DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/12/24 and 05/30/25 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/12/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the publication JP 2009-193961 (heretofore JP’961).
As to claims 1-2:
JP’961 discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery pack/assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells/units; a cooling unit/member placed along the plurality of battery cells/units; a structural component accommodating and/or contacting the cooling unit/member and the plurality of battery cells/units comprising a concave area for accommodating the same and the structural component, the plurality of cells and the cooling unit/member are spaced apart at a specific distance (Abstract; 0038-0045; 0049-0059; 0062-0073; see Figures 1-12). JP’961 discloses specific thickness of the structural component comprising accommodating portions or sections/areas/zones/parts/segments spaced apart from one another at a predetermined distance so that the plurality of battery cells/units contact the inside or inner surface of the accommodating portions/sections/areas/zones/parts/segments at the innermost point/section/part (Abstract; 0038-0045; 0049-0059; 0062-0073; see Figures 1-12). Figures 1-2, 9, 16 and 18, infra, depict structural parts of the battery pack/assembly:
As to claims 7-10:
JP’961 discloses specific thickness of the structural component comprising accommodating portions or sections/areas/zones/parts/segments spaced apart from one another at a predetermined distance so that the plurality of battery cells/units contact the inside or inner surface of the accommodating portions/sections/areas/zones/parts/segments at the innermost point/section/part (Abstract; 0038-0045; 0049-0059; 0062-0073; see Figures 1-12).
As to claims 12:
JP’961 discloses the vehicle including the disclosed battery pack/assembly which is placed perpendicular to the length thereof (Abstract; 0038-0045; 0049-0059; 0062-0073; see Figures 1-12).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication JP 2009-193961 (heretofore JP’961) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the publication CN 105977578 (heretofore CN’578).
JP’961 is applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons manifested supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific cooling tube/channel and their respective placement distance.
As to claims 3-6:
CN’578 discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery pack/assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells/units including a cooling tube and a cooling channel disposed between the plurality of battery cells for cooling the same so that their location, placement distance and/or spatial orientation is determined upon the distance between the battery cells and the cooling tube and/or the thickness of the cooling tube and are located at a contact angle to one another of approximately 60° (Abstract; 0035-0045; Figures 2, 4 & 7).
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place or locate the specific cooling tube/channel and their respective placement distance of CN’578 in the battery pack of JP’961 as taught by CN’578 because CN’578 teaches that the specifically disclosed cooling components are placed at such particular location/spatial orientation so that the contact area between the battery module and the liquid cooling tube can be enlarged so that the heat dissipating capability of the battery module is effectively improved and the production cost is also effectively reduced.
Further, it should be noted that it has been held that rearrangement of parts is prima-facie obvious, absent any significant evidence that the claimed arrangement of parts is critical. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). In this particular case, it should be noted that it has been held that re-arrangement, reversal or duplication of parts is prima-facie obvious. Succinctly stated, fact that the claimed the cooling tube/channel and the plurality of battery cells is/are structurally re-arranged or reversed to form a similar component having the same functionality is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old feature unless there are new or unexpected results as it is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed cooling tube/channel and the plurality of battery cells was critical. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70. In re Kuhle 188 USPQ 7. In re Gazda 104 USPQ 400. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378. (Refer to MPEP 2144.04 [R-I] Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale: VI. Reversal, Duplication, OR Rearrangement of Parts).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references also disclose battery packs comprising cooling units/devices: Kim et al’986, Deng et al’065 and You et al’822.
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752