and also has minimal power requirements and, therefore, can be mounted to selected runway/taxiway lights or indicators, if desired.”); - wherein the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a positioning unit being arranged in or on the at least one airport light-signalling device (Para. 15: “The W-band radar sensor 12 is relatively inexpensive to a central W-band radar system and also has minimal power requirements and, therefore, can be mounted to selected runway/taxiway lights or indicators, if desired.”), said unit comprising an ultra-wideband module configured to at least: - transmit at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal, and to receive at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously (Figure 5), returned or echoed by the at least one entity, or - receive at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned, or echoed by the at least one entity (Para. 14: “The multilateration sensor 14 is a miniaturized Secondary Surveillance Radar (SSR) transmitter and receiver that interrogates aircraft in its vicinity to obtain aircraft ID (i.e., tail number.) Both sensors 12 and 14 can provide location information about ground moving aircraft or objects. The multilateration sensors 14 may use one or more of several object ranging and location techniques such as, for example, time difference of arrival (TDOA) to provide location information.”); - a position determining unit in data communication with the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device (Para 31: “Airport situational awareness displays may be generated from these CFC processed data. Complex positional prediction algorithms can be used to determine likely dangerous aircraft movement and set an alarm to operators using visual and audio signals, if desired. Information, as designated, is forwarded to the control tower other relevant crew. Therefore, the fusion of data and extracted information from the various sensors of this invention enable accurate detection of surface targets, identification, geometry determination, orientation, speed, etc., to provide enhanced airport traffic management.”), said position determining unit being configured to calculate the position of the at least one entity using positioning data extracted at least from the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity (Para. 22: “The exemplary W-band radar sensors 42 may be programmed with plot extraction algorithms using Gilfillan proven edge detection techniques to provide increased detection and/or fidelity. Using aircraft tail numbers arrived at from the multilateration sensors (coupled into aircraft type and call sign) the accurate positioning on the airport surface is obtainable by determining positions of front/back of the aircraft, its wings and its wheels. These data can be used in the Central Fusion Center to accurately determine the current and predicted positioning of vital extremities of the aircraft with respect to the airport layout and signaling systems.”), wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a first communication unit that is configured for ultra-wideband data communication with the at least one entity (Para 23: “FIG. 5 is an illustration 50 of two W-band radar sensors 52 communicating with each other regarding an aircraft 56. The W-band radar sensors' 52 target beams 55 illuminate the aircraft 56, and the received data from the illumination is forwarded to the neighboring sensor 52 using their own transmit beams when pointed at the neighboring sensor. Each W-band radar sensor 52 has an omni-directional W-band receive antenna through which radar and SSR data is received for use locally or to be passed through the wireless LAN (discussed above) to another user or the CFC using a radar mainlobe transmit sequence.”).
Regarding claim 2 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: further comprising:- at least one airport visual-signalling device (Para 10: “The present invention affords the airport controller much higher fidelity information about aircraft movement and predictive capabilities to alert to a potential runway incursion. Additionally, based on the implementation utilized, pilot(s) involved in a possible incursion may be signaled from within the cockpit or from nearby signaling devices (for example, flashing lights.) Thereby, the present invention reduces runway incursions and improves airport surface awareness and safety.”), or at least one airport surveillance stationary device being located on or around the least one of the manoeuvring area and the apron (Figure 5, radar transceiver); - wherein the at least one airport visual-signalling device (801) or the at least one airport surveillance stationary device comprises a positioning unit being arranged in or on said device (Para 22: “The exemplary W-band radar sensors 42 may be programmed with plot extraction algorithms using Gilfillan proven edge detection techniques to provide increased detection and/or fidelity. Using aircraft tail numbers arrived at from the multilateration sensors (coupled into aircraft type and call sign) the accurate positioning on the airport surface is obtainable by determining positions of front/back of the aircraft, its wings and its wheels. These data can be used in the Central Fusion Center to accurately determine the current and predicted positioning of vital extremities of the aircraft with respect to the airport layout and signaling systems.”), said unit comprising an ultra-wideband module configured to at least: - transmit at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal and to receive at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity, or - receive at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned, or echoed by the at least one entity (Figure 5, radar transmit/receive unit),- wherein the position determining unit is in data communication with the positioning unit of said device (Para 18: “A LAN is provided from the sensors 22 and 24 to a CFC 26 as indicated by the data/communication paths 29. The paths 29 maybe bidirectional according to design preferences. