DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 18, 19, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the limitation, “satisfying the network configuration” is indefinite. A network configuration according to applicants’ specification is a set of parameters (e.g. threshold or specific network settings) not a condition. A result satisfies a setting or threshold defined within a configuration (see spec, [0110]- [0120]). It is unclear how a result satisfies a configuration itself. Similar issues exist in claims 45 and 47
Claims 2-7, 9-16, 18, 19 and are rejected as being dependent of rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 13, 14 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryden et al (US 2023/0016595 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ryden ‘595 teaches, a method for communication processing, performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0030], [0036], [0041] and Fig. 1, a UE performing method 100), comprising:
triggering the UE to perform an operation corresponding to a network configuration in response to an artificial intelligence (AI) prediction result satisfying the network configuration ([0046]-[0050] and Figs. 1-2, UE triggering handover or reporting to network node when a Machine Learning(ML) prediction result compared with configured network parameters( e.g. signal strength threshold) satisfies a reporting condition or threshold).
Regarding claim 2, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein configuration information of the network configuration comprises at least one of:
a trigger event; wherein the trigger event comprises a trigger event for reporting or a trigger event for conditional handover (CHO)([0049]-[0050] and Fis. 1, reporting trigger conditions (below/above threshold));
a threshold value of the trigger event([0051]-[0052] and Fig. 1, reporting being triggered when the ML prediction result is above/below threshold values, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations);
a hysteresis value of a threshold in the trigger event;
a trigger time or a number of triggers; an entering condition for the trigger event; or
a leaving condition for the trigger event.
Regarding claim 3, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein triggering the UE to perform the operation corresponding to the network configuration in response to the artificial intelligence AI prediction result satisfying the network configuration, comprises:
triggering the UE to perform an operation corresponding to the trigger event in response to the AI prediction result satisfying the trigger event of the network configuration ([0046]-[0050] and Figs. 1-2, UE triggering handover or reporting to network node when a Machine Learning(ML) prediction result compared with configured network parameters( e.g. signal strength threshold) satisfies a reporting condition or threshold). .
Regarding claim 4, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein triggering the UE to perform the operation corresponding to the trigger event in response to the AI prediction result satisfying the trigger event of the network configuration, comprises at least one of:
triggering the UE to report first information required by a network in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the trigger event for reporting of the network configuration ([0048]- [0052] and Fig. 1, reporting being triggered when the ML prediction result is above/below threshold values, and the UE send a message (e.g. report) comprising the predicted conditions to a node in the communications network); or
triggering the UE to perform a CHO procedure in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the trigger event for the CHO of the network configuration([0046]-[0047], the UE obtains prediction condition from ML( e.g. signal strength of a reference signal, the best carrier index) and using predicted conditions to determine whether to perform a handover procedure to the second network node, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 5, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: the AI prediction result or a result of radio resource management (RRM) measurement([0046], [0048] , UE reporting predicted conditions outputted from the ML (e.g. signal strength, SIR, best carrier index) ,notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 6, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein the AI prediction result comprises: a prediction result for at least one prediction object and a prediction parameter ([0040], [0046], [0046] and Fig. 1, ML prediction on a second network node and outputs may include best carrier index and best node index).
Regarding claim 9, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein the AI prediction result comprises at least one of:
at least part of an AI prediction result of all available cells( [0006], [0009], UE using ML models to predict condition on one or more possible nodes to which the UE could handover to) ;
at least part of an AI prediction result of a corresponding cell satisfying a trigger event([0009], [0050]-[0051], UE sending a report if the predicted conditions on a second node satisfy the reporting condition(e.g. signal strength threshold)) ;
at least part of an AI prediction result of a cell configured by a network;
at least part of a best AI prediction result among AI prediction results in cells configured by the network; or
at least part of an AI prediction result of a prediction parameter of a service type of the UE in prediction parameters(notice, the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 10, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of:
a trigger event for a comparison of the AI prediction result to at least one threshold ([0049]-[0051], UE comparing the ML models output (predicted signal strength) to a coverage threshold, and reporting when the model output is above/below threshold); or
a trigger event for a comparison of different AI prediction results(notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 13, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches wherein triggering the UE to report the first information required by the network, comprises at least one of:
triggering the UE to report the first information required by the network once; or triggering the UE to periodically report the first information required by the network([0009], [0050]-[0051], UE sending a report once if the predicted conditions on a second node satisfy the reporting condition(e.g. signal strength threshold), notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 14, Ryden ‘595 teaches all the claim limitations above, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein triggering the UE to report the first information required by the network in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the trigger event for reporting of the network configuration, comprises one of:
in response to an AI prediction result of a prediction object satisfying the entering condition for the trigger event within the trigger time or the number of triggers, reporting the corresponding AI prediction result of the prediction object satisfying the entering condition([0049]-[0051], UE comparing the ML models output (predicted signal strength) to a coverage threshold, and reporting when the model output is above/below threshold).
