FINAL REJECTION
1. Claims 13-33 are presented for examination. Claims 1-12, 21 and 30 are canceled. Claims 32 and 33 are newly added.
2. The text of those applicable section of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action.
3. The rejections are respectfully maintained that is applicable to the amended claims for applicant's convenience.
4. Claims 13-20, 22-29 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siber et al. (Siber)1, “Light construction of power lathe chucks” in view of Hamann et al. (Hamann), DE 10360530 A12.
As per claim 13, Siber teaches a method for dimensioning a receiving device for use in an industrial process [pages 1-2, section “High stiffness at low mass”], the method comprising:
dimensioning the receiving device by taking into account the determined dynamic process variable [page 2, section “Arched structures below jaws”; page 3, section “Multi-objective optimization”].
transmitting data relating to the dimensioning of the receiving device to a machine tool; and manufacturing the receiving device by the machine tool [see title “ power lathe chucks”; pages 1-2, first paragraph; section “High stiffness at low mass”; page 3, section “Prototype meets all requirements”]. In summary, in order to produce prototype of each chuck, relating data of each chuck may transmit to a machine tool.
Siber fails to teach of simulating control of the industrial process by a virtual controller; outputting a dynamic control variable based on the simulation of the virtual controller; determining a dynamic process variable based on the dynamic control variables.
Hamman teaches of simulating control of the industrial process by a virtual controller [English translation; para 10, 11]; outputting a dynamic control variable based on the simulation of the virtual controller; determining a dynamic process variable based on the dynamic control variables [English translation, para 4, 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Siber and Hamman because they both disclose a simulation system, the specify teachings of Hamman stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Siber system to obtain predictable results to perform simulation provide reliable figures.
Siber teaches:
While aiming at lighter chucks for lathes, SCHUNK meets the requirements of customers for quick and energy efficient component production. For this purpose, SCHUNK uses ANSYS simulation solutions including optiSLang for topology and parameter optimization. SCHUNK‘s wedge hook power chuck ROTA NCE combines
lightweight construction, maximum load capacity and innovative design. The lathe chuck was geometrically adapted to the power flow for providing maximum stiffness as well as lightweight requirements. Compared to conventional lathe chucks and depending on the size, the mass inertia could be reduced by up to 40 percent.
High Stiffness at Low Mass
The aim of the specialists at SCHUNK competence center for turning technology and stationary workholding in Mengen was the improvement of the energy management in accordance with DIN EN ISO 50001. They wanted to develop a clamping device with low mass or mass inertia in order to minimize the energy and duration required for acceleration. However, the basic clamping function of the chuck – measured in terms of stiffness and variability - should be fully maintained, if possible even increased. Also the desired radial and axial run-out accuracy had to be guaranteed. In this case, the rough structure of the clamping device components was determined with topology optimization
on the basis of the respective force flow. Using the resulting parameter optimization, dimensions were then varied to identify an optimal geometrical structure. For final optimization, e.g. of the jaw guidance, a suitable geometric parameterization is important, since the topology optimization does not allow a detailed depiction of the contact areas. In parameter optimization, lift-off and non-linear contacts of the entire chuck assembly can also be modeled and simulated. The properties of the optimized clamping device could be subsequently evaluated by FE analyses and compared with the previously manufactured designs.
Arched structures below jaws
" In ANSYS, we defined an initial model for topology optimization including the necessary constraints such as forces and bearings,” explains Mathias Siber, who used the project for his master’s thesis. “The objective function of the optimization was the maximization of the stiffness, with mass restriction at 70, 50, and 30 percent of the initial mass.” In addition, the existing functional areas were marked to exclude them from optimization (non-design areas) because they should remain in their original shape. The optimization algorithm then determined the basic geometrical shape according to the mechanical loads and specified mass restrictions. In the chuck body, arched structures below the jaw guide, circular recesses between the guideways and an overall conical chuck contour were created. “The topology optimization significantly reduced the weight of the lathe chuck, which also has a positive effect regarding the load on the spindle bearings”, stated Philipp Schräder, Head of Development Clamping Technology. “In addition, we registered the vault structure resulting from the topology optimization as a design patent at the German Patent and Trademark Office in order to protect it as far as possible from unauthorized copying.”
Multi-Objective Optimization Facilitates the Design Process
In this case, parameters are optimized towards the objective of less lifting at the lowest base jaw mass. The result of this multi-objective optimization is an optimal depth width
ratio of 2:3 for the base jaw guidance. This allows a very precise examination of the product behavior with different geometries in order to create a “robust” design. The
robustness of the final design was ensured by means of suitable constraints. While the topology optimization identified the lightest chuck design from the force flow, the parameter optimization ensured maximum stiffness and reduced notch stresses
for the longest possible chuck life. In addition, a numerical stress analysis was conducted according to FKM guidelines.