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 2, the LAN is a wireless LAN and enables communication between the sensors 22 and 24 with the CFC 26, as well as between sensors 22 and 24 via the CFC 26. Data forwarded to the CFC enables traffic-driven resource management among the sensors 22 and 24, allowing tasking of target updates and track confirmations between sensors 22 and 24 via the wireless LAN.”), said position determining unit being configured to calculate the position of the at least one entity using positioning data extracted at least from said ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity (Para 13: “ Exploitation of the capabilities of the data received from the W-band radar sensors 12 and multilateration sensors 14, as further discussed below, enables the determination of target speed, orientation, probability of incursion, aircraft type, wheel position on tarmac, etc. The exemplary multilateration sensor 14 sets can also be placed on the ground adjacent to runways, taxiways, overlooking arrival/departure gates and other locations of interest. The sensor sets are unattended systems and communicate with each other and a Central Fusion Center (CFC) using, for example, a wireless LAN at W-band or other designated band or communication scheme.”).
Regarding claim 3 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: wherein the at least one entity comprises at least one moving entity on the airfield, selected from a group consisting of an airplane, a ground vehicle, a mobile phone and a pedestrian wearing a tag (Para 23: “FIG. 5 is an illustration 50 of two W-band radar sensors 52 communicating with each other regarding an aircraft 56. The W-band radar sensors' 52 target beams 55 illuminate the aircraft 56, and the received data from the illumination is forwarded to the neighboring sensor 52 using their own transmit beams when pointed at the neighboring sensor. “), said entity being provided with an ultra-wideband communication module configured to exchange at least one of identification and position data with the ultra-wideband positioning system (Para. 24: “Since the W-band radar sensors 52 are configured into the LAN, each sensor 52 is assigned an address identifier, for example, an IP address. Data flows between these sensors as needed (and back to the CFC using message protocol or network driven data hops) using scheduled W-band radar transmit beams while sending data to W-band omni-directional receive antennas at each sensor's 52 position. Therefore, each W-band radar sensor 52 can act as a transceiver, forwarding any one of its own data/information to illuminated sensors 52 or suitably configured multilateration sensors (not shown), or forward data/information from the CFC, using its W-band transmit beam.”).
Regarding claim 5 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal comprises a first ultra- wideband pulse outbound signal transmitted by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light- signalling device (Figure 1), said signal being a ranging signal (Para 12: “FIG. 1 is a bird's eye view of a typical airport 10 with an exemplary arrangement of the systems of this invention. The airport 10 is shown with two runways A and B. Each of the runways A and B are punctuated with the exemplary W-band radar sensors 12 at semi-regular intervals. Since W-band radar sensors 12 are known to have a range of approximately 150-250 meters, and to provide adequate coverage the sensors 12 are positioned at intervals of less than 250 meters.”), and the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a first ultra-wideband pulse radio signal echoed by the at least one entity, said signal being an echoed signal of the said first signal bouncing back on the at least one entity (Figure 1, elements 52 and 55).
Regarding claim 6 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: wherein the position determining unit or the positioning unit of the at least one airport light- signalling device is configured to determine a range of the least one entity relative to the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device using a time of flight of the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound and the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal returned or echoed signals by the least one entity (Para 14: “The multilateration sensor 14 is a miniaturized Secondary Surveillance Radar (SSR) transmitter and receiver that interrogates aircraft in its vicinity to obtain aircraft ID (i.e., tail number.) Both sensors 12 and 14 can provide location information about ground moving aircraft or objects. The multilateration sensors 14 may use one or more of several object ranging and location techniques such as, for example, time difference of arrival (TDOA) to provide location information.”).