Regarding claim 45, Ryden ‘595 teaches, a user equipment (UE)([0103] user equipment 600), comprising: a processor([0103] user equipment 600 comprising processor 602); a memory([0103] user equipment 600 comprising memory 604) for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to: trigger the UE to perform an operation corresponding to a network configuration in response to an artificial intelligence (AI) prediction result satisfying the network configuration([0046]-[0050] and Figs. 1-2, UE triggering handover or reporting to network node when a Machine Learning(ML) prediction result compared with configured network parameters( e.g. signal strength threshold) satisfies a reporting condition or threshold).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryden ‘595 in view of You et al(US 2024/0114408 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ryden ‘595 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the prediction object comprises at least one of:
a cell identity or a frequency point;
wherein the prediction parameter comprises at least one of:
a prediction parameter of RRM of the UE;
a prediction parameter of the UE continuing to camp on a serving cell; or a prediction parameter of the UE accessing a neighboring cell.
You ‘408 teaches, wherein the prediction object comprises at least one of:
a cell identity or a frequency point ([0098], [0146]-[0149], [0158], a target cell identifier);
wherein the prediction parameter comprises at least one of:
a prediction parameter of RRM of the UE;
a prediction parameter of the UE continuing to camp on a serving cell; or a prediction parameter of the UE accessing a neighboring cell ([0157]- [0159], [0177]- [0178], firs AI model predicting neighboring cell information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Ryden ‘595, by incorporating the teaching of You ‘408 since such modification would allow a UE to determine at least one handover information in a cell handover process based on autonomous decision-making of an AI model, and then complete the cell handover autonomously, thereby improving the efficiency of the cell handover, as suggested by you ‘408([0006]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ryden ‘595 and You ‘408 teaches all of the claim limitations, You ‘408 further teaches, wherein the configuration information further comprises: a candidate cell identifier of the CHO([0098], [0146]-[0149], [0158], network configuration information including target cell identifier for CHO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Ryden ‘595, by incorporating the teaching of You ‘408 since such modification would allow a UE to determine at least one handover information in a cell handover process based on autonomous decision-making of an AI model, and then complete the cell handover autonomously, thereby improving the efficiency of the cell handover, as suggested by you ‘408([0006]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ryden ‘595 and You ‘408 teaches all of the claim limitations, You ‘408 further teaches, wherein triggering the UE to perform the CHO procedure in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the trigger event for the CHO of the network configuration ([0157]- [0159], [0177]- [0178], UE performing conditional handover based on firs AI model prediction), comprises:
in response to an AI prediction result of the candidate cell satisfying the entering condition for the trigger event within the trigger time or the number of triggers, triggering the UE to perform the CHO procedure based on the candidate cell([0157]-[0159], [0177]-[0178], based on first AI Model prediction result satisfying the condition the UE triggering CHO).
Claims 11, 12, 17-19 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryden ‘595 in view of Madadi et al(US 2022/0338189 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ryden ‘595 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein triggering the UE to report the first information required by the network, comprises: triggering the UE to report first information indicated to be reported in the configuration information.
