DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-16, 18-20, 22-23, 25-27, and 29-31 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 20, 22-23, 25-27, and 30-31 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on September 2, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pgs 7-11, Applicant argues that Examiner has misinterpreted the statement on page 16, line 26-27 of Aoun that “the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes.” Applicant argues that the word “or” in this paragraph is disjunctive: it lists cannabinoids and terpenes as alternative examples of cannabis constituents that may serve as the active substance. Aoun contains no embodiment, example, or other specific teaching that combines both a cannabinoid and a terpene in the same amorphous solid composition. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument because the cited sentence in Aoun is clear that the one or more constituents of cannabis may comprise one or more cannabinoids or terpenes. While there is not explicit disclosure in Aoun of a single composition comprising both a cannabinoid and a terpene, one of ordinary skill in the art would have interpreted the words “one or more” as inclusive of cannabinoids AND terpenes. Further, while there is no teaching or suggestion of an advantage resulting from this combination, one of ordinary skill in the art does not need a suggestion of an advantage to form the composition of Aoun as explicitly disclosed (i.e. including a cannabinoid and a terpene). Further, the inclusion of a cannabinoid and a terpene in an aerosol generating composition would have been common and well-known in the art at the time of invention (see US 2022/0104545 A1, [0055]; and see US 2022/0142970 A1, [0070], Table 1).
In response to applicant's argument on pg. 10 that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Aoun discloses an aerosol-generating material which is compositionally equivalent to the claimed aerosol-generating material.
On pg. 11, Applicant argues that Rousseau merely identifies limonene and other terpenes as flavourants for its different reconstituted material and does not supply a reason to modify the amorphous solid of Aoun or a reason to select the claimed combination of cannabinoid and terpene. As discussed above, page 16, line 26-27 of Aoun demonstrates that the active substance may comprise a cannabinoid and a terpene. Rousseau has solely been relied upon for its disclosure of suitable terpenes to provide in an aerosol generating composition – not for its exact composition or structure. Rousseau demonstrates that limonene is a suitable terpene to add to an aerosol generating material (Rousseau, [0017]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include limonene as the terpene in the composition of Aoun.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-16, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoun (WO 2020/025735 A1, cited on the IDS dated 1/12/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Aoun, directed to aerosol generating materials (pg 1, ln 5-9), teaches an aerosol-generating material (pg 7, ln 27 – pg 8, ln 6; The aerosolisable material may consist of an amorphous solid (aerosol-generating material)) comprising:
about 1 to about 50 wt% of one or more cannabinoids (pg 10, ln 13-18, The amorphous solid may comprise between 1-70 wt% of an active substance; and pg 16, ln 26 – pg 17, ln 10; the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes);
about 5 to about 30 wt% aerosol-former material (pg 9, ln 20-27, The amorphous solid may comprise between 5-80 wt% of an aerosol generating agent (aerosol former material) such as propylene glycol or glycerol);
about 1 to about 30 wt% of one of or more terpenes (pg 10, ln 13-18, The amorphous solid may comprise between 1-70 wt% of an active substance; and pg 16, ln 26 – pg 17, ln 10; the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes. There must be embodiments of Aoun including both a cannabinoid and a terpene at a weight percent of at least about 1);
gelling agent (pg 8, ln 22-29; The amorphous solid may comprise between 1-60 wt% of a gelling agent);
wherein the wt% values are calculated on a dry weight basis (pg 8, ln 22 – pg 10, ln 18, All wt% values are calculated on a dry weight basis).
Regarding Claim 2, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1 comprising about 1 to about 12 wt% of one or more cannabinoids (pg 10, ln 13-18, The amorphous solid may comprise between 1-70 wt% of an active substance; and pg 16, ln 26 – pg 17, ln 10; the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes. There must be embodiments of Aoun including both a cannabinoid and a terpene at a weight percent of at least about 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, comprising about 15 to about 50 wt% of one or more cannabinoids (pg 10, ln 13-18, The amorphous solid may comprise between 1-70 wt% of an active substance; and pg 16, ln 26 – pg 17, ln 10; the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes. There must be embodiments of Aoun including a cannabinoid at a weight percent of at least about 15).
