DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims:
Claims 1 – 4, 10 – 13, 19, and 22 – 24 are amended
Claims 5 – 7 and 14 – 16 and 21 are cancelled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakasai et al. (JP 2018042848) in view of Han et al. (KR 20200100460), and Ning et al. (CN 109754375).
Regarding claim 1.
Sakasai teaches:
A method for adding a video effect (Sakasai [Pg 51 Par 4] For example, as shown in FIG. 47 (a), at the start of the first pseudo fluctuation, an icon image corresponding to the accessory action effect, an icon image corresponding to the cut-in effect, an icon image corresponding to the special video effect),
and adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame (Sakasai [Pg 52 Par 8] In other words, an icon image corresponding to the special video effect is displayed in the specific effect, and when the execution time of the special video effect is reached, the displayed icon image is deleted and the special video effect by the special video pattern B is displayed).
Sakasai fails to teach:
comprising: obtaining a moving instruction;
controlling a moving path of an animated object in the video frame based on the moving instruction;
obtaining an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path;
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises:
adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame,
and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises:
in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.) .
Han teaches:
comprising: obtaining a moving instruction (Han [Pg 2 Par 11] The obligatory movement path may be displayed in a game screen provided to the user, and an abnormal user can be determined by determining whether an input from the user corresponds to the movement path.);
controlling a moving path of an animated object in a video frame based on the moving instruction (Han [Pg 3 Par 11] The game providing device 100 may analyze a movement path of an object controlled by the user, that is, a character, etc. in the user's game screen.);
obtaining an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path (Han [Pg 7 Par 9] In this case, the game providing device 100 may display the duty movement line 320 in the game screen 300 to determine whether the user controlling the character 310 is an abnormal user. Here, the duty movement line 320 is displayed as a plurality of points in the form of a circle.);
Ning teaches:
obtaining a facial image of a first object and displaying the facial image on a video frame, or displaying a virtual facial image obtained based on processing of the facial image of the first object on the video frame (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.);
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises:
adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to a facial image displayed on the video frame,
(Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises:
in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning . Having moving instructions for the object and finding a face and applying makeup, as in Han and Ning, would benefit the Sakasai teachings by allowing for a way to control objects and adding effects to a face. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, to yield predictable results of controlling objects and displaying effects.
Regarding claim 10.
Sakasai teaches:
An apparatus for adding a video effect (Sakasai [Pg 2 Par 4] The game ball lending apparatus R can insert a storage medium (card) in which value information necessary for inserting bills and lending game balls is stored.) (Sakasai [Pg 41 Par 4] For example, as shown in FIG. 47 (a), at the start of the first pseudo fluctuation, an icon image corresponding to the accessory action effect, an icon image corresponding to the cut-in effect, an icon image corresponding to the special video effect),
and an effect adding unit configured to add the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame (Sakasai [Pg 52 Par 8] In other words, an icon image corresponding to the special video effect is displayed in the specific effect, and when the execution time of the special video effect is reached, the displayed icon image is deleted and the special video effect by the special video pattern B is displayed).
Sakasai fails to teach:
comprising: a moving instruction obtaining unit configured to obtain a moving instruction (Han [Pg 2 Par 11] The obligatory movement path may be displayed in a game screen provided to the user, and an abnormal user can be determined by determining whether an input from the user corresponds to the movement path.);
a path determining unit configured to control a moving path of an animated object in a video frame based on the moving instruction (Han [Pg 3 Par 11] The game providing device 100 may analyze a movement path of an object controlled by the user, that is, a character, etc. in the user's game screen.);
an icon capturing unit configured to obtain an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path (Han [Pg 7 Par 9] In this case, the game providing device 100 may display the duty movement line 320 in the game screen 300 to determine whether the user controlling the character 310 is an abnormal user. Here, the duty movement line 320 is displayed as a plurality of points in the form of a circle.);
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises:
adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to a facial image displayed on the video frame,
(Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises:
in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.) .
