DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 11, and 17 recite the limitation "each candidate exposure gain value" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot know which “each candidate exposure gain value” is/are being referred to.
Dependent claims 3, 12, and 18 do not remedy this deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over machine-translation of CN 112513936 A (Zhang), which was submitted in IDS dated 01/12/2024, in view of US 20240386527 A1 (Zhang527).
As per claim 1, Zhang teaches a
determining a target noise parameter of a to-be-denoised image according to an image noise calibration result obtained by pre-performing an image noise calibration on an image acquisition device of the to-be-denoised image (Zhang: Fig. 2 (machine translation; shown below): S204: “calibration data; wherein the calibration data is obtained based on the target noise in a reference image”;
abstract: “the calibration data is obtained based on the target noise in the reference image, for determining the target noise of the frequency band and the target noise of the grey value…
The calibration data is used as a reference, which can effectively identify noise and real object from the image to be de-noised, and can accurately estimate the grey value of the noise, and obtain better de-noising effect”;
Para 18;
Para 33: “the calibration data is obtained based on the target noise in the reference image, for determining the target noise of the frequency band and the target noise of the grey value”;);
performing a preliminary filtering process on the to-be-denoised image to obtain a preliminary filtered image of the to-be-denoised image (Zhang:
para 44: “in order to determine whether each pixel point in the to-be-de-noised image comprises a target noise, firstly performing Fourier transform to the denoised image to obtain the spectral image of the to-be-de-noised image, or also can through the pre-designed high-pass filter to filter processing the denoised image”;
para 45: “the to-be-de-noised image to Fourier change, or using a high-pass filter for filtering processing, can according to the reference frequency band in the calibration data from the to-be-de-noised image to determine the second pixel point, wherein the second pixel point is the pixel point in the reference frequency band”;);
determining a noise level estimation result of the to-be-denoised image according to the target noise parameter and the preliminary filtered image (Zhang:
Fig. 2 (machine translation; shown below): S204: “The grayscale value of the target noise contained in each pixel of the image to be denoised is determined according to predetermined calibration data”;
Abstract: “determining the grey value of the target noise included in each pixel point of the image to be de-noised according to the predetermined calibration data”;
Para 43: “grey value of the target noise according to the predetermined calibration data, and de-noising the image to be de-noised according to the grey value of each pixel point comprising noise”;
Para 44: “in order to determine whether each pixel point in the to-be-de-noised image comprises a target noise, firstly performing Fourier transform to the denoised image to obtain the spectral image of the to-be-de-noised image, or also can through the pre-designed high-pass filter to filter processing the denoised image; and then determining whether each pixel point comprises the target noise according to the reference frequency band in the calibration data. for example, the image data of each row or each column of the to-be-de-noised image is subjected to Fourier change, obtaining the spectrum graph of each row or each column of image data, then according to the spectrum graph of each row or each column and the reference frequency band in the calibration data, determining whether the row or the column comprises the target noise”;
: “grayscale value of the target noise contained in each pixel of the image to be denoised” is the noise level estimation result, which is also the noise level map); and
performing a final denoising process on the to-be-denoised image according to the noise level estimation result to obtain a final (Zhang:
Fig. 2 (machine translation; shown below): S206: “Based on the grayscale value of the target noise contained in each pixel, the… Denoising the image to be denoised”;
Para 43: “grey value of the target noise according to the predetermined calibration data, and de-noising the image to be de-noised according to the grey value of each pixel point comprising noise”;
Abstract: “denoising the image to be de-noised according to the grey value of the target noise included in each pixel point. The calibration data is used as a reference, which can effectively identify noise and real object from the image to be de-noised, and can accurately estimate the grey value of the noise, and obtain better de-noising effect”;
Para 33: “S204, determining the grey value of the target noise included in each pixel point of the image to be de-noised according to the predetermined calibration data”;
Para 34: “S206, according to the grey value of the target noise included in each pixel point to the to-be-de-noised image de-noising processing.”;
).
Zhang is silent regarding blind image denoising; or blind denoising (emphasis added).
