Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/09/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Office action on 6/09/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 12, filed 9/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 16-21 and 23-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, the rejection of Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of claims 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 12, of the remarks, filed on 9/28/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claims 16-21 and 23-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, the rejection of Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of claims 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1, that “Claims 16 and 34 were amended and claims 18-21 and 31 were cancelled as they were added to claims 16 and 34. New claim 36 has been added to include the limitations of original claim 22.
Claims 18-21 and 25-30 have been indicated as allowable. Claims 16 and 34 were amended to include claims 18-21 and 31 and remove the previous limitations of claim 22. New claim 36 was added to reintroduce the limitations of claim 22 previously cancelled.
Consequently, in view of the foregoing amendments and remarks it is respectfully submitted that the application is now in condition for allowance, and accordingly early indication thereof is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 12, of the remarks, filed on 9/28/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 16-21 and 23-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, the rejection of Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of claims 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 6/09/2026 have been fully considered and is partially persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims 16 and 34 and added the limitation, “wherein one of the following alternatives A), B), C), D) holds:
A)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the
respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the
respective time shift,
B)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample at a respective point
in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time
shifted by the respective time shift,
C)
wherein, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the
covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in
time, of a product of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the
temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data
sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the
temperature data sample at the respective point in time,
D)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample and a temperature
difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective
temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time
shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20
hours; and
the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks.”
The amendment makes some of the limitations clear. However, the claim limitation is still not clear as explained below.
Claims 16 and 34 therefore unclear as claims do not recite what is state of power cable and therefore the limitation, “estimating the state of the power cable based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities” is still unclear as explained below. Therefore, Claims 16-17 and 23-30, 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
However, claim 16 now recites allowable subject matter which was indicated as allowable subject matter in the Final Office action mailed on 6/09/2026. Therefore, the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 has been withdrawn as set forth below. Rejection of dependent claims 17, 23-30 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of Claim(s) 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1 has been withdrawn, as set forth below.
Examiner Note: For expedite prosecution examiner suggests to incorporate the limitation, “wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes: estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil; one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth” from independent claim 34 and previously recited in claim 16 to make the limitation in claim 16( as explained above) clear to overcome the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) and to make the claim allowable. However further consideration will be required.
However, the rejection of claim 34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of Claim(s) 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1will be maintained. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 34, “
wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes at least one of:
estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil;
one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth,
wherein one of the following alternatives A), B), C), D) holds:
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the
respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the
respective time shift,
B)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample at a respective point
in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time
shifted by the respective time shift,
C)
wherein, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the
covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in
time, of a product of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the
temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data
sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the
temperature data sample at the respective point in time,
D)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample and a temperature
difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective
temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time
shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20
hours; and the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks.” which does not change the scope of the claim because claim now recites: at least one of: estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil; one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth,
or
wherein one of the following alternatives A), B), C), D) holds:
A)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the
respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the
respective time shift,
B)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample at a respective point
in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time
shifted by the respective time shift,
C)
wherein, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the
covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in
time, of a product of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the
temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data
sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the
temperature data sample at the respective point in time,
D)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample and a temperature
difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective
temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time
shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20
hours; and
the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks. Claim now requires to reject either one of the limitations as shown above in Italic form. Although the limitation was indicated as allowable subject matter (if 35 U.S.C 112 (b) overcomes) in the Final Office Action mailed on 6/09/2026, the allowable limitation in claim 34 is not required by the claim. Therefore claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and Claim(s) 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Examiner Note: However, if applicant clarify the amended limitation “wherein one of the following alternatives A), B), C), D) holds:
A)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the
respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the
respective time shift,
B)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample at a respective point
in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time
shifted by the respective time shift,
C)
wherein, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the
covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in
time, of a product of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the
temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data
sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the
temperature data sample at the respective point in time,
D)
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample and a temperature
difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective
temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time
shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20
hours; and the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks” that the limitation is not “at least one of” and is required by the claim then the rejection of claim 34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 will be withdrawn in the next office action.
Claims 16-17, 23-30, 32-36 still will be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss the possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-17, 23-30 and 32-36 set forth in the amendment submitted 9/28/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17, 23-30 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites, “estimating the state of the power cable based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities.” The limitation is not clear. Because claim does not recite how to estimate the state of the power cable. It is not clear what is meant by, “state”. Amended claim now recites, “wherein at least one of the following alternatives A), B), C), D) holds: A) for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift,………………………..” which makes the limitation, “a covariance related quantity” and “plural different time shift” is clear. However the limitation, “estimating the state of the power cable based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities” is unclear. Because claim does not recite how the state is estimated or what parameters are considered as the state. It is not clear what steps are used to estimate the state (it is not clear what characteristic corresponds to state) of the power cable. Therefore looks like some of the method steps are missing to estimate a state of the power cable ………………… Therefore, the claim limitation is not clear.
Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, because of the same reason as stated above.
Claims 17, 23-30, 32-33 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claims 16 and 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086.
Regarding claim 34, Lux teaches an arrangement for estimating a state of a subsea electrical power cable (a method for permanent monitoring the depth of burial along the entire length of a buried power cable route in real time; Column 2 Page 1079 Line 44-46; The term “state” can represent any condition, shape, situation or any characteristics of subsea electrical power cable as claim does not specify what the state is. Therefore, here depth of burial (DOB) along the length is considered as the state of a power cable), the arrangement comprising:
a processor (Once the mapping is known, the depth of burial can be calculated in real-time on a standard desktop computer; Page 1085, Column 1 IV. CONCLUSION-Line 17-18; Therefore, the arrangement can be done with a computer using a processor) adapted to:
to obtain load data samples pertaining to plural points (From now on, we investigate a single conductor at position (0, L) for clarity; Page 1081 Column 1 Line 17-18) in time (The load variationsW0 and the steady state current have both been calculated according to IEC 60287 [9]; Page 1082, Column 2 Line 15-16;
; Page 1081 Column 2 Line 11-25: equation above shows how to obtain load date),
the load data samples indicating an electrical load the power cable is subjected to (In this study, we present a method to permanently analyze the DoB of submarine power cable formations by using distributed temperature sensing, electric load data, and thermal models of the submarine cable installation; abstract-Page 1079, Column 1 Line 9-12; here current is measured and considered as load date);
to obtain temperature data samples pertaining to plural locations along the power cable and pertaining to the plural points in time (DTS systems can measure the temperature in optical fibers up to a distance of about 70 km with a temperature resolution better than 1 to 2 Kelvin [2].; Page 1079, Column 2 Line 1-3; Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes. Column 2 III. FIELD STUDY-Page 1083 Line 1-3);
to derive, for each location (a sampling interval of 0.25 m), from the load data samples and the temperature data samples (The calculations show that it is possible to determine the depth of burial from DTS and load data up to certain depth depending on the amplitude of load variations and the temperature resolution of the DTS measurements; Page 1083 Column 1 Line 11-14; Fig. 3. Contour plot of DoB results over position and time obtained with our method for DTS and load data recorded in a critical section of a submarine power cable installation in the North Sea. Calculations were performed once a day with a spatial resolution of 1 m; Page 1083), a location specific covariance related quantity related to one of a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity (We have tested our method on DTS and load data recorded by an European transmission system operator (TSO) over two months. The surveyed 155 kV AC cable is more than 40 km long and connects an offshore wind farm in the North Sea to the onshore grid. It has a cross section similar to that shown in Fig. 1. The single-mode optical fibers are located in the interstices between the conductor cores. Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes. Under these conditions the temperature; III. FIELD STUDY; Page 1083 Column 2 Line 1-10) repeatability as defined by SEAFOM-MSP-01 [19] is below 0.5 K for distances smaller than 40 km [2].; Page 1084 Column 1 Line 1-2); and
to estimate the state of the power cable (DOB is the state of power cable) based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities (For each calculation of the DoB, as presented in Figs. 3 and 4, a current and temperature history of 10–14 days was considered; Page 1084; The depth of burial along the dashed lines are shown in Fig. 4. The upper part shows the time-dependent DoB at a position where the cable was exposed. Apparently, the exposure developed on a timescale of a few weeks. A yearly survey may thus not be sufficient to detect such events in time. The lower part of Fig. 4 shows a DoB profile at a fixed time. In Fig. 5 we show the relative thermal load (I/Imax)2 of the cable under consideration. Imax was calculated to be the steady state current load; Page 1084 Column 2 Line 4-11 at which the conductor temperature becomes 90 ◦C. Each result presented Figs. 3 and 4 uses a data history of around two weeks for the estimation of the ambient parameters. The time where Figs. 3 and 4(a) start is shifted to 0 days. The mean thermal load, the time average of the data shown in Fig. 5, was around 5% with a standard deviation of 6%. Therefore we found that the maximum detectable depth represented by the dashed line in 4(b); Page 1085 Column 1 Line 1-8; In order to determine the DoB, the amplitudes of the slowly varying part of the measured temperature have to be analyzed. Their load-dependent size, which depends on the load, determines the maximal detectable depth, see (16). IV. CONCLUSION Page 1085 Column 1 Line 8-11),
wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes at least one of (one limitation is required):
estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil
; Page 1083, Column 1 Line 1-10);
one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of (one limitation is required by the claim):
burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth (An analysis of field data shows that our method has the capability to detect comparatively fast variations of DoB and also cable exposure events in real installations; Abstract-Page 1079 Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein one of the following alternatives A), B), C), D) holds (not required by the claim):
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the
respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the
respective time shift,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time
shifted by the respective time shift,
wherein, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the
covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in
time, of a product of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data
sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the
temperature data sample at the respective point in time,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a
product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20
hours; and
the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1.