Regarding claim 11 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: wherein the first communication unit is configured for ultra-wideband data communication with another one of the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device, through the ultra-wideband module of the at least one positioning unit (Para 18: “A LAN is provided from the sensors 22 and 24 to a CFC 26 as indicated by the data/communication paths 29. The paths 29 maybe bidirectional according to design preferences. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 2, the LAN is a wireless LAN and enables communication between the sensors 22 and 24 with the CFC 26, as well as between sensors 22 and 24 via the CFC 26. Data forwarded to the CFC enables traffic-driven resource management among the sensors 22 and 24, allowing tasking of target updates and track confirmations between sensors 22 and 24 via the wireless LAN.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US7495600B2) in view of Jiang (CN112666544).
Regarding claim 4 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees does not teach “wherein the at least one entity comprises a Foreign Object Debris“.
However, Jiang in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the at least one entity comprises a Foreign Object Debris (Background: “The Foreign Object Debris, FOD, on the runway, is a very serious threat to airplanes taking off and landing on the runway. Many cases prove that the foreign matter on the airport road surface can be easily sucked into the engine, causing damage to the blade and other components; the debris will be accumulated in the mechanical device to affect the landing gear; “; Embodiment 1: “Further, radar distance measuring unit is specifically millimeter wave radar, in the embodiment 1 adopts 3 millimeter wave radar to realize the three-dimensional positioning of FOD detecting vehicle, as shown in FIG. 3, hollow point is to-be-located target (FOD detecting vehicle), solid point is millimeter wave radar, in-point number represents radar number, radar 1 radar 2; the distance of radar 3 to FOD detecting respectively is D1, D2, D3. radar is fixedly installed; the radar position can be calibrated in advance; 3 radar positions can be marked in Cartesian coordinate; radar 1, radar 2; radar 3 position coordinate is (respectively, 0, 0), (0, y1, 0), (0, 0, z1), according to the Cartesian two-point distance formula can solving FOD detecting vehicle position (x, y, z), which is a second order homogeneous equation:”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Jiang to incorporate the feature of: wherein the at least one entity comprises a Foreign Object Debris. Rees and Jiang are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, Rees fails to disclose a feature of imaging targets being Foreign Object Debris. This feature is disclosed by Jiang. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Jiang to incorporate the feature of: wherein the at least one entity comprises a Foreign Object Debris as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US7495600B2) in view of Lu (CN112533129A).
Regarding claim 7 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees does not teach “wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse outbound signal transmitted by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light- signalling device, said signal being a poll signal, and the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse signal returned by the at least one entity, said signal being a response signal sent by the at least one entity “.
However, Lu in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse outbound signal transmitted by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light- signalling device, said signal being a poll signal (Description: “n this embodiment, the first device and the second device adopts the bidirectional flying distance measuring mode of ultra-wideband signal, can realize the first device and the second device for measuring the transmission time and the receiving time of the ultra-wideband signal for multiple times, obtaining multiple times of flight time, finishing the calculation of the distance measuring result. The typical interaction mechanism is as follows: sending the Poll message by the first device; measuring and recording the sending time T1 of the ultra-wideband signal; after the second device receives the Poll message, measuring and recording the receiving time T2 of the ultra-wideband signal;”), and the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse signal returned by the at least one entity, said signal being a response signal sent by the at least one entity (Description: “In this embodiment, the first device and the second device adopts the bidirectional flying distance measuring mode of ultra-wideband signal, can realize the first device and the second device for measuring the transmission time and the receiving time of the ultra-wideband signal for multiple times, obtaining multiple times of flight time, finishing the calculation of the distance measuring result. The typical interaction mechanism is as follows: sending the Poll message by the first device; measuring and recording the sending time T1 of the ultra-wideband signal; after the second device receives the Poll message, measuring and recording the receiving time T2 of the ultra-wideband signal; the second device sends a response (Response) message, measuring and recording the sending time of the ultra-wideband signal is T3; the first device receives the Response message, measuring and recording the receiving time T4 of the ultra-wideband signal; sending the final (Final) message by the first device; measuring and recording the sending time T5 of the ultra-wideband signal, wherein the final message comprises T1, T4 and T5 recorded by the first device; the second device receives the final message, measuring and recording the receiving time T6 of the ultra-wideband signal. “).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Lu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse outbound signal transmitted by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light- signalling device, said signal being a poll signal, and the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse signal returned by the at least one entity, said signal being a response signal sent by the at least one entity. Rees and Lu are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radio frequency (RF) technology to detect objects. However, Rees fails to disclose a feature of device that sends a poll signal. This feature is disclosed by Lu. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Lu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse outbound signal transmitted by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light- signalling device, said signal being a poll signal, and the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a second ultra- wideband pulse signal returned by the at least one entity, said signal being a response signal sent by the at least one entity as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 8 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees does not teach “ “.
