DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12 January 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP R2-2108383 (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP’383”). Note: 3GPP’383 was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 12 January 2024.
As to claim 31, 3GPP’383 teaches a network entity (page 43; see figure C: LMF), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station of a user equipment (UE) operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or in an RRC idle state, an event report message indicating that the UE has received a request to perform a positioning procedure (page 43; see figure C: LMF receives Event Report from gNB, the gNB received the Event Report from a UE in RRC inactive via an RRC Resume Request); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, based on a determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data for the positioning procedure, the updated positioning assistance data to the base station to enable the base station to send the updated positioning assistance data to the UE (page 45; see figure C: benefits in LMF sending updated assistance data (PRS configurations) to UE via gNB in response to the received UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive).
As to claim 32, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein the updated positioning assistance data comprises:
new positioning assistance data (page 45: new assistance data),
a re-prioritization of positioning assistance data previously configured to the UE (page 45: update PRS Index List (i.e., re-prioritization of existing positioning assistance data)), or
any combination thereof.
As to claim 33, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein the determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data is based on a comparison of positioning assistance data previously configured to the UE to information in the event report message (page 45; see figure C: updating PRS Index List based on received Event Report (UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive)).
As to claim 34, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 33, wherein the information in the event report message includes at least a cell identifier associated with the base station (page 45; see figure C: Event Report includes change of cell meaning new cell ID included in Event Report).
As to claim 35, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein:
the base station is an anchor base station for the UE (page 43; see figure C: anchor gNB), and
the determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data is based on a comparison of positioning assistance data previously configured to the UE to positioning assistance data that would be provided to the UE based on the UE being in a coverage area of the anchor base station (page 45; see figure C: updating PRS Index List based on received Event Report (UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive) including change of cell to anchor gNB).
As to claim 36, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein the network entity is a location server (page 43; see figure C: LMF).
As to claim 37, 3GPP’383 teaches a network node (page 43; see figure C: anchor gNB), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, to a network entity, a message indicating that a user equipment (UE) operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or in an RRC idle state and engaged in a positioning procedure has moved from a coverage area of a first transmission-reception point (TRP) to a coverage area of a second TRP (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: gNB transmits Event Report to LMF, the gNB received the Event Report from a UE in RRC inactive via an RRC Resume Request when UE moved coverage area);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the network entity, updated positioning assistance data for the positioning procedure based on the UE having moved from the coverage area of the first TRP to the coverage area of the second TRP (page 45; see figure C: benefits in LMF sending updated assistance data (PRS configurations) to UE via gNB in response to the received UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a paging message to the UE indicating to the UE that the updated positioning assistance data is available (pages 11 and 45; see figure C: paging message send to UE from gNB providing the updated assistance data).
As to claim 38, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the updated positioning assistance data to the UE in a payload of the paging message (pages 11 and 45; see figure C: paging message send to UE from gNB providing the updated assistance data).
As to claim 39, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the updated positioning assistance data to the UE in an RRC release message (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: transmit RRC release message to UE including the updated positioning assistance data).
As to claim 40, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the network entity, an indication of an area, a group of cells for which the updated positioning assistance data is valid, an expiration timer associated with the updated positioning assistance data, or any combination thereof (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: receive, from LMF, the updated positioning assistance data for an area, cell, and time).
As to claim 41, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein:
the network node is a base station, and the network entity is a location server (page 43; see figure C: network node is gNB and network entity is LMF).
Claim(s) 42-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. EP 2,360,961 (hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”). Note: Suzuki was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 12 January 2024.
As to claim 42, Suzuki teaches a network node (¶¶41, 43, 97, and 102; see figures 3, 5, 15, and 22) comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a network entity, a first message indicating one or more validity criteria for each of a plurality of sets of positioning assistance data configurable to a user equipment (UE) (¶¶78 and 83; see figure 15: maintain cache of assistance data received from SLMC having a validity period, and receive, from SLMC, new assistance data for UE and for caching);
determine that the UE has moved from a coverage area of a first transmission- reception point (TRP) to a coverage area of a second TRP, wherein the coverage area of the second TRP satisfies the one or more validity criteria for a set of positioning assistance data of the plurality of sets of positioning assistance data (¶¶78 and 82-83; see figure 15: the UE has moved to a new coverage region that satisfies the valid area of the assistance data); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a second message to the UE indicating to the UE that the set of positioning assistance data is available (¶83; see figure 15: provide the assistance data to the UE via an assistance data transfer).
