Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In the specification, paragraphs [00018], [000228], [000259], and [000265], it is suggested to recite instances of “106/mL” as 106 cells/mL”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Figure 1A should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first port of the recirculation loop and a second port of the recirculation loop” (claim 1); “a lumen having a porous surface capable of preventing the passage of whole cells but allowing volumes of conditioned cell culture medium to pass and to exit the perfusion system into a permeate receptacle” (claim 1), “a controller capable of automatically switching the low-shear pump system to direct the flow of the conditioned medium containing cells through the recirculation loop in the first direction, and after a predetermined period, automatically switching the low-shear pump system to direct the flow of the conditioned medium containing cells to the second direction, and vice versa, wherein the first and the second directions are periodically exchanged and the conditioned medium containing cells synchronously enters the recirculation loop from the bioreactor through the second port instead of the first port and the retentate returns to the bioreactor through the first port instead of the second port, and vice versa” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is suggested to recite “106/mL” as 106 cells/mL”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation "the passage" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, the term “low-shear” line 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-shear” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bransby et al. (US 20190276790 A1; cited in the IDS filed 01/14/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Bransby teaches an automated tangential flow filtration (TFE) perfusion bioreactor (abstract and Figs. 1-4 teaches tangential flow filters, i.e. tangential flow filtering system 14; paragraphs [0026]-[0028] teaches the system includes a flow controller to control the flow of the system, therefore the TFF is automated), comprising:
(a) a bioreactor (Fig. 3, bioreactor 11) configured for culturing eukaryotic cells (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 3 and [0038] teaches the bioreactor 11 is for culturing cells, therefore the bioreactor is structurally capable of culturing eukaryotic cells; note that “eukaryotic cells” are not positively recited structurally), the bioreactor having an inlet (Fig. 3, interpreted as the top left inlet of bioreactor 11 coupled to line 20) for receiving volumes of fresh cell culture medium (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 3 and [0038] teaches a top left inlet of bioreactor 11 coupled to line 20 and fresh culture medium is added to the system; therefore, the top left inlet of bioreactor 11 coupled to line 20 is capable of receiving fresh culture medium);
(b) a perfusion system (Figs. 3-4, interpreted as comprising elements 15, 17, and 30) comprising a recirculation loop (Figs. 3-4, interpreted as the fluidic loop from elements 11a to 11b, which includes tubing 15 and 17) fluidly linked with the bioreactor (Figs. 3-4 teaches the fluidic loop from elements 11a to 11b, which includes tubing 15 and 17, are linked to bioreactor 11) through a first port of the recirculation loop (bioreactor outlet 11a) and a second port of the recirculation loop (bioreactor inlet 11b), the recirculation loop comprising, between the first port and the second port, a hollow fiber filter (Figs. 1-4, teaches hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30, which is fluidically between ports 11a,11b) comprising a lumen (Fig. 1B and [0069], lumen 60a) having a porous surface (Figs. 1-2 and [0008] teaches a porous wall 70) capable of preventing the passage of whole cells but allowing volumes of conditioned cell culture medium to pass and to exit the perfusion system into a permeate receptacle (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 and [0067] teaches the porous wall 70 preventing passage of large particles 74 but allowing for volumes of conditioned cell medium, i.e. element 72a, to pass and exit the system into a permeate chamber 61; [0068] teaches the TFF have pore sizes that exclude large particles includes cells while allowing small particles to pass; [0035] teaches the average pore size of 2um; [0090] teaches cell culture medium as permeate fluid is removed while cells are retained; therefore, the porous surface with an average pore size such as 2um is capable of preventing passage of whole cells while allowing the medium to pass as claimed), wherein volumes of conditioned medium containing cells from the bioreactor can enter through the first port into the recirculation loop, and flow tangentially in relation to the porous surface, and a retentate can flow out from the recirculation loop through the second port back into the bioreactor (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-4 and [0090],[0092] teach cells in cell culture medium from bioreactor 11 enters outlet 11a and into tubing 15, and flow tangentially in relation to wall 70 of the hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30, and allowing for a retentate 16 to flow out of the loop and through the inlet 11b into the reactor 11);
(c) a low-shear pump system (Figs. 3-4 and [0094], low shear pump 26) comprising at least one pump head (Fig. 4a, pump head 26a) that directs the flow of the conditioned medium containing cells through the recirculation loop in a first direction across the porous surface of the hollow fiber filter (Figs. 1-4 and [0096] teaches the pump circulates the bioreactor fluid 12 in a first direction, i.e. from 11a to 11b, across wall 70 of the hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30) and, interchangeably, in a second direction, opposite the first direction ([0061] teaches the fluid flow from