Madadi ‘189 teaches, wherein triggering the UE to report the first information required by the network, comprises: triggering the UE to report first information indicated to be reported in the configuration information([0117]-[0118], [0125]-[0127] and Figs. 6, 8, UE receiving configuration information from BS, the configuration information indicating which measurements/parameters to be reported when to be reported and the UE reporting when the conditions received from the BS is satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Ryden ‘595, by incorporating the teaching of Madadi ‘189, since such modification would enable to incorporate application of machine learning in communications equipment, to improved channel state information feedback, as suggested by Madadi ‘189 ([0002]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ryden ‘595 and Madadi ‘189 teaches all of the claim limitations, Madadi ‘189 further teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises: a number of reports, indicating that the number of reports is N, wherein the N is an integer greater than 0; and an interval indication, indicating an interval time for reporting ([0116]-[0118], [0125]-[0127] and Figs. 6, 8, the UE receiving configuration information that indicates the number of AI triggered reports need to be transmitted within a period of time(periodicity of reporting).
Regarding claim 17, Ryden ‘595 teaches, a method for communication processing)( [0030], [0036], [0041] and Fig. 1, method for communication disclosed ) wherein the network configuration and an artificial intelligence AI prediction result obtained by a user equipment UE are used by the UE for triggering the UE to perform an operation corresponding to the network configuration in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the network configuration( [0046]-[0050] and Figs. 1-2, UE triggering handover or reporting to network node when a Machine Learning(ML) prediction result compared with configured network parameters( e.g. signal strength threshold) satisfies a reporting condition or threshold).
Ryden ‘595 does not explicitly teach, performed by a network device, comprising: transmitting a network configuration.
Madadi ‘189 teaches, performed by a network device, comprising: transmitting a network configuration ([0106], [0107] and Figs. 4, 7, BS sending network configuration information to UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Ryden ‘595, by incorporating the teaching of Madadi ‘189, since such modification would enable to incorporate application of machine learning in communications equipment, to improved channel state information feedback, as suggested by Madadi ‘189 ([0002]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ryden ‘595 and Madadi ‘189 teaches all of the claim limitations, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein transmitting the network configuration comprises: transmitting configuration information of the network configuration; wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of:
a trigger event; wherein the trigger event comprises a trigger event for reporting or a trigger event for conditional handover (CHO)) ([0049]-[0050] and Fis. 1, reporting trigger conditions (below/above threshold));
a threshold value of the trigger event; ([0051]-[0052] and Fig. 1, reporting being triggered when the ML prediction result is above/below threshold values, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations);
a hysteresis value of a threshold in the trigger event;
a trigger time or a number of triggers;
an entering condition for the trigger event;
a leaving condition for the trigger event; or
a candidate cell identifier of the CHO.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ryden ‘595 and Madadi ‘189 teaches all of the claim limitations, Ryden ‘595 further teaches, wherein, the trigger event and the AI prediction result obtained by the UE are used by the UE for triggering the UE to perform an operation corresponding to the trigger event in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the trigger event( [0046]-[0050] and Figs. 1-2, UE triggering handover or reporting to network node when a Machine Learning(ML) prediction result compared with configured network parameters( e.g. signal strength threshold) satisfies a reporting condition or threshold); wherein the method further comprises:
receiving first information required by a network reported by the UE in response to determining that the AI prediction result satisfies the trigger event( [0046]-[0050] and Figs. 1-2, UE reporting to network node when a Machine Learning(ML) prediction result compared with configured network parameters( e.g. signal strength threshold) satisfies a reporting condition or threshold).
Madadi ‘189 teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises: a number of reports, indicating that the number of reports is N, wherein the N is an integer greater than 0([0116]-[0118], [0125]-[0127] and Figs. 6, 8, the UE receiving configuration information that indicates the number of AI triggered reports need to be transmitted within a period of time(periodicity of reporting).; and
an interval indication, indicating an interval time for reporting ([0116]-[0118], [0125]-[0127] and Figs. 6, 8, the UE receiving configuration information that indicates periodicity of reporting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Ryden ‘595, by incorporating the teaching of Madadi ‘189, since such modification would enable to incorporate application of machine learning in communications equipment, to improved channel state information feedback, as suggested by Madadi ‘189 ([0002]).
Regarding claim 47, Ryden ‘595 teaches, a network device([0093]-[0095] and Fig. 5, network node 500), comprising: a processor([0093]-[0097] and Fig. 5, network node 500 comprising processor 502 ),; a memory([0093]-[0097] and Fig. 5, network node 500 comprising memory 504)for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to implement the method for communication processing according to claim 17( see claim 17 rejection).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474