DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 9, 11, 12, and 20 have been amended; Claims 4, 7, 8, 15, 18, 19, and 23 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-14, 16, 17, 20-22 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (MolavianJazi hereafter) (US 20210076384 A1) in view of Shi (Shi927 hereafter) (US 20210160927 A1).
Regarding claim 1 MolavianJazi teaches, a method for random access performed by a terminal, comprising:
determining random access resource configuration information ([0224] higher layers indicating two UL BWPs and 1 bit in the RAR UL for Msg3 transmission), wherein the random access resource configuration information is configured to indicate a plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts (two UL BWPs) (MolavianJazi; [0221-0226] scheduling of Msg3 can apply to PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions after Msg3. UL BWP for Msg3, a new field is introduced in the RAR UL grant that indicates the UL BWP index for Msg3 PUSCH transmission… higher layers can indicate two UL BWPs and 1 bit in the RAR UL grant indicates an UL BWP, from the two UL BWPs, for Msg3 transmission…, receiving dedicated RRC configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers (including by a SIB) multiple (for example, a maximum of 2 or 4) Initial UL BWP configurations), and wherein each initial uplink bandwidth part of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts (first Initial UL BWP and second initial UL BWP) comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource ([0256] PDSCH with a RAR message ending in slot n for a corresponding PRACH transmission from the UE) (MolavianJazi; [0226] SIB or RRC common signaling can provide a complete configuration for a first Initial UL BWP such as a legacy/NR initial UL BWP, as well as a relative configuration for a second initial UL BWP in the same carrier/cell, [0256] PDSCH with a RAR message ending in slot n for a corresponding PRACH transmission from the UE); and
performing random access based (UE transmits a PUSCH Msg3) on the random access resource configuration information (relative frequency location, a relative bandwidth size) (MolavianJazi; [0225] UE transmits a PUSCH Msg3 in one out of the multiple Initial UL BWPs whose index is provided in the RAR UL grant [0226] for example, one or more of a relative frequency location, a relative bandwidth size).
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach, wherein PRACH resources included in respective initial uplink bandwidth parts of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different time domain positions: and performing random access based on the random access resource configuration information further comprises:
selecting, based on an order of use of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts notified by a network device or an identification number of the terminal, a first initial uplink bandwidth part among the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts indicated by the random access resource configuration information, and performing the random access on the first initial uplink bandwidth part using a listen before talk random access mechanism.
However, in the same field of endeavor Shi927 teaches, wherein PRACH resources included in respective initial uplink bandwidth parts of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different time domain positions (Shi927; [0118] the terminal device initiates a contended random access in the currently activated uplink BWP (provided that this uplink BWP is configured with a common PRACH resource), because the network device does not know which UE initiated the contended random access, the network device does not know which uplink BWP in the frequency domain position the received msg1): and performing random access based on the random access resource configuration information further comprises (Shi927; [0122]... send the RARs on the downlink BWPs with the same index as the target uplink BWP):
selecting, based on an order of use of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts notified by a network device or an identification number of the terminal (with the same index) (Shi927; [0104] the terminal device may be configured with four uplink BWPs with index of 0, 1, 2, and 3 respectively and four downlink BWPs with index of 0, 1, 2, and 3, [0122] the network device can first determine which UEs in the frequency domain of msg1 are configured with the uplink BWP, then determine the currently activated downlink BWPs of these UEs ... with the same index as the target uplink BWP) a first initial uplink bandwidth part among the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts indicated by the random access resource configuration information (it determines the first uplink BWP as the target BWP, where the first BWP is configured with a contention-based random access resource), and performing the random access on the first initial uplink bandwidth part using a listen before talk random access mechanism (performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP). (Shi927; [0124] the terminal device performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP and succeeds, it determines the first uplink BWP as the target BWP, where the first BWP is configured with a contention-based random access resource...[0125] then the terminal needs to perform LBT first, and if LBT succeeds, the terminal can initiate random access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi927 in order to configure with a contention-based random access resource (Shi927; [0012]).