However, Lu in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the second ultra-wideband pulse radio signal returned, comprises position data of the at least one entity and the ultra-wideband positioning system is configured to transfer the position data from the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device to the position determining unit (Description: “Therefore, the first device obtains all the sending time and receiving time, namely T1, T2,T3, T4, T5 and T6. The first device is calculated by the following formula to obtain the ranging result :after the second device finishes the calculation of the ranging result, then sending to the first device an interaction message, wherein carrying the position information of the second device, a confidence factor and the ranging result”).
The reason for combining Rees with Lu is similar to one given in claim 7 above.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US7495600B2) in view of Cannistra (WO2009133102A1).
Regarding claim 9 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees does not teach “wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises at least three positioning units “.
However, Cannistra in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises at least three positioning units (Best mode: “The inventive detecting system comprises a plurality of radar devices, which are respectively integrated in at least a portion of lighting signallers arranged along the taxiing and service ways of the airports, as for example landing/take off runways and aprons, on which aircrafts and/or motor vehicles are moved. As it will be clear throughout the description, it suffices to install the radar devices even in only one portion of the lighting signallers provided in the airport area, as long as the range covered as a whole by such radar devices comprises said taxiing and services ways or however every airport traffic way to be monitored by means of the inventive detecting system.”).
Rees further teaches: wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a third ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity being received by the at least three positioning units and the position determining unit being configured to determine the position of the at least one entity using the time difference of arrivals of the third ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least three positioning units (Para 14: “The multilateration sensor 14 is a miniaturized Secondary Surveillance Radar (SSR) transmitter and receiver that interrogates aircraft in its vicinity to obtain aircraft ID (i.e., tail number.) Both sensors 12 and 14 can provide location information about ground moving aircraft or objects. The multilateration sensors 14 may use one or more of several object ranging and location techniques such as, for example, time difference of arrival (TDOA) to provide location information.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Cannistra to incorporate the feature of: wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises at least three positioning units. Rees and Cannistra are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, Rees fails to disclose multiple radar radices that are coupled to a light-signalling unit. This feature is disclosed by Cannistra. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Cannistra to incorporate the feature of: wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises at least three positioning units as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US7495600B2) in view of Cannistra (WO2009133102A1) and further in view of Nakadori (US20150175162A1).
Regarding claim 10 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees does not teach “ wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a fourth ultra-wideband pulse signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity being received by the ultra-wideband module of the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device”.
However, Cannistra in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity comprises a fourth ultra-wideband pulse signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity being received by the ultra-wideband module of the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device (Best mode: “The inventive detecting system comprises a plurality of radar devices, which are respectively integrated in at least a portion of lighting signallers arranged along the taxiing and service ways of the airports, as for example landing/take off runways and aprons, on which aircrafts and/or motor vehicles are moved. As it will be clear throughout the description, it suffices to install the radar devices even in only one portion of the lighting signallers provided in the airport area, as long as the range covered as a whole by such radar devices comprises said taxiing and services ways or however every airport traffic way to be monitored by means of the inventive detecting system.”).
