DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14, 24-25 and 28) in the reply filed on 06 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 1-14, 20-22, 24-25 and 28 is/are pending, with claim(s) 20-22 withdrawn from consideration for being directed to a non-elected invention and/or species.
Information Disclosure Statement ("IDS")
Citation 3, the only foreign patent document cited on the IDS filed 12 January 2024, has been struck-through on the annotated copy of the IDS mailed with this Office action because the citation is missing information (e.g., country code), thereby failing to adequately identify a specific foreign patent document. See 37 CFR 1.98 (b)(4). However, the examiner notes foreign reference PL 240719 B1, published 23 May 2022 (rather than 22 October 2022 as indicated by Applicant for citation 3), of which a non-English version was submitted by Applicant along with the 12 January 2024 IDS, has been considered by the examiner as indicated by its inclusion on the PTO-892 mailed herewith (along with an English machine translation of said foreign reference). If citation 3 was intended to refer to another foreign patent document, complete identifying information for said document, as well as the remaining provisions required by 37 CFR 1.98, should be provided by Applicant for consideration by the examiner.
Further, the examiner notes the listing of references in the specification (e.g., ¶¶ [0002]-[0015]) is not a proper IDS. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references discussed in the Background Art section have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The use of the term "baratron," which appears a trade name or a mark used in commerce (MKS Instruments' Baratron®), has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a laser temperature control module," "a laser operation control module," and "a laser status monitoring module" in claim 8.
If Applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: 37 CFR 1.75(i) states, "[where] a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation." Accordingly, each element of the system of claim 1 should be separated by a line indentation. Appropriate correction is required.
Additionally, Applicant is advised that should either of claims 12 or 24 be found allowable, the other of said claims will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 25 and claims dependent thereon is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 25 and claims dependent thereon, Applicant discloses a first embodiment comprising one laser (e.g., Fig. 1, Example 1), and an alternative second embodiment comprising at least two lasers (e.g., Fig. 14, Examples 4-5). The features of claim 25, such as modulation of laser beams, multiplexing and demultiplexing the optical signal, an element for combining laser beams, etc. are disclosed with respect to the second embodiment. As noted in the Restriction Requirement (mailed 16 June 2026), this is consistent with claim 25 as originally presented, which was dependent on "any one of claims 20-24," wherein claim 20 recites features of the multiple laser system disclosed by Applicant. Applicant fails to disclose an embodiment comprising one laser and the features of claim 25, such that claim 25 is directed to and/or encompasses new matter.
Claim(s) 1-14, 24-25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and claims dependent thereon, each of the "provided with" limitations (e.g., claim 1, "a leak-proof multipass cell provided with a gas inlet and outlet," "wherein the multipass cell is provided with one laser," "wherein the air outlet is additionally provided with an air flow meter"; claim 4, "each line is independently provided with an independently controlled valve"; etc.) and the "is adjusted to" limitations (e.g., claim 2, "the pump is…adjusted to reduce pressure within the range of 1 atm to 0.0005 atm," "the baratrons is adjusted to measure reduced pressure within the range of 1 atm to 0.001 atm," etc.) are indefinite. The scope of a component being provided with another component, and/or adjusting a component is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear if the limitations are intended to further limit the structure of the components being "provided with" the additional feature(s) and/or the structure of the system generally (e.g., a cooperative relationship between components of the claimed system), or instead refers to an action performed, e.g., by a user, to the system (e.g., a user provides the multipass cell with one laser), particularly because at least one of the above-noted limitations possibly recites a component (multipass cell) being provided with an element/component multiple times (e.g., "a leak-proof multipass cell provided with a gas inlet and outlet," "multipass cell…comprising at least two concave mirrors arranged in parallel, and a gas inlet and outlet"). Similarly, it is unclear if a pump or baratron "adjusted to" reduce a pressure or measure reduced pressure is intended to limit the pump to a particular type or configuration (i.e., the pump is configured to reduce pressure within the claimed range), or instead refers to an action performed, e.g., by a user, by an external system, etc., to the recited component.