Regarding claim 12 MolavianJazi teaches, A method for random access performed by a network device, comprising:
determining random access resource configuration information ([0224] higher layers indicating two UL BWPs and 1 bit in the RAR UL for Msg3 transmission), wherein the random access resource configuration information is configured to indicate a plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts (two UL BWPs) (MolavianJazi; [0221-0226] scheduling of Msg3 can apply to PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions after Msg3. UL BWP for Msg3, a new field is introduced in the RAR UL grant that indicates the UL BWP index for Msg3 PUSCH transmission… higher layers can indicate two UL BWPs and 1 bit in the RAR UL grant indicates an UL BWP, from the two UL BWPs, for Msg3 transmission…, receiving dedicated RRC configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers (including by a SIB) multiple (for example, a maximum of 2 or 4) Initial UL BWP configurations), and wherein each initial uplink bandwidth part of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts (first Initial UL BWP and second initial UL BWP) comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource ([0256] PDSCH with a RAR message ending in slot n for a corresponding PRACH transmission from the UE) (MolavianJazi; [0226] SIB or RRC common signaling can provide a complete configuration for a first Initial UL BWP such as a legacy/NR initial UL BWP, as well as a relative configuration for a second initial UL BWP in the same carrier/cell, [0256] PDSCH with a RAR message ending in slot n for a corresponding PRACH transmission from the UE); and
sending random access based (UE transmits a PUSCH Msg3) on the random access resource configuration information (relative frequency location, a relative bandwidth size) ([0225] UE transmits a PUSCH Msg3 in one out of the multiple Initial UL BWPs whose index is provided in the RAR UL grant [0226] for example, one or more of a relative frequency location, a relative bandwidth size).
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach, wherein PRACH resources included in respective initial uplink bandwidth parts of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different time domain positions: and performing random access based on the random access resource configuration information further comprises:
selecting, based on an order of use of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts notified by a network device or an identification number of the terminal, a first initial uplink bandwidth part among the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts indicated by the random access resource configuration information, and performing the random access on the first initial uplink bandwidth part using a listen before talk random access mechanism.
However, in the same field of endeavor Shi927 teaches, wherein PRACH resources included in respective initial uplink bandwidth parts of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different time domain positions (Shi927; [0118] the terminal device initiates a contended random access in the currently activated uplink BWP (provided that this uplink BWP is configured with a common PRACH resource), because the network device does not know which UE initiated the contended random access, the network device does not know which uplink BWP in the frequency domain position the received msg1) and the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts is used for a terminal to (Shi927; [0122]... send the RARs on the downlink BWPs with the same index as the target uplink BWP):
select, based on an order of use of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts notified by a network device or an identification number of the terminal (with the same index) (Shi927; [0104] the terminal device may be configured with four uplink BWPs with index of 0, 1, 2, and 3 respectively and four downlink BWPs with index of 0, 1, 2, and 3, [0122] the network device can first determine which UEs in the frequency domain of msg1 are configured with the uplink BWP, then determine the currently activated downlink BWPs of these UEs ... with the same index as the target uplink BWP) a first initial uplink bandwidth part among the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts indicated by the random access resource configuration information (it determines the first uplink BWP as the target BWP, where the first BWP is configured with a contention-based random access resource), and performing the random access on the first initial uplink bandwidth part using a listen before talk random access mechanism (performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP). (Shi927; [0124] the terminal device performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP and succeeds, it determines the first uplink BWP as the target BWP, where the first BWP is configured with a contention-based random access resource...[0125] then the terminal needs to perform LBT first, and if LBT succeeds, the terminal can initiate random access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi927 in order to configure with a contention-based random access resource (Shi927; [0012]).
Regarding claim 20 MolavianJazi teaches, A device for random access, comprising:
a processor (MolavianJazi; Fig. 2 TX processing circuitry 315, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325.); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (MolavianJazi; [0041] The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process.);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the random access method of any one of claims 1 to 11 (MolavianJazi; Fig. 3 a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361
and one or more applications 362.).
determine random access resource configuration information ([0224] higher layers indicating two UL BWPs and 1 bit in the RAR UL for Msg3 transmission), wherein the random access resource configuration information is configured to indicate a plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts (two UL BWPs) (MolavianJazi; [0221-0226] scheduling of Msg3 can apply to PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions after Msg3. UL BWP for Msg3, a new field is introduced in the RAR UL grant that indicates the UL BWP index for Msg3 PUSCH transmission… higher layers can indicate two UL BWPs and 1 bit in the RAR UL grant indicates an UL BWP, from the two UL BWPs, for Msg3 transmission…, receiving dedicated RRC configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers (including by a SIB) multiple (for example, a maximum of 2 or 4) Initial UL BWP configurations), and wherein each initial uplink bandwidth part of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts (first Initial UL BWP and second initial UL BWP) comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource ([0256] PDSCH with a RAR message ending in slot n for a corresponding PRACH transmission from the UE) (MolavianJazi; [0226] SIB or RRC common signaling can provide a complete configuration for a first Initial UL BWP such as a legacy/NR initial UL BWP, as well as a relative configuration for a second initial UL BWP in the same carrier/cell, [0256] PDSCH with a RAR message ending in slot n for a corresponding PRACH transmission from the UE); and
perform random access based (UE transmits a PUSCH Msg3) on the random access resource configuration information (relative frequency location, a relative bandwidth size) ([0225] UE transmits a PUSCH Msg3 in one out of the multiple Initial UL BWPs whose index is provided in the RAR UL grant [0226] for example, one or more of a relative frequency location, a relative bandwidth size).
