DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on September 08th 2025 have been entered. Claims 1,6,8,11 and 17-19 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on June 16th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (IDS Reference US 20180123242A1) in view of Liao et al. (WO 2021088165 A1) and Lo et al. (IDS Reference US 20180076504).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeon et al. further discloses an antenna device comprising:
a first WIFI antenna, a Bluetooth antenna, a second WIFI antenna, and a substrate, wherein the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna are all disposed on the substrate, the Bluetooth antenna is disposed between the first WIFI antenna and the second WIFI antenna, conductor portions are disposed between the Bluetooth antenna and the first WIFI antenna, and between the Bluetooth antenna and the second WIFI antenna, respectively, and the conductor portions are grounded (Antenna device 100/200 comprises antennas 103 which serve as WIFI antennas and an antenna 102 between them which serves as a Bluetooth antenna and portions of conductor layer 111 are disposed between the antennas wherein said portions are grounded and antennas 103 and 102 may be disposed on a substrate in the form of printed circuit board 101 comprising the conductor layer 111 ; Paragraphs 45-56 and figure 5 of Jeon et al.);
the substrate is further provided with a plurality of grounding structures arranged in parallel on a straight line (Slots 217 and lines 341 serve as grounding structures wherein slots serve to improve coupling between antennas and suppress noise and lines 341 can also couple to the ground 111 either indirectly or directly when part of a loop circuit to also improve coupling between antennas and slots 217 and lines 341 are arranged in parallel on a straight line as seen in figure 6 ; Paragraph 59-64 and figure 5-6 of Jeon et al.).
Jeon et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the Bluetooth antenna is a slot antenna, first WIFI antenna or the second WIFI antenna is a PIFA antenna, each of the conductor portions is a convex metal step, and the plurality of grounding structures comprise conductive foam electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna.
However, Liao et al. does disclose wherein the Bluetooth antenna is a slot antenna, first WIFI antenna or the second WIFI antenna is a PIFA antenna (Device comprises a module 100 upon which comprise three antennas 302, 303, and 1111 are disposed wherein the first antenna 302 is a WIFI antenna that can be a PIFA antenna and the second antenna Bluetooth antenna that can be an slot antenna wherein the third antenna can also be designed similarly to serve as any time of antenna including a PIFA since all the antennas can be any type including slot/PIFA as well as working in multiple bands like Bluetooth/WIFI; Pg. 6-12 and figures 1-6).
Lo et al. further discloses each of the conductor portions is a convex metal step, and the plurality of grounding structures comprise conductive foam electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna (WIFI antennas 113/114 and Bluetooth antenna 115 are connected by the sidewalls of the top housing which are grounded by grounding structure 149C wherein sidewalls protrude from the top housing plate and this serve as convex metal steps, there form and dimensions can be based form of device wanted, and ground plane 149c is used as a grounding structure that ensures a ground connection with the sidewalls of the top housing and specifically uses a metallic foam to electrically connect to the top walls and in turn to the slot antenna structures of which the walls help form wherein the foam would serve as part of the grounding structures; Paragraph 76-80 and figure 2a-2c of Lo et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Jeon et al. to have the Bluetooth antenna be a slot antenna, first WIFI antenna or the second WIFI antenna be a PIFA antenna as taught by Liao et al. since the type of antenna used affects radiation characteristics and a pattern. It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Jeon et al. and Liao et al. to have each of the conductor portions be a convex metal step, and the plurality of grounding structures comprise conductive foam electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna as taught by Lo et al. to provide a good ground connection that ensures electromagnetic sealing for the antenna structure (Paragraph 80 of Lo et al.) and since the structure of the ground plane affects the radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 6, Jeon et al. further discloses wherein the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna are provided at a same side edge of the substrate (Antennas 103 and 102 are disposed on the same side edge of the substate as seen in figure 1 and 5 of Jeon et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Jeon et al. further discloses the plurality of grounding structures are disposed opposite and electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna, each of the plurality of grounding structures is grounded (Slots 217 and lines 341 serve as grounding structures wherein slots serve to improve coupling between antennas and suppress noise and lines 341 can also couple to the ground 111 either indirectly or directly when part of a loop circuit to also improve coupling between antennas; Paragraph 59-64 and figure 5-6 of Jeon et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Jeon et al. further discloses a smart television comprising an antenna device (Electronic device in the form of TV 600 may include the antenna device 100/200; Paragraph 87-89 and figure 12-13 of Jeon et al.), wherein the antenna device comprises:
a first WIFI antenna, a Bluetooth antenna, a second WIFI antenna, and a substrate, wherein the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna are all disposed on the substrate, the Bluetooth antenna is disposed between the first WIFI antenna and the second WIFI antenna, conductor portions are disposed between the Bluetooth antenna and the first WIFI antenna, and between the Bluetooth antenna and the second WIFI antenna, respectively, and the conductor portions are grounded (Antenna device 100/200 comprises antennas 103 which serve as WIFI antennas and an antenna 102 between them which serves as a Bluetooth antenna and portions of conductor layer 111 are disposed between the antennas wherein said portions are grounded and antennas 103 and 102 may be disposed on a substrate in the form of printed circuit board 101 comprising the conductor layer 111 ; Paragraphs 45-56 and figure 5 of Jeon et al.);
the substrate is further provided with a plurality of grounding structures arranged in parallel on a straight line (Slots 217 and lines 341 serve as grounding structures wherein slots serve to improve coupling between antennas and suppress noise and lines 341 can also couple to the ground 111 either indirectly or directly when part of a loop circuit to also improve coupling between antennas and slots 217 and lines 341 are arranged in parallel on a straight line as seen in figure 6 ; Paragraph 59-64 and figure 5-6 of Jeon et al.).
Jeon et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the Bluetooth antenna is a slot antenna, first WIFI antenna or the second WIFI antenna is a PIFA antenna, each of the conductor portions is a convex metal step, and the plurality of grounding structures comprise conductive foam electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna.
However, Liao et al. does disclose wherein the Bluetooth antenna is a slot antenna, first WIFI antenna or the second WIFI antenna is a PIFA antenna (Device comprises a module 100 upon which comprise three antennas 302, 303, and 1111 are disposed wherein the first antenna 302 is a WIFI antenna that can be a PIFA antenna and the second antenna Bluetooth antenna that can be an slot antenna wherein the third antenna can also be designed similarly to serve as any time of antenna including a PIFA since all the antennas can be any type including slot/PIFA as well as working in multiple bands like Bluetooth/WIFI; Pg. 6-12 and figures 1-6).
Lo et al. further discloses each of the conductor portions is a convex metal step, and the plurality of grounding structures comprise conductive foam electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna (WIFI antennas 113/114 and Bluetooth antenna 115 are connected by the sidewalls of the top housing which are grounded by grounding structure 149C wherein sidewalls protrude from the top housing plate and this serve as convex metal steps, there form and dimensions can be based form of device wanted, and ground plane 149c is used as a grounding structure that ensures a ground connection with the sidewalls of the top housing and specifically uses a metallic foam to electrically connect to the top walls and in turn to the slot antenna structures of which the walls help form wherein the foam would serve as part of the grounding structures; Paragraph 76-80 and figure 2a-2c of Lo et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Jeon et al. to have the Bluetooth antenna be a slot antenna, first WIFI antenna or the second WIFI antenna be a PIFA antenna as taught by Liao et al. since the type of antenna used affects radiation characteristics and a pattern. It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Jeon et al. and Liao et al. to have each of the conductor portions be a convex metal step, and the plurality of grounding structures comprise conductive foam electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna as taught by Lo et al. to provide a good ground connection that ensures electromagnetic sealing for the antenna structure (Paragraph 80 of Lo et al.) and since the structure of the ground plane affects the radiation characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 17, Jeon et al. further discloses wherein the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna are provided at a same side edge of the substrate (Antennas 103 and 102 are disposed on the same side edge of the substate as seen in figure 1 and 5 of Jeon et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Jeon et al. further discloses a Bluetooth signal source, wherein the WIFI signal source and the Bluetooth signal source are both provided on the substrate, the WIFI signal source is electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna and the second WIFI antenna, and the Bluetooth signal source is electrically connected to the Bluetooth antenna (First feed line 121 connects to Bluetooth antenna 102 and to a Bluetooth signal source in RIFC chip 115 and second feed lines 131 connect to the WIFI antennas 103 and serve to a WIFI signal source in RFIC chip ; Paragraph 46-49 of Jeon et al.).