Rees does not teach “said ultra-wideband module comprising a multi-antenna receiver with at least two antennas and the position determining unit or the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device is configured to determine the position of the at least one entity using the phase difference of arrivals of the fourth ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity at the at least two antennas”.
However, Nakadori in the analogous arts teaches: said ultra-wideband module comprising a multi-antenna receiver with at least two antennas and the position determining unit or the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device is configured to determine the position of the at least one entity using the phase difference of arrivals of the fourth ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity at the at least two antennas (Para 0055: “If the radar device 11 has multiple reception antennas, and the target object exists in a direction other than the front direction, the direction (lateral position) of the target object is obtained by using phase differences of beat signals received by multiple reception antennas. First, phases of the beat frequency are obtained by the Fourier transform. When the target object is not in the front direction, a path difference is generated between two reception antennas, which is determined by the interval and directions of the two reception antennas. Therefore, by treating the interval of the reception antennas, the wavelength of the radio wave and the like as constants, and using a relationship between the phase difference and the path difference, the direction can be calculated from the path difference and the phase difference of the beat signals at the two reception antennas.).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Nakadori to incorporate the feature of: said ultra-wideband module comprising a multi-antenna receiver with at least two antennas and the position determining unit or the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device is configured to determine the position of the at least one entity using the phase difference of arrivals of the fourth ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity at the at least two antennas. Rees and Nakadori are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, Rees fails to disclose a feature of using phase information to determine the position of an entity. This feature is disclosed by Nakadori. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Nakadori to incorporate the feature of: said ultra-wideband module comprising a multi-antenna receiver with at least two antennas and the position determining unit or the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device is configured to determine the position of the at least one entity using the phase difference of arrivals of the fourth ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously or returned by the at least one entity at the at least two antennas as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US7495600B2) in view of Herbertsson (EP3828593A1).
Regarding claim 12 Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises at least a first group of the positioning units arranged in cluster like structure to cover a first zone of interest (Para 2: “The present invention relates generally to airport surface traffic control. More particularly, the present invention relates to airport surface target detection, classification and tracking using a network of distributed multilateration sensors and distributed W-band radar sensors.”).
Rees does not teach “said ultra-wideband positioning system comprising a first relay communication unit, wherein a first positioning unit of the first group is positioned within a ultra-wideband coverage range of the first relay communication unit, said first relay communication unit being operably coupled to the positioning determination unit and configured for data communication with the first positioning unit of the first group using ultra-wideband signals “.
However, Herbertsson in the analogous arts teaches: said ultra-wideband positioning system comprising a first relay communication unit (Description: “The received OFDM signals 10 from the first external device 11 can either be re-transmitted to another external device 14 as shown, where the external device can be a further relaying device such as a relay station or even another radar/communication system 3 is used in another vehicle. How this can be used will be discussed below.”), wherein a first positioning unit of the first group is positioned within a ultra-wideband coverage range of the first relay communication unit (Description: “According to some aspects, the vehicle radar/communication system 3 is adapted to operate as a communication repeater, relaying received OFDM signals 10, 13; 28, 29 from one external device 3b, 3c, 3d; 11, 16, 24; 14, 18, 19 to another external device 3b, 3c, 3d; 11, 16, 24; 14, 18, 19 by re-transmission.”), said first relay communication unit being operably coupled to the positioning determination unit and configured for data communication with the first positioning unit of the first group using ultra-wideband signals (Description: “With reference to Figure 6, the present disclosure also relates to a method