DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments/amendments received on April 13, 2026 have been carefully considered but they are not persuasive because the teaching of all the cited reference reads on the rejected claims (1 and 3-17) as set forth in the previous rejection. Therefore, the finality of this Office Action is deemed proper.
Contrary to the assertions at pages 5 - 7 of the Arguments, claim 1 is not patentable.
During examination, the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.
Re claim 1: Applicant argues Lewis et al. (US 2016/0337038) does not teach the limitation “the power supply unit provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit for at least 30 minutes”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Lewis does not teach the claimed invention. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, the Examiner is of the opinion that Lewis teaches this appliance can be a standalone device that includes a wall power adapter with an optional external battery pack (e.g., 3.3 v) and even a vehicle power adapter, and appliance will be a standalone device that is battery powered (e.g., 3.3 v), and when the module is power cycled it will automatically go to the last channel selected, or if transmission and display is asserted it will go to a standby condition (see Fig. 2, 3 and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 79), regarding the claimed limitation. More specifically, the limitation “battery powered (e.g., 3.3 v)”, specially, standard battery pack 3.3v is supplying autonomous power more than 30mins.
In addition, regarding the claimed limitation “provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit “for at least 30 minutes” ”, there is no evidence that providing power for at least 30 minutes has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Also, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection below for the reasons as to why this limitation is not patentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis et al. (US 2016/0337038).
Regarding claim 1, Lewis teaches that a transceiver interface, in particular mobile transceiver interface, having a configuration unit for configuring a pluggable transceiver (Fig. 1, 2 and page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 14, where teaches mobile transceiver interface for configuring a pluggable transceiver), which comprises a communication interface for communication with an external unit and a transceiver interface for communication with the transceiver (Fig. 1, 2 and page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, where teaches mobile transceiver interface for configuring a pluggable transceiver, and tuning a pluggable transceiver device using a tuning apparatus that is inserting the transceiver device into the tuning apparatus, accepting user inputs to the tuning apparatus for tuning the transceiver device, tuning the transceiver device according to the user inputs resulting in a tuned transceiver device without the tuning apparatus communicating with any external devices, locking the transceiver to prevent a device using the tuned transceiver from retuning the transceiver, removing the tuned transceiver device from the apparatus), and having a power supply unit (battery pack) for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 - 58, where teaches a pluggable transceiver device comprising a standalone device that is power supply or battery pack), characterized in that the power supply unit provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit for at least 30 minutes (Fig. 2, 3 and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 79, where teaches this appliance can be a standalone device that includes a wall power adapter with an optional external battery pack (e.g., 3.3 v) and even a vehicle power adapter, and appliance will be a standalone device that is battery powered (e.g., 3.3 v), and when the module is power cycled it will automatically go to the last channel selected, or if transmission and display is asserted it will go to a standby condition).
Regarding claim 3, Lewis teaches that the communication interface comprises a wireless communication unit, in particular a WPAN communication unit, for wireless communication with the external unit (Fig. 1, 2 and page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37).
Regarding claim 4, Lewis teaches that the transceiver interface is designed for providing a user data connection to the transceiver (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and page 1, paragraphs 2).
Regarding claim 5, Lewis teaches that the communication interface comprises at least one wire-bound communication unit, in particular a USB communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the external unit (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 6, Lewis teaches that a transceiver configuration device, which comprises at least the transceiver interface and a configuration element of the configuration unit at least for programming the transceiver (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 7, Lewis teaches that the power supply unit is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration element (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – 58).
Regarding claim 8, Lewis teaches that an adapter having an adapter unit, which comprises the communication interface and an adapter (power adapter) interface for communication with the transceiver configuration device (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – 58).
Regarding claim 9, Lewis teaches that the adapter interface comprises at least one wire-bound adapter communication unit, in particular a USB adapter communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the transceiver configuration device (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 10, Lewis teaches that the wire-bound adapter communication unit has a plug connector element, which can be connected directly to the transceiver configuration device (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 11, Lewis teaches that the adapter comprises the power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the adapter unit (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 12, Lewis teaches that the power supply unit is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 13, Lewis teaches that the configuration unit has a display unit which is designed for displaying at least one operating status (pages 5, paragraphs 96 – 99, Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 14, Lewis teaches that an operator interface for operating and/or controlling the configuration unit (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 15, Lewis teaches that transceiver interface having the external unit and the transceiver (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
Regarding claim 16, Lewis teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, Lewis further teaches that an external unit for controlling the transceiver interface, wherein the transceiver interface comprises a configuration unit for configuring a transceiver with a communication interface for communication with the external unit, and having a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 79), characterized in that at least the configuration unit is autonomously supplied with power from the power supply unit for at least 30 minutes (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 79).
Regarding claim 17, Lewis teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 3. Furthermore, Lewis further teaches that the communication interface has a WPAN communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit and the external unit is placed at least partially on the transceiver interface (Fig. 1, 2, page 1, paragraphs 8 – pages 2, paragraphs 37, and pages 3, paragraphs 47 – pages 4, paragraphs 77).
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marler et al. (US 2004/0147231) discloses Method and Apparatus for Enabling Dual Control Head Operation of a Mobile Radio Transceiver.
Manapragada (US 2024/0419929) discloses Method and Apparatus for Processing Bandwidth Intensive Data Streams Using Virtual Media Access Control and Physical Layers.
Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)."
J.L
June 26, 2026
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649