Han teaches:
comprising: a moving instruction obtaining unit configured to obtain a moving instruction (Han [Pg 2 Par 11] The obligatory movement path may be displayed in a game screen provided to the user, and an abnormal user can be determined by determining whether an input from the user corresponds to the movement path.);
a path determining unit configured to control a moving path of an animated object in a video frame based on the moving instruction (Han [Pg 3 Par 11] The game providing device 100 may analyze a movement path of an object controlled by the user, that is, a character, etc. in the user's game screen.);
an icon capturing unit configured to obtain an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path (Han [Pg 7 Par 9] In this case, the game providing device 100 may display the duty movement line 320 in the game screen 300 to determine whether the user controlling the character 310 is an abnormal user. Here, the duty movement line 320 is displayed as a plurality of points in the form of a circle.);
Ning teaches:
an effect adding unit configured to obtain a facial image of a first object and display the facial image on a video frame, or display a virtual facial image obtained based on processing of the facial image of the first object on the video frame (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.);
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises:
adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to a facial image displayed on the video frame (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises:
in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning . Having moving instructions for the object and finding a face and applying makeup, as in Han and Ning, would benefit the Sakasai teachings by allowing for a way to control objects and adding effects to a face. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, to yield predictable results of controlling objects and displaying effects.
Regarding claim 19.
Sakasai teaches:
a method for adding a video effect (Sakasai [Pg 51 Par 4] For example, as shown in FIG. 47 (a), at the start of the first pseudo fluctuation, an icon image corresponding to the accessory action effect, an icon image corresponding to the cut-in effect, an icon image corresponding to the special video effect),
and adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame (Sakasai [Pg 51 Par 4] In other words, an icon image corresponding to the special video effect is displayed in the specific effect, and when the execution time of the special video effect is reached, the displayed icon image is deleted and the special video effect by the special video pattern B is displayed).
Sakasai fails to teach:
A terminal device, comprising: a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program; and the computer program, upon being executed by the processor, implements (Han [Pg 4 Par 9] Data stored in the storage unit 130 may be accessed and used by the controller 140 to be described later, or new data may be stored by the controller 140. In addition, the storage unit 130 may store a program that can be executed by the control unit 140. These programs provide mandatory movement lines, enable users to check whether user input corresponding to mandatory movement lines exists, and provide a function to limit game services to users who do not have input corresponding to mandatory movement lines. have.):
and the method comprises: obtaining a moving instruction (Han [Pg 2 Par 11] The obligatory movement path may be displayed in a game screen provided to the user, and an abnormal user can be determined by determining whether an input from the user corresponds to the movement path.);
controlling a moving path of an animated object in a video frame based on the moving instruction (Han [Pg 3 Par 11] The game providing device 100 may analyze a movement path of an object controlled by the user, that is, a character, etc. in the user's game screen.);
determining an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path (Han [Pg 7 Par 9] In this case, the game providing device 100 may display the duty movement line 320 in the game screen 300 to determine whether the user controlling the character 310 is an abnormal user. Here, the duty movement line 320 is displayed as a plurality of points in the form of a circle.);
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises:
adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to a facial image displayed on the video frame (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises:
in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.) .
