DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the provided abstract is a cover sheet for publication WO 2023/288042 A1, which includes a figure and other text on the page. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation "The enclosure of claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This term should read “The ventilation enclosure of claim 1.”
Claim 3 recites the limitation "The enclosure of claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This term should read “The ventilation enclosure of claim 1.”
Claim 4 recites the limitation "The enclosure of claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This term should read “The ventilation enclosure of claim 1.”
Claim 5 recites the limitation "The enclosure of claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This term should read “The ventilation enclosure of claim 1.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the ventilation enclosure apparatus" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This term should read “the ventilation enclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich et al. (US 2019/0393569 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 103346362 A) and Fu et al. (CN 111900291 A).
Regarding claim 1, Rich teaches a ventilation enclosure (thermal enclosure 14) configured to be installed onto a battery assembly (battery 12), the ventilation enclosure comprising: an enclosure top (outer lid portion 22); and a pair of opposing sidewalls (first wall portion 24, third wall portion 28), one of the sidewalls comprising a plurality of dimples (spacer pads/dimples 80) formed therein (Par. 0048; dimples 80 are integrally formed on the outer case portion 20, which comprises each sidewall) and configured to contact an exterior housing of the battery assembly (Par. 0048; simples 80 may additionally be formed with the inner case portion 62, which houses the battery).
Rich fails to teach a plurality of dimples on each of the sidewalls, as Rich rather teaches a plurality of dimples of one of the sidewalls (Par. 0048; Fig. 6).
However, Wang teaches a pair of opposing sidewalls (inner walls 104; Fig. 3-4), each of the sidewalls comprising a plurality of dimples (Page 2, Par. 12; “a plurality of spoiler devices 103 are provided inside the battery box, and the plurality of spoiler devices 103 is provided on the inner walls on both sides of the battery box”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation enclosure taught by Rich by incorporating dimples on both opposing sidewalls of the enclosure, as taught by Wang. This would be done in order to provide even cooling air flow rates throughout the enclosure, ensuring that each battery assembly is cooled, as stated in Wang (Page 2, Par. 1).
Rich additionally fails to teach one or more ventilation elements installed in the enclosure top, as Rich rather teaches an air inlet 36 located at the bottom of the enclosure, and an air outlet between the outer lid portion 22 and outer case portion 20. Rich does teach, however, that the location of the air inlet may be rearranged depending on the battery storage location and the optimal thermoregulation position (Par. 0050).
However, Fu teaches a ventilation enclosure (box body 1) for a battery assembly (batteries 3), the ventilation enclosure comprising an enclosure top (upper cover 2), which comprises one or more ventilation elements installed therein (Fig. 1-2, cooling fan 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation enclosure taught by Rich by incorporating ventilation elements on the enclosure top, as taught by Fu. This would be done in order to remove heat rising to the top of the enclosure, preventing damage to the battery, as taught by Fu (Page 5, Par. 1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Rich teaches the ventilation enclosure of claim 1, wherein the dimples have a generally hemispherical geometry (Par. 0048, the dimples may be substantially round, thus spherical).
Regarding claim 3, modified Rich teaches the ventilation enclosure of claim 1, wherein the sidewalls comprise a polymeric material (Par. 0036; plastic, polypropylene, and PET are provided examples of the enclosure material).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rich teaches the one or more ventilation elements comprising one or more fans (Par. 0052; the air inlet 36 is provided with a fan 94 which draws in cooling air).
Regarding claim 6, Rich teaches a battery assembly comprising the ventilation enclosure installed thereon (battery 12, thermal enclosure 14 make a battery assembly; Fig. 3; Par. 0004, “a battery enclosure shaped and sized to accept and surround a battery”).
Regarding claim 7, Rich teaches the battery assembly of claim 6, further comprising a battery cell (battery 12) and a thermal barrier layer (aerogel 72; Par. 0045, the aerogel has low thermal conductivity, therefore it is thermally insulating) positioned between the battery cell and the exterior housing (Par. 0013; the layer of aerogel may be placed on an internal surface of the inner case portion 62, in which the battery is located).
