DETAILED ACTION
The applicant filed preliminary amendment in 03/06/2024 and claims 1-7, 10-17 and 20-24 are pending in the application, including independent claims 1 and 11.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2024, 09/23/2024 and 04/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 15, 16, 17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7 lines 1, the occurrence of “an amount” should be amended to --- “the amount”---
In claim 15 lines 3, the occurrence of “one or more processors” should be amended to --- “the one or more processors”---
In claim 16 lines 1, the occurrence of “one or more processors” should be amended to --- “the one or more processors”---
In claim 17 lines 2, the occurrence of “an amount” should be amended to --- “the amount”---
In claim 17 lines 2, the occurrence of “one or more processors” should be amended to --- “the one or more processors”---
In claim 20 lines 2, the occurrence of “one or more processors” should be amended to --- “the one or more processors”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs et al. [hereinafter as Sachs] U.S 2020/0259896 A1 in view of Rost et al. [hereinafter as Rost] EP 3684137 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sachs discloses wherein a method (Fig.225-228 [0239], a method) comprising:
obtaining time-sensitive network application configuration information of an application
communicatively coupled to a 5G network (Fig.33 Fig.33-35 [0769], [0772]-[0773], obtaining information about a time-sensitive network (TSN) network coupled to a 5G system "5GS", gathering information about the topology, streams and also individual delay information from all switches and the 5GS acts as one or multiple TSN switches from a TSN network perspective);
sharing the time-sensitive network application configuration information with a network
slice configuration mechanism of the 5G network (Figs.6,9& 33-35 [0296], [0774]-[0775], the information including a time schedule is provided to an application function (network slice configuration mechanism), where the application function is meant to translate the time schedule into meaningful parameters for the 5GS to support time gated queuing happening in the external TSN network, where the 5GS also supports network slicing and the time schedule used for Qbv is aware of and specified by the TSN network’s CNC);
dynamically configuring, by the network slice configuration mechanism, a transmission schedule based on the time-sensitive network application configuration information (Fig.33-35 [0774]-[0775], the application function translates the time schedule into meaningful parameters for the 5GS to support the time gated queuing happening in the external TSN network and the time schedule used for Qbv is specified by the TSN network’s CNC);
reserving an amount of network resources of the 5G network in accordance with the
transmission schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0773]-[0775] and [0798], reserving network resources in the 5GS based on the time schedule to setup a TSN stream in the TSN network in the fully centralize model; [0739], Fig.114 [1256]-[1257] reserve any additional resources identified as required to meet the requested transmission schedule, [1274], [1308]); and
facilitating transmission of data from the application via the 5G network in accordance
with the transmission schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0775] and [0798], facilitating transmission via the 5GS according to the time schedule using playout buffers).
Even though Sachs disclose wherein dynamically configuring, by the network slice configuration mechanism, a transmission schedule based on the time-sensitive network application configuration information, in the same field of endeavor, Rost teaches wherein dynamically configuring, by the network slice configuration mechanism, a transmission schedule based on the time-sensitive network application configuration information (Fig.1 [0016], Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.3-9 [0066]-[0070, a QoS Flow differentiates different QoS (Quality of Service) in a PDU Session; User Plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU Session receives the same traffic forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling. admission threshold); the mapping of each of the one or more TSN domains to an individual Network Slice; Mapping of TSN streams to QoS Flows; after a PDU session has been established (preferably within the correct Network Slice, as described hereinabove) TSN Streams are configured by the CNC (i.e., by a network slice configuring mechanism, since CNC is the configuration device in the TSN network) and may be transported over the 3GPP 5GS i.e., over the respective network slice, according to a scheduling and forwarding treatment, which depends on the respective QoS for the flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Sachs and Li to incorporate the teaching of Rost in order to provide wireless connectivity service to the TSN network in a transparent way. It would have been beneficial to use a QoS Flow which differentiates different QoS (Quality of Service) in a PDU Session; User Plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU Session receives the same traffic forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling. admission threshold); the mapping of each of the one or more TSN domains to an individual Network Slice; Mapping of TSN streams to QoS Flows; after a PDU session has been established (preferably within the correct Network Slice, as described hereinabove) TSN Streams are configured by the CNC (i.e., by a network slice configuring mechanism, since CNC is the configuration device in the TSN network) and may be transported over the 3GPP 5GS i.e., over the respective network slice, according to a scheduling and forwarding treatment, which depends on the respective QoS for the flow as taught by Rost to have incorporated in the system of Sachs to achieve deterministic data transmission guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices. (Rost, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1 [0016], Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.3-9 [0066]-[0070])
Regarding claim 2, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the time-sensitive network application
configuration information includes schedule data (Fig.33-35&42 [0774], the time-sensitive network application configuration information includes the time schedule i.e., schedule data).