The Prototype Meets All Requirements
After optimization, prototypes of each chuck size were produced. Afterwards, they were examined and verified on a test bench with up to 500,000 cycles, which took several
months. “Similar to other projects and due to the profound simulation during development, only one prototype per size was required to fully meet the specified requirements”, emphasizes Philipp Schräder. “Since a prototype test can take several months, for a new development the time saved by the simulation is approximately half a year.”
Hamman teaches:
[0004] In general terms, during the startup of the machine, a parameter set is specified and tested during test operation of the machine. The parameter set comprises all setting parameters of the numerical controller and all setting parameters of the drive controller. The parameter setting is often performed iteratively in that the setting
of specific parameters is optimized, i.e. varied, until a startup specification is fulfilled. The conventional procedure for starting up a tool or production machine is described in detail in the document „ Sinumerik 840D/Simodrive 611 digital & ndesh; Start-up Instructions", Issue 11.02, 2002, Siemens AG, Automatisierung und Drivetechnik, Erlangen, Order Number: 6FC5297-6AB10-0AP2.
[0006] On the other hand, the simulation of machine parts or machine functions, but also of overall machines, has recently become more and more prevalent in the advance of machine development. The simulation must simulate both the mechanical behavior of the machine, the behavior of the drives and the function of the controller. In this way, the time behavior of the mechanics, the drives and the numerical control, e.g. for the simulation of NC (numerical control) machining or PLC (programmable logic control) controlled movements(such as a tool change) can be modeled with high precision.
[0010] Thereafter, the startup is not performed on the real machine as before, but on a numerical model tailored to the machine, which is referred to below as simulator. In other words, a simulator in this sense is a „ virtual machine", i.e. a device with which the behavior of the real machine can be simulated using mathematical or physical model relationships. Such a simulator is implemented in particular as a computer or ensemble of computers with corresponding software installed thereon.
[0011] The simulator includes a numerical controller identical or equivalent to the controller of the real machine. Accordingly, all parameters that can also be set on the real machine can be predefined for the simulator. This is utilized according to the invention in that, during a virtual startup, a parameter set (containing at least one parameter) is specified to the simulator. By operating the simulator, i.e. by simulation, the effect of the predefined parameter setting on the working behavior of the virtual machine is now tested and checked with regard to the fulfilment of a predefined startup specification. The check can be performed both in the time range and in the frequency range. In practice, the set of parameters typically includes a plurality of parameters, each of which is optimized.
As per claim 14, Siber teaches the receiving device is dimensioned by carrying out a FEM simulation, which is fed with the determined dynamic process variable [pages 1-2, sections “High stiffness at low mass”, “Arched structures below jaws”].
As per claim 15, Siber teaches the dynamic process variable comprises a force and/or a torque acting on a workpiece from the receiving device and taken into account
in an FEM simulation of the industrial process [pages 1-2, sections “High stiffness at low mass”, “Arched structures below jaws”].
As per claim 16, Siber teaches the receiving device is embodied as a clamping device, the method further comprising determining a requisite clamping force by FEM
simulation, with the clamping device being dimensioned by taking into account the requisite clamping force [pages 1-2, sections “High stiffness at low mass”, “Arched structures below jaws”].
As per claim 17, Siber teaches a critical machining step of the industrial process is simulated during the dimensioning of the receiving device [page 1, first paragraph; page 2, section “Arched structures below jaws”].
As per claim 18, Siber teaches the industrial process comprises a cutting method, the method further comprising carrying out a cutting simulation in addition to
the dimensioning of the receiving device [page 1, first paragraph; page 2, section “Arched structures below jaws”].
As per claim 19, Hamann teaches of simulating static and dynamic loads of the receiving device during the dimensioning of the receiving device [English translation, para 4, 6].
As per claim 20, Siber teaches of optimizing a geometry of the receiving device based on the static and dynamic loads [page 2, section “Arched structures below jaws”].
As per claim 32, Siber teaches the dynamic control variable comprises
a dynamic configuration, settings of regulator parameters, settings of axles
and/or compensation variables of a controller, and the dynamic process variable
comprises future movement steps and process forces and torques acting on the
workpiece [pages 1-2, sections “High stiffness at low mass”, “Arched structures below jaws”, “Influence of parameters”].
As to claims 22-29 and 33, basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 13-20 and 32. Accordingly, claims 22-30 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 13-20 and 32.
As per claim 31, directed to a computer-readable storage medium storing the instructions to perform the method of steps executed by the system as set forth in claim 13. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
5. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
7. In the remarks, applicants argued in substance that Siber fails to disclose "transmitting data relating to the dimensioning of the receiving device to a machine
tool" and "manufacturing the receiving device by the machine tool".
8. In response to applicant’s argument, Siber discloses transmitting data relating to the dimensioning of the receiving device to a machine tool and manufacturing the receiving device by the machine tool [pages 1-2, section “High stiffness at low mass”; page 3, section “Prototype meets all requirements”].
Also see detailed action above.
Conclusion
9. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Siber is cited by applicant.
2 Hamann is cited by applicant.