DETAILED ACTION
Citation to the Specification will be in the following format: (S. # : ¶/L) where # denotes the page number and ¶/L denotes the paragraph number or line number. Citation to patent literature will be in the form (Inventor # : LL) where # is the column number and LL is the line number. Citation to the pre-grant publication literature will be in the following format (Inventor # : ¶) where # denotes the page number and ¶ denotes the paragraph number.
Status of Application
The preliminary amendment dated 1/12/2024 has been received and will be entered.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, and 8 is/are currently amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on:
11/7/2024
10/29/2024
01/12/2024
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
I. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 6 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huo, et al., Hierarchically porous alumina ceramic catalyst carrier prepared by powder bed fusion, Journal of the European Ceramic Society 2020; 40: 4253-4264 (hereinafter “Huo at __”).
With respect to Claim 1, this claim requires “[o]xide composite particles comprising silica and an oxide of aluminum (a single oxide or a composite oxide, or both).” Particles are taught. (Huo “Fig. 10,” passim). The particles comprise silica and oxides of aluminum, as discussed below.
Claim 1 further requires “the oxide composite particles contain 10 to 90% by mass of an α-cristobalite crystal phase, 50% by mass or less of an α-alumina crystal phase, and more than 10% by mass of a mullite crystal phase.” Huo teaches a cristobalite content of 37.70 ± 1.20 wt.%, Al2O3 of 33.76 ± 0.51 wt.%, and a mullite content of 28.54 ± 0.82 wt.%. Figure 13(c) of Huo is enlarged and reproduced below:
(Huo at 4261, Fig. 13(c)). Other teachings in Huo may be present.
Claim 1 further requires “an elemental ratio of aluminum to silicon (aluminum/silicon) as determined by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy is 0.1 or more.” The mass ratios are taught. (Huo at 4254, col. 1).
As to Claim 2, the aluminum content is taught. (Huo at 4261, Fig. 13(c); passim).
As to Claim 5, the alumina content is taught. (Huo at 4261, Fig. 13(c); passim).
II. Claim(s) 3 - or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo, et al., Hierarchically porous alumina ceramic catalyst carrier prepared by powder bed fusion, Journal of the European Ceramic Society 2020; 40: 4253-4264 (hereinafter “Huo at __”) in view of:
(i) Hampsey, et al., Preparation of Micrometer- to Sub-micrometer-Sized Nanostructured Silica Particles Using High-Energy Ball Milling, J. Am. Ceram. Soc. 2004; 87(7): 1280-1286 (hereinafter “Hampsey at __”).
The discussion accompanying “Rejection I” above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to Claim 3, the average particle size is reasonably depicted. (Huo at 4259, Fig. 9-10). However, to the extent it somehow isn’t, and as Huo does not literally recite the particle diameter, controlling the diameter is an obvious expedient. Hampsey teaches controlling the diameter with a ball mill. (Hampsey at 1282, col. 2) (note diameter as a function of milling time). Application of known techniques (milling) to achieve predictable results (diameter) does not impart patentability. MPEP 2143; KSR.
III. Claim(s) 4 - or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo, et al., Hierarchically porous alumina ceramic catalyst carrier prepared by powder bed fusion, Journal of the European Ceramic Society 2020; 40: 4253-4264 (hereinafter “Huo at __”) in view of:
(i) US 2017/0267900 to Sato, et al.
The discussion accompanying “Rejection I” above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to Claim 4, to the extent Huo may not teach the circularity, Sato – in making a similar composition – employs flame spraying to achieve circularity of 0.88 or more. (Sato 6: [0051]). Application of known techniques (flame spraying) to achieve predictable results (diameter) does not impart patentability. MPEP 2143; KSR.
IV. Claim(s) 8-10 – or as stated below - is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0269361 to Soyama, et al. in view of:
(i) Huo, et al., Hierarchically porous alumina ceramic catalyst carrier prepared by powder bed fusion, Journal of the European Ceramic Society 2020; 40: 4253-4264 (hereinafter “Huo at __”).
With respect to Claim 8, this claim requires “[a] resin composition comprising the oxide composite particles according to claim 1 and a resin.” Soyama teaches composite metal oxides mixed with a resin. (Soyama 2: [0029]). Soyama does not teach the particular composite metal oxide of Claim 1. Note however Soyama teaches mechanical strength as desirable. (Soyama 2: [0037]). One of skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the composite metal oxide of Huo for that of Soyama, as Huo teaches improved crush strength. (Huo at 4261, col. 2 – 4261, col. 1).
As to Claim 9, Soyama teaches resin amounts that would give rise to the claimed composite particle content. (Soyama 3: [0040]).
As to Claim 10, this claim recites an intended use, which is not accorded patentable weight. Alternatively or additionally, Soyama teaches polycarbonate resins (Soyama 2: [0030] et seq.), which the Specification teaches are useful for the claimed invention. (S. 4-5: [0056]).
Allowable Subject Matter
I. Dependent Upon a Rejected Base Claim.
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 6, this claim requires “mixing silica particles having an average particle diameter of 0.5 to 10 µm and alumina particles to obtain a mixture.” The claimed silica particles are taught. (Huo at 4254, col. 1).
Claim 6 further requires “heating the mixture at 1300 to 1700°C for 2 to 8 hours.” The temperatures and times are taught. (Huo at 4256, Fig. 3; passim).
Huo teaches aluminum trihydrate (“ATH” or Al(OH)3), versus alumina as claimed. (Huo at 4254 – 2.1 Raw materials). Search of the prior art did not teach or reasonably suggest substituting alumina for ATH to achieve the composite with the specificity claimed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saruhan, et al., Reaction and Sintering Mechanisms of Mullite in the Systems of Cristobalite/α-Al2O3 and Amorphous α-SiO2/Al2O3, Journal of the European Ceramic Society 1996; 16: 1075-1081 (hereinafter “Saruhan at __”).
Conclusion
/DANIEL C. MCCRACKEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736