Han teaches:
A terminal device, comprising: a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program; and the computer program, upon being executed by the processor, implements (Han [Pg 4 Par 9] Data stored in the storage unit 130 may be accessed and used by the controller 140 to be described later, or new data may be stored by the controller 140. In addition, the storage unit 130 may store a program that can be executed by the control unit 140. These programs provide mandatory movement lines, enable users to check whether user input corresponding to mandatory movement lines exists, and provide a function to limit game services to users who do not have input corresponding to mandatory movement lines. have.):
and the method comprises: obtaining a moving instruction (Han [Pg 2 Par 11] The obligatory movement path may be displayed in a game screen provided to the user, and an abnormal user can be determined by determining whether an input from the user corresponds to the movement path.);
controlling a moving path of an animated object in a video frame based on the moving instruction (Han [Pg 3 Par 11] The game providing device 100 may analyze a movement path of an object controlled by the user, that is, a character, etc. in the user's game screen.);
determining an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path (Han [Pg 7 Par 9] In this case, the game providing device 100 may display the duty movement line 320 in the game screen 300 to determine whether the user controlling the character 310 is an abnormal user. Here, the duty movement line 320 is displayed as a plurality of points in the form of a circle.);
Ning teaches:
obtaining a facial image of a first object and displaying the facial image on a video frame, or displaying a virtual facial image obtained based on processing of the facial image of the first object on the video frame (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.);
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises:
adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to a facial image displayed on the video frame (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.),
and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises:
in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect (Ning [Pg 11 Par 2] combining the face mask to the target area of the toner fused to the image frame. partial image face shield needs to finish fusion area, extracting the target area lip, face shield in the region of high transparency, high transparency is capable of not shielding the lip image, and then display the image processing result of the area, shielding other regions or does not perform the image processing to the other area so as to realize partial makeup, lip colour mixing effect. by using the form of color table is brightening part of the face color, so as to finish the precise makeup, beauty effect is more natural and real.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning . Having moving instructions for the object and finding a face and applying makeup, as in Han and Ning, would benefit the Sakasai teachings by allowing for a way to control objects and adding effects to a face. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, to yield predictable results of controlling objects and displaying effects.
Regarding claim 20.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which stores a computer program, wherein the computer program upon being executed by a processor, implements the method according to claim l (Han [Pg 4 Par 9] Data stored in the storage unit 130 may be accessed and used by the controller 140 to be described later, or new data may be stored by the controller 140. In addition, the storage unit 130 may store a program that can be executed by the control unit 140. These programs provide mandatory movement lines, enable users to check whether user input corresponding to mandatory movement lines exists, and provide a function to limit game services to users who do not have input corresponding to mandatory movement lines. have.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning . Having moving instructions for the object and finding a face and applying makeup, as in Han and Ning, would benefit the Sakasai teachings by allowing for a way to control objects and adding effects to a face. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, to yield predictable results of controlling objects and displaying effects.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 11-12 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakasai et al. (JP 2018042848) in view of Han et al. (KR 20200100460), Ning et al. (CN 109754375), and Nishimura et al. (WO 2017141767).
Regarding claim 2.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 1,
Sakasai and Han and Ning fail to teach:
wherein the obtaining a moving instruction comprises: obtaining a posture of a control object (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.);
and determining the corresponding moving instruction based on a correspondence between the posture and the moving instruction (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.).
Nishimura teaches:
wherein the obtaining a moving instruction comprises: obtaining a posture of a control object (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.);
and determining the corresponding moving instruction based on a correspondence between the posture and the moving instruction (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Nishimura. Finding posture and head positions, as in Nishimura, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to track a head for a better experience. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, tracking the direction of heads and posture, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3.
Sakasai, Han, Ning and Nishimura teach:
The method according to claim 2,
wherein the posture comprises a deflecting direction of a head of the control object (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.);
and the determining the corresponding moving instruction based on a correspondence between the posture and the moving instruction comprises: determining a moving direction of the animated object based on a correspondence between the deflecting direction of the head and the moving direction (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Nishimura. Finding posture and head positions, as in Nishimura, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to track a head for a better experience. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, tracking the direction of heads and posture, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11 and 22.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 10,
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
wherein the obtaining a moving instruction comprises: obtaining a posture of a control object (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.);
and determining the corresponding moving instruction based on a correspondence between the posture and the moving instruction (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.).
