Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/09/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 1/06/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Abstract, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/06/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 3/31/2026.
The objection to claim 34, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/06/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 3/31/2026.
5. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11-12, filed 3/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 16-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 11-12, of the remarks, filed on 3/31/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 16-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, that “Claim 16-35 were rejected as indefinite and have been amended to address the issues raised by the Examiner. Specifically, by the amendments the "state" and the "location specific covariance related quantity" are restricted to address the rejection of claims 16 and 34.
Regarding claims 18-21 it is clearly specified that plural terms are summed over the plural points in time, each term being a product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift. This summation is (separately) done for each of the plural time shifts.
The Examiner objected to the expression "an empirical covariance or an empirical correlation" in claim 22. Applicant is of the opinion that these expressions are clear to the skilled person. The explanation of empirical correlation can for example be taken from a standard mathematics handbook, such as Bronstein, or Wikipedia.
Applicant believes that in claim 23 the first analysis value is clearly specified as a location specific maximal value of the covariance related quantity across the plural different time shifts. Thus (for each of the plural locations) a maximal value of the covariance related quantity is determined which is obtained for one of the plural time shifts.
Claim 25 now refers to claim 24 introducing the "scaled first analysis result" (Remarks-Page 11).
Claim 27 now refers to claim 23, introducing the "first analysis result".
Claim 28 now refers to claim 27, introducing the "second analysis result".
Claim 29 specifies the method (of claim 16) for plural further points in time, i.e. (other) points in time that are different to the points in time in claim 16 (Remarks-Page 12).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11-12, of the remarks, filed on 3/31/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 16-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/06/2026 have been fully considered and is partially persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims 16 and 34 and added the limitation, “wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes at least one of:
estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil;
one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth,
wherein one of the following holds:
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.” which makes some of the limitation clear. However still the claim limitation is not clear as explained below.
Applicant argues, “Regarding claims 18-21 it is clearly specified that plural terms are summed over the plural points in time, each term being a product of the respective load data sample at a respective point in time and the respective temperature data sample at the respective point in time shifted by the respective time shift. This summation is (separately) done for each of the plural time shifts” which is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 18-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) has been withdrawn.
However, the limitation in claims 18… does not make claim 16 clear, unless the limitation is incorporated in the claim.
Claims 16 and 34 therefore still unclear as claims do not recite what is covariance related quantity and therefore the limitation, “a location specific covariance related quantity related to one of a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity” is still unclear.
Applicant argues, “The Examiner objected to the expression "an empirical covariance or an empirical correlation" in claim 22. Applicant is of the opinion that these expressions are clear to the skilled person. The explanation of empirical correlation can for example be taken from a standard mathematics handbook, such as Bronstein, or Wikipedia” which is not persuasive. Examiner in the rejection did not say that the "an empirical covariance or an empirical correlation" is unclear. Examiner explained that it is not clear what is an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data and how an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data is calculated and what method is used to calcite the data and how the values are calculated. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument/ amendment regarding claims 23-30 is persuasive. Therefore, the rejections of claims 23-30 under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 16-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/06/2026 has been maintained, as explained above and as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Examiner Note: For expedite prosecution examiner suggests to incorporate either 18 or 19 or 20 or 21 and equation 1 as explained in the specification (to make the limitation an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data clear) and also incorporate the limitation from claim 31 (to make the limitation plural time shift and plural points in time clear). However further consideration will be required.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 12, filed 3/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of Claim(s) 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 12, of the remarks, filed on 3/31/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of Claim(s) 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1, that “Although Applicant respectfully disagrees with this rejection, in view of the indication of allowability of claim 22, and to speed prosecution, the limitations of claim 22 have been added to the independent claims.
Claims 32 and 35 were rejected as allegedly obvious over Lux in view of Hill (US 20160298960). It is respectfully submitted that these claims as amended are not obvious over the cited combination as they now include the limitations of claim 22.