Zhang527 teaches a blind image denoising method, comprising: performing a final denoising process on the to-be-denoised image according to the noise level estimation result to obtain a final blind denoising result of the to-be-denoised image (Zhang527:
Abstract, paras 1, 6, 17, 26-28, 34, 35, 38, 44, 54, 56, 59, 60-62, 66, 68, 69: “blind denoising”;
Para 14: “The estimated noise distribution map may be used as marker information to distinguish the noise level of the three-dimensional input image, so that the trained model has better denoising effect on all three-dimensional input images with different noise levels”;
Para 29: “The estimated noise distribution map may be used as marker information to distinguish the noise level of the three-dimensional input image, so that the trained model has better denoising effect on all three-dimensional input images with different noise levels”;
Para 52: “the first convolution layer in the encoding structure is used to extract 15 feature maps of the three-dimensional input image, and the concatenation layer is used to concatenate the 15 feature maps and the noise distribution map to obtain 16 feature maps of the three-dimensional input image”;
Fig. 1 (shown below): “input noise map”, “noise distribution map”… “output denoised image”
).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Zhang527 into Zhang since both Zhang and Zhang527 suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of determining a noise map and denoising an input image using noise map in general and Zhang527 additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Zhang in that the denoising is blind denoising as to “fully retain the detailed information of an image while removing a speckle noise in the three-dimensional ultrasound image in real time” (Zhang527: para 27) as to “accurately complete denoising” (Zhan527: para 56) as to “to achieve blind denoising of three-dimensional ultrasound images of different parts and different noise levels” (Zhang527: para 59). The teachings of Zhang527 can be incorporated into Zhang in that the denoising is blind denoising. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim(s) 9, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous. Zhang also teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a storage apparatus configured to store at least one program (Zhang: Figs. 3-4; Paras 13, 17, 18, 63, 68, 71, 77, 80, 90, 94, 98, 108, 11, 112).
As per claim(s) 10, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous. Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor (Zhang: Figs. 3-4; Paras 13, 17, 18, 63, 68, 71, 77, 80, 90, 94, 98, 108, 11, 112).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 11, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Zhang527 as applied to claims 1, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of machine translation of CN 112291447 A (Wang).
As per 2, Zhang in view of Zhang527 teaches the method according to claim 1. Zhang in view of Zhang527 does not teach pre-performing the image noise calibration on the image acquisition device of the to-be-denoised image comprises:
for each candidate exposure gain value, acquiring data of at least two to-be-calibrated images from a same shooting scene through the image acquisition device, wherein at least one candidate exposure gain value is provided; and
for each candidate exposure gain value, determining a candidate noise parameter of a candidate exposure gain value according to the data of the at least two to-be-calibrated images associated with the candidate exposure gain value, and determining the image noise calibration result of the image acquisition device according to each candidate exposure gain value and the candidate noise parameter associated with each candidate exposure gain value.
Wang teaches these limitations (Wang:
Abstract: “The invention claims an endoscope camera system self-adaptive time domain noise reduction method based on noise calibration, the method comprises a noise calibration module and a self-adaptive time domain noise reduction module. noise calibration module automatically adjusting the gain and exposure of the camera system and continuously shooting multiple test target images; calculating the brightness average value and noise reduction threshold of each gray scale under different gain different exposure, and storing in the parameter file, wherein the noise reduction threshold is used for judging whether the pixel point belongs to static when time domain noise reduction. self-adaptive time domain noise reduction module reads the stored parameter file; according to the current gain and exposure value of the camera system, combining local brightness of each pixel point of the video frame; automatically selecting the most suitable noise reduction threshold for each pixel point to judge whether it belongs to static and performing time domain noise reduction.”;
Paras 11-16: “The purpose of the present invention is achieved by the following technical schemes. An adaptive time domain noise reduction method of endoscope camera system based on noise calibration, comprising a noise calibration module and a self-adaptive time domain noise reduction module;
the noise calibration module obtains the brightness average value and corresponding noise reduction threshold of each gray scale of the standard test board under different gain different exposure by the way of noise calibration; then storing the calculated brightness average value and noise reduction threshold value in the parameter file;
the adaptive time domain noise reduction module uses the parameter file stored by the noise calibration module; performing adaptive time domain noise reduction to the endoscope camera system; when the endoscope camera system is in different gain and exposure, selecting the gain and exposure corresponding to the brightness average value and noise threshold value in the parameter file corresponding to noise reduction; aiming at all pixels in the current video frame to be noise-reduced, using the selected brightness average value and noise reduction threshold to judge whether the pixel point belongs to static; then respectively calculating the pixel output value of the static and motion pixel points after noise reduction.