Regarding Claim 4, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, comprising about 5 to about 20 wt% aerosol former material (pg 9, ln 20-27, The amorphous solid may comprise between 5-80 wt% of an aerosol generating agent (aerosol former material) such as propylene glycol or glycerol).
Regarding Claim 7, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, wherein the gelling agent comprises one or more compounds selected from polysaccharide gelling agents, such as alginate, pectin, starch or a derivative thereof, cellulose or a derivative thereof, pullulan, carrageenan, agar and agarose; gelatin; gums, such as xanthan gum, guar gum and acacia gum; silica or silicone compounds, such as PDMS and sodium silicate; clays, such as kaolin; and polyvinyl alcohol (pg 9, ln 2-5; the gelling agent comprises one or more of alginates, pectins, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, pullulan, xanthan gum guar gum, carrageenan, agarose, acacia gum, fumed silica, PDMS, sodium silicate, kaolin and polyvinyl alcohol).
Regarding Claim 9, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 7, wherein the cellulose derivative is selected from hydroxymethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), methyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, cellulose acetate (CA), cellulose acetate butyrate (CAB), and cellulose acetate propionate (CAP) (pg 9, ln 2-5; the gelling agent comprises one or more of alginates, pectins, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, pullulan, xanthan gum guar gum, carrageenan, agarose, acacia gum, fumed silica, PDMS, sodium silicate, kaolin and polyvinyl alcohol).
Regarding Claim 10, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, wherein the gelling agent is not crosslinked (pg 9, ln 2-11; the gelling agent comprises one or more of alginates, pectins, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, pullulan, xanthan gum guar gum, carrageenan, agarose, acacia gum, fumed silica, PDMS, sodium silicate, kaolin and polyvinyl alcohol; The gelling agent can be crosslinked or not crosslinked).
Regarding Claim 11, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1. wherein the gelling agent is CMC (pg 9, ln 2-5; the gelling agent comprises one or more of… carboxymethylcellulose).
Regarding Claim 13, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, wherein the aerosol-former material comprises glycerol or a combination of glycerol and propylene glycol (pg 9, ln 20-27, The amorphous solid may comprise between 5-80 wt% of an aerosol generating agent (aerosol former material) such as propylene glycol or glycerol).
Regarding Claim 15, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, wherein the one or more cannabinoids is cannabidiol (pg 16, ln 26 – pg 17, ln 10; the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes. The cannabinoid may be cannabidiol (CBD)).
Regarding Claim 16, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1, comprising about 5-25 wt% of one or more terpenes (pg 10, ln 13-18, The amorphous solid may comprise between 1-70 wt% of an active substance; and pg 16, ln 26 – pg 17, ln 10; the active substance may comprise one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one or more cannabinoids or terpenes. There must be embodiments of Aoun including a terpene at a weight percent of at least about 5).
Regarding Claim 29, Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material of claim 1 further comprising filler (pg 12, ln 5-7; the amorphous solid comprises less than 20wt%, suitably less than l0wt% or less than 5wt% of a filler).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoun (WO 2020/025735 A1, cited on the IDS dated 1/12/2024) as applied to claim 16, in view of Rousseau (US 2020/0253264 A1).
Regarding Claim 18-19, Aoun does not teach the aerosol-generating material, wherein the one or more terpenes comprise one or more of limonene, pinene, humulene, myrcene, caryophyllene, borneol, phytol, bisabolol, guaiene, carene, guaiol, linalool, terpineol, terpinolene, ocimene and sabinene, wherein the one or more terpenes comprise one or more of limonene and eucalyptol.
Rousseau, directed to aerosol generating materials ([0009]), teaches an aerosol generating material comprising a reconstituted cannabis material ([0009]); and
an aerosol delivery agent, wherein the aerosol delivery agent may comprise one or more terpenes ([0017]),
wherein the one or more terpenes comprise one or more of limonene and eucalyptol ([0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aerosol generating material of Aoun wherein the terpene comprises limonene as taught by Rousseau because Aoun and Rousseau are directed to aerosol generating materials, Aoun does not explicitly list suitable terpenes for its aerosol generating material, Rousseau demonstrates that limonene is a suitable terpene to add to an aerosol generating material (Rousseau, [0017]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755