DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 7 April 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 April 2026 regarding the 102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 31-36, the applicant argued, “…Figure C of Qualcomm does not show the LMF, or any other network entity, providing any further positioning assistance data to the UE…There is simply no disclosure or suggestion in Figure C of Qualcomm that after the UE provides the LPP PLI message in an RRC Resume Request at stage 12c, a network entity provides the UE with updated positioning assistance data…” on pages 9-10.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In page 45; figure C 3GPP’383 clearly teaches transmit, via the one or more transceivers, based on a determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data for the positioning procedure, the updated positioning assistance data to the base station to enable the base station to send the updated positioning assistance data to the UE (page 45; see figure C: benefits in LMF sending updated assistance data (PRS configurations) to UE via gNB in response to the received UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive).
The comments on page 45 discuss adding updated positioning information to figure C (see at least comments by Fraunhofer and InterDigital). Therefore, if the LMF determines, based on the UE-initiated trigger via the Event Report, that the UE would benefit from updated assistance data, the LMF will provide the UE, via gNB, with updated assistance data. Disregarding page 45 for the sake of argument, steps 3-7 can be relied upon to teach the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 37-41, the applicant argued, “…there is no apparent disclosure in the description of Figure C of Qualcomm of the UE changing coverage areas from one TRP to another…nothing in the remaining stages of Figure 13 (i.e., stages 13-18, cited by the Examiner) show a network entity providing positioning assistance data to a UE, whether updated or not…because the citations to Qualcomm does not appear to disclose or suggest…the citations to Qualcomm cannot disclose or suggest…” on pages 10-12.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In pages 43 and 45; figure C 3GPP’383 clearly teaches transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a network entity, a message indicating that a user equipment (UE) operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or in an RRC idle state and engaged in a positioning procedure has moved from a coverage area of a first transmission-reception point (TRP) to a coverage area of a second TRP (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: gNB transmits Event Report to LMF, the gNB received the Event Report from a UE in RRC inactive via an RRC Resume Request when UE moved coverage area).
Fraunhofer’s comments on page 45 describe a use case of the SDT procedure is for the UE to receive updated assistance data when the current assistance data is no longer optimal due to the UE moving from the last serving cell to a different one.
In page 45; figure C 3GPP’383 clearly teaches receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the network entity, updated positioning assistance data for the positioning procedure based on the UE having moved from the coverage area of the first TRP to the coverage area of the second TRP (page 45; see figure C: benefits in LMF sending updated assistance data (PRS configurations) to UE via gNB in response to the received UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive).
The comments on page 45 discuss adding updated positioning information to figure C (see at least comments by Fraunhofer and InterDigital). Therefore, if the LMF determines, based on the UE-initiated trigger via the Event Report, that the UE would benefit from updated assistance data, the LMF will provide the UE, via gNB, with updated assistance data. Disregarding page 45 for the sake of argument, steps 3-7 can be relied upon to teach the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 42-48, the applicant argued, “…There is no mention of an SLMC in the cited paragraphs of Suzuki…at best, Suzuki merely discloses that the validity timer and/or valid area are associated with the current assistance data. There is no disclosure or suggestion in Suzuki of ‘a plurality of sets of positioning assistance data configurable to a user equipment (UE),’…because Suzuki does not disclose or suggest…Suzuki cannot disclose or suggest…because Suzuki does not disclose or suggest…Suzuki cannot disclose or suggest…” on pages 13-15.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In ¶¶78 and 83; figure 15 Suzuki clearly teaches receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a network entity, a first message indicating one or more validity criteria for each of a plurality of sets of positioning assistance data configurable to a user equipment (UE) (¶¶78 and 83; see figure 15: maintain cache of assistance data received from SLMC for each cell, each having a validity period and valid area, and receive, from SLMC, new assistance data for UE and for caching).
¶83 and figure 15 mention SLMC. The applicant’s recitation of ¶83 is actually ¶78. ¶83 and figure 15 disclose reception of assistance data from the SLMC. ¶83 states that assistance data is different for each cell. ¶78 states that particular assistance data is associated with a validity timer and/or valid area. This is consistent with ¶83 since assistance data of a particular cell would only be valid for the area covered by that cell.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 15, filed 7 April 2026, in view of the amendments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 54-58 and 60 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 3GPP’309 and Zhuang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP R2-2108383 (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP’383”). Note: 3GPP’383 was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 12 January 2024.