Regarding Claim 19, Jeon et al. further discloses the plurality of grounding structures are disposed opposite and electrically connected to the first WIFI antenna, the Bluetooth antenna, and the second WIFI antenna, each of the plurality of grounding structures is grounded (Slots 217 and lines 341 serve as grounding structures wherein slots serve to improve coupling between antennas and suppress noise and lines 341 can also couple to the ground 111 either indirectly or directly when part of a loop circuit to also improve coupling between antennas; Paragraph 59-64 and figure 5-6 of Jeon et al.).
Response to Arguments
“Lo concerns the integration of slot antennas with a metal housing and mentions the role of metal foam in establishing electrical connection between the housing and the circuit board. However, Lo's purpose is to maintain antenna radiation performance under a shielding environment of a metal housing. The foam in Lo merely functions as a connection element between the metal housing and the ground plane, and is not defined as grounding structures arranged in parallel on the substrate. Further, Lo does not involve PIFA antennas and does not disclose convex metal steps as grounding conductor portions. Even when considered in combination with Jeon, Lo fails to yield the claimed technical solution.”
Applicant's arguments filed September 8th 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that “The foam in Lo merely functions as a connection element between the metal housing and the ground plane, and is not defined as grounding structures arranged in parallel on the substrate. Further, Lo does not involve PIFA antennas and does not disclose convex metal steps as grounding conductor portions. Even when considered in combination with Jeon, Lo fails to yield the claimed technical solution.”.
In regards to the applicants arguments the examiner notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “The foam …. is not defined as grounding structures arranged in parallel on the substrate”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claims as presented recite “a grounding structure arranged in parallel on a straight line” and “the grounding structure comprises a conductive foam electrically connecting to the first WIFI antenna….”. This merely requires the foam to be a part of a parallel ground structure and is not the same as stating that the parallel ground structure is a metallic foam arranged in parallel on the substrate. The main reference Juan already discloses a “grounding structure arranged in parallel on the substrate” and Lo et al. is merely relied upon to teach a grounding structure that comprises conductive foam connecting to the antenna elements. However, In this case we can see that Lo et al. teaches grounding structures like 149a-b and 149c that are parallel and a metallic foam that connects these grounds 149a-c with walls of the top cover arranged over and parallel to the grounds. In this case the metallic foam inherently serves as part of the ground structure since it would help ground the antennas and would also be in a parallel arraignment matching the grounds and cavities. Finally the examiner notes that the applicants own specifications (Paragraph 29) discloses a similar functionality wherein the conductive foam actually connects to a ground plate underneath the substrate similar to how it is done in Lo showing that a conductive foam connecting to a ground plate can serve as a part of a grounding structure.
Therefore Lo et al. does teach the claimed subject matter as disclosed in the rejection for claim 1 above.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
CN 212543912 U (CHEN, XIAO-PING et al.) discloses an antenna for a smart TV comprising multiple WIFI antennas and a Bluetooth antenna.
CN 111585043 A (ZHOU, XU et al.) discloses an antenna system comprising two WIFI antennas and Bluetooth antennas.
US 20120235635 A1 (Sato; Koichi) discloses an electronic device comprising two WIFI antennas and a Bluetooth antenna between them.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845