Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)1
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 21,28,35 are/is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being clearly anticipated by Lee et al (US 20180076924 A1) hereinafter as Lee.
Regarding claim(s) 21,28,35 Lee discloses a method of operating a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (See Fig(s). 1A-1B), the method comprising:
receiving cell-specific subband configuration information for a downlink subband (See ¶ 63, the WTRU may receive a configuration including resource information for a plurality of subbands, wherein a subband may be a downlink (DL) subband (D-subband), an uplink (UL) subband (U-subband) or both));
receiving UE-specific subband configuration information for a specific frequency resource that is not being used as the downlink subband within the downlink subband (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 103-104, 108, a subband may be used as a reduced BW and may be configured or used for a reduced BW WTRU. A subband may be D-subband, U-subband, or both…. The multiple D-subband configuration information may include at least one of a number of D-subbands configured or used in a cell (e.g., an eNobe-B), a frequency location of one or more configured D-subbands);
determining a UE-specific downlink subband based on the cell-specific subband configuration information and the UE-specific subband configuration information (See ¶ 63, 128, The WTRU may determine the number of D-subbands and/or U-subbands and/or their frequency location in a subframe based on one or more system parameters, including a physical cell-identifier (ID)….. certain DL subband may be determined as a function of at least one of WTRU-ID);
wherein, within the downlink subband, frequency resources other than the specific frequency resource are determined to be the UE-specific downlink subband (See Fig(s). 6, See ¶ 135-136, the WTRU-specific D-subband may be determined as a function of a WTRU-ID).
Further with regards to claim 28 Lee discloses a processor and memory for performing the method of claim 21 (See Fig(s). 1b, processor 118 memory 130).
Further with regards to claim 35 Lee discloses a base station for performing the mirrored steps of claim 21 (See Fig(s). 1A, 1C, base station 114a, See ¶ 34,45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24,29-31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20180076924 A1) hereinafter as Lee in view of Agrawal (US 20040229615 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 22,29, Lee fails to discloses wherein the specific frequency resource that is not being used as the downlink subband is a guard subband.
Agrawal discloses wherein the specific frequency resource that is not being used as the downlink subband is a guard subband (See ¶ 34, With OFDM, each subband is associated with a respective sub-carrier that may be modulated with data. In some OFDM systems, only N.sub.D subbands are used for data transmission, N.sub.P subbands are used for pilot transmission, and N.sub.G subbands are not used and serve as guard subbands to allow the systems to meet spectral mask requirements).
Guard subbands provide ample spacing between downlink subbands to prevent interference and/or overlap during uplink communications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal within Lee, so as provide ample spacing between downlink subbands to prevent interference and/or overlap during uplink communications.
Regarding claim(s) 23,30, Lee discloses wherein the cell-specific subband configuration information informs the downlink subband, an uplink subband (See ¶ 63) and a cell-specific guard subband ( Agrawal discloses the guard subband for cell specific information See ¶ 34). Reasons for combining same as claim 22.
Regarding claim(s) 24,31, Lee discloses wherein the UE-specific subband configuration information informs an additional guard frequency resource within the downlink subband (See ¶ 195, The first subframe may be the subframe n. The second subframe may be a subframe n−1 and/or a subframe n+1. The subframe in which a WTRU may skip receiving or monitoring a downlink control channel may be considered as a guard subframe for frequency band switching.).
Claim(s) 26-27,33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20180076924 A1) hereinafter as Lee in view of Oh et al (US 20200154415 A1) hereinafter as Oh.
Regarding claim(s) 26,33, Lee fails to discloses transmitting guard frequency size information about a size of required guard frequency resources to a base station.
Oh discloses transmitting guard frequency size information about a size of required guard frequency resources to a base station (See ¶ 249, Table 8, the values express the offset using the size of a guard band that is minimally required to minimize inter-subband interference.).
Guard subbands provide ample spacing between downlink subbands to prevent interference and/or overlap during uplink communications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal within Lee, so as provide ample spacing between downlink subbands to prevent interference and/or overlap during uplink communications.
Regarding claim(s) 27,34, Oh discloses wherein the guard frequency size information informs required additional guard frequency resources compared to a size of guard frequency resources currently applied to the UE (See ¶ See ¶ 249, Table 8,. the values express the offset using the size of a guard band that is minimally required to minimize inter-subband interference, and the unit thereof is kHz. In this case, it is also possible to express the offset as the minimum number of subcarriers or PRBs having the spacing that is equal to or larger than the values of Table 8. ). Reasons for combining same as claim 26.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 25,32, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411