Consequently, in view of the foregoing amendments and remarks it is respectfully submitted that the application is now in condition for allowance, and accordingly early indication thereof is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 12, of the remarks, filed on 3/31/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 and the rejection of Claim(s) 32 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/06/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 16, “
wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes at least one of:
estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil;
one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth,
wherein one of the following holds:
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.” which does not change the scope of the claim because claim now recites: at least one of: estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil; one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth,
or
wherein one of the following holds:
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.
Claim now requires to reject either one of the limitations as shown above in Italic form. Although the limitation was indicated as allowable subject matter (if 35 U.S.C 112 (b) overcomes) in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 1/06/2026, the allowable limitation in claim 16 is not required by the claim. Therefore claims 16 and 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 1/06/2026, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Examiner Note: However if applicant clarify the amended limitation “wherein one of the following holds: for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.that the limitation is not “at least one of” and is required by the claim then the rejection of claim 16 and 34 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086 will be withdrawn in the next office action. However, claim 16-35 still will be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss the possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-21 and 23-35 set forth in the amendment submitted 3/31/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21 and 23-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites, “deriving, for each location, from the load data samples and the temperature data samples, a location specific covariance related quantity related to one of a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity; and estimating the state of the power cable based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities.” The limitation is not clear. Because claim does not recite how to estimate the state of the power cable. It is not clear what steps are used to estimate the state (it is not clear what characteristic corresponds to state) of the power cable. Amended claim 16 now recites, “estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil; one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of: burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth”. However, the limitation, a location specific covariance related quantity related to one of a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity is still unclear. It is not clear what is location specific covariance related quantity and how the quantity is determined. It is not clear how the covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity is determined. It is not clear what steps are followed to determine a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity from load data and temperature date. Therefore, it is also not clear how a location specific covariance related quantity is determined. Claim does not recite any specific structure to perform the steps. Claim only recites a method. Claim looks like that some of the method steps are missing to estimate a state of a subsea electrical power cable ………………… Therefore, the claim limitation is not clear.
Amended claim 16 recites, “wherein one of the following holds: for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift”. However, it is not clear what is an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples. It is not clear how an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data is calculated and what method is used to calcite the data and how the values are calculated. Therefore, the limitation is not clear.
Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
For the purpose of present examination, depth of burial is construed to mean the state of the power cable and any correlation between temperature and load data is construed to mean interaction values.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, because of the same reason as stated above.
.
Claims 17-21 and 23-33, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claims 16 and 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24, 31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jonathan Lux et al. (Hereinafter, “Lux”) in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086.
Regarding claim 16, Lux teaches a method of estimating a state of a subsea electrical power cable (a method for permanent monitoring the depth of burial along the entire length of a buried power cable route in real time; Column 2 Page 1079 Line 44-46; The term “state” can represent any condition, shape, situation or any characteristics of subsea electrical power cable as claim does not specify what the state is. Therefore, here depth of burial (DOB) along the length is considered as the state of a power cable), the method comprising:
obtaining load data samples pertaining to plural points (From now on, we investigate a single conductor at position (0, L) for clarity; Page 1081 Column 1 Line 17-18) in time (The load variationsW0 and the steady state current have both been calculated according to IEC 60287 [9]; Page 1082, Column 2 Line 15-16;
; Page 1081 Column 2 Line 11-25: equation above shows how to obtain load date),