Regarding claim 3, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the schedule data includes an IEEE 802.1Qbv
schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0773]-[0775], the schedule data includes an IEEE 802.1Qbv
schedule).
Regarding claim 4, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the network slice configuration mechanism is
a time-sensitive network translator (Fig.33-35&42 [0774], the application function translates the time schedule for the 5GS to support the external TSN network and Fig.220 [2386], the AF comprises the translator).
Regarding claim 5, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses sharing the time-sensitive network application configuration information with the network slice configuration mechanism includes configuring the network slice configuration mechanism with schedule data (Fig.33-35&42 [0774]-[0775], the application function is configured with the time schedule).
Regarding claim 6, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses determining an expected network transit time from the transmission schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0772]-[0775], determining a specific time budget (transit time) from the time schedule).
Regarding claim 7, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses reserving an amount of network resources includes ensuring that the transmission of data meets the expected network transit time (Fig.33-35&42 [0773]-[0774], resources are reserved such that data transfer occurs within the time budget).
Regarding claim 10, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses determining network slice reliability data based on a performance metric corresponding to the transmission of the data from the application via the 5G network (Fig.33-35&42 [0296]-[0297] [0774], determining latency figures (reliability data) based on transmission times (performance metric) corresponding to transmission from the TSN network across a slice of the 5GS), and providing the network slice reliability data to the application (Fig.33-35&42 [0772]-[0774], latency figures are provided to the application function).
Regarding claim 11, Sachs discloses wherein a system comprising one or more processors (Fig.124 [01291], a system comprising at least one processor carries out functionality of any of embodiments described herein) configured to:
obtain time-sensitive network application configuration information of an application communicatively coupled to a 5G network (Figs.6, 9& 33-35 [0296], [0774]-[0775], the information including a time schedule is provided to an application function (network slice configuration mechanism), where the application function is meant to translate the time schedule into meaningful parameters for the 5GS to support time gated queuing happening in the external TSN network, where the 5GS also supports network slicing and the time schedule used for Qbv is aware of and specified by the TSN network’s CNC);
dynamically configure by the network slice configuration mechanism, a transmission schedule based on the time-sensitive network application configuration information (Fig.33-35 [0774]-[0775], the application function translates the time schedule into meaningful parameters for the 5GS to support the time gated queuing happening in the external TSN network and the time schedule used for Qbv is specified by the TSN network’s CNC);
reserve an amount of network resources of the 5G network in accordance with the transmission schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0773]-[0775] and [0798], reserving network resources in the 5GS based on the time schedule to setup a TSN stream in the TSN network in the fully centralize model; [0739], Fig.114 [1256]-[1257], reserve any additional resources identified as required to meet the requested transmission schedule, [1274], [1308]); and
facilitate transmission of data from the application via the 5G network in accordance with the transmission schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0775] and [0798], facilitating transmission via the 5GS according to the time schedule using playout buffers).