Nishimura teaches:
wherein the moving instruction obtaining unit comprises: a posture obtaining subunit configured to obtain a posture of a control object (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.);
and a moving instruction obtaining subunit configured to obtain the corresponding moving instruction based on a correspondence between the posture and the moving instruction (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Nishimura. Finding posture and head positions, as in Nishimura, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to track a head for a better experience. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, tracking the direction of heads and posture, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12 and 23.
Sakasai, Han, Ning and Nishimura teach:
The method according to claim 11,
wherein the posture comprises a deflecting direction of a head of the control object (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.);
and the moving instruction obtaining subunit is specifically configured to obtain a moving direction of the animated object based on a correspondence between the deflecting direction of the head and the moving direction (Nishimura [Pg 2 Par 4] In other words, the HMD attached to each player tracks the head direction and posture of each player, and the head direction and posture of the player character corresponding to each player placed in the game space are synchronized with tracking.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Nishimura. Finding posture and head positions, as in Nishimura, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to track a head for a better experience. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, tracking the direction of heads and posture, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakasai et al. (JP 2018042848) in view of Han et al. (KR 20200100460), Ning et al. (CN 109754375), and Xiao et al. (CN 107505942).
Regarding claim 4.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 1,
Sakasai and Han and Ning fail to teach:
wherein the determining an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path comprises: based on the moving path, determining an icon to which a distance from the moving path is less than a preset distance as the icon captured by the animated object (Xiao [Pg 3 Par 5] The beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: the robot by judging whether the obstacle is detected when the second distance is greater than the first preset distance, to control the action of the next step of the robot. if it is greater than, it indicates that the robot has enough area needed to clean when encounters the barrier, so, directly turning around, proceeding according to the third moving path. if it is less than or equal to the first preset distance, then indicating that the cleaning area after the robot encounters the obstacle is smaller,).
Xiao teaches:
wherein the determining an icon captured by the animated object on the video frame based on the moving path comprises: based on the moving path, determining an icon to which a distance from the moving path is less than a preset distance as the icon captured by the animated object (Xiao [Pg 3 Par 5] The beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: the robot by judging whether the obstacle is detected when the second distance is greater than the first preset distance, to control the action of the next step of the robot. if it is greater than, it indicates that the robot has enough area needed to clean when encounters the barrier, so, directly turning around, proceeding according to the third moving path. if it is less than or equal to the first preset distance, then indicating that the cleaning area after the robot encounters the obstacle is smaller,).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Xiao. Comparing distances to preset distances, as in Xiao, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to track a distance of a path and compare it. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, comparing distances to preset distances, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13 and 24.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 10,
Sakasai and Han and Ning fail to teach:
wherein, the icon capturing unit is specifically configured to, based on the moving path, determine an icon to which a distance from the moving path is less than a preset distance as the icon captured by the animated object (Xiao [Pg 3 Par 5] The beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: the robot by judging whether the obstacle is detected when the second distance is greater than the first preset distance, to control the action of the next step of the robot. if it is greater than, it indicates that the robot has enough area needed to clean when encounters the barrier, so, directly turning around, proceeding according to the third moving path. if it is less than or equal to the first preset distance, then indicating that the cleaning area after the robot encounters the obstacle is smaller,).
Xiao teaches:
wherein, the icon capturing unit is specifically configured to, based on the moving path, determine an icon to which a distance from the moving path is less than a preset distance as the icon captured by the animated object (Xiao [Pg 3 Par 5] The beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: the robot by judging whether the obstacle is detected when the second distance is greater than the first preset distance, to control the action of the next step of the robot. if it is greater than, it indicates that the robot has enough area needed to clean when encounters the barrier, so, directly turning around, proceeding according to the third moving path. if it is less than or equal to the first preset distance, then indicating that the cleaning area after the robot encounters the obstacle is smaller,).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Xiao. Comparing distances to preset distances, as in Xiao, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to track a distance of a path and compare it. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, comparing distances to preset distances, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakasai et al. (JP 2018042848) in view of Han et al. (KR 20200100460), Ning et al. (CN 109754375), and Anderegg et al. (US 20210008461).