the load data samples indicating an electrical load the power cable is subjected to (In this study, we present a method to permanently analyze the DoB of submarine power cable formations by using distributed temperature sensing, electric load data, and thermal models of the submarine cable installation; abstract-Page 1079, Column 1 Line 9-12; here current is measured and considered as load date);
obtaining temperature data samples pertaining to plural locations along the power cable and pertaining to the plural points in time (DTS systems can measure the temperature in optical fibers up to a distance of about 70 km with a temperature resolution better than 1 to 2 Kelvin [2].; Page 1079, Column 2 Line 1-3; Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes. Column 2 III. FIELD STUDY-Page 1083 Line 1-3);
deriving, for each location (a sampling interval of 0.25 m), from the load data samples and the temperature data samples (The calculations show that it is possible to determine the depth of burial from DTS and load data up to certain depth depending on the amplitude of load variations and the temperature resolution of the DTS measurements; Page 1083 Column 1 Line 11-14; Fig. 3. Contour plot of DoB results over position and time obtained with our method for DTS and load data recorded in a critical section of a submarine power cable installation in the North Sea. Calculations were performed once a day with a spatial resolution of 1 m; Page 1083), a location specific covariance related quantity related to one of a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity (We have tested our method on DTS and load data recorded by an European transmission system operator (TSO) over two months. The surveyed 155 kV AC cable is more than 40 km long and connects an offshore wind farm in the North Sea to the onshore grid. It has a cross section similar to that shown in Fig. 1. The single-mode optical fibers are located in the interstices between the conductor cores. Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement
time below 10 minutes. Under these conditions the temperature; III. FIELD STUDY; Page 1083 Column 2 Line 1-10) repeatability as defined by SEAFOM-MSP-01 [19] is below
0.5 K for distances smaller than 40 km [2].; Page 1084 Column 1 Line 1-2); and
estimating the state of the power cable (DOB is the state of power cable) based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities (For each calculation of the DoB, as presented in Figs. 3 and 4, a current and temperature history of 10–14 days was considered; Page 1084; The depth of burial along the dashed lines are shown in Fig. 4. The upper part shows the time-dependent DoB at a position where the cable was exposed. Apparently, the exposure developed on a timescale of a few weeks. A yearly survey may thus not be sufficient to detect such events in time. The lower part of Fig. 4 shows a DoB profile at a fixed time. In Fig. 5 we show the relative thermal load (I/Imax)2 of the cable under consideration. Imax was calculated to be the steady state current load; Page 1084 Column 2 Line 4-11 at which the conductor temperature becomes 90 ◦C. Each result presented Figs. 3 and 4 uses a data history of around two weeks for the estimation of the ambient parameters. The time where Figs. 3 and 4(a) start is shifted to 0 days. The mean thermal load, the time average of the data shown in Fig. 5, was around 5% with a standard deviation of 6%. Therefore, we found that the maximum detectable depth represented by the dashed line in 4(b); Page 1085 Column 1 Line 1-8; In order to determine the DoB, the amplitudes of the slowly varying part of the measured temperature have to be analyzed. Their load-dependent size, which depends on the load, determines the maximal detectable depth, see (16). IV. CONCLUSION Page 1085 Column 1 Line 8-11),
wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes at least one of:
estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil
; Page 1083, Column 1 Line 1-10); one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of:
burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth (An analysis of field data shows that our method has the capability to detect comparatively fast variations of DoB and also cable exposure events in real installations; Abstract-Page 1079 Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein one of the following holds (not required by the claim):
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.
Regarding claim 17, Lux teaches a method,
wherein, for each location (a sampling interval of 0.25 m) and for each of plural time shifts ( for example two months)(Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes; Column 2 III. FIELD STUDY-Page 1083 Line 1-3; We have tested our method on DTS and load data recorded by an European transmission system operator (TSO) over two months. The surveyed 155 kV AC cable is more than 40 km long and connects an offshore wind farm in the North Sea to the onshore grid. III. FIELD STUDY; Page 1083, Column 2 Line 1-5), the covariance related quantity is derived based on the load data samples (The load variationsW0 and the steady state current have both been calculated according to IEC 60287 [9].; Page 1082 Column 2 Line 15-16) and the temperature data samples (Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes; Column 2 III. FIELD STUDY-Page 1083 Line 1-3) related to points in time shifted by the respective time shift (The calculations show that it is possible to determine the depth of burial from DTS and load data up to certain depth depending on the amplitude of load variations and the temperature resolution of the DTS measurements.; Page 1083 Column 1 Line 11-14
For each calculation of the DoB, as presented in Figs. 3 and 4, a current and temperature history of 10–14 days was considered; Page 1084).