Further, the noise calibration module comprises:
reading the gain and exposure parameter range of the endoscope camera system; traversing all the gain and exposure parameter setting combination; performing calibration calculation to each combination; obtaining the brightness average value of each gray scale of the standard test board and the corresponding noise reduction threshold value;
for one of the combination, namely the gain and exposure parameter of the endoscope camera system is fixed, shooting system continuously shooting standard test board to obtain N images, wherein the standard test board comprises C grey scale;”;
paras 26, 36, 43, 47, 60, 75;
para 36: “The beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: The invention comprises a noise calibration module and a self-adaptive time domain noise reduction module; the noise calibration module calculates the brightness average value and noise reduction threshold of each gray scale under different gain different exposure; the adaptive time domain noise reduction module combines the local brightness of the pixel point according to the current gain and exposure value; The most appropriate noise reduction threshold is automatically selected for each pixel point to determine whether or not to be stationary and to perform time-domain noise reduction”;
para 60: “self-adaptive time domain noise reduction module applying noise calibration to obtain the parameter file to the endoscope camera system for adaptive time domain noise reduction; when the endoscope camera system is in different gain and exposure, automatically selecting different parameters for noise reduction; aiming at all pixels in the current video frame to be noise-reduced, using the selected specific parameter to judge whether it belongs to static; then respectively calculating the pixel output value of the noise reduction in different ways for the static and moving pixel points”;
determine candidate noise parameter for reference calibration images for each exposure gain (e.g. ISO) and determine noise calibration for the camera based on each exposure gain and associated candidate noise parameter).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Wang into Zhang in view of Zhang527 since both Zhang in view of Zhang527 and Wang suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of image noise reduction involving camera calibration in general and Wang additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Zhang in view of Zhang527 in that camera calibration involves relationship between gain and noise as for “effectively reduce the time domain noise of the static area, without manually setting the noise reduction threshold value, at the same time, considering the gain and exposure of the camera system, strong adaptability, good real time performance” (Wang: abstract). The teachings of Wang can be incorporated into Zhang in view of Zhang527 in that camera calibration involves relationship between gain and noise. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per 4, Zhang in view of Zhang527 teaches the method according to claim 1. Zhang in view of Zhang527 does not teach the image noise calibration result comprises at least one candidate exposure gain value and a candidate noise parameter associated with each of the at least one candidate exposure gain value; and
determining the target noise parameter of the to-be-denoised image according to the image noise calibration result obtained by pre-performing the image noise calibration on the image acquisition device of the to-be-denoised image comprises:
determining a target exposure gain value of the image acquisition device when the image acquisition device acquires the to-be-denoised image; and
determining, based on a relationship between the target exposure gain value and the at least one candidate exposure gain value, the target noise parameter associated with the target exposure gain value according to the candidate noise parameter associated with each of the at least one candidate exposure gain value.
Wang teaches these limitations (Wang See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 2 above: determine target noise parameter (e.g. imager/imaging dependent noise) based on relationship between target exposure gain (e.g. camera ISO) and candidate exposure gain (e.g. reference gain) according to candidate noise parameter). See rationale for combining provided in rejecting claim 2 above.
As per claim(s) 11 and 13, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 2 and 4 are analogous, respectively. Zhang also teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a storage apparatus configured to store at least one program (Zhang: Figs. 3-4; Paras 13, 17, 18, 63, 68, 71, 77, 80, 90, 94, 98, 108, 11, 112).
As per claim(s) 17 and 19, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 2 and 4 are analogous, respectively. Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor (Zhang: Figs. 3-4; Paras 13, 17, 18, 63, 68, 71, 77, 80, 90, 94, 98, 108, 11, 112).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Zhang527 as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of machine translation of CN 111489303 A (Liu).
As per 7, Zhang in view of Zhang527 teaches the method according to claim 1. Zhang in view of Zhang527 does not teach the preliminary filtering process uses Gaussian filtering, mean filtering, median filtering, bilateral filtering or guided filtering.
Liu teaches these limitations (Liu: abstract: “then using the guide filtering to obtain the optimized brightness component; further using the Gamma transform to correct the contrast of the optimized brightness component; separating the reflection component of the original image according to the Retinex theory, using the convolution blind de-noising network to eliminate the noise in the reflection component”;
Para 10, 16, 46, 53: “guide filtering”).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Liu into Zhang in view of Zhang527 since both Zhang in view of Zhang527 and Liu suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of blind denoising using estimated noise map from prefiltered image data in general and Liu additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Zhang in view of Zhang527 in that the prefiltering is guide filtering as “to obtain the optimized brightness component” (Liu: abstract). The teachings of Liu can be incorporated into Zhang in view of Zhang527 in that the prefiltering is guide filtering. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim(s) 16, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 7 are analogous. Zhang also teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a storage apparatus configured to store at least one program (Zhang: Figs. 3-4; Paras 13, 17, 18, 63, 68, 71, 77, 80, 90, 94, 98, 108, 11, 112).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Limitations pertaining to determining candidate noise parameter based on pairs of pixels from an average calibrated image and a variance calibrated image that were statistically determined based on plural images associated with each candidate exposure gain, in conjunction with other limitations present in the listed claim and intervening and independent claim(s), distinguish over the prior art. Also, the equation above determines noise variance (i.e. V(x)) characterizing a noise level of the target pixel point based on a multiplication of the candidate noise parameter (i.e. a.sub.i) and target pixel luminance value (i.e. x)).
Claims 5-6, 14-15, and 20-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Limitations pertaining to determining noise level map, using the equation above, that is a multiplication of the target noise parameter (imager/imaging-dependent noise; a.sub.x,i) and the prefiltered image at corresponding pixel locations; wherein the noise level map is the same size as the input image and preliminary filtered image, in conjunction with other limitations present in the listed claim and intervening and independent claim(s), distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
Atiba Fitzpatrick
/ATIBA O FITZPATRICK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677