for a vehicle radar/communication system 3, where the method comprises: obtaining S1 radar data from an OFDM transceiver device 7 and processing S2 communication received or transmitted via the OFDM transceiver device 7. The method further comprises providing S3 wireless network access by means of OFDM signals 10, 28 for one or more external devices 11, 16 in a wireless communication network 12 via the OFDM transceiver device 7. At least one external device is a fixed communication network node 11, 16, 24. According to some aspects, the method comprises operating as a communication repeater, relaying received OFDM signals 10, 13; 28, 29 to an external device 3b, 3c, 3d; 11, 16, 24; 14, 18, 19 by re-transmission”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Herbertsson to incorporate the feature of: said ultra-wideband positioning system comprising a first relay communication unit, wherein a first positioning unit of the first group is positioned within a ultra-wideband coverage range of the first relay communication unit, said first relay communication unit being operably coupled to the positioning determination unit and configured for data communication with the first positioning unit of the first group using ultra-wideband signals. Rees and Herbertsson are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, Rees fails to disclose relay communication. This feature is disclosed by Herbertsson. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Rees with Herbertsson to incorporate the feature of: said ultra-wideband positioning system comprising a first relay communication unit, wherein a first positioning unit of the first group is positioned within a ultra-wideband coverage range of the first relay communication unit, said first relay communication unit being operably coupled to the positioning determination unit and configured for data communication with the first positioning unit of the first group using ultra-wideband signals as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 and 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Rees discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rees further teaches: wherein the at least one entity comprises at least one first entity, wherein the positioning data are first positioning data (Para 31: “Airport situational awareness displays may be generated from these CFC processed data. Complex positional prediction algorithms can be used to determine likely dangerous aircraft movement and set an alarm to operators using visual and audio signals, if desired. Information, as designated, is forwarded to the control tower other relevant crew. Therefore, the fusion of data and extracted information from the various sensors of this invention enable accurate detection of surface targets, identification, geometry determination, orientation, speed, etc., to provide enhanced airport traffic management.”).
Herbertsson teaches: wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device further comprises -at least one communication unit for wire or wireless communication (Description: “The received OFDM signals 10 from the first external device 11 can either be re-transmitted to another external device 14 as shown, where the external device can be a further relaying device such as a relay station or even another radar/communication system 3 is used in another vehicle. How this can be used will be discussed below.”), said unit being configured to transfer first positioning data to the position determining unit, - a computing unit configured to receive and accumulate first raw positioning detection data received from the ultra-wideband module, to process the first raw positioning data and to deliver the first positioning data of the at least one first entity to said communication unit;- a power supply; - wherein the position determining unit comprises - at least one communication unit configured to exchange data with said airport light-signalling device;- a centralized processor being configured to receive the first positioning data of the at least one first entity send by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device and to calculate a first positioning of the at least one first entity based on the first positioning data.
In reference to depend/independent claim 13, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 13. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “said unit being configured to transfer first positioning data to the position determining unit, a computing unit configured to receive and accumulate first raw positioning detection data received from the ultra-wideband module, to process the first raw positioning data and to deliver the first positioning data of the at least one first entity to said communication unit;- a power supply; - wherein the position determining unit comprises - at least one communication unit configured to exchange data with said airport light-signalling device;- a centralized processor being configured to receive the first positioning data of the at least one first entity send by the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device and to calculate a first positioning of the at least one first entity based on the first positioning data“.
Claims 14-17 are also allowable due to their dependency on claim 13.