Even though Sachs disclose wherein dynamically configure by the network slice configuration mechanism, a transmission schedule based on the time-sensitive network application configuration information, in the same field of endeavor, Rost teaches wherein dynamically configure by the network slice configuration mechanism, a transmission schedule based on the time-sensitive network application configuration information (Fig.1 [0016], Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.3-9 [0066]-[0070, a QoS Flow differentiates different QoS (Quality of Service) in a PDU Session; User Plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU Session receives the same traffic forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling. admission threshold); the mapping of each of the one or more TSN domains to an individual Network Slice; Mapping of TSN streams to QoS Flows; After a PDU session has been established (preferably within the correct Network Slice, as described hereinabove) TSN Streams are configured by the CNC (i.e., by a network slice configuring mechanism, since CNC is the configuration device in the TSN network) and may be transported over the 3GPP 5GS i.e., over the respective network slice, according to a scheduling and forwarding treatment, which depends on the respective QoS for the flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Sachs and Li to incorporate the teaching of Rost in order to provide wireless connectivity service to the TSN network in a transparent way. It would have been beneficial to use a QoS Flow which differentiates different QoS (Quality of Service) in a PDU Session; User Plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU Session receives the same traffic forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling. admission threshold); the mapping of each of the one or more TSN domains to an individual Network Slice; Mapping of TSN streams to QoS Flows; After a PDU session has been established (preferably within the correct Network Slice, as described hereinabove) TSN Streams are configured by the CNC (i.e., by a network slice configuring mechanism, since CNC is the configuration device in the TSN network) and may be transported over the 3GPP 5GS i.e., over the respective network slice, according to a scheduling and forwarding treatment, which depends on the respective QoS for the flow as taught by Rost to have incorporated in the system of Sachs to achieve deterministic data transmission guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices. (Rost, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1 [0016], Fig.1-2 [0037], Fig.3-9 [0066]-[0070])
Regarding claim 12, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the time-sensitive network application
configuration information includes schedule data (Fig.33-35&42 [0774], the time-sensitive network application configuration information includes the time schedule i.e., schedule data).
Regarding claim 13, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the schedule data includes an IEEE 802.1Qbv schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0773] [0775], the schedule data includes an IEEE 802.1Qbv schedule).
Regarding claim 14, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the network slice configuration mechanism is a time-sensitive network translator (Fig.33-35&42 [0774], the application function translates the time schedule for the 5GS to support the external TSN network and Fig.220 [2386], the AF comprises the translator).
Regarding claim 15, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the one or more processors configured to share the time-sensitive network application configuration information with the network slice configuration mechanism include one or more processors configured to configure the network slice configuration mechanism with schedule data (Fig.33-35&42 [0774]-[0775], the application function is configured with the time schedule).
Regarding claim 16, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses one or more processors configured to determine an expected network transit time from the transmission schedule (Fig.33-35&42 [0772]-[0775], determining a specific time budget (transit time) from the time schedule).
Regarding claim 17, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the one or more processors configured to reserve an amount of network resources include one or more processors configured to ensure that the transmission of data meets the expected network transit time (Fig.33-35&42 [0773]-[0774], resources are reserved such that data transfer occurs within the time budget).
Regarding claim 20, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses one or more processors configured to determine network slice reliability data based on a performance metric corresponding to the transmission of the data from the application (Fig.33-35&42 [0296]-[0297] [0774], determining latency figures (reliability data) based on transmission times (performance metric) corresponding to transmission from the TSN network across a slice of the 5GS).
Regarding claim 21, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the transmission schedule is dynamically configured based on dynamic guard band configuration (Fig.33,42,109 [0626][0773] [1236], Table 7 configuration of the transmission schedule is dynamically based on dynamic guard band configuration).
Regarding claim 22, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the transmission schedule is dynamically configured based on jitter calculation (Fig.33,42,74, 107 [0772][0773][1037][1227], the transmission schedule is dynamically configured based on jitter calculation).
Regarding claim 23, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the transmission schedule is dynamically configured based on dynamic guard band configuration (Fig.33,42,109 [0626][0773] [1236], Table 7 configuration of the transmission schedule is dynamically based on dynamic guard band configuration).
Regarding claim 24, Sachs and Rost disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Sachs further discloses the transmission schedule is dynamically configured based on jitter calculation (Fig.33,42,74, 107 [0772][0773][1037][1227], the transmission schedule is dynamically configured based on jitter calculation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kahn et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12096253 B2) teaches Support for Time Sensitive Communications with High Reliability Provided via Network Slicing and Path Diversity.
Kozat et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0196194 A1) teaches Apparatus, System and Method for Traffic Data Management in Wireless Communications.
Gangakhedkar et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11832123 B2) teaches Time-Aware Quality-of-Service in Communication Systems.
Moon et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2021/0212069 A1) teaches Method and Apparatus for Supporting Fully-Distributed Time-Sensitive Networking in Mobile Communication System.
Bush (US Pub. No.: US 2024/0334256 A1) teaches System and Method for Configuring Network Slices for Time-Sensitive Networks.
Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0385594 A1) teaches Method for Configuring and Managing TSN Network and System Applying the Method.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414