Regarding claim 23, Lux teaches a method,
wherein analyzing the covariance related quantities comprises, for at least one location, finding, as a first analysis value (We have tested our method on DTS and load data recorded by an European transmission system operator (TSO) over two months. The surveyed 155 kV AC cable is more than 40 km long and connects an offshore wind farm in the North Sea to the onshore grid. III. FIELD STUDY; Page 1083, Column 2 Line 1-5; Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes; Column 2 III. FIELD STUDY-Page 1083 Line 1-3), a location specific maximal value of the covariance related quantity across the plural different time shifts, wherein estimating the state of the power cable is based on the first analysis result (In Fig. 3, we show the results of our algorithm over 30 days and a critical 400 meter section of the power cable. The calculations have been performed locally, which means that the results at different positions are independent from each other, for every meter position along the cable section. Calculations have been triggered once a day considering a temperature history of two weeks to reach the regime where (10) is valid. The figure shows a few red regions with a width of the order of 5 meter, well above the spatial resolution of the DTS; Page 1084 Column 1 Line 3-12; Fig. 4. Results of our algorithm for DTS data recorded by a European transmission system operator. Cuts correspond to the dashed lines shown in Fig. 3. The dashed line in b) shows the numerically calculated Lmax , which is quite small due to the low load, see Fig. 5, during the observed period of time; Page 1084; Figure 5 shows the state of the power cable is based on the first analysis result).
Regarding claim 24, Lux teaches a method,
further comprising: determining a scaled first analysis value (value is normalized as shown in Figure 2; The normalized effective thermal resistivity ρeff /ρ is shown in Fig. 2(a) for xF = ΔyF = 5 cm and an original laying depth of L0 = 2 m. For real cable geometries the finite size of the cable limits the minimum effective thermal resistivity to a value larger than zero; Page 1082, Column 1 Line 9-13) by scaling the first analysis value based on a normalization value (Fig. 2. (a) Effective thermal resistivity calculated according to (13).We have used typical values of L0 = 2m, and xF = ΔyF = 5 cm. (b)Maximum detectable depth Lmax according to (16) for various cable types.We assumed a temperature resolution of the DTS device of Ts = 1 K and a thermal resistivity of the seafloor of ρ = 0.7K ∗ m/W. The load variations are normalized with respect to the maximum current calculated according to IEC60287 for each cable type. Maximum currents were found to be 764, 919, 940, 1084 and 2033 A, from top to bottom of the legend; Page 1082),
wherein estimating the state of the power cable is based on the scaled first analysis result (Fig. 4. Results of our algorithm for DTS data recorded by a European transmission system operator. Cuts correspond to the dashed lines shown in Fig. 3. The dashed line in b) shows the numerically calculated Lmax , which is quite small due to the low load, see Fig. 5, during the observed period of time; Page 1084; Figure 5 shows the state of the power cable is based on the first analysis result).
Regarding claim 31, Lux teaches a method,
wherein at least one of the following holds:
the plural different time shifts include time shifts ranging from 0 hours to 20 hours;
the plural points in time cover a range of between one week and ten weeks (In Fig. 3, we show the results of our algorithm over 30 days and a critical 400 meter section of the power cable. The calculations have been performed locally, which means that the results at different positions are independent from each other, for every meter position along the cable section. Calculations have been triggered once a day considering a temperature history of two weeks to reach the regime where (10) is valid; Page 1084; Column 1 Line 3-9).
