DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s response submitted 20 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-18, 21 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0077298 to Wiltjer et al.
In regards to claim 1, Wiltjer recites a fiber panel system (2) comprising: a chassis (100) defining an interior extending along a forward-rearward axis between a front end and a rear end, extending along a lateral axis between opposite first and second sides, and extending along a height between a top and a bottom; and a spacer wall (106) disposed within the interior of the chassis, the spacer wall having a first side facing in a first direction along the lateral axis and a second side facing in an opposite second direction along the lateral axis, the first side of the spacer wall defining a first plurality of parallel support surfaces (Figures 1-4, 13 & 14; [0068]) extending along the forward-rearward axis, and the second side of the spacer wall defining a second plurality of parallel support surfaces (Figures 1-4, 13 & 14; [0068]) extending along the forward- rearward axis, the second support surfaces being offset [0068]; 3 guide channels, each offset along the height) from the first support surfaces along the height of the chassis.
In regards to claim 2, Wiltjer recites the spacer wall is one of a plurality of spacer walls (102, 104, 106) disposed within the interior of the chassis, the spacer walls being spaced apart from each other along the lateral axis to divide the interior into a plurality of parallel through- passages. (Figure 3)
In regards to claim 3, Wiltjer recites the spacer walls are identical to each other.
In regards to claim 4, Wiltjer recites a cassette (200) configured to mount within the interior of the chassis, the cassette extending along the lateral axis between a first end and a second end, the cassette including a first rail (212) disposed at the first end and a latching arrangement disposed at the second end, the first rail being configured to glide over one of the support surfaces at the first side of a first of the spacer walls and the latching arrangement being configured to glide over one of the support surfaces at the second side of a second of the spacer walls. (Figures 5 & 6)
In regards to claim 5, Wiltjer recites the cassette is a first cassette; and wherein a second cassette is configured to mount within the interior of the chassis between the first and second spacer walls, the second cassette being offset from the first cassette along the height of the chassis.
In regards to claim 6, Wiltjer recites a bottom surface of the first cassette directly opposes a top surface of the second cassette. (Figure 6)
In regards to claim 7, Wiltjer recites a third cassette configured to mount within the interior of the chassis between the second spacer wall and a third of the spacer walls, the third cassette being aligned with the first cassette along the lateral axis. (Figure 46)
In regards to claim 8, Wiltjer recites the cassette carries a plurality of front port members having front ports accessible from an exterior of the cassette and a plurality of rear ports accessible from an interior of the cassette. (Figures 28 & 37)
In regards to claim 9, Wiltjer recites the front ports of the front port members are configured to receive vertically oriented plug connectors.
In regards to claim 10, Wiltjer recites the front ports of the front port members are configured to receive LC plug connectors. [0079]
In regards to claim 12, Wiltjer recites the front ports of the front port members are configured to receive MPO plug connectors. [0079]
In regards to claim 13, Wiltjer recites the cassette carries a rear port member having a front port accessible from the interior of the cassette and a rear port accessible from the exterior of the cassette. (Figures 28 & 37)
In regards to claim 14, Wiltjer recites the chassis includes a bottom panel, a top panel, and opposite side panels that cooperate to define the interior.
In regards to claim 15, Wiltjer recites the spacer wall is secured to the bottom panel and to the top panel.
In regards to claim 16, Wiltjer recites the spacer wall includes lower protrusions that extend into apertures defined in the bottom panel and upper protrusions that extend into apertures defined in the top panel. (Figure 5)
In regards to claim 17, Wiltjer recites the support surfaces of the second plurality define notches (120, 122, 124; Figure 26A).
In regards to claim 18, Wiltjer recites each support surface of the second plurality defines a plurality of the notches along the forward-rearward axis.