Regarding claim 35, Lux teaches an arrangement, further comprising:
an optical fibre arrangeable at to the power cable (We show analytically that the depth of burial can be derived from the history of temperatures measured at the position of the optical fiber; Page 1080, Column 1 Line 4-6).
However, Lux fails to teach a light pulse generator adapted to generate primary light pulses and inject them into the optical fibre; a detector adapted to detect secondary light pulses returning from the optical fibre after having interacted with the fibre at plural locations, the processor being further adapted to process the process the secondary light pulses, in order to derive the temperature data samples for the plural locations.
Hill teaches a method and a device for monitoring a submarine cable, which is used in particular to transport energy (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), further comprising:
a light pulse generator [3] adapted to generate primary light pulses and inject them into the optical fibre; a detector [5] adapted to detect secondary light pulses returning from the optical fibre after having interacted with the fibre at plural locations, the processor [5]being further adapted to process the process the secondary light pulses, in order to derive the temperature data samples for the plural locations (The light of a laser light source 3 can be coupled into the optical fiber 2 by using suitable coupling means 4. Individual portions of the light can be back-scattered in the optical fiber 2 by way of temperature-dependent Raman or Brillouin scattering (see FIG. 1). The back-scattered portions can be supplied by the coupling means 4 to detection and evaluation means 5 which capture the scattered light and determine from the detected back-scattered light spatially resolved the temperature of the optical fiber 2; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to provide high accuracy and reliability, to allow a continuous and real-time determination of the thermal resistance of the soil surrounding the submarine cable along the entire submerged length of the submarine cable, thus enabling reliable monitoring of the cover of the submarine cable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chiu in view of Hill, because Hill teaches to include a light pulse generator to generate primary light pulses and inject them into the optical fibre provides high accuracy and reliability (Paragraph [0017]), allows a continuous and real-time determination of the thermal resistance of the soil surrounding the submarine cable along the entire submerged length of the submarine cable, thus enabling reliable monitoring of the cover of the submarine cable (Paragraph [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 17, 23-30, 32-33 and 36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bibby (US 4859065 A) discloses, “Temperature Measurement- This invention relates to a method of measuring temperature and, in particular, to a method of measuring temperature using optical time domain reflectometry (OTDR) (Column 1 Line 2-5). FIG. 1 is a block diagram of one embodiment of apparatus for use in carrying out the method of the invention; and FIG. 2 is a fragmentary block diagram illustrating a second embodiment of apparatus for use in carrying out the method of the invention. (1) The apparatus comprises two sources 1 and 2 of monochromatic light at wavelengths .lambda..sub.1 and .lambda..sub.2 respectively. Otherwise a single source tunable to the two wavelengths can be used. Pulses of light from the sources 1 and 2 are launched into one end of an elongate optical fibre 3 which serves as a temperature sensing element, via a fibre optical coupler 4. Backscattered light from the optical fibre 3 returns through the coupler 4, parts of the backscattered light passing via wavelength selective filters 5 and 6 to intensity detectors 7 and 8 respectively. Filter 5 passes light of wavelength .lambda..sub.2 to detector 7 but does not pass light of other wavelengths. Filter 6 passes only light of wavelength .lambda..sub.1 to detector 8. Otherwise a single detector can be used together with a filter tunable to the two wavelengths. The detectors 7 and 8 give output signals indicative of the intensity of the light passed thereto, which output signals are supplied to a processing means 9 operative to provide a temperature measurement therefrom as will be described hereafter (Column 2 Line 18-44)-However Bibby does not disclose A) for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the
respective time shift, B) for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance
related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift, C) wherein, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a product of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time, D) for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived depending on a sum, over the plural points in time, of a product of a polynomial function of the respective load data sample and a temperature difference, the temperature difference being a difference between the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample at the respective point in time
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20 hours; and the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858