The limitation "comprising a leak-proof multipass cell provided with a gas inlet and outlet into which a sample of the exhaled air is introduced by means of a pneumatic system" is indefinite. It is unclear to what "into which" refers, the multipass cell generally, or the outlet specifically. For the purpose of this Office action, the above-noted limitation will be further discussed with the understanding the pneumatic system introduces exhaled air to the multipass cell.
The limitation "the analyzed exhaled air" lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim. It is further unclear what difference, if any, is intended between the previously-recited "sample of exhaled air" and the "analyzed exhaled air." For the purpose of this Office action, "the analyzed exhaled air" is understood to refer to the previously-recited sample of exhaled air that is introduced by the pneumatic system to the multipass cell for analysis.
The limitation "comprising at least two concave mirrors arranged in parallel, and a gas inlet and outlet" is indefinite. It is unclear what is being limited by the above-noted phrase, the multipass cell, some other previously-recited component, the system generally, etc., particularly as a prior limitation already appears to indicate the multipass cell is provided with/comprises a gas inlet and gas outlet as noted above (i.e., "a leak-proof multipass cell provided with a gas inlet and outlet"). To the best of the examiner's understanding based on Applicant's figures (e.g., Fig. 1), for the purpose of this Office action, claim 1 will be further discussed with the understanding the multipass cell is being limited by the above-noted limitation.
The limitation "a preliminary container of the exhaled air comprising an air inlet and air outlet, wherein the air outlet is additionally provided with an air flow meter, the preliminary container is further connected by an elastic line supplying the air with the multipass cell on one side and on the other side with a pump, baratron and air outlet of the multipass cell" is further indefinite. Firstly, the limitation (and all other instances of "baratron" throughout the application as filed) appears to contain a trademark and/or trade name. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name.
Secondly, it is unclear to what "the other side" refers in the above-noted limitation. Applicant discloses a "general diagram" of the system structure (Fig. 1), in which a representation of a preliminary container with four "sides" (i.e., a generic box) has an air inlet on a first side, an air outlet and flow meter on a second side, the gas inlet of the multipass cell on a third side, and a pneumatic line in communication with a pump, pressure meter/sensor (baratron) and the gas outlet of the multipass cell on a fourth side. However, the claim does not specify the air inlet and air outlet are provided on respective sides, such that there are at least three "other sides" than the side on which the elastic line supplying the air with the multipass cell is provided.
The limitation "air outlet of the multipass cell" is indefinite. The previously recited limitations appear to indicate the multipass cell has a "gas outlet," while an "air outlet" is defined as a component of the preliminary container. Accordingly, it is unclear to what an "air outlet of the multipass cell" refers. For the purpose of this Office action, the above-noted limitation will be further discussed with the understanding it contains a typographical error, and was meant to the refer to the "gas outlet of the multipass cell."
Regarding claim 2 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "the pump is a spiral pump…adjusted to reduce pressure within the range of 1 atm to 0.005 atm" is indefinite. Firstly, the "adjusted to" language is unclear for the reasons discussed above. Secondly, it is unclear if limitation is intended to indicate the pump is configured to provide all pressures within the recited range, or is configured to reduce pressure to at least one value within the recited range.
Regarding claim 3 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "the baratron is adjusted to measure reduced pressure within the range of 1 atm to 0.001 atm" is indefinite. Firstly, the "adjusted to" language is unclear for the reasons discussed above. Secondly, it is unclear if limitation is intended to indicate the baratron is configured to measure all pressures within the claimed range, or is configured to measure at least one reduced pressure within the recited range.
Regarding claim 4 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "the preliminary container comprises elastic lines supplying the analyzed exhaled air, wherein each line is independently provided with an independently controlled valve" is indefinite. It is unclear how the elastic lines of claim 4 relate to the elastic line of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "characterized in that the elastic line supplying the analyzed exhaled air additionally comprises a valve between the pump and the baratron" is indefinite. The only elastic line recited in claim 1 is a connection between the preliminary container and multipass cell "on one side," i.e., the "other side" from the pump, baratron and gas outlet of the multipass cell. It is unclear in what manner this elastic line, then, can comprise a valve "between the pump and baratron."