Regarding claim 8, Rich teaches a method of cooling a battery assembly (battery 12) comprising: providing a battery assembly having a ventilation enclosure (thermal enclosure 14) installed thereon, the ventilation enclosure comprising: an enclosure top (outer lid portion 22) and a pair of opposing sidewalls (first wall portion 24, third wall portion 28), one of the sidewalls comprising a plurality of dimples (spacer pads/dimples 80) formed therein (Par. 0048; dimples 80 are integrally formed on the outer case portion 20, which comprises each sidewall) and contacting an exterior housing of the battery assembly (Par. 0048; simples 80 may additionally be formed with the inner case portion 62, which houses the battery) so as to define a space between the sidewalls and an exterior housing of the battery assembly (Fig. 5, void 71 is located between the inner case portion 62 and outer case 72); operating one or more ventilation elements (air inlet 36), thereby inducing airflow in the space between the sidewalls and an exterior housing of the battery assembly (Par. 0004, the air inlet 36 provides airflow into the battery enclosure; Par. 0010, the air inlet is formed through the inner case portion 62 and outer case portion 20, thus passing air through the void 71).
Rich fails to teach a plurality of dimples on each of the sidewalls, as Rich rather teaches a plurality of dimples of one of the sidewalls (Par. 0048; Fig. 6).
However, Wang teaches a pair of opposing sidewalls (inner walls 104; Fig. 3-4), each of the sidewalls comprising a plurality of dimples (Page 2, Par. 12; “a plurality of spoiler devices 103 are provided inside the battery box, and the plurality of spoiler devices 103 is provided on the inner walls on both sides of the battery box”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation enclosure taught by Rich by incorporating dimples on both opposing sidewalls of the enclosure, as taught by Wang. This would be done in order to provide even cooling air flow rates throughout the enclosure, ensuring that each battery assembly is cooled, as stated in Wang (Page 2, Par. 1).
Rich additionally fails to teach one or more ventilation elements installed in the enclosure top, as Rich rather teaches an air inlet 36 located at the bottom of the enclosure, and an air outlet between the outer lid portion 22 and outer case portion 20. Rich does teach, however, that the location of the air inlet may be rearranged depending on the battery storage location and the optimal thermoregulation position (Par. 0050).
However, Fu teaches a ventilation enclosure (box body 1) for a battery assembly (batteries 3), the ventilation enclosure comprising an enclosure top (upper cover 2), which comprises one or more ventilation elements installed therein (Fig. 1-2, cooling fan 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation enclosure taught by Rich by incorporating ventilation elements on the enclosure top, as taught by Fu. This would be done in order to remove heat rising to the top of the enclosure, preventing damage to the battery, as taught by Fu (Page 5, Par. 1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rich teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the dimples deflect the airflow across an exterior surface of the battery assembly housing (Par. 0048; “the spacer pads 80 direct cooling air 42 through the void 71 between the inner case portion 62 and the outer case portion 20;” inner case portion 62 serves as the exterior housing of the battery assembly).
Regarding claim 10, modified Rich teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the airflow in the space between the sidewalls and the housing comprises turbulent airflow (Par. 0048, “the spacer pads 80 are shaped to generate a directed flow of cooling air 42 based on air pressure differentials, turbulence, and the like;” the shapes and positions of the dimples may be modified based on desired turbulence).
Regarding claim 11, modified Rich teaches heat generated within the battery assembly being transferred by conductive heat transfer from the battery assembly housing to the dimples of the enclosure sidewalls. The dimples taught by Rich may be made of a metal (Par. 0048), which would conduct heat. Rich also teaches that the dimples may be integrally formed with the inner case portion 62, which serves as the battery assembly housing (Par. 0048). Thus, the dimples are in direct physical contact with the battery assembly housing, and the teaching of conductive heat transfer from the battery assembly housing to the dimples would necessarily flow from the teachings of Rich (See MPEP 2112(III)).
Regarding claim 12, modified Rich teaches the method of claim 8, wherein heat generated within the battery assembly is transferred by convective heat transfer from the battery assembly housing to the air flowing in the space between the housing and the sidewalls (Par. 0052; “the fan 94 generates a flow of air out of the thermal enclosure 14 to draw heat away from the battery 12).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich, in view of Wang and Fu, and further in view of Morton et al. (US 2023/0261331 A1, foreign priority date of 7/2/2020).
Regarding claim 4, Rich fails to teach the enclosure top and sidewalls comprising a unitary construct.
However, Morton teaches a ventilation enclosure (Par. 0040) for a battery assembly (cells 166), wherein the enclosure top and sidewalls (lid 110) comprise a unitary construct (Fig. 1A-C; lid 110 has a top and sidewalls which are integrally formed and is bottomless; the lid covers the tops and sides of the cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation enclosure taught by Rich by forming the enclosure top and sidewalls as a unitary construct, as taught by Morton. This would be done in order to simplify the construction of the assembly, as stated in Morton (Par. 0007). Additionally, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in Rich would be a matter of obvious engineering choice (See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)).
Conclusion
/CAMERON M BAIRD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728