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach, wherein PRACH resources included in respective initial uplink bandwidth parts of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different time domain positions;
wherein the processor is further configure to: select, based on an order of use of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts notified by a network device or an identification number of the terminal, a first initial uplink bandwidth part among the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts indicated by the random access resource configuration information, and performing the random access on the first initial uplink bandwidth part using a listen before talk random access mechanism.
However, in the same field of endeavor Shi927 teaches, wherein PRACH resources included in respective initial uplink bandwidth parts of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different time domain positions (Shi927; [0118] the terminal device initiates a contended random access in the currently activated uplink BWP (provided that this uplink BWP is configured with a common PRACH resource), because the network device does not know which UE initiated the contended random access, the network device does not know which uplink BWP in the frequency domain position the received msg1)
wherein the processor is further configure to select, based on an order of use of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts notified by a network device or an identification number of the terminal (with the same index) (Shi927; [0104] the terminal device may be configured with four uplink BWPs with index of 0, 1, 2, and 3 respectively and four downlink BWPs with index of 0, 1, 2, and 3, [0122] the network device can first determine which UEs in the frequency domain of msg1 are configured with the uplink BWP, then determine the currently activated downlink BWPs of these UEs ... with the same index as the target uplink BWP) a first initial uplink bandwidth part among the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts indicated by the random access resource configuration information (it determines the first uplink BWP as the target BWP, where the first BWP is configured with a contention-based random access resource), and performing the random access on the first initial uplink bandwidth part using a listen before talk random access mechanism (performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP). (Shi927; [0124] the terminal device performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP and succeeds, it determines the first uplink BWP as the target BWP, where the first BWP is configured with a contention-based random access resource...[0125] then the terminal needs to perform LBT first, and if LBT succeeds, the terminal can initiate random access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi927 in order to configure with a contention-based random access resource (Shi927; [0012]).
Regarding claim 9 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, the method of claim 1,
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: in response to determining that a number of failures of the listen before talk mechanism on the first initial uplink bandwidth part is greater than a first number threshold, switching to a second initial uplink bandwidth part to perform the random access using the listen before talk random access mechanism
Shi927 further teaches, in response to determining that a number of failures of the listen before talk mechanism on the first initial uplink bandwidth part is greater than a first number threshold, switching to a second initial uplink bandwidth part to perform the random access using the listen before talk random access mechanism (Shi927; [0013] when the terminal device performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP and fails, switching the currently activated uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP, includes: when the terminal device performs LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP and a number of failures is greater than or equal to a first threshold value, switching the currently activated uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi927 in order to configure with a contention-based random access resource (Shi927; [0012]).
Regarding claim 10 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, The method of claim 9,
MolavianJazi fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first number threshold is determined based on time of continuous failures of the listen before talk mechanism, or a number of continuous failures of the listen before talk mechanism
Shi927 further teaches, wherein the first number threshold is determined based on time of continuous failures of the listen before talk mechanism, or a number of continuous failures of the listen before talk mechanism (Shi927; [0174] when the performing of LBT on the currently activated first uplink BWP fails, and a number of failures is greater than or equal to a first threshold value,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi927 in order to configure with a contention-based random access resource (Shi927; [0012]).
Regarding claim 21 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, A random access device, comprising:
MolavianJazi further teaches, a processor (MolavianJazi; Fig. 2 TX processing circuitry 215 and a single instance of RX processing circuitry 220); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (MolavianJazi; [0041] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of 12 (MolavianJazi; Fig. 2 memory 230 is coupled to the controller/processor 225. Part of the memory 230 could include a RAM).
Regarding claim 22 MolavianJazi-Shi927teaches, A non-transitory storage medium,
MolavianJazi further teaches, storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the method of claim 1 (MolavianJazi; [0052] The memory 360 is coupled to the processor 340. Part of the memory 360 could include a random access memory (RAM), and another part of the memory 360 could include a Flash memory or other read-only memory (ROM).).
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi-Shi927 as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of LY et al (LY646 hereafter) (US 20190124646 A1).