Regarding claim 7 and claims dependent thereon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the pneumatic module" in the claims. The "pneumatic module" is presumed to refer to the previously recited pneumatic system.
Regarding claim 8 and claims dependent thereon, as discussed above, the limitations "laser temperature control module," "laser operation control module," and "laser status monitoring module" have been interpreted to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The corresponding disclosed structure of the laser status monitoring module is a set of precise voltmeters having 5 1/2 digit accuracy (pg. 15, line 26). While Applicant discloses various functions of the later temperature control module and the laser operation control module (e.g., pg. 15, lines 10-24), Applicant does not disclose the structure that performs these function(s). Therefore, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function(s) and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function(s) and the claim is indefinite. See MPEP 2181(II).
Regarding claim 10 and claims dependent thereon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the laser emitting monochromatic beams" in the claims. Claim 10 will be further discussed with the understanding it is dependent on claim 9, which provides sufficient antecedent basis for the above-noted term.
Regarding claim 11 and claims dependent thereon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the laser emitting light having a wavelength within the range of 3595.77 - 3596.20" and "the laser emitting light having a wavelength within the range close to 3336.8 nm" in the claims. Further, it is unclear how, if at all, the limitations of claim 11 are intended to limit the structure of the claimed system. There is no indication that any component of the system is configured to modulate the light. Rather, the limitations appear to indicate the manner in which the system is intended to be used.
Regarding claim 13 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "taking a biomarker sample," is indefinite. The relationship between the "sample of exhaled air" of the prior step and/or of the system of claim 1 is indefinite. Further, there is insufficient antecedent based for "the examined air." Additionally, while the preamble states the method is performed "with use of the system according to claim 1," the recited steps provide no indication how the system, or the components thereof, is/are used in said steps.
Regarding claim 14 and claims dependent thereon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for various limitations in the claim, including "the flow meter," "PSCM," etc. Further, the limitation "all valves (1-5)" are closed" is indefinite, as there is no indication the system of claim 1 comprises any valves, let alone 5 of them. The subsequent limitations reciting specific valves being closed (e.g., "valves 1 and 2 are open," "valves 1, 2…4 and 5 are closed," etc.) are further unclear. To the best of the examiner's understanding, these valve numbers refer to valves in specific locations within the pneumatic system (e.g., as illustrated in Fig. 1); however, as noted above, there is no indication that they claim system comprises any valves, let alone 5 valves at particular locations within the system.
Further, it is unclear what is required in each stage. Specifically, the claims lack any indication (e.g., there is no conjunction (and, or) within each stage) that all the recited steps of a stage are required, that any one of the recited steps are required, etc. For example, with respect to stage (i), is performing any one of steps a-f sufficient to meet the requirements of the claim, or does every step need to be performed? If the latter, are the steps required to be performed in the order recited?
Regarding claim 25 and claims dependent thereon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for numerous limitations of the claim, for example, "each laser light beam," "the coaxial multiplexing of the beams into one stream," "the element combining the laser beams, "the inlet photodetector," "the cell filled with the reference gases," "the lasers," etc., in the claims.
Regarding claim 28 and claims dependent thereon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the method for the detection of biomarkers in the air exhaled from the patient's lung that uses the system" in the claim. For the purpose of this Office action, claim 28 will be discussed within the scope of the following: "The system according to claim 1, characterized in that the biomarker is selected from among: ethane, methane, formaldehyde and water vapor."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 13-14 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0187203 A1 (Zondlo) in view of "Cavity-enhanced optical frequency comb spectroscopy: application to human breath analysis" (Thorpe) and US 2015/0289782 A1 (Peverall).
The examiner first notes any claim limitation recited as being "preferable" (e.g., claim 2, "preferably an oil-free pump") has been interpreted as optional but not required. As noted in MPEP 2143.03, "Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation." For example, with respect to claim 2, said claim has been interpreted as requiring the pump is a spiral pump, but not requiring the spiral pump is oil-free.
