DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada (JP 2012-219115, Reference b from IDS dated 2/6/2024).
Regarding Claims 1-4,
Wada teaches an epoxy resin curing agent that preferably contains a polyoxypropylene diamine (polyether polyamine) and two alicyclic polyamino compounds (Paragraph 21) and demonstrates in example 1 a composition that includes Jeffamine D-230 (polyether polyamine), isophoronediamine (Paragraph 39), and a modified amine which consists of xylylene diamine and styrene-functionalized xylylene diamine (Paragraph 37), meeting the requirements of the instant claims.
Regarding Claim 5,
Wada teaches in example 1 that the polyether polyamine (equivalent to a1) represents 63% by mass of the curing agent and the summation of the other curing agents to be 37% by mass (Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 6,
Wada teaches that the xylylene diamine/styrene-modified xylylene diamine curing agent (a3) comprises 10% by mass of the curing agent (Paragraph 39), which would represent a ratio of 0.27 relative to the combined amount of a2 + a3 (37% by mass, Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8,
Wada teaches a composition that includes epoxy resin and resin curing agent (Paragraph 39) and further teaches that the amount of epoxy resin is 73% by mass epoxy resins and the remaining 26% by mass is curing agents (Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claims 9 and 12,
Wada teaches that the composition is used to generate a fiber-reinforced composite used to make wind turbine blades (Paragraphs 1 and 32).
Regarding Claims 10 and 11,
Wada teaches that the resin and curing agent composition is reinforced with carbon or glass fiber (Paragraph 30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wittenbecher (US 20110190419) teaches an epoxy resin composition used to generate rotor blades for wind turbines (Paragraph 3) that contains a polyether polyamine such as Jeffamine D-230 (Paragraph 27) and additionally amine compounds such as isophoronediamine and xylylenediamine (Paragraph 28).
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765