Regarding claims 2, and 13 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, the claims 1 and 12,
MolavianJazi-Shi927 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different frequency domain positions
However, in the same field of endeavor LY646 teaches, wherein the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts are provided with different frequency domain positions (LY646; [0122] In FIG. 11, different offsets may be provided to UE1, UE2, and UE3 such that UE1, UE2, and UE3 may determine the PRB frequency location for UL BW part for UE1, UL BW part for UE2, and UL BW part for UE3, respectively. More specifically, a BS may indicate offset 1 in RMSI sent to UE1, offset 2 in RMSI sent to UE2, and offset 3 in RMSI sent to UE3. Accordingly, based at least in part on the offsets and the signaled UL ARFCN from the BS, the UEs (UE1, UE2, and UE3) may determine the PRB frequency locations for the initial active uplink bandwidth parts for the RACH procedure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi-Shi927to include the above recited limitations as taught by LY646 in order to be used for a RACH procedure (LY646; [0141-0144]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, The claims 2 and 13,
MolavianJazi-Shi927 fails to explicitly teach wherein part of configuration information of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts is the same
LY646 further teaches, wherein part of configuration information of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts is the same (LY646; [0124] a UE may select from and/or use one or more of a plurality of initial active uplink bandwidth parts for a RACH procedure with a BS based at least in part on an indication (e.g., within the RMSI) of a reference uplink frequency location and one or more offsets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi-Shi927to include the above recited limitations as taught by LY646 in order to be used for a RACH procedure (LY646; [0141-0144]).
Regarding claim 5 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, the method of claim 1,
MolavianJazi-Shi927 fails to explicitly teach, wherein determining the random access resource configuration information comprises at least one of: determining, based on remaining minimum system information (RMSI), the random access resource configuration information,
or
determining, based on a predefined rule, the random access resource configuration information.
LY646 further teaches, determining, based on remaining minimum system information (RMSI), the random access resource configuration information (LY646; [0037] a UE may identify a physical resource block (PRB) frequency location of an initial active uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on remaining minimum system information (RMSI) received from a BS. The initial active uplink bandwidth part may be used for a random access channel (RACH) procedure between the UE and the BS.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi-Shi927to include the above recited limitations as taught by LY646 in order to be used for a RACH procedure (LY646; [0141-0144]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 16 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, the method of claim 12,
MolavianJazi-Shi927 fails to explicitly teach, wherein sending the random access resource configuration information comprises:
sending, based on remaining minimum system information (RMSI), the random access resource configuration information
LY646 further teaches, sending, based on remaining minimum system information (RMSI), the random access resource configuration information (LY646; [0054] BS 110 may transmit, to UE 120, a random access channel (RACH) configuration within remaining minimum system information (RMSI). The RACH configuration may be used to establish an initial active uplink bandwidth part for UE 120.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi-Shi927to include the above recited limitations as taught by LY646 in order to be used for a RACH procedure (LY646; [0141-0144]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17 MolavianJazi-Shi927-LY646 teaches, the method of claim 5 and 16
MolavianJazi-Shi927 fails to explicitly teach, wherein determining the random access resource configuration information based on the RMSI comprises:
determining, in response to determining that part of configuration information of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts is the same, the same configuration information based on the RMSI of a single reception
LY646 further teaches, determining, in response to determining that part of configuration information of the plurality of initial uplink bandwidth parts is the same, the same configuration information based on the RMSI of a single reception (LY646; [0037] a BS may transmit, to a UE, a random access channel (RACH) configuration within remaining minimum system information (RMSI). The RACH configuration may be used to establish an initial active uplink bandwidth part for the UE. The initial active uplink bandwidth part may be used for a RACH procedure between the BS and the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi-Shi927to include the above recited limitations as taught by LY646 in order to be used for a RACH procedure (LY646; [0141-0144]).
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi-Shi927 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi et al. (Shi296 hereafter) (WO 2021/056296 A1).
Regarding claim 11 MolavianJazi-Shi927 teaches, The method of claim 1,
MolavianJazi-Shi927 fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: in response to determining that a number of failures of the listen before talk mechanism on a same component carrier (CC) is greater than a second number threshold, triggering a high-level processing procedure.
However, in the same field of endeavor Shi296 teaches, in response to determining that a number of failures of the listen before talk mechanism on a same component carrier (CC) is greater than a second number threshold, triggering a high-level processing procedure (Shi296; [page10-15] If the time when the terminal device obtains the LBT failure indication for the uplink BWP is not within the first time period, the count value of the LBT failure counter is controlled to increase by 1, and the terminal device starts the first time period at the same time … when the high-level LBT failure-related configuration information is reconfigured, it may include at least one of the following reconfigurations: the threshold of the number of LBT failures, and the length of the first time period.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of MolavianJazi-Shi927 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi296 in order to provide an information processing method (Shi296; [Page. 2]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416