Regarding claim 8.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 1,
Sakasai and Han and Ning fail to teach:
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises an animation effect of the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.);
and the adding a video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises: adding the animation effect corresponding to the icon to the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.).
Anderegg teaches:
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises an animation effect of the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.);
and the adding a video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises: adding the animation effect corresponding to the icon to the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Anderegg. Applying an animation effect, as in Anderegg, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to add an effect to a object regarding animation. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, applying an animation effect to an object, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17 and 25.
Sakasai and Han and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 10,
Sakasai and Han and Ning fail to teach:
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises an animation effect of the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.);
and the effect adding unit is specifically configured to add the animation effect corresponding to the icon to the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.).
Anderegg teaches:
wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises an animation effect of the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.);
and the effect adding unit is specifically configured to add the animation effect corresponding to the icon to the animated object (Anderegg [0028] However, unlike real-world object 122, the virtual character corresponding to object 122 may be enhanced with animation effects simulating walking, running, jumping, crouching, or even playful interactions, such as building a snowman, for example, to generate animation 132 of object 122.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai and Han and Ning with Anderegg. Applying an animation effect, as in Anderegg, would benefit the Sakasai and Han and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to add an effect to a object regarding animation. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, applying an animation effect to an object, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakasai et al. (JP 2018042848) in view of Han et al. (KR 20200100460), Ning et al. (CN 109754375), and Ravine et al. (US 20210099505).
Regarding claim 9.
Sakasai, Han, and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 5,
Sakasai, Han, and Ning fail to teach:
further comprising: counting a video playing time (Ravine [0120] For example, by default a model may generate a summarized video that more compactly conveys all of the information provided in the original target video, but users with even stricter time limits may specify an even shorter time interval.);
and enlarging and displaying the facial image added with the effect in response to the counted time reaching a preset threshold (Ravine [0058] For instance, a video capture may be initiated based on preset conditions such as a timer or upon recognizing certain conditions. [0097] For instance, for the scenario of FIG. 3B, additional facial analysis techniques may be used to zoom in on and track the face of the woman, thereby filling the device screen).
Ravine teaches:
further comprising: counting a video playing time (Ravine [0120] For example, by default a model may generate a summarized video that more compactly conveys all of the information provided in the original target video, but users with even stricter time limits may specify an even shorter time interval.);
and enlarging and displaying the facial image added with the effect in response to the counted time reaching a preset threshold (Ravine [0058] For instance, a video capture may be initiated based on preset conditions such as a timer or upon recognizing certain conditions. [0097] For instance, for the scenario of FIG. 3B, additional facial analysis techniques may be used to zoom in on and track the face of the woman, thereby filling the device screen).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai, Han, and Ning with Ravine. Counting a playing time and applying an effect based on that time, as in Ravine, would benefit the Sakasai, Han, and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to add effects over a time. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, counting a playing time and applying an effect based on that time, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18 and 26.
Sakasai, Han, and Ning teach:
The method according to claim 14,
Sakasai, Han, and Ning fail to teach:
further comprising: a time counting unit configured to count a video playing time (Ravine [0120] For example, by default a model may generate a summarized video that more compactly conveys all of the information provided in the original target video, but users with even stricter time limits may specify an even shorter time interval.);
and an enlarging display unit configured to enlarge and display the facial image added with the effect in response to the counted time reaching a preset threshold (Ravine [0058] For instance, a video capture may be initiated based on preset conditions such as a timer or upon recognizing certain conditions. [0097] For instance, for the scenario of FIG. 3B, additional facial analysis techniques may be used to zoom in on and track the face of the woman, thereby filling the device screen).