Regarding claim 33, Lux teaches a method, wherein obtaining the load data samples comprises:
one of measuring and deriving electrical power conveyed through the power cable, including measuring at least one of voltage and current and power at one or more locations (The load variationsW0 and the steady state current have both been calculated according to IEC 60287 [9]; Page 1082, Column 2 Line 15-16; Fig. 5. Relative thermal load of the cable under study. Corresponding current has been analyzed to obtain the results in Figs. 3 and 4.; Page 1084; current is measured at one or more locations through the power cable).
Regarding claim 34, Lux teaches an arrangement for estimating a state of a subsea electrical power cable (a method for permanent monitoring the depth of burial along the entire length of a buried power cable route in real time; Column 2 Page 1079 Line 44-46; The term “state” can represent any condition, shape, situation or any characteristics of subsea electrical power cable as claim does not specify what the state is. Therefore, here depth of burial (DOB) along the length is considered as the state of a power cable), the arrangement comprising:
a processor (Once the mapping is known, the depth of burial can be calculated in real-time on a standard desktop computer; Page 1085, Column 1 IV. CONCLUSION-Line 17-18; Therefore, the arrangement can be done with a computer using a processor) adapted to:
to obtain load data samples pertaining to plural points (From now on, we investigate a single conductor at position (0, L) for clarity; Page 1081 Column 1 Line 17-18) in time (The load variationsW0 and the steady state current have both been calculated according to IEC 60287 [9]; Page 1082, Column 2 Line 15-16;
; Page 1081 Column 2 Line 11-25: equation above shows how to obtain load date),
the load data samples indicating an electrical load the power cable is subjected to (In this study, we present a method to permanently analyze the DoB of submarine power cable formations by using distributed temperature sensing, electric load data, and thermal models of the submarine cable installation; abstract-Page 1079, Column 1 Line 9-12; here current is measured and considered as load date);
to obtain temperature data samples pertaining to plural locations along the power cable and pertaining to the plural points in time (DTS systems can measure the temperature in optical fibers up to a distance of about 70 km with a temperature resolution better than 1 to 2 Kelvin [2].; Page 1079, Column 2 Line 1-3; Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes. Column 2 III. FIELD STUDY-Page 1083 Line 1-3);
to derive, for each location (a sampling interval of 0.25 m), from the load data samples and the temperature data samples (The calculations show that it is possible to determine the depth of burial from DTS and load data up to certain depth depending on the amplitude of load variations and the temperature resolution of the DTS measurements; Page 1083 Column 1 Line 11-14; Fig. 3. Contour plot of DoB results over position and time obtained with our method for DTS and load data recorded in a critical section of a submarine power cable installation in the North Sea. Calculations were performed once a day with a spatial resolution of 1 m; Page 1083), a location specific covariance related quantity related to one of a covariance and a correlation of a load related quantity and a temporal temperature change related quantity (We have tested our method on DTS and load data recorded by an European transmission system operator (TSO) over two months. The surveyed 155 kV AC cable is more than 40 km long and connects an offshore wind farm in the North Sea to the onshore grid. It has a cross section similar to that shown in Fig. 1. The single-mode optical fibers are located in the interstices between the conductor cores. Temperatures were measured in one of those fibers using a LIOS Brillouin-DTS with a sampling interval of 0.25 m, a spatial resolution of 3m and a measurement time below 10 minutes. Under these conditions the temperature; III. FIELD STUDY; Page 1083 Column 2 Line 1-10) repeatability as defined by SEAFOM-MSP-01 [19] is below 0.5 K for distances smaller than 40 km [2].; Page 1084 Column 1 Line 1-2); and