As to claim 31, 3GPP’383 teaches a network entity (page 43; see figure C: LMF), comprising:
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a base station of a user equipment (UE) operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or in an RRC idle state, an event report message indicating that the UE has received a request to perform a positioning procedure (page 43; see figure C: LMF receives Event Report from gNB, the gNB received the Event Report from a UE in RRC inactive via an RRC Resume Request); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, based on a determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data for the positioning procedure, the updated positioning assistance data to the base station to enable the base station to send the updated positioning assistance data to the UE (page 45; see figure C: benefits in LMF sending updated assistance data (PRS configurations) to UE via gNB in response to the received UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive).
As to claim 32, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein the updated positioning assistance data comprises:
new positioning assistance data (page 45: new assistance data),
a re-prioritization of positioning assistance data previously configured to the UE (page 45: update PRS Index List (i.e., re-prioritization of existing positioning assistance data)), or
any combination thereof.
As to claim 33, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein the determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data is based on a comparison of positioning assistance data previously configured to the UE to information in the event report message (page 45; see figure C: updating PRS Index List based on received Event Report (UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive)).
As to claim 34, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 33, wherein the information in the event report message includes at least a cell identifier associated with the base station (page 45; see figure C: Event Report includes change of cell meaning new cell ID included in Event Report).
As to claim 35, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein:
the base station is an anchor base station for the UE (page 43; see figure C: anchor gNB), and
the determination that the UE would benefit from updated positioning assistance data is based on a comparison of positioning assistance data previously configured to the UE to positioning assistance data that would be provided to the UE based on the UE being in a coverage area of the anchor base station (page 45; see figure C: updating PRS Index List based on received Event Report (UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive) including change of cell to anchor gNB).
As to claim 36, 3GPP’383 teaches the network entity of claim 31, wherein the network entity is a location server (page 43; see figure C: LMF).
As to claim 37, 3GPP’383 teaches a network node (page 43; see figure C: anchor gNB), comprising:
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a network entity, a message indicating that a user equipment (UE) operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or in an RRC idle state and engaged in a positioning procedure has moved from a coverage area of a first transmission-reception point (TRP) to a coverage area of a second TRP (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: gNB transmits Event Report to LMF, the gNB received the Event Report from a UE in RRC inactive via an RRC Resume Request when UE moved coverage area);
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the network entity, updated positioning assistance data for the positioning procedure based on the UE having moved from the coverage area of the first TRP to the coverage area of the second TRP (page 45; see figure C: benefits in LMF sending updated assistance data (PRS configurations) to UE via gNB in response to the received UE-initiated trigger in RRC inactive); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a paging message to the UE indicating to the UE that the updated positioning assistance data is available (pages 11 and 45; see figure C: paging message send to UE from gNB providing the updated assistance data).
As to claim 38, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the updated positioning assistance data to the UE in a payload of the paging message (pages 11 and 45; see figure C: paging message send to UE from gNB providing the updated assistance data).
As to claim 39, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the updated positioning assistance data to the UE in an RRC release message (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: transmit RRC release message to UE including the updated positioning assistance data).
As to claim 40, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the network entity, an indication of an area, a group of cells for which the updated positioning assistance data is valid, an expiration timer associated with the updated positioning assistance data, or any combination thereof (pages 43 and 45; see figure C: receive, from LMF, the updated positioning assistance data for an area, cell, and time).
As to claim 41, 3GPP’383 teaches the network node of claim 37, wherein:
the network node is a base station, and the network entity is a location server (page 43; see figure C: network node is gNB and network entity is LMF).
Claim(s) 42-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. EP 2,360,961 (hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”). Note: Suzuki was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 12 January 2024.
As to claim 42, Suzuki teaches a network node (¶¶41, 43, 97, and 102; see figures 3, 5, 15, and 22) comprising:
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a network entity, a first message indicating one or more validity criteria for each of a plurality of sets of positioning assistance data configurable to a user equipment (UE) (¶¶78 and 83; see figure 15: maintain cache of assistance data received from SLMC for each cell, each having a validity period and valid area, and receive, from SLMC, new assistance data for UE and for caching);
determine that the UE has moved from a coverage area of a first transmission- reception point (TRP) to a coverage area of a second TRP, wherein the coverage area of the second TRP satisfies the one or more validity criteria for a set of positioning assistance data of the plurality of sets of positioning assistance data (¶¶78 and 82-83; see figure 15: the UE has moved to a new coverage region that satisfies the valid area of the assistance data); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a second message to the UE indicating to the UE that the set of positioning assistance data is available (¶83; see figure 15: provide the assistance data to the UE via an assistance data transfer).
As to claim 43, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the second message is a paging message (¶¶71, 73, 76, and 83; see figure 15: provide assistance data to UE via paging to bring the UE in coverage).
