DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention Group I, drawn to a helmet and Species I, Figures 1-2 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 5, and 8, “the protective layer” is read as “the outer protective layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of an interlocking connection” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “one or more connector elements…fixedly attaching the protective layer”. It is unclear how to define “fixedly attaching” as any attachment comprises firmly, securely joining between two elements. For the purpose of applying art, “fixedly attaching” is interpreted as attaching.
Claim 3 recites “particularly only by means of an interlocking connection”. It is unclear limitations following the term “particularly” is required by the claim or not. For the purpose of applying art, the limitations following the term “particularly” is not required by the claim.
Claim 5 recites “particular wherein the one or more connector elements rupture upon impact”. It is unclear limitations following the term “particularly” is required by the claim or not. For the purpose of applying art, the limitations following the term “particularly” is not required by the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the connector elements” in line 2. It is unclear which “connector elements” the Applicant wants to refer to as there are “one or more connector elements” in claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “the outer protective layer may laterally shift with respect to the energy absorbing layer…”. It is unclear the outer protective layer laterally shift with respect to the energy or the outer protective layer does not laterally shift with respect to the energy absorbing layer. For the purpose of applying art, the limitation is interpreted that the outer protective layer laterally shifts with respect to the energy absorbing layer.
Claim 7 recites “particularly wherein upon impact…” in line 5. It is unclear limitations following the term “particularly” is required by the claim or not. For the purpose of applying art, the limitations following the term “particularly” is not required by the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the openings” in lines 2 and 3. It is unclear which “openings” the Applicant wants to refer to as there are “one or more openings” in claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “the connector elements” in lines 2 and 4. It is unclear which “connector elements” the Applicant wants to refer to as there are “one or more connector elements” in claim 1.
Claim 10 recites “the one or more connector elements are of the same material than the energy absorbing layer”. It is unclear the one or more connector elements are the same material or different material from the energy absorbing layer. For the purpose of applying art, the one or more connector elements are interpreted to be the same material as the energy absorbing layer.
Claim 11 recites “the connector element” in line 4 and “the opening” in line 4. It is unclear which “connector element” and which “opening” the Applicant refers to as there are more than one connector elements and more than one openings in claim 1.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marzec (US 2013/0000015).
Regarding claim 1, Marzec teaches a helmet comprising: an energy absorbing layer (fig. 2, cushioning members 40 and member 45), an outer protective layer (fig. 2, shell 20), an intermediate layer (fig. 2, layers 31, 32) arranged between the energy-absorbing layer and the protective layer, one or more connector elements (fig. 2, members 40) extending from the energy-absorbing layer through one or more openings (fig. 2, para. [0029], cut-outs in the layers 31, 32) in the intermediate layer to the protective layer and fixedly attaching the protective layer with the energy-absorbing layer (fig. 4, para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Marzec teaches the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of a substance-to-substance bond between the one or more connector elements and the outer protective layer (para. [0038], the connection is form by adhesive, hot melt, glue).
Regarding claim 3, Marzec teaches the outer protective layer is attached to the one or more connector elements by means of an interlocking connection, particularly only by means of an interlocking connection (para. [0038], rivets or snaps can be used).
Regarding claim 4, Marzec teaches the one or more connector elements are integrally formed with the energy absorbing layer (fig. 2, elements 40 and 45 are formed into a whole unit).
Regarding claim 5, Marzec teaches the one or more connector elements are configured to fail upon exposure to an impact force on the outer protective layer such that the outer protective layer disconnects at least partially or area by area from the energy absorbing layer (para. [0039], [0040], during a hard impact to the shell, the members 40 are pulled away from the shell) particularly wherein the one or more connector elements rupture upon impact.
Regarding claim 7, Marzec teaches the one or more connector elements are configured to elastically deform (para. [0036]) upon exposure to an impact force on the outer protective layer such that the outer protective layer may laterally shift with respect to the energy absorbing layer, particularly wherein upon impact the one or more connector elements remain attached to the outer protective layer and the energy absorbing layer (para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Marzec teaches a cross-sectional circumference of each connector element between the intermediate layer and the outer protective layer is greater than a cross-sectional circumference of the connector element at the opening through the connector element extends (fig. 5F, the cross sectional circumference of the connector decreases from the top to the bottom, while the top is connected to the outer protective layer and the middle portion of the connector extends through the opening in the intermediate layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marzec (US 2013/0000015), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Halldin (US 2013/0042397).
Regarding claim 6, Marzec does not clearly teach upon impact the connector elements bend or shift toward an edge of the one or more openings of the intermediate layer, such that the one or more connector elements rupture at the edge of the one or more openings.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halldin teaches upon impact the connector elements (figs. 3-4, elements 4a, 4b) bend or shift toward an edge of the one or more openings of the intermediate layer (fig. 1, openings in the layers 5,2 to receive portions 9), such that the one or more connector elements rupture at the edge of the one or more openings (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Marzec with the teaching that upon impact the connector elements bend or shift toward an edge of the one or more openings of the intermediate layer, such that the one or more connector elements rupture at the edge of the one or more openings as taught by Halldin so that a portion of the fixation members ruptures, absorbing energy plastically, while another portion of the fixation members deforms and absorbs forces elastically (Halldin, para. [0048]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marzec (US 2013/0000015).
Regarding claim 8, Marzec does not clearly teach the openings of the intermediate layer comprise different sizes, such that the connector elements extending through the openings differ in terms of a rupturing force at which the connector elements fail.
However, Marzec teaches the openings of the intermediate layer comprise different sizes (fig. 2, the openings in the layers 31, 32 at the front of the helmet are different than the openings in the layers 31, 32 at the sides); and in any helmet, cushioning members may be provided in one, two, three, or more different shapes, including both shapes that are columnar and shapes that are non-columnar (para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Marzec with the teaching that the openings of the intermediate layer comprise different sizes, such that the connector elements extending through the openings differ in terms of a rupturing force at which the connector elements fail so that the cushioning members provide different protection for the user’s head depending on the intended use of the helmet.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marzec (US 2013/0000015), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schimpf (US 2012/0060251).
Regarding claim 10, Marzec does not clearly teach the one or more connector elements are of the same material than the energy absorbing layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schimpf teaches the one or more connector elements (figs. 14, 16, element 22) are of the same material than the energy absorbing layer (figs. 14, 16, element 22 is an elevation of the insert 8).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Marzec with the teaching that the one or more connector elements are of the same material than the energy absorbing layer as suggested by Schimpf for the benefit of facilitating in manufacturing the energy absorbing layer and reducing or preventing angular acceleration introduced by a blow (Schimpf, para. [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732