DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In this case, the present title is too long. See MPEP 606.01.
The following tittle is suggested: --Protection assembly and method--.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase: “…at least one inductor arranged below a cooking area of the hob; a protection assembly …” should be changed to --…said at least one inductor arranged below the cooking area of the hob; the protection assembly …--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Notification regarding 35 USC § 112f
Claim limitation “a control unit connected to said at least one power supplier” in claim 1* has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “a control unit” coupled with functional language “connected to said at least one power supplier” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 1 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112f limitation: “…control unit 11 preferably comprises a processing software 12, at least one first algorithm 14 and a second algorithm installed inside it, as shown schematically in FIG. 2, in order to perform the functions indicated above …”.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Terracciano et al. (US 20200022227 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Terracciano discloses
A protection assembly (induction hob 1, fig.1) for preventing overheating of induction hobs (heaters 2, 3, fig.1) comprising at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) with a respective circuit (electronic driving means 6, 7, control unit 8, mains supply 10, fig.1) arranged below a cooking area (hob plate 9, fig.1) of the hobs (heaters 2, 3), the assembly (induction hob 1) comprising:
at least one electric power supplier (mains supply 10, fig.1) for electrically supplying the at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5);
a control unit (control unit 8, fig.1) connected to said at least one power supplier (mains supply 10);
characterized in that said control unit (control unit 8) is configured to determine at least one value of the intensity gradient of the current over time which supplies said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5) [Par.0039 cited: “…power control mechanism may adjust the frequency of the AC current provided to the induction coil 4, 5 in order to provide a certain power to the piece of cookware…”], to compare said value of the current intensity gradient over time with a threshold value (threshold, Par.0049) of the current intensity gradient over time, and to interrupt or reduce the electric power supply (power supply from mains supply 10) to said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5) if the value of the current intensity gradient is lower than the threshold value (threshold, Par.0049) [See Pars.0025, and 0049].
Regarding claim 2, Terracciano discloses
comprises at least one current measuring device (measuring electrical parameter values, S120, fig.2) associated with said at least one electric power supplier (mains supply 10, fig.1) and intended to detect a series of current intensity values at predefined time intervals [Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”].
Regarding claim 3, Terracciano discloses
said control unit (control unit 8, fig.1) is connected to said at least one current measuring device (measuring electrical parameter values, S120, fig.2) and is configured to receive the current intensity values detected by said at least one current measuring device (measuring electrical parameter values, S120) and to determine the value of the current intensity gradient over time based on said current intensity values detected [Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”].
Regarding claim 4, Terracciano discloses
the control unit (control unit 8, fig.1) comprises at least one first algorithm (algorithm, Par.0051) for determining the at least one value of the current intensity gradient over time [Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Regarding claim 5, Terracciano discloses
the threshold value (threshold, Par.0049) of the current intensity gradient over time is fixed and loaded into said control unit (control unit 8, fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, Terracciano discloses
said control unit comprises at least one second algorithm (algorithm, Par.0051) for calculating the threshold value (threshold, Par.0049) of the current intensity gradient based on the current intensity values detected by said at least one current measuring device (measuring electrical parameter values, S120, fig.2), said threshold value (threshold, Par.0049) being variable [Par.0051 cited: “…Said algorithm may evaluate the relative change of the measured electrical parameter values within a certain period of time after starting the cooking process …”].
Regarding claim 7, Terracciano discloses
at least one current measuring device (measuring electrical parameter values, S120, fig.2) is configured to wait for a first predetermined time interval before detecting the series of current intensity values [Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120)…”].
Regarding claim 8, Terracciano discloses
said control unit (control unit 8, fig.1) is configured to determine a value of the impedance gradient over time for said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) based on the current intensity values detected [Par.0038 cited: “…a control unit 8 is provided for controlling the operation of the electronic driving means 6, 7, specifically for adjusting the output power of the induction coils 4, 5…”].
Regarding claim 9, Terracciano discloses
An induction hob (heaters 2, 3, fig.1) comprising: at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) arranged below the cooking area (hob plate 9, fig.1) of the hob (heaters 2, 3); the protection assembly (induction hob 1, fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses
A protection method (method fig.2) for preventing overheating of an induction hob (heaters 2, 3, fig.1) comprising at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) located below a cooking area (hob plate 9, fig.1) of the hob (heaters 2, 3) and a protection assembly (induction hob 1, fig.1), comprising the following steps:
(i) determining at least one value of the intensity gradient of the current over time which supplies said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5) over time [Par.0038 cited: “…induction coil 4 is coupled with electronic driving means 6, 7. Said electronic driving means 6, 7 are coupled with a mains supply 10…”];
(ii) determining a threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) of the current intensity gradient over time [Par.0025 cited: “…change rate of the measured electrical parameter values or interpolated electrical parameter values is monitored and the boil detection is reinitialized if the change rate exceeds a certain threshold value…”];
(iii) comparing the value of the current intensity gradient determined in said step (i) and the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) determined in said step (ii) [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”];
(iv) interrupting or reducing the electric power supply (mains supply 10, fig.1) to said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5) if the value of the current intensity gradient is lower than said threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”].