Ravine teaches:
further comprising: a time counting unit configured to count a video playing time (Ravine [0120] For example, by default a model may generate a summarized video that more compactly conveys all of the information provided in the original target video, but users with even stricter time limits may specify an even shorter time interval.);
and an enlarging display unit configured to enlarge and display the facial image added with the effect in response to the counted time reaching a preset threshold (Ravine [0058] For instance, a video capture may be initiated based on preset conditions such as a timer or upon recognizing certain conditions. [0097] For instance, for the scenario of FIG. 3B, additional facial analysis techniques may be used to zoom in on and track the face of the woman, thereby filling the device screen).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sakasai, Han, and Ning with Ravine. Counting a playing time and applying an effect based on that time, as in Ravine, would benefit the Sakasai, Han, and Ning teachings by allowing for a way to add effects over a time. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, counting a playing time and applying an effect based on that time, to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant claims, “Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Ning fails to disclose or suggest the recited feature "wherein the video effect corresponding to the icon comprises a makeup effect or a beauty effect, wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the video frame comprises: adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame, and wherein the adding the video effect corresponding to the icon to the facial image displayed on the video frame comprises: in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect," in combination with the remaining features of amended claim 1.”
“The above portions of Ning disclose a method that utilizes a highly transparent facial mask to identify target areas intended for makeup application on a face, perform color adjustment on these target areas, and subsequently fuse the color-adjusted target areas into an image frame using the facial mask. It can be reasonably inferred that, in Ning, makeup is applied to a specific facial region through a single manual adjustment. if one wishes to alter or update the makeup within the specific region (e.g., to deepen its color), it is necessary to manually re-adjust the color of the specific region. In view of this, Applicant respectfully submits that, even if Ning's statement "precise makeup application being completed" is interpreted as implying that some form of makeup already exists on the face, the pre-existing makeup would necessarily be different from the makeup presently applied. Unlike the claimed configuration, Ning supports altering or updating existing makeup, but does not disclose or enable the superposition of an identical makeup effect onto an existing makeup effect so as to deepen the color of the existing makeup effect.”
The reference Ning states the following in Page 5 Paragraph 13 – Page 6 Paragraph 1:
“the image processing type may be a specific object the target region needed for the type of image processing, the effect of the image processing type can be visually exhibits a change in image colour, such as mainly of the effect of changing the image, colour saturation, colour contrast, colour offset, hue, light and shade, brightness, exposure, shadow and black value, light-dark contrast, brightness and one or combination of several of them.
the image processing type, application in beauty of human face object, may include a lip colour, blusher processing, processing, eyeliner, eye shadow, colour contact lenses treatment and so on. Further, the application in the background of the scene may include a background tone processing, background and shadow processing.”
Ning does reference a way to add an effect to the image or video. This is seen here as well as other parts in the reference specifically in Page 6 Paragraph 13 – Page 7 paragraph 1:
“C, mapping the color parameter to the lip region, performing image processing corresponding to the lip region to red colour channel value of the lip region. embodiment of the present scene, colour of the lip area be changed only according to the colour channel value, but the lip, the lip detail can be maintained, little change on the frequency domain of the image space, it can retain the original detail, image processing and picture frame and matched, the brightening effect is more real and natural, can directly and vividly shows the effect of a real natural.” Therefore one skilled in the art could recognize that adding this lip color to the user in ways and as well as adjust them therefore deepening it.
In regards to claim 1, applicant also claims: “Ning supports altering or updating existing makeup, but does not disclose or enable the superposition of an identical makeup effect onto an existing makeup effect so as to deepen the color of the existing makeup effect.”
However, claim 1 does not mention “the superposition of an identical makeup effect onto an existing makeup effect so as to deepen the color of the existing makeup effect.”
Claim 1 only mentions “in response to the facial image already comprising the makeup effect corresponding to the icon, deepening a color of the makeup effect.” Therefore, in response to applicant's argument with regard to claim 1 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (“…the superposition of an identical makeup effect onto an existing makeup effect so as to deepen the color of the existing makeup effect.”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612