Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Response to Amendments
The claim set of 08/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 17 – 20 are newly added and find support. The amendments to the claims find support. Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Restriction/Election
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 8 – 16) in the reply filed on 08/17/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the system and method are linked by a special technical feature. Specifically, Applicant asserts that the Groups share the technical feature of amended claim 1 with is distinguished over Pan in view of ASM Handbook. Applicant’s arguments with regards to the restriction requirement and the amended claims have been fully considered, however, because the applicant has now included a third Group (claims 17 – 20) which does not require the features of claim 1, claims 1 – 7 (Group I), claims 8 – 16 (Group II), and claims 17 – 20 (Group III) do not share a corresponding special technical feature and now lack unity of invention a priori.
As such, the applicant’s arguments have been considered but the requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1 – 7 and 17 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group I and Group III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/17/26.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 8 – 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN1394970, using espacenet translation provided with the IDS of 01/13/24) in view of ASM Handbook (“Quenching of Steel”, NPL, 2013, cited in the IDS of 01/13/24, using the copy provided on 04/17/26) and Powell (WO2019/157075)
Regarding claims 8 – 9, Pan teaches tail end quenching equipment for determining the hardenability of the steel [Title], meeting the claimed limitation of analyzing at least one property.
The steel is in the form of a bar [Fig 1, “2”] which is in a bar receptable with a collar that has a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top [Fig 5, “5”], and a brace [Fig 1, “3”]. The bar end protrudes through a through hole [Fig 1, bottom of Fig 1]. Meeting the claimed limitation of a bar with a length and tip. Meeting the claimed limitation of a bar receptable comprising a rigid collar, top surface, bottom surface, and through hole. Meeting the claimed limitation of metal material with an austenization temperature and critical cooling rate (i.e., steel). Meeting the claimed limitation of passing at least a portion of the metal material tip through a through hole and shielding all but the exposed portion from the water quenchant.
Pan teaches that the material is heated to the austenization temperature [0008] and then a quenchant is sprayed using a quenchant sprayer/nozzle [Fig 1, “1”], which is provided with a gap between it and the bar end/tip [Fig 1]. Meeting the claimed limitation of heating to at least the austenization temperature and exposing the tip to water quenchant. Meeting the claimed limitation of a water discharge apparatus with a nozzle. Meeting the claimed limitation of a gap existing between the tip and the quenchant nozzle.
Pan does not teach the bar end tip being hemispherical. Pan does not teach that the nozzle has multiple spray outlets equidistant from the surface of the tip.
The ASM Handbook provides details regarding quench testing of steel materials [Title]. The ASM Handbook states that hemispherical probe tips minimize the problem of vapor entrapment that flat tipped probes possess [Page 107, middle col, top].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the equipment of Pan and modified the bar end tip to be hemispherical as disclosed by ASM Handbook. The ASM Handbook is directed to quench testing of steel material and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings pertinent to the disclosure of Pan and had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the teachings of the ASM Handbook to the steel quench testing equipment of Pan. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce vapor entrapment.
Pan in view of ASM does not teach that the nozzle has multiple spray outlets equidistant from the surface of the tip.
Powell teaches a nozzle design for uniform quenching of metal parts in order to control the part’s properties [Title, Fig 3.]. Powell shows that the nozzle has multiple outlets [Fig 3] and that the outlets are equidistant from the quench surface [Fig 3.], meeting the claimed limitation of multispray outlets equidistant from the hemispherical tip. Powell teaches that said quenching can be performed with water [0020], can achieve martensitic transformation [0020], and can be performed on simple structures such as bars [0082]. Moreover, Powell teaches that the quenching nozzle/process pressure can eliminate/reduce film boiling which interferes with the cooling process, in particular the rate of quench [0006, 0017, 0064], meeting the limitation of claim 9 of water pressure greater than a vapor boil pressure (wherein the water quenchant would have a flow rate for a particular time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the quench nozzle described by Powell and used it in the apparatus/method of Pan in view of ASM. Powell’s teachings are directed to the rapid quenching of parts (including simple parts such as bars) from an austenite temperature [0102] to martensitic transformation temperatures. Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered its teachings reasonably pertinent to the method of end quench hardenability testing described by Pan in view of ASM (which involves martensitic transformation with water quenching). Additionally, Pan teaches using nozzle with a water quenchant and therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying/substituting the nozzle of Pan with that described by Powell. Lastly, Powell discloses various benefits including the elimination/reduction of film boiling on the parts surface (which interferes with the quench rate) as well as particularly high cooling rates [0099] (allowing flexibility of testing).
Regarding claim 10, Pan in view of ASM and Powell teaches the invention as applied in claim 8. Pan teaches a tail end quenching equipment for determining the hardenability of the steel [Title], meeting the claimed limitation of claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, Pan in view of ASM and Powell teaches the invention as applied in claim 8. Pan teaches tail end quenching equipment for determining the hardenability of the steel [Title] and that a hardness to distance measurement is taken and recorded [0011]. Pan does not expressly show that the distance is a measure of depth from the end quench.
