DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 06/28/2024, in which claims 21-35 are pending and ready for examination.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Ibrahim et al. (hereinafter, “Ibrahim”; 20220294597).
In response to claim 21,
Ibrahim teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a cell-specific configuration message including full duplex (FD) time resource information and FD frequency resource information (paragraph 59, using UEs are interpreted as using a UE, paragraph 62, transmitting a cell specific reference signal by a base station (using a processor) is interpreted as receiving a cell specific configuration message, paragraph 72, using a full duplex slot for downlink and uplink (D+U) for transmission is read as using full duplex (FD) time resource information and FD frequency resource information),
wherein the FD time resource information informs FD time resource in symbol units and the FD frequency resource information informs FD frequency resources including an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband in resource block units (paragraph 59, transmitting modulated output symbol stream for (data control and reference) is interpreted as using symbol units, paragraph 72, providing uplink and downlink transmission slot by a base station is interpreted as informing the UE, uplink and downlink BWP are equated to subband, using symbol with full duplex downlink and uplink (D+U) slots is interpreted as informing FD time resource in symbol units and the FD frequency resource information informs FD frequency resources including an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband in resource block units); and
performing at least one of uplink transmission and downlink reception in the FD time resource (paragraph 73, transmitting in the uplink and downlink band using (D+U) symbols explicitly teaches this limitation),
wherein the uplink transmission is allowed within frequency resources of the uplink subband within uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and the downlink reception is allowed within frequency resources of the at least one downlink subband within downlink BWP (paragraph 72, slots are equated to frequency resources, uplink and downlink BWP are equated to uplink and downlink bandwidth part within the frequency resources, paragraph 73, transmitting in the uplink and downlink band using (D+U) symbols explicitly teaches performing uplink and downlink transmission), and
wherein based on the FD time resource comprising different symbols, the FD frequency resources are same across the different symbols (fig. 5 and 6, please see the entire figure, paragraph 78, using uplink only symbols and downlink only symbols explicitly teach using different symbols based on the FD time resource, these figures explicitly teach using the FD frequency resources are same across the different symbols).
In response to claims 22, 27 and 32,
Ibrahim teaches wherein the FD time resource has a specific period which is same as a period of time duplex division (TDD) downlink-uplink pattern (figure 5 and 6, paragraph 78, using different time slots for uplink and downlink slots explicitly teaches the FD time resource has a specific period, paragraph 48, using a TDD procedure is interpreted as using period of time duplex division (TDD) downlink-uplink pattern with the FD time resource has a specific period).
In response to claims 23, 28 and 33,
Ibrahim teaches wherein time resources which are not configured as the FD time resource are determined as non-FD time resources (paragraph 71,using is equated to determining, using half duplex slots for downlink and uplink slot format is interpreted as time resources which are not configured as the FD time resource are determined as non-FD time).
In response to claims 24, 29 and 34,
Ibrahim teaches wherein the UE supports subband-wise full duplex (SBFD) (paragraph 77, using subband full duplex as part of cross band full duplex explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claims 25, 30 and 35,
Ibrahim teaches wherein frequency locations of the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband are explicitly configured by the FD frequency resource information (paragraph 72, BWP is equated to subband, figure 5 and 6, please see the entire figures, paragraph 78, slots are equated to FD frequency resource information, using uplink and downlink slots as shown in these figures explicitly teaches using frequency locations of the uplink subband and the at least one downlink subband are explicitly configured by the FD frequency resource information).
In response to claim 26,
Ibrahim teaches a user equipment (UE), the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory; and at least one processor operatively connected to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (paragraph 52, antennas 252 are equated to transceiver, paragraph 64, controller 280 is equated to a processor, paragraph 65, memory 282 is equated to a memory, paragraphs 64 and 65 together teach this limitation):
receiving a cell-specific configuration message including full duplex (FD) time resource information and FD frequency resource information, wherein the FD time resource information informs FD time resource in symbol units and the FD frequency resource information informs FD frequency resources including an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband in resource block units; and performing at least one of uplink transmission and downlink reception in the FD time resource, wherein the uplink transmission is allowed within frequency resources of the uplink subband within uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and the downlink reception is allowed within frequency resources of the at least one downlink subband within downlink BWP, and wherein based on the FD time resource comprising different symbols, the FD frequency resources are same across the different symbols (these limitations are identical to claim 21, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 21).
In response to claim 31,
Ibrahim teaches a method of operating a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a cell-specific configuration message including full duplex (FD) time resource information and FD frequency resource information (paragraph 59, using base stations are interpreted as using a base station, paragraph 62, transmitting a cell specific reference signal by a base station (using a processor) is interpreted as transmitting a cell specific configuration message, paragraph 72, using a full duplex slot for downlink and uplink (D+U) for transmission is read as using full duplex (FD) time resource information and FD frequency resource information),
wherein the FD time resource information informs FD time resource in symbol units and the FD frequency resource information informs FD frequency resources including an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband in resource block units (paragraph 59, transmitting modulated output symbol stream for (data control and reference) is interpreted as using symbol units, paragraph 72, providing uplink and downlink transmission slot by a base station is interpreted as informing the UE, uplink and downlink BWP are equated to subband, using symbol with full duplex downlink and uplink (D+U) slots is interpreted as informing FD time resource in symbol units and the FD frequency resource information informs FD frequency resources including an uplink subband and at least one downlink subband in resource block units); and
performing at least one of uplink reception and downlink transmission in the FD time resource (paragraph 73, transmitting in the uplink and downlink band using (D+U) symbols by a UE explicitly teaches this limitation),
wherein the uplink transmission is allowed within frequency resources of the uplink subband within uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and the downlink reception is allowed within frequency resources of the at least one downlink subband within downlink BWP (paragraph 72, slots are equated to frequency resources, uplink and downlink BWP are equated to uplink and downlink bandwidth part within the frequency resources, paragraph 73, transmitting in the uplink and downlink band using (D+U) symbols explicitly teaches performing uplink and downlink transmission), and
wherein based on the FD time resource comprising different symbols, the FD frequency resources are same across the different symbols (fig. 5 and 6, please see the entire figure, paragraph 78, using uplink only symbols and downlink only symbols explicitly teach using different symbols based on the FD time resource, these figures explicitly teach using the FD frequency resources are same across the different symbols).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20230180199……….paragraphs 89-90, 94 and 99-101.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466