As to claim 44, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 43, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the set of positioning assistance data to the UE in a payload of the paging message (¶¶71, 73, 76, and 83; see figure 15: provide assistance data to UE via paging to bring the UE in coverage).
As to claim 45, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the second message is an RRC release message (¶¶84-85; see figure 15: RRC connection release message).
As to claim 46, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the set of positioning assistance data to the UE in an RRC release message (¶¶83-85; see figure 15: provide assistance data to UE via RRC connection release message).
As to claim 47, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein the one or more validity criteria comprise:
an identifier of an anchor base station,
an area,
one or more cell identifiers, or
any combination thereof (¶¶78 and 82-83; see figure 15: valid area).
As to claim 48, Suzuki teaches the network node of claim 42, wherein:
the network node is a base station, and
the network entity is a location server (¶¶41, 43, 80 and 83; see figures 3, 5, and 15: gNB and SMLC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 54-58 and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP R2-2105309 (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP’309”) in view of Zhuang et al. US 2023/0336309 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Zhuang”). Note: 3GPP’309 was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 12 January 2024 and Zhuang was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 7 April 2026.
As to claim 54, 3GPP’309 teaches a user equipment (UE) (§2.1, pages 1-2: UE), comprising:
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, while operating in the RRC inactive state or in the RRC idle state, an RRC resume request message to a network node in a second cell, the RRC resume request message including an indication of one or more criteria indicating whether the UE needs updated positioning assistance data for a positioning procedure (§2.1, page 2: UE in INACTIVE transmits RRCResumeRequest message indicating request for new assistance data to a new cell), the indication including a flag indicating that the UE needs the updated positioning assistance data (§2.1, page 2: cause value (i.e., flag) indicating a request for new assistance data), the one or more criteria including one or more cell identifiers (§2.1, pages 1-2: UE can include cell/configuration IDs associated with the previous assistance data/PRS configurations); and
receive, via the one or more transceivers the updated positioning assistance data in response to the RRC resume request message (§2.1, page 2: in response to RRCResumeRequest, new cell fetches UE context from source/anchor cell and transmits the new assistance data to the UE).
Although 3GPP’509 teaches “A user equipment…configured to: transmit, via…request message,” 3GPP’509 does not explicitly disclose “receive, via…release message”.
However, Zhuang teaches receive, via the one or more transceivers, a radio resource control (RRC) release message from a first base station of a first cell (¶454; figure 3d: receive RRC release message from original gNB);
transition to an RRC inactive state or RRC idle state in response to the RRC release message (¶454; figure 3d: and UE enters the idle/inactive state);
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, while operating in the RRC inactive state or in the RRC idle state, an RRC resume request message to a network node in a second cell (¶¶455-456; figure 3d: while in RRC idle/inactive state, UE sends RRC resume request message to new gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in 3GPP’509 by including “receive, via…release message” as taught by Zhuang because it provides 3GPP’509’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of beginning an uplink positioning scheme when a camped-on cell changes with a suspend message from the original gNB (Zhuang, ¶¶452-462; figure 3d).
As to claim 55, 3GPP’309 in view of Zhuang teaches the UE of claim 54. 3GPP’309 further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise:
a flag indicating that the UE needs new positioning assistance data,
one or more cell identifiers that the UE has detected at its current location,
an identifier associated with positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure,
a timestamp associated with the positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure,
a measurement quality of a reference transmission-reception point (TRP) in the positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure, or
any combination thereof (§2.1, page 2: criteria include PRS configuration IDs, timer, location, etc.).
As to claim 56, 3GPP’309 in view of Zhuang teaches the UE of claim 55. 3GPP’309 further teaches wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, the positioning assistance data currently being used by the UE for the positioning procedure while in an RRC connected state (§2.1, page 2: receive previous assistance data based on send identifiers).
As to claim 57, 3GPP’309 in view of Zhuang teaches the UE of claim 54. 3GPP’309 further teaches wherein the RRC resume request includes an event report message indicating that the UE has received a request to perform the positioning procedure (§2.1, page 2: RRCResumeRequest includes event report of UE moving to a new cell).
As to claim 58, 3GPP’309 in view of Zhuang teaches the UE of claim 54. 3GPP’309 further teaches wherein the network node is:
a serving base station of the UE, and
is an anchor base station for the UE (§2.1, page 2: new serving cell and anchor cell).
As to claim 60, 3GPP’309 in view of Zhuang teaches the UE of claim 54. 3GPP’309 further teaches wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
perform, while in the RRC inactive state or in the RRC idle state, positioning measurement of downlink positioning reference signals (PRS) based on the updated positioning assistance data (§2.1, pages 1-2: UE in INACTRIVE performs DL-PRS using the received positioning assistance data).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469