DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01-12-2024 and 02-27-2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102011081149 (A1) hereinafter Bacher.
Regarding Claim 1, Bacher teaches an electrical energy storage device [1] comprising a plurality of battery cells [5] accommodated in a housing [2], wherein the housing comprises grooves (first duct) [8] that run parallel to the bottom of the housing, and heat sinks (heat transfer members) [6] arranged in spaces between the plurality of battery cells, and wherein the heat sinks (heat transfer members) [6] protrudes into the grooves (first duct) (paragraphs 66-68, see annotated figure 1 below).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102014004764 (A1) hereinafter Essinger.
Regarding Claim 1, Essinger teaches a battery pack (electrical energy storage device) comprising a plurality of battery cells [11] accommodated in a housing (paragraph 2), wherein the housing comprises slots (first duct) [7] that run parallel to the bottom of the housing, and heat exchanger (heat transfer members) [1] arranged in spaces between the plurality of battery cells, and wherein the heat exchanger (heat transfer members) [1] protrudes into the slots (first duct) (paragraphs 36-42, see annotated figures 1-2 below).
Claim(s) 2-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102011081149 (A1) hereinafter Bacher [or DE 102014004764 (A1) hereinafter Essinger].
Regarding Claim 2-3 and 18, Bacher teaches that the spaces surrounding the plurality of battery cells and the heat sinks are filled with a solid material (i.e., metal material) (paragraphs 78-82).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Bacher teaches that the heat sinks (heat transfer members) are plates or pipes with any cross-sectional shape (paragraphs 69-82).
Regarding Claims 5-7, Bacher teaches that the heat sinks (heat transfer members) are pipes with varied dimensions or plates with varied dimensions (i.e., varying surface areas) (paragraphs 69-82).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Bacher teaches a plurality of grooves (ducts) [8] formed in the housing and a bottom heater formed in the groove (paragraphs 80, 89).
Regarding Claims 10-11, Bacher teaches that housing is a box-shaped housing having insulating capability, and the grooves are disposed above the plurality of battery cells (paragraph 89 [i.e., cooling module disposed above the battery cells]).
Regarding Claim 12, Bacher teaches that the heat sinks protruding into the groove are in contact with a surface of the groove opposite of the containing space in a direction of extension of the heat sink (see figures of Bacher and alternatively figures of Essinger).
Regarding Claims 13-14, Bacher teaches a cooling module [4] (i.e., such cooling module is equipped with a cooling medium and further includes an intake fan to facilitate moving the cooling medium through the ducts or channels) (paragraphs 66-67).
Regarding Claims 15-17, Bacher teaches that the heat sinks (heat transfer members) are made of metal material, and the plurality of battery cells are arranged to form a square lattice in a plan view, and the heat sinks are each disposed at a central location of a unit lattice of the square lattice (paragraph 81 of Bacher and alternatively figures of Essinger).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752