Regarding claim 11, Terracciano discloses
said threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) is determined based on a temperature value of the hob (heaters 2, 3, fig.1) in contact with a cooking element corresponding to a critical temperature of the hob (heaters 2, 3) [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”].
Regarding claim 12, Terracciano discloses
a step of detecting a series of values of the intensity of the current supplied to said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) at predefined time intervals, said detection step being performed before said step (i) [Par.0038 cited: “…induction coil 4 is coupled with electronic driving means 6, 7. Said electronic driving means 6, 7 are coupled with a mains supply 10…”].
Regarding claim 13, Terracciano discloses
determining the value of the current intensity gradient is performed by means of a first algorithm (algorithm, Par.0051) of said protection assembly (induction hob 1, fig.1) based on the current intensity values detected [Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”, and Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Regarding claim 14, Terracciano discloses
the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) of the current intensity gradient is fixed and is established by means of preliminary tests regarding use of the induction hob (heaters 2, 3, fig.1).
Regarding claim 15, Terracciano discloses
the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) of the current intensity gradient is variable and is calculated by means of at least one second algorithm (algorithm, Par.0051) of said protection assembly (induction hob 1, fig.1) based on the current intensity values detected [Par.0051 cited: “…Said algorithm may evaluate the relative change of the measured electrical parameter values within a certain period of time after starting the cooking process …”].
Regarding claim 16, Terracciano discloses
a first predetermined time interval is provided before said detection step [Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120)…”].
Regarding claim 17, Terracciano discloses
defining a second predetermined time interval and by performing the repetition of said standby step, said detection step and said steps (i)-(iii) if the value of the current intensity gradient is higher than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) and the time lapsed from the start of said detection step is less than the second predetermined time interval, or by interrupting the electric power supply to said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) if the value of the current intensity gradient over time is lower than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) and the time lapsed from the start of said detection step is less than the second predetermined time interval [Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”, and Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Regarding claim 18, Terracciano discloses
defining a second predetermined time interval and by continuation of use of the hob (heaters 2, 3, fig.1) if the value of the current intensity gradient is higher than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) and the time lapsed from the start of said detection step is greater than the second predetermined time interval [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”; Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”, and Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Regarding claim 19, Terracciano discloses
once said second predetermined time interval has lapsed, said standby step, said detection step and said steps (i)-(iii) are repeated if the value of the current intensity gradient over time is higher than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049), or the electric power supply (mains supply 10, fig.1) to said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) is reduced if the value of the current intensity gradient over time is lower than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”; Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”; and Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Regarding claim 20, Terracciano discloses
providing a step of automatically interrupting the electric power (mains supply 10, fig.1) of the at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) if the electric power (mains supply 10) detected for the at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5) is lower than a predetermined threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) of the electric power (mains supply 10) [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”; Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”, and Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Regarding claim 21, Terracciano discloses
once said second predetermined time interval has lapsed, said standby step, said detection step and said steps (i)-(iii) are repeated if the value of the current intensity gradient over time is higher than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049), or the electric power supply (mains supply 10, fig.1) to said at least one inductor (induction coils 4, 5, fig.1) is reduced if the value of the current intensity gradient over time is lower than the threshold value (threshold, Pars.0025, 0049) [Par.0025 cited: “…monitoring the change rate and comparing the change rate with a threshold value, parameter value changes caused by cookware movements can be detected and filtered out in order to avoid wrong boil detection results…”; Par.0042 cited: “…After deactivating the power control mechanism, values of at least one electrical parameter are measured (S120). It is worth mentioning that electrical parameters are used which are already available within the induction hob 1, specifically available within the control unit 8 of the induction hob 1 …”; and Par.0051 cited: “…In order to detect the capability of a piece of cookware to be used for the proposed boil detection, an algorithm is included in the induction hob, said algorithm providing a measure for using the boil detection method for the present piece of cookware …”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shan et al. (US 20130320000 A1) is a relevant prior art in field of a cooktop device, as shown in figs.1-2, with an induction coil, a power supply, and a controller…, but the controller cannot perform the steps as claimed…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
06/24/2026