DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2293866 in view of JP 2017-218372, as evidenced by Dow Corning (Product Information Dow Corning 346 Emulsion, Dow Corning, 1998, 2 page), GB 1550205, Mojsiewicz-Pienkowska (Size exclusion chromatography with evaporative light scattering detection as a method for speciation analysis of polydimethylsiloxanes. III. Identification and determination of dimeticone and simethicone in pharmaceutical formulations. Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, 58(1), pages 200-207), Petrie (Sodium Silicate Adhesives, Special Chem, 2021, 9 pages) and CEES (Soluble silicates: Chemical, toxicological, ecological and legal aspects of production, transport, handling and application, CEES, 2019, 23 pages). For convenience, the machine translation of JP ‘372 will be cited below.
CA ‘866 teaches a water repellent composition which can be applied to aircraft or automobile windshields comprising the following (p. 4, ll. 5-9):
A composition comprising, for example, 400 g emulsified polydimethylsiloxane, 5000 g of water and 600 g of sodium silicate suggests a composition comprising about 120-280 g of polydimethylsiloxane, 5280 to 5120 g of water and 600 g of sodium silicate, or about 98-95 parts of sodium silicate in water and about 2-5 parts polydimethylsiloxane, where the sodium silicate is present in water in an amount of 11-12 wt%.
A composition comprising for example, 400 g emulsified polydimethylsiloxane, 2000 g of water and 600 g of sodium silicate suggests a composition comprising about 120-280 g of polydimethylsiloxane, 2280 to 2120 g of water and 600 g of sodium silicate, or about 96-91 parts of sodium silicate in water and about 4-9 parts polydimethylsiloxane, where the sodium silicate is present in water in an amount of 26-28 wt%.
As can be seen above, these ranges overlap with the claimed ranges of 84-99 parts aqueous solution of an alkali metal silicate and 1-5 parts polydimethylsiloxane in claim 1, and a silicate content of 10-50 wt% or 20-45 wt% in claims 4 and 14, respectfully, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
CA ‘866 exemplifies the emulsified polydimethylsiloxane as Corning 346, which as evidenced by Dow Corning is an aqueous emulsion of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) with a density of 0.99 g/mL and has dynamic viscosity of about 1000 cP, as evidenced by GB ‘205 (p. 28, Example 6), suggesting a kinematic viscosity of about 1010 cSt, as it is well known in the art that dynamic viscosity (cP) = kinematic viscosity (cSt) x density. PDMS with a viscosity of about 1000 cSt has a degree of polymerization (n) of about 400, as evidenced by Mojsiewicz-Pienkowska (p. 201, Table 1).
CA ‘866 teaches that the use of sodium silicate or other suitable silicate, and also teaches potassium silicate as a possibility (p. 3, ll. 8-12); however, does not teach the molar ratio of Si/M, as claimed.
JP ‘372 teaches a water-repellent composition for automobile windshields comprising an alkali silicate, which can be a sodium silicate, potassium silicate or lithium silicate, teaching the molar ratio of the alkali metal to Si (M/Si) as 0.6-1.8, teaching that when the lower limit is smaller than 0.6, the wear resistance is lowered and when the upper limit is greater than 1.8, the water repellency is lowered. This suggests a molar ratio of Si/M of about 0.5-1.7.
Therefore, choosing a molar ratio of Si/M for the alkali silicate in CA ‘866 of about 0.5-1.7 is prima facie obvious, as JP ‘372 teaches that wear resistance and water repellency can be optimized within this range.
CA ‘866 in view of JP ‘372 is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-2, 4 and 14.
Claims 3 and 5 only limit the claimed invention when (A2) is used as component (A), where (A1) is listed as an alternative.
Claim 6 only limits component (C) when it is a fluorosilane, where polydimethylsiloxanes are listed as alternatives thereto.
As to claims 7-9 and 15-19, the Si/M ratio suggested by JP ‘372 overlaps with the claimed ranges, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
As to claim 11, CA ‘866 exemplifies mixing an aqueous solution of sodium silicate with the emulsified polysiloxane (pp. 5-6, Example 1).
As to claim 12, CA ‘866 teaches suitable surfaces for application to include glass, plastics, metal, ceramics, etc. (p. 1, ll. 1-4), and exemplifies applying the composition to metal substrates (p. 8), further teaching applying the composition by way of a moistened dry cloth, or by brush or spray (p. 6, ll. 17-20).
As to claim 14, CA ‘866 does not teach the pH of the composition; however, compositions include sodium silicate with a Si/M molar ratio of about 0.5-1.7, where the sodium silicate is present in a concentration of 10-26 wt%.
All soluble silicates are alkaline, where the pH of soluble silicate solutions is typically in a range from 11.0 for a molar ratio of greater than 3.2 and 13.0 for a molar ratio of about 1.0, where the molar ratio is defined as Si/M, as evidenced by CEES (pp. 2-3 and 8). The water solubility of the alkaline silicates depends on the pH, where at a pH of above 11-12, stable solutions of the silicates exist, whereas the soluble content rapidly decreases when the pH is lowered to 9, as evidenced by CEES (p. 11).
The pH of sodium silicate is fairly constant as it changes little when the solids content of the sodium silicate solution exceeds 10%, where the pH will range between 11 for the high ratio products and 13 for the lower ratio (more alkaline) products, as evidenced by Special Chem (p. 4).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compositions of CA ‘886 in view of JP ‘372 to possess a pH of about 13, as the sodium silicate is present in a concentration of at least 10 wt%, and the alkali silicates have a low molar ratio of Si/M of 0.5-1.7. The pH of Corning 346 is 8.5, and is alkaline, and would not expect to lower the pH of the overall composition to below 13.
/Brieann R Johnston/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766