DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, lines 2-3, “the connector elements” is read as “the one or more connector elements”.
In claim 8, line 3, “the openings” is read as “the one or more openings”.
In claim 8, line 4, “the connector elements” is read as “the one or more connector elements”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of an interlocking connection” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schimpf (US 2012/0060251).
Regarding claim 1, Schimpf teaches a helmet comprising an energy absorbing layer (fig. 12, layer 8), an outer protective layer (fig. 12, layers 1 and 7), an intermediate layer (fig. 12, layer 10) arranged between the energy-absorbing layer and the outer protective layer, one or more connector elements (fig. 12, elements 20) extending from the energy-absorbing layer through one or more openings in the intermediate layer to the outer protective layer (fig. 12) and attaching the outer protective layer with the energy absorbing layer (fig. 12).
Schimpf does not clearly teach in fig. 12 the one or more connector elements are monolithically formed with the energy-absorbing layer.
However, Schimpf teaches in fig. 16, the one or more connector elements (fig. 16, elevation 22) are monolithically formed with the energy-absorbing layer (8)(para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the one or more connector elements in fig. 12 to be monolithically formed with the energy-absorbing layer as suggested in fig. 16 for the benefit of providing a continuous mass which distributes loads evenly.
Regarding claim 5, Schimpf teaches the one or more connector elements are configured to fail upon exposure to an impact force on the outer protective layer such that the outer protective layer disconnects at least partially or area by area from the energy-absorbing layer (fig. 13, para. [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Schimpf teaches upon impact the one or more connector elements bend or shift toward an edge of the one or more openings of the intermediate layer, such that the one or more connector elements rupture at the edge of the one or more openings (fig. 13, para. [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Schimpf teaches the one or more connector elements are configured to elastically deform upon exposure to an impact force on the outer protective layer such that the outer protective layer shifts laterally with respect to the energy-absorbing layer (fig. 13, para. [0017], the connecting means is a spring shock absorber system, which returns the system to the starting position; or the connecting means can be rubber bands).
Regarding claim 8, Schimpf does not clearly teach the one or more openings of the intermediate layer comprise different sizes, such that the connector elements extending through the openings differ in terms of a rupturing force at which the connector elements fail.
However, Schimpf teaches different shapes and sizes the connector elements (fig. 12, connecting elements 20; fig. 14, connecting elements 22; fig. 16, connecting elements 22) and different shapes and sizes of the corresponding openings in the intermediate layer (figs. 12, 14, 16, openings in the layer 10 have different sizes).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Schimpf with the teaching that the one or more openings of the intermediate layer comprise different sizes, such that the connector elements extending through the openings differ in terms of a rupturing force at which the connector elements fail as suggested in figs. 12, 14, 16 for the benefit of reducing or preventing different angular acceleration introduced by a blow, which suits user’s needs.
Regarding claim 10, Schimpf teaches the one or more connector elements consist of the same material as the energy-absorbing layer (fig. 16, para. [0060]).
Claims 2-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schimpf (US 2012/0060251), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marzec (US 2013/0000015).
Regarding claim 2, Schimpf does not teach the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of a substance-to-substance bond between the one or more connector elements and the outer protective layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Marzec teaches the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of a substance-to-substance bond between the one or more connector elements and the outer protective layer (para. [0038], the connection is formed by adhesive, hot melt, glue).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Schimpf with the teaching that the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of a substance-to-substance bond between the one or more connector elements and the outer protective layer as taught by Marzec for the benefit of providing high strength, durable connection between the outer protective layer and the energy absorbing layer (Marzec, para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Schimpf does not teach the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of an interlocking connection.
However, Marzec teaches the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of an interlocking connection (para. [0038], rivets or snaps can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Schimpf with the teaching that the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of an interlocking connection as taught Marzec for the benefit of providing detachable connection between the outer protective layer and the energy absorbing layer (Marzec, para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Schimpf does not teach a cross-sectional circumference of the each connector element of the one or more connector elements between the intermediate layer and the outer protective layer is greater than a cross-sectional circumference of said connector element at the opening of the one or more openings through which said connector element extends.
However, Marzec teaches a cross-sectional circumference of each connector element between the intermediate layer and the outer protective layer is greater than a cross-sectional circumference of the connector element at the opening through the connector element extends (fig. 5F, the cross sectional circumference of the connector decreases from the top to the bottom, while the top is connected to the outer protective layer and the middle portion of the connector extends through the opening in the intermediate layer).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the connector element of Schimpf so that a cross-sectional circumference of the each connector element of the one or more connector elements between the intermediate layer and the outer protective layer is greater than a cross-sectional circumference of said connector element at the opening of the one or more openings through which said connector element extends as suggested by Marzec in fig. 5F for the benefit of so that strength characteristics vary because of varying cross sections, which initiates rupturing as the apexes of the connector element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 08/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 08/05/2016, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102/103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732