In regards to claim 21, Wiltjer recites a fiber panel system (2) comprising: a chassis (100) including: a body extending along a forward-rearward axis between a front and a rear, along a lateral axis between opposite first and second sides, and along a height between a top and a bottom, the chassis defining a plurality of chambers (Figure 2) each extending along the forward-rearward axis; a plurality of spacer walls (106) disposed within the chassis to separate the chambers; a respective plurality of guides (102 & 104) disposed within each chamber, each guide extending along the forward-rearward axis; and a plurality of cassettes (200; Figure 4) configured to be disposed within the chassis, each cassette including a body carrying a plurality of front ports, each body defining a channel configured to be aligned with one of the guides when the respective cassette is mounted at the chassis, each body carrying a latching arrangement configured to be aligned with another of the guides when the respective cassette is mounted at the chassis, each latching arrangement cooperating with the respective another of the guides to latch the cassette at the chassis.
In regards to claim 29, Wiltjer recites a cassette (Figures 28-44) comprising: a body including opposite sidewalls extending upwardly from a bottom floor to define an interior extending between a front end and a rear end; a plurality of parallel arms (240 & 242) extending forwardly of the body so that the arms protrude beyond the bottom floor, the arms being laterally spaced to define a plurality of mounting positions (Figure 29) therebetween; and a plurality of ports members mounted to the arms at the mounting positions, each of the port members being disposed forward of the bottom floor so that none of the port members seat on the bottom floor (Figure 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0077298 to Wiltjer et al as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 11, although Wiltjer does not expressly disclose the front ports of the front port members are configured to receive SN plug connectors, Wiltjer does teach LC plug connectors and MPO plug connectors. Since SN plug connectors are known alternatives and are industry standard plug connectors, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the front ports of the front port members are configured to receive SN plug connectors in order to provide the desired and matching plug connector when uniting two optical components.
In regards to claims 19 and 20, although Wiltjer does not expressly recite the support surfaces of the first plurality do not define notches and intermediate portions of the support surfaces of the second plurality oppose vertical recesses, each of these structural features are known alternative features in the optical panel system art for the purpose of connecting and securing optical components. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the support surfaces of the first plurality do not define notches and intermediate portions of the support surfaces of the second plurality oppose a vertical recesses in order to provide the desired and secure connection required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40 and 41 are allowed.
In regards to claim 40, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest cassette comprising: a body including opposite first and second sidewalls extending upwardly from a bottom floor to define an interior, each of the sidewalls extending along a forward-rearward axis of the body, the first and second sidewalls being spaced from each other along a lateral axis; a first rail disposed at the first sidewall, the first rail extending along the forward-rearward axis; a second rail disposed at the second sidewall, the second rail being offset along a height of the body from the first rail, the height of the body being transverse to the forward-rearward axis and to the lateral axis in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim.
In regards to claim 41, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest A cassette comprising: a body including opposite first and second sidewalls extending upwardly from a bottom floor to define an interior, each of the sidewalls extending along a forward-rearward axis of the body, the first and second sidewalls being spaced from each other along a lateral axis; a rail disposed at the first sidewall, the rail extending along the forward-rearward axis; a latching arrangement disposed at the second sidewall, the latching arrangement including a forward arm extending forwardly beyond the body and a rearward arm extending rearwardly beyond the body, the forward and rearward arms being movable to release the latching arrangement, the latching arrangement having a different thickness than the rail in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wiltjer fails tot each the second cassette support surfaces being offset from the first cassette support surfaces along the height of the chassis. However, the Examiner disagrees. The claim language does not clearly define which guide channel is offset from another guide channel. Since Wiltjer clearly teaches at least three guide channels, an example of an offset could be the top guide channel being offset from the bottom guide channel. Applicant further argues the cassette of Wiltjer fails to teach channels configured to be aligned with a guide. However, the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner has mapped element 200 as the cassette. Figure 30 clearly shows channels (240 rails; indented from elements 230 & 232) to align with the guide. Furthermore, Applicant argues Withjer fails to disclose a plurality of parallel arms extending forwardly of a body of the cassette. However, Applicant admits on Page 9 of the Remarks received 30 March 2026, “only a tiny portion of the tray rails extend forwardly of the tray body” Since the claim language does not require the tray rails to extend completely, even a “tiny portion” meets the claim limitations. Lastly, Applicant argues element 200 is labelled as a tray but Wiltjer. However, element 200 meets all the claimed limitations of the cassette as claimed. Furthermore, is it common to designate different terms in the art to mean the same thing, provide the same function and meet the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874