Regarding claim 1, Zondlo discloses/suggests a system for the detection of biomarkers in the air exhaled from patient's lungs (e.g., ¶ [0004] specific applications include breath analysis), comprising a leak-proof multipass cell (Fig. 2, sensing unit 200 including multipass optical cell 204) provided with a gas inlet (sample gas input port 130) and outlet (sample gas output port 132), wherein the multipass cell is provided with one laser whose light beam is directed along a coaxial optical path to the multipass cell (light source module housing 108 including light source 112; ¶ [0017]; etc.), comprising at least two concave mirrors arranged in parallel (Fig. 2D, mirrors 236 and 238) and which is filled with a sample of the analyzed exhaled air (e.g., ¶ [0100]), wherein a pneumatic system is connected to the gas inlet and outlet of the multipass cell by means of lines supplying the exhaled air for introducing a sample of exhaled air thereto (e.g., ¶ [0100] sample cell 104 may be a discrete sample where gas flows into an evacuated cell up to a certain pressure and then a valve closes, and the sample is probed by the system, or sample cell 104 may be a continuous flow where the gas sample is continuously flowing through sample cell 104 via input port 130 and output port 132, indicating/suggesting ports 130, 132 of sample cell are connected to pneumatic means for controlling the flow of gas through the cell, e.g., pressure/flow controller 1008 usable with sensing unit 200).
Zondlo does not disclose the pneumatic system comprises a preliminary container of the exhaled air comprising an air inlet and air outlet, wherein the air outlet is provided with an air flow meter, the preliminary container is further connected by an elastic line supplying the air with the multipass cell on one side and on the other side with a pump, baratron/pressure sensor and air outlet of the multipass cell.
Thorpe discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising a sample cell (cavity) and a pneumatic system comprising a preliminary container (Tedlar sample bag) fluidly connected by elastic lines to gas inlet and outlet of the sample cell (e.g., Fig. 1), a pump (dry scroll pump), and a pressure sensor or baratron (pressure gauge, pressure regulator, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zondlo with the pneumatic system comprising a pump and a baratron/pressure sensor as disclosed/suggested by Thorpe in order to facilitate introducing a breath sample into the multipass cell as needed and/or desired (e.g., with a desired flow rate, pressure, etc.) (Zondlo, ¶ [0100]; Thorpe, pg. 2389; etc.). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zondlo with the pneumatic system comprising a preliminary container fluidly connected by elastic lines to the multipass cell and remainder of the pneumatic system (pump, baratron/pressure sensor, etc.) as disclosed and/or suggested by Thorpe in order to facilitate isolating a sample of alveolar breath for introduction to the sample cell (Thorpe, pg. 2394).
Zondlo as modified does not disclose the preliminary container comprises an air inlet and an outlet, wherein the air outlet is provided with an air flow meter.
Peverall discloses a pneumatic system comprising a preliminary container (preconcentrator 2) comprising an air inlet (Fig. 1, inherent opening(s), port(s), etc. for receiving breath or air via conduit(s) 13) and an air outlet (Fig. 1, inherent opening(s), etc. for flow continuing via conduit(s) 13 to optical cell, exhaust, etc.); and an air flow meter (flow sensor 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zondlo with the preliminary container comprising an air inlet and an air outlet, and having an air flow meter associated therewith as disclosed and/or suggested by Peverall in order to facilitate selecting a desired (e.g., alveolar) portion thereof for collection and/or analysis (Peverall, ¶ [0006]).
Zondlo as modified does not expressly disclose the air outlet of the preliminary container is provided with an air flow meter. However, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zondlo with the air flow meter being provided on the air inlet of the preliminary container because Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed location of the air flow meter provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the air flow sensor arrangement disclosed and/or suggested by Peverall (or Zondlo as modified thereby) because either arrangement permits selecting/identifying and collecting an appropriate/desired breath portion for further analysis.
Regarding claim 2, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the pump is a spiral pump, preferably an oil-free pump (e.g., Thorpe, dry spiral pump), adjusted to reduce pressure within the range of 1 atm to 0.0005 atm (Zondlo, ¶ [0100]; Thorpe, 100-400 torr; etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the baratron is adjusted to measure reduced pressure within the range of 1 atm to 0.001 atm (Zondlo, ¶ [0100]; Thorpe, 100-400 torr; etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the preliminary container comprises elastic lines supplying the analyzed exhaled air, wherein each line is independently provided with an independently controlled valve (Thorpe, Fig. 1; Peverall, Fig. 1; etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests that the elastic line supplying the analyzed exhaled air additionally comprises a valve between the pump and the baratron (Thorpe, Fig. 1, choke valve between pump and pressure regulator).