Regarding claim 23 Rees discloses: Surveillance system for an airport field, comprising at least one ultra- wideband positioning system for determining a position of at least one entity on an airport field comprising at least one of a manoeuvring area and an apron(Para 11: “In accordance with one embodiment of the present invention, and airport surface target surveillance and tracking system is provided, comprising, a plurality of miniaturized W-band radar scanning sensors distributed within an airport, the W-band sensors illuminating targets within the airport, a multilateration sensor positioned within the airport, the multilateration sensor obtaining a target aircraft tail number for an aircraft target, a data fusion center; and a communication link between the W-band sensors and the data fusion center, and between the multilateration sensor and the central fusion center, wherein target data from the plurality of W-band sensors and the multilateration sensor is communicated to the data fusion center and is evaluated to identify and track the target.”), said positioning system comprising:- at least one airport light-signalling device, said device being located on or around the least one of the manoeuvring area and the apron(Para 10: “The present invention affords the airport controller much higher fidelity information about aircraft movement and predictive capabilities to alert to a potential runway incursion. Additionally, based on the implementation utilized, pilot(s) involved in a possible incursion may be signaled from within the cockpit or from nearby signaling devices (for example, flashing lights.) Thereby, the present invention reduces runway incursions and improves airport surface awareness and safety.”) (Para. 15: “The W-band radar sensor 12 is relatively inexpensive to a central W-band radar system and also has minimal power requirements and, therefore, can be mounted to selected runway/taxiway lights or indicators, if desired.”); - wherein the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a positioning unit being arranged in or on the at least one airport light-signalling device, said unit comprising an ultra-wideband module configured to at least: - transmit at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio outbound signal and to receive at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity, or - receive at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned, or echoed by the at least one entity (Para. 14: “The multilateration sensor 14 is a miniaturized Secondary Surveillance Radar (SSR) transmitter and receiver that interrogates aircraft in its vicinity to obtain aircraft ID (i.e., tail number.) Both sensors 12 and 14 can provide location information about ground moving aircraft or objects. The multilateration sensors 14 may use one or more of several object ranging and location techniques such as, for example, time difference of arrival (TDOA) to provide location information.”); - a position determining unit in data communication with the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device(Para 31: “Airport situational awareness displays may be generated from these CFC processed data. Complex positional prediction algorithms can be used to determine likely dangerous aircraft movement and set an alarm to operators using visual and audio signals, if desired. Information, as designated, is forwarded to the control tower other relevant crew. Therefore, the fusion of data and extracted information from the various sensors of this invention enable accurate detection of surface targets, identification, geometry determination, orientation, speed, etc., to provide enhanced airport traffic management.”), said position determining unit being configured to calculate the position of the at least one entity using positioning data extracted at least from the at least one ultra-wideband pulse radio signal sent spontaneously, returned or echoed by the at least one entity(Para. 22: “The exemplary W-band radar sensors 42 may be programmed with plot extraction algorithms using Gilfillan proven edge detection techniques to provide increased detection and/or fidelity. Using aircraft tail numbers arrived at from the multilateration sensors (coupled into aircraft type and call sign) the accurate positioning on the airport surface is obtainable by determining positions of front/back of the aircraft, its wings and its wheels. These data can be used in the Central Fusion Center to accurately determine the current and predicted positioning of vital extremities of the aircraft with respect to the airport layout and signaling systems.”) (Para 23: “FIG. 5 is an illustration 50 of two W-band radar sensors 52 communicating with each other regarding an aircraft 56. The W-band radar sensors' 52 target beams 55 illuminate the aircraft 56, and the received data from the illumination is forwarded to the neighboring sensor 52 using their own transmit beams when pointed at the neighboring sensor. Each W-band radar sensor 52 has an omni-directional W-band receive antenna through which radar and SSR data is received for use locally or to be passed through the wireless LAN (discussed above) to another user or the CFC using a radar mainlobe transmit sequence.”), wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a first communication unit that is configured for ultra-wideband data communication with the at least one entity, wherein the surveillance system further comprises a central monitoring unit being configured to monitor at least one entity on the airport field including at least one of the manoeuvring area and the apron, said central monitoring unit being configured for data communication with the position determining unit, said position determining unit being configured to send ultra-wideband positioning data extracted from positioning data received from the positioning unit of the at least one at least one airport light-signalling device.
In reference to depend/independent claim 23, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 23. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein the positioning unit of the at least one airport light-signalling device comprises a first communication unit that is configured for ultra-wideband data communication with the at least one entity, wherein the surveillance system further comprises a central monitoring unit being configured to monitor at least one entity on the airport field including at least one of the manoeuvring area and the apron, said central monitoring unit being configured for data communication with the position determining unit, said position determining unit being configured to send ultra-wideband positioning data extracted from positioning data received from the positioning unit of the at least one at least one airport light-signalling device“.
Claims 24 and 25 are also allowable due to their dependency on claim 23.
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645