to estimate the state of the power cable (DOB is the state of power cable) based on analyzing the derived covariance related quantities (For each calculation of the DoB, as presented in Figs. 3 and 4, a current and temperature history of 10–14 days was considered; Page 1084; The depth of burial along the dashed lines are shown in Fig. 4. The upper part shows the time-dependent DoB at a position where the cable was exposed. Apparently, the exposure developed on a timescale of a few weeks. A yearly survey may thus not be sufficient to detect such events in time. The lower part of Fig. 4 shows a DoB profile at a fixed time. In Fig. 5 we show the relative thermal load (I/Imax)2 of the cable under consideration. Imax was calculated to be the steady state current load; Page 1084 Column 2 Line 4-11 at which the conductor temperature becomes 90 ◦C. Each result presented Figs. 3 and 4 uses a data history of around two weeks for the estimation of the ambient parameters. The time where Figs. 3 and 4(a) start is shifted to 0 days. The mean thermal load, the time average of the data shown in Fig. 5, was around 5% with a standard deviation of 6%. Therefore we found that the maximum detectable depth represented by the dashed line in 4(b); Page 1085 Column 1 Line 1-8; In order to determine the DoB, the amplitudes of the slowly varying part of the measured temperature have to be analyzed. Their load-dependent size, which depends on the load, determines the maximal detectable depth, see (16). IV. CONCLUSION Page 1085 Column 1 Line 8-11),
wherein estimating the state of the subsea electrical power cable includes at least one of:
estimation of an extent of exposure to at least one of water and soil
; Page 1083, Column 1 Line 1-10); one of qualitative and quantitative estimation of at least one of:
burial state and change of burial state and burial depth and change of burial depth (An analysis of field data shows that our method has the capability to detect comparatively fast variations of DoB and also cable exposure events in real installations; Abstract-Page 1079 Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein one of the following holds (not required by the claim):
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift,
for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lux in the NPL- Real-Time Determination of Depth of Burial Profiles for Submarine Power Cables (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, VOL. 34, NO. 3, JUNE 2019; Pages -1079-1086) in view of HILL et al. (Hereinafter, “Hill”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160298960 A1.
Regarding claim 32, Lux teaches a method, wherein obtaining the temperature data samples comprises:
acquiring measuring data of a fibre optic distributed temperature sensing system employing an optical fibre arranged at or in or on the power cable (We show analytically that the depth of burial can be derived from the history of temperatures measured at the position of the optical fiber; Page 1080, Column 1 Line 4-6).
However, Lux fails to teach the temperature sensing system utilizing at least one of: Raman scattering, Brillouin scattering, Rayleigh scattering.
Hill teaches a method and a device for monitoring a submarine cable, which is used in particular to transport energy (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
the temperature sensing system utilizing at least one of:
Raman scattering, Brillouin scattering, Rayleigh scattering (The fiber optic system for distributed temperature measurement may be based on Raman or Brillouin scattering; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to provide high accuracy and reliability, to allow a continuous and real-time determination of the thermal resistance of the soil surrounding the submarine cable along the entire submerged length of the submarine cable, thus enabling reliable monitoring of the cover of the submarine cable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chiu in view of Hill, because Hill teaches to include a Ramen scattering in temperature sensing system provides high accuracy and reliability (Paragraph [0017]), allows a continuous and real-time determination of the thermal resistance of the soil surrounding the submarine cable along the entire submerged length of the submarine cable, thus enabling reliable monitoring of the cover of the submarine cable (Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 35, Lux teaches an arrangement, further comprising:
an optical fibre arrangeable at to the power cable (We show analytically that the depth of burial can be derived from the history of temperatures measured at the position of the optical fiber; Page 1080, Column 1 Line 4-6).
However, Lux fails to teach a light pulse generator adapted to generate primary light pulses and inject them into the optical fibre; a detector adapted to detect secondary light pulses returning from the optical fibre after having interacted with the fibre at plural locations, the processor being further adapted to process the process the secondary light pulses, in order to derive the temperature data samples for the plural locations.