Regarding claim 7, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the pneumatic system is controlled by means of a pneumatic system control module for controlling valves and the pump (Thorpe, means for maintaining/controlling gas flow rate, pressure, etc.; Peverall, ¶ [0037] control system 200 that controls gas handling system to select a certain volume of breath, vent/exhaust undesired breath portions, etc.)
Regarding claim 8, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the laser is connected by means of electric lines to a laser temperature control module and a laser operation control module, and both modules are electrically connected to a laser status monitoring module (e.g., ¶ [0092] ECU including data acquisition element 901, light source driver 902, light source temperature controller 903, processor/computer 905, etc.; ¶ [0093] light source driver 902 sends operational data of the light source (such as current, etc.), shown as arrow 915, to data acquisition element 901, which in turn communicates certain control commands (shown as arrow 916) based on such information to light source driver 902 to execute; DAQ element 901 can also send on/off signals (shown as arrow 917) to activate/deactivate the light source as needed; light source temperature controller 903 can send temperature data of the light source (arrow 918) to data acquisition element 901, which in turn can send commands to regulate the temperature of the light source as desired based on the information provided, shown as arrow 919; etc.).
Regarding claim 9, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the laser is a laser emitting monochromatic light beams of different wavelengths (e.g., ¶ [0019] light source is configured to probe for an absorption feature at a wavelength in a range of 700 nm to 25000 nm; ¶ [0026] the spectroscopic method can comprise tuning the light source to probe for an absorption feature of a first gas species of interest at a first wavelength; probing for the absorption feature of the first gas species of interest at the first wavelength for a first duration of time; tuning the light source to probe for an absorption feature of a second first gas species of interest at a second wavelength; and probing for the absorption feature of the second gas species of interest at the second wavelength for a second duration of time; etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Zondlo as modified with respect to claim 1 discloses/suggests a method for the detection of biomarkers in the air exhaled from patient's lungs with the use of the system according to claim 1, the method comprising: preparing the system to take a sample of exhaled air and measure a biomarker (e.g., ¶ [0100] sample cell is evacuated); filling the multipass cell; adjusting pressure in the multipass cell; and measuring the content of biomarkers in the air sample (e.g., ¶ [0100] sample gas flows into the cell at a certain pressure and the sample is probed by the system).
Zondlo as modified does not expressly disclose the method comprises taking a biomarker sample; and emptying the pneumatic system of the examined air. However, as discussed with respect to claim 1, Zondlo does discloses/suggest using the system to analyze a breath sample.
Thorpe discloses a method comprising taking an air biomarker sample (e.g., pg. 2394, collecting a second half of a breath, e.g., alveolar air, in a Tedlar bag); measuring the content of biomarkers in the air sample (Abstract, breath measurements including breath concentrations of CO, and the presence of trace concentrations of NH3). Peverall discloses a method comprising taking an air biomarker sample (e.g., ¶ [0037] passing a certain volume of alveolar air to the pre-concentrator); measuring the content of biomarkers in the air sample (¶¶ [0040]-[0042] measuring at least one VOC level within the breath sample); and emptying the pneumatic system of the examined air (¶ [0020] purging the unit of gas samples).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zondlo with taking an air biomarker sample; and emptying the pneumatic system of the examined air as disclosed/suggested by Thorpe and Peverall in order to facilitate identifying important biomarkers correlated with diseases and metabolic processes in breath (Thorpe, Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests in stage (v) at least all valves are closed; the pump is turned off; the measurement of the optical system is turned on (e.g., Zondlo, ¶ [0100] sample cell 104 may be a discrete sample where gas flows into an evacuated cell up to a certain pressure and then a valve closes, and the sample is probed by the system).
Regarding claim 28, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the biomarker is selected from among: ethane, methane, formaldehyde and water vapor (¶ [0060]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zondlo in view of Thorpe and Peverall as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of " Detection of disease markers in human breath with laser absorption spectroscopy" (cited by Applicant, Stacewicz).