However, the ASM Handbook states that after performing the end quenching the depth of hardening is measured [Fig 13 and Fig 15]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken hardness/hardenability measurements at various depths of the test piece in test method of Pan in view of ASM and Powell to achieve predictable results. Pan is directed to performing end quench hardenability test and the ASM Handbook shows that hardness/hardening measurement at various depths/distances is common practice. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in testing the hardenability in this manner.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN1394970) in view of ASM Handbook (“Quenching of Steel”, NPL, 2013) and Powell (WO2019/157075), as applied to claim 8, further view of Wu (CN102787223, using espacenet translation).
Regarding claim 11, Pan in view of ASM Handbook and Powell teaches the invention as applied in claim 8. Pan discloses that the metal test piece is heated to the austenization temperature [0008] but does not disclose using induction heating.
Wu teaches a metal end face quenching test machine [Title]. Wu teaches that the test piece is heated to the austenization temperature and quenched via water [0006]. Wu teaches that the test piece is heated via induction heating coils such that the test piece can be heated to the necessary temperature extremely rapidly (10 seconds) [0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of Pan as-modified and heated the test piece using induction heating, as described by Wu. Wu is directed to end quench hardenability testing using water quenchant and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings to be pertinent to Pan as-modified. Moreover, Wu teaches that the induction coils are capable of also heating the test to at least the austenization temperature. Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Lastly, Wu teaches that the induction heating is very rapid which would be motivation for an ordinarily skilled artisan to apply the teachings to Pan as-modified.
Claims 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN1394970) in view of ASM Handbook (“Quenching of Steel”, NPL, 2013) and Powell (WO2019/157075), as applied to claim 8, further view of MacKenzie (NPL, “Understanding the Jominy End Quench Test”, 2020)
Regarding claim 12, Pan in view of ASM and Powell teaches the invention as applied in claim 8. Pan does not expressly disclose the cooling rate. However, the necessary cooling rate is dependent upon the material/composition being tested. Moreover, end quench tests are specifically designed to produce a wide range of cooling rates in order to determine the hardenability of the material (e.g., steel) at different cooling rates.
For example, MacKenzie provides information regarding the Jominy End Quench test and explicitly shows that the cooling rates can range from ~600°C/sec to ~2°C/sec depending upon where in the test material the cooling rate is being determined.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected the cooling rate ranges described by Mackenzie in the method of Pan as-modified to achieve predictable results. Pan is directed to performing an end quench hardenability test and MacKenzie shows that cooling rate ranges higher than 300°C/sec are attained in these types of tests. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining/applying the teachings of MacKenzie. Moreover, Powell expressly teaches that the water quenchant nozzle design can achieve cooling rates at 300°C/sec or more [0099].
Moreover, the selection of cooling rate ranges of higher than 300°C/sec is directed to routine optimization/experimentation of the end quench hardenability test in order to determine the hardenability of the metal composition at these cooling rates which a prima facie case of obviousness absent evidence of unexpected results, criticality, or other secondary considerations.
Regarding claims 13 – 14, Pan in view of ASM and Powell teaches the invention as applied in claim 8. Pan does not expressly disclose the distance between the nozzle and test piece, however, the distance between the nozzle and test is related to the relative dimensions of the device/testing apparatus which presents a prima facie case of obviousness in view of the prior art without evidence of criticality, unexpected results, other secondary considerations. Changes to size and/or proportion is a prima facie case of obviousness without evidence of criticality, unexpected results, other secondary considerations (MPEP 2144.04 IV A). In this case, applicant has not provided evidence that the size and/or proportion is critical or provides unexpected results. As such, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (en banc)(MPEP 2145).
Alternatively, or in addition to this, MacKenzie provides information regarding the Jominy End Quench test. MacKenzie shows that the standard distance for the ASTM A255 Jominy end quench test is 0.5” (~12.7 mm), which falls within the claimed range of claims 13 – 14 [Page 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have set the distance between the nozzle and test piece of Pas as-modified to 0.5”, as described by Mackenzie to achieve predictable results. Pan is directed to performing an end quench test and MacKenzie states that the standard distance is 0.5”. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining with/applying the teachings of MacKenzie.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (CN1394970) in view of ASM Handbook (“Quenching of Steel”, NPL, 2013) and Powell (WO2019/157075), as applied to claim 8, in further view of Inoue (“Metallo-Thermo-Mechanical Coupling in Quenching”, NPL, 2014)
Regarding claim 15, Pan in view of ASM and Powell teaches the invention as applied in claim 8. Pan teaches that the test material is rapidly quenched and tested for hardness but does not expressly teach that compressive stress(es) are measured using X-ray diffraction.
Inoue provides teachings of Metallo-Thermo-Mechanics [page 3]. In particular, Inoue describes testing material subjected to the Jominy end quench hardenability test [page 25]. Inoue states that test material can be evaluated for compressive stress resulting from the microstructural transformation process and that said stress can be measured with X-ray diffraction.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have tested the compressive stress of the test piece (including the tip) of Pan as-modified using X-ray diffraction, as described by Inoue, to achieve predictable results. Inoue describes that compressive stresses are generated during the end quench test and that these can be measured by X-ray diffraction. Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2,266,322 – Performing Jominy end quench test and apparatus
US 2,559,016 – Determining hardening depth using cylindrical test pieces subjected to end quench
CN111004901 – Spray quenching device with a plurality of the test pieces and nozzle outlets
CN107831189A – Quenching device with similar design structure for measuring hardenability
DE2454400A1 – End quench tests with disclosure of insulating the majority of the test piece to improve measurement
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738 /SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738