As to claim 43, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the second message is a paging message (¶¶71, 73, 76, and 83; see figure 15: provide assistance data to UE via paging to bring the UE in coverage).
As to claim 44, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 43, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the set of positioning assistance data to the UE in a payload of the paging message (¶¶71, 73, 76, and 83; see figure 15: provide assistance data to UE via paging to bring the UE in coverage).
As to claim 45, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the second message is an RRC release message (¶¶84-85; see figure 15: RRC connection release message).
As to claim 46, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the set of positioning assistance data to the UE in an RRC release message (¶¶83-85; see figure 15: provide assistance data to UE via RRC connection release message).
As to claim 47, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the one or more validity criteria comprise:
an identifier of an anchor base station,
an area,
one or more cell identifiers, or
any combination thereof (¶¶78 and 82-83; see figure 15: valid area).
As to claim 48, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein:
the network node is a base station, and
the network entity is a location server (¶¶41, 43, 80 and 83; see figures 3, 5, and 15: gNB and SMLC).
Claim(s) 54-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP R2-2105309 (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP’309”). Note: 3GPP’309 was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 12 January 2024.
As to claim 54, 3GPP’309 teaches a user equipment (UE) (§2.1, pages 1-2: UE), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or in an RRC idle state, an RRC resume request to a first network node, the RRC resume request including one or more criteria indicating whether the UE needs updated positioning assistance data for a positioning procedure (§2.1, page 2: UE in INACTIVE transmits RRCResumeRequest message indicating request for new assistance data to a cell); and
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a second network node, the updated positioning assistance data (§2.1, page 2: new cell fetches UE context from source/anchor cell and transmits the new assistance data to the UE).
As to claim 55, 3GPP’309 teaches the UE of claim 54, wherein the one or more criteria comprise:
a flag indicating that the UE needs new positioning assistance data,
one or more cell identifiers that the UE has detected at its current location,
an identifier associated with positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure,
a timestamp associated with the positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure,
a measurement quality of a reference transmission-reception point (TRP) in the positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure, or
any combination thereof (§2.1, page 2: criteria include PRS configuration IDs, timer, location, etc.).
As to claim 56, 3GPP’309 teaches the UE of claim 55, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure while in an RRC connected state (§2.1, page 2: receive previous assistance data based on send identifiers).
As to claim 57, 3GPP’309 teaches the UE of claim 54, wherein the RRC resume request includes an event report message indicating that the UE has received a request to perform the positioning procedure (§2.1, page 2: RRCResumeRequest includes event report of UE moving to a new cell).
As to claim 58, 3GPP’309 teaches the UE of claim 54, wherein:
the first network node is a serving base station of the UE, and the second network node is an anchor base station for the UE (§2.1, page 2: new serving cell and anchor cell).
As to claim 59, 3GPP’309 teaches the UE of claim 54, wherein the first network node and the second network node are the same network node (§2.1, page 2: cells can be supported by same node).
As to claim 60, 3GPP’309 teaches the UE of claim 54, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform, while in the RRC inactive state or in the RRC idle state, positioning measurement of downlink positioning reference signals (PRS) based on the updated positioning assistance data (§2.1, pages 1-2: UE in INACTRIVE performs DL-PRS using the received positioning assistance data).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dong, US 12,501,389 B2 – PRS Configuration Processing Method and Apparatus, and Communication Device, and Storage Medium
Hao, US 2023/0189199 A1 – Positioning Method and Communication Apparatus
Dong, US 2023/0148057 A1 – Positioning Method and Apparatus
Lee et al., US 12,356,462 B2 – Method for Transmitting/Receiving Signal in Wireless Communication System and Apparatus Supporting Same
Jiang et al., US 12,452,822 B2 – Positioning Procedures for User Equipments in Inactive State
Lee et al., US 11,606,771 B2 – Method and Apparatus for Transmitting and Receiving Signal in Wireless Communication System
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469