Hill teaches a method and a device for monitoring a submarine cable, which is used in particular to transport energy (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), further comprising:
a light pulse generator [3] adapted to generate primary light pulses and inject them into the optical fibre; a detector [5] adapted to detect secondary light pulses returning from the optical fibre after having interacted with the fibre at plural locations, the processor [5]being further adapted to process the process the secondary light pulses, in order to derive the temperature data samples for the plural locations (The light of a laser light source 3 can be coupled into the optical fiber 2 by using suitable coupling means 4. Individual portions of the light can be back-scattered in the optical fiber 2 by way of temperature-dependent Raman or Brillouin scattering (see FIG. 1). The back-scattered portions can be supplied by the coupling means 4 to detection and evaluation means 5 which capture the scattered light and determine from the detected back-scattered light spatially resolved the temperature of the optical fiber 2; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to provide high accuracy and reliability, to allow a continuous and real-time determination of the thermal resistance of the soil surrounding the submarine cable along the entire submerged length of the submarine cable, thus enabling reliable monitoring of the cover of the submarine cable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chiu in view of Hill, because Hill teaches to include a light pulse generator to generate primary light pulses and inject them into the optical fibre provides high accuracy and reliability (Paragraph [0017]), allows a continuous and real-time determination of the thermal resistance of the soil surrounding the submarine cable along the entire submerged length of the submarine cable, thus enabling reliable monitoring of the cover of the submarine cable (Paragraph [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18-21 and 25-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LOEWEN et al. (US 20160027537 A1) discloses, “FIBER OPTIC TEMPERATURE SENSING SYSTEM AND METHOD UTILIZING BRILLOUIN SCATTERING FOR LARGE, WELL-VENTILATED SPACES- [Abstract] A temperature change detection apparatus for monitoring temperature change in various portions of a large space includes a trip logic unit configured to execute a trip operation based on receipt of a trip signal at the trip logic unit. [0074] Referring to FIG. 5, FIG. 5 shows an example of including Brillouin scattering sensors in a Reactor Protection System (RPS) in a manner that meets the reliability expected in a nuclear safety system. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the TCDS 505 is applied to the turbine building 605, which is illustrated in FIG. 6A. [0080] Referring to FIG. 5, the TCDS 505 may include a group of Brillouin sensors, a remote multiplexer unit (RMU), and a digital trip monitor (DTM) for each safety division of the TCDS 505. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, for the purpose of simplicity, only the first group of Brillouin sensors 51 include in the first safety division, the first RMU 52 included in the first safety division, and the first DTM 54 included in the first safety division are illustrated in the TCDS 505. However, because the TCDS 505 includes four safety divisions, the TCDS 505 also includes second through fourth groups of Brillouin sensors, second through fourth RMUs, and second through fourth DTMs, all of which are represented together in FIG. 5, for the purpose of simplicity, as other devices 56. The first through fourth DTMs output trip signals on four separate safety division channels, respectively. The TCDS 505 also includes a trip logic unit (TLU) 55 that receives trip signals through the four safety division channels. Additionally, when implemented as a RPS, the TCDS 505 may further include an MSIV output load unit (OLU) 57, MSIV Load Drivers 58, and an MSIV 59. [0081] An example method of operation the TCDS 505 will now be discussed in greater detail below with reference to FIG. 7. For the purpose of simplicity, division-specific operations included in the method illustrated in FIG. 7 will be explained primarily with respect to the first division by referring to the first group of Brillouin sensors 51, first RMU 52, and first DTM 54. However, the second through fourth groups of Brillouin sensors, the second through fourth RMUs, and the second through fourth DTMs associated with the second through fourth safety divisions may have the same structure and operation as that described herein with respect to the first group of Brillouin sensors 51, first RMU 52, and first DTM 54 of the first safety division-However LOEWEN does not disclose for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and the temperature data samples at points in time shifted by the respective time shift, for each location and for each of plural time shifts, the covariance related quantity is derived as one of an empirical covariance and an empirical correlation between the load data samples and temporal temperature differences, each temporal temperature difference being derived as a difference between a respective temperature data sample related to the point in time shifted by the respective time shift and the temperature data sample related to the respective point in time.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858