Regarding claim 6, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not disclose the laser is connected by a coaxial optical path to the multipass cell and to one photodetector in front of the multipass cell and another photodetector behind the multipass cell. However, Zondlo does disclose the sample absorption signal can be a wavelength modulated spectroscopy (WMS) spectrum (e.g., ¶ [0021]).
Stacewicz discloses a comparable system suitable/configured for WMS, wherein a laser is connected by a coaxial optical path to the multipass cell and to one photodetector in front of the multipass cell and another photodetector behind the multipass cell (e.g., Fig. 2(b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zondlo with the laser being connected by a coaxial optical path to the multipass cell and to one photodetector in front of the multipass cell and another photodetector behind the multipass cell as a simple substitution of one configuration suitable for WMS for another to yield no more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zondlo in view of Thorpe and Peverall as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of "Sensitive detection of formaldehyde using an interbandcascade laser near 3.6 μm" (Ren) and "Ppb‑level mid‑infrared ethane detection based on three measurement schemes using a 3.34‑μm continuous‑wave interband cascade laser" (Li).
Regarding claim 10, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further discloses the laser emitting monochromatic beams is a laser emitting a monochromatic light beam having a first wavelength adjusted to the edge of the absorption line of a first target species and a light beam having a second wavelength adjusted to the edge of the absorption line of a second target species, wherein the first and second wavelengths are close to one another (e.g., Zondlo, ¶ [0026] if information about more than one species of interest in a sample is desired, the wavelength(s) selected may be different from detection of one species to allow use of one suitable light source, wherein the selected wavelengths may be closer to one another). Zondlo further discloses and/or suggests the first and second target species may be formaldehyde and ethane (e.g., Zondlo, ¶ [0060]).
Ren discloses the range of 3595.77 - 3596.20 nm (i.e., ~3.6 μm) as a suitable wavelength for formaldehyde detection. Li discloses a range close to 3336.8 nm (i.e., 3.34 μm) as suitable wavelength for ethane detection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zondlo a the laser emitting monochromatic beams comprising a laser emitting a monochromatic light beam having a wavelength adjusted to the edge of the absorption line of formaldehyde (HCOH) within the range of 3595.77 - 3596.20 nm and a laser emitting a light beam adjusted to the edge of the absorption line of ethane (C2H6) within the range close to 3336.8 nm as disclosed/suggested by Ren and Li in order to facilitate detection of the two specific target species (formaldehyde and ethane) with the use of one suitable light source (Zondlo, ¶ [0026]).
Claim(s) 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zondlo in view of Thorpe and Peverall as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0204382 A1 (Christensen).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Zondlo as modified discloses/suggests the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not expressly disclose the distance between the mirrors in the multipass cell. Accordingly, Zondlo does not disclose the distance between the mirrors is at least 1 cm. However, Zondlo does disclose it is within the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to design and/or select a multipass optical cell to achieve a desired optical path length (¶ [0070]).
Christensen discloses/suggests a system comprising a multipass cell comprising at least two concave mirrors arranged in parallel (Fig. 1), wherein the distance (Fig. 1, D) between the mirrors in the multipass cell is at least 1 cm (¶ [0023]). Christensen further discloses the number of traversals, and thus the effective optical pathlength of a multipass cell, may be controlled by adjusting the separation distance D between the first and second mirrors (e.g., ¶ [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zondlo with the distance between the mirrors being at least 1 cm as disclosed/suggested by Christensen as a simple substitution of one suitable multipass cell configuration for another to yield no more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Alternatively/Additionally, since Christensen discloses the mirror distance provides a quality which can be optimized (e.g., controlling optical pathlength), the claimed distance range of at least 1 cm would have been obvious because it has been held that the discovery of optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is not inventive. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Further alternatively/additionally, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zondlo with the distance between the mirrors being at least 1 cm because Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed distance range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the any suitable mirror distance for a desired optical pathlength as disclosed/suggested by Zondlo because either arrangement permits selecting cell parameters for a gas species of interest (Zondlo, ¶ [0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892.
/Meredith Weare/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791