DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites, in part, “said foraminous pilot surface by retained by said sub-housing.” This part of the claim should be amended as follows: “said foraminous pilot surface [[by]] retained by said sub-housing.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 14, 16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 00/32990 A1 (hereinafter “KAWAMURA”).
Regarding Claim 1, KAWAMURA discloses a pilot unit for an abatement apparatus configured to abate an effluent stream from a semiconductor processing tool, said pilot unit comprising: a housing (12) retaining a foraminous pilot surface (11), said housing and foraminous pilot surface defining a plenum (19) which is configured to convey fuel and oxidant from a corresponding housing inlet and through the foraminous pilot surface (see the provided English translation: “The burner section 10 includes a cylindrical body 11 that forms a flame holding section 18 that opens toward the combustion chamber 30, and an outer cylinder 1 [sic] that surrounds the circumference of the cylindrical body 11 with a predetermined distance therebetween. 2 [sic] between the cylindrical body 11 and the outer cylinder 12 and an air chamber 19 for holding combustion air and an auxiliary combustion gas such as a premixed gas of hydrogen and oxygen. An auxiliary combustion gas chamber 20 is formed. The air chamber 19 and the auxiliary gas chamber 20 are connected to an air source and a gas source (not shown). Here, hydrogen, propane, city gas, etc. are used as the auxiliary combustion gas.”); and an ignitor (39) configured to ignite said fuel and oxidant when exiting said foraminous pilot surface (see the provided English translation: “The combustion chamber 30 is provided with a UV sensor 38 for detecting a flame, and a pilot burner 39 for igniting the burner section 10.”); wherein the foraminous pilot surface is shaped to fit proximate a burner (14) of the abatement apparatus (10).
Regarding Claim 2, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein said foraminous pilot surface (11) is positioned on one of an external and an outer surface of said housing (12).
Regarding Claims 4-6, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein said foraminous pilot surface (11) is shaped to fit proximate at least one of a plurality of burners (14) of said abatement apparatus (10);
wherein said foraminous pilot surface (11) is at least one of: shaped to abut at least one of said plurality of burners (14) of said abatement apparatus; shaped to abut a combustion surface of at least one of said plurality of burners of said abatement apparatus; shaped to provide a continuation of a combustion surface of at least one of said plurality of burners of said abatement apparatus; shaped to extend along an edge of at least one of said plurality of burners (14) of said abatement apparatus (10); and shaped to extend along at least a portion of a perimeter of at least one of said plurality of burners (14) of said abatement apparatus (10);
wherein said pilot unit is at least one of: configured to locate said foraminous pilot surface (11) to ignite fuel and oxidant exiting at least one of said plurality of burners (14) of said abatement apparatus (10); and configured to locate said foraminous pilot surface (11) towards an exhaust (see at least 18) of at least one of said plurality of burners (14) of said abatement apparatus (10).
Regarding Claim 7, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein said foraminous pilot surface (11) is at least one of planar and elongate.
Regarding Claim 8, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein said foraminous pilot surface (11) defines at least one aperture to receive at least one of said ignitor (39), a sight port (38) and a sensor.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein said foraminous pilot surface (11) comprises a plurality of adjacent foraminous pilot surfaces; wherein one of said plurality of adjacent foraminous pilot surfaces defines said at least one aperture (15, 16).
Regarding Claims 14 and 16, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein: said ignitor (39) comprises a nozzle (i.e., the outlet end of ignitor 39) configured to generate a pilot flame to ignite said fuel and oxidant exiting said foraminous pilot surface (see the provided English translation: “The combustion chamber 30 is provided with a UV sensor 38 for detecting a flame, and a pilot burner 39 for igniting the burner section 10.”); and wherein said nozzle (i.e., the outlet end of ignitor 39) is retained within said pilot unit (see 11, 12);
wherein said nozzle (i.e., the outlet end of ignitor 39) comprises a nozzle conduit (see Fig 3) extending through said plenum (19).
Regarding Claim 21, KAWAMURA discloses an abatement apparatus configured to abate an effluent stream from a semiconductor processing tool comprising: a pilot unit (see 11, 12): a housing (12) retaining a foraminous pilot surface (11), said housing (12) and foraminous pilot surface (11) defining a plenum (19) which is configured to convey fuel and oxidant from a corresponding housing inlet and through the foraminous pilot surface (11; see also the provided English translation: “The burner section 10 includes a cylindrical body 11 that forms a flame holding section 18 that opens toward the combustion chamber 30, and an outer cylinder 1 [sic] that surrounds the circumference of the cylindrical body 11 with a predetermined distance therebetween. 2 [sic] between the cylindrical body 11 and the outer cylinder 12 and an air chamber 19 for holding combustion air and an auxiliary combustion gas such as a premixed gas of hydrogen and oxygen. An auxiliary combustion gas chamber 20 is formed. The air chamber 19 and the auxiliary gas chamber 20 are connected to an air source and a gas source (not shown). Here, hydrogen, propane, city gas, etc. are used as the auxiliary combustion gas.”); and an ignitor (39) configured to ignite said fuel and oxidant when exiting said foraminous pilot surface (see the provided English translation: “The combustion chamber 30 is provided with a UV sensor 38 for detecting a flame, and a pilot burner 39 for igniting the burner section 10.”), wherein the foraminous pilot surface (11) is shaped to fit proximate a burner (14) of the abatement apparatus (10).
Regarding Claim 22, KAWAMURA discloses a method, comprising: retaining a foraminous pilot surface (11) in a housing (12) to define a plenum (19); conveying fuel and oxidant from a corresponding housing inlet, through said plenum to said foraminous pilot surface (see the provided English translation: “The burner section 10 includes a cylindrical body 11 that forms a flame holding section 18 that opens toward the combustion chamber 30, and an outer cylinder 1 [sic] that surrounds the circumference of the cylindrical body 11 with a predetermined distance therebetween. 2 [sic] between the cylindrical body 11 and the outer cylinder 12 and an air chamber 19 for holding combustion air and an auxiliary combustion gas such as a premixed gas of hydrogen and oxygen. An auxiliary combustion gas chamber 20 is formed. The air chamber 19 and the auxiliary gas chamber 20 are connected to an air source and a gas source (not shown). Here, hydrogen, propane, city gas, etc. are used as the auxiliary combustion gas.”); and igniting said fuel and oxidant when exiting said foraminous pilot surface (see ignitor 39; see also the provided English translation: “The combustion chamber 30 is provided with a UV sensor 38 for detecting a flame, and a pilot burner 39 for igniting the burner section 10.”), wherein the foraminous pilot surface (11) is shaped to fit proximate a burner (14) of an abatement apparatus (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA.
Regarding Claim 20, KAWAMURA further discloses wherein said housing (12) comprises an upstand (indicated in annotated Fig 3 above) configured to extend to at least said foraminous pilot surface (11).
KAWAMURA does not disclose a plurality of upstands.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify KAWAMURA to comprise a plurality of upstands, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also DUPLICATION OF PARTS: MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B). In the present case, a greater number of upstands would provide additional support for said foraminous pilot surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799