DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I directed to claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. There are no specific arguments and the claims directed to Groups II and III have been canceled.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “asymmetric element” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 discloses an asymmetric element wherein the specification does not describe a fixed frame of reference to define what point or feature this element is asymmetric to. Without this fixed frame of reference, any arbitrary point or feature or line can be defined as the origin for the axis of symmetry and the asymmetric element may be any point on the can that is asymmetric with respect to this imaginary axis of symmetry.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected as they depend on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses an asymmetric element wherein it is unclear what point or feature this element is asymmetric to. Without this fixed frame of reference, any arbitrary point or feature or line can be defined as the origin for the axis of symmetry and the asymmetric element may be any point on the can and/or the bearing seat that is asymmetric with respect to this imaginary axis of symmetry.
Claim 3 recites: “wherein the asymmetric element comprises an eccentric position of the O-rings that serve for mounting and sealing the can.” It is unclear how an eccentric position of O-rings (i.e., a spatial configuration) can define a structural element forming the asymmetric element. Furthermore, it is unclear which point of reference is being used to define the eccentric position of these O-rings. It is also unclear where exactly these O-rings are located in the electric rotating machine with respect to the can. Furthermore, it is unclear how multiple O-rings can have a single eccentric position or of all the O-rings share a common eccentric position.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the O-rings" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites: “the can is partly symmetrical.” It is unclear how the phrase “partly symmetrical” is to be interpreted since there is no axis of symmetry mentioned and it is not known which part or portion of the can is considered symmetrical since there are no drawings.
Claim 7 recites: “further comprising regions with glass fiber reinforcement in combination.” It is unclear what exactly these regions are in combination with.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected as they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krompass et al. (herein Krompass) (WO 2012085281, English translation appended). Regarding Claim 1:In Figures 1a-9 Krompass discloses a can (1) for an electric rotating machine (see abstract), the can (1) comprising: a bearing seat (8); and an asymmetric element on the can (as seen in Figure 9, the can has thickened asymmetric regions adjacent to the winding heads 6, see page 7, paragraphs 8-9 of the translation. Each such thickened region can be considered an asymmetric element since the thickened portion(s) is asymmetric with respect to the other thinner regions of the can) and/or on the bearing seat (these thickened regions along with O-rings on the bearing seat 8 are asymmetric since the thickened regions are expanding radially inward or radially outward with respect to each bearing seat as seen in Figure 9); wherein the asymmetric element counteracts an expected deformation in loaded regions of the can (thickened regions on the can prevent deformation (see for example page 7, paragraph 8), the expected deformation identified by measurement data and/or deformation simulation calculated in advance (calculation and/or simulation of the deformation is shown in Figures 1a-1b that shows that external pressure acting on the can causes it deform).Regarding Claim 2:In Figures 1a-9 Krompass discloses the can (1), wherein the asymmetric element (thickened portions of the can shown in Figure 9) on the can comprises a negative form of a likely outward buckling and/or upward bending of the can (likely areas of deformation due to outward buckling are thickened indicating that they are the negative form, see page 7, paragraphs 8-9).Regarding Claim 3:In Figures 1a-9 Krompass discloses the can (1), wherein the asymmetric element comprises an eccentric position of the O-rings (12) that serve for mounting and sealing the can (the O-rings can have a center defined at an eccentric position with respect to to one another since the O-rings appear to be of a different size. Furthermore, these O-rings are flexible such that their centers can shit relative to one another even by a small distance such that their centers are eccentric).NOTE: See 112b rejection of this claim wherein several issues exist and the term eccentric position is not clearly defined. Regarding Claim 4:In Figures 1a-9 Krompass discloses the can (1), wherein the asymmetric element comprises an arrangement and/or distribution of fiber reinforcement within the can (as mentioned in the abstract and on page 3 in paragraph 4, the can is made of fiber-reinforced plastics which would include the thickened regions forming the asymmetric element).Regarding Claim 5:In Figures 1a-9 Krompass discloses the can (1), wherein the can is party symmetrical (as seen in Figure 9, the portion of the can between the winding heads 6 is symmetrical).Regarding Claim 9:In Figures 1a-9 Krompass discloses the can (1), with an entirely or partially complex form (as seen in Figure 9, portions of the can form thickened regions of a complex form).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krompass et al. (herein Krompass) (WO 2012085281, English translation appended) as evidenced by Sakurai et al. (herein Sakurai) (US 2016/0156251).Regarding Claims 6-8:Krompass discloses fiber reinforced reinforcement in the can but is silent regarding the use of glass fiber reinforcement (per claims 6-7) or ultrahigh modulus carbon fibers (per claim 8).However, in paragraph [0055] and Figure 5, Sakurai discloses a can (16) comprising fiber-reinforced epoxy plastic. As stated in paragraph [0055]: “Preferably, a high modulus of stiffness fibre reinforced epoxy plastic may be used. The sleeve may include fibres of glass, Kevlar or carbon, or combinations of fibres of different materials. Carbon may be preferred due to its high elastic modulus.” Hence, based on the evidenced cited by Sakurai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the can with glass fiber reinforcement (or regions thereof, per claims 6-7) or with ultrahigh modulus carbon fiber regions (per claim 8) (as evidence by Sakurai these are known materials for a can reinforcement wherein the term high elastic modulus would include ultrahigh elastic modulus), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 109474152 – Motor shell with asymmetric reinforcement structures determined by finite element analysis. GB 2361998 – Motor can with predetermined deformation properties. See appended PTO-892 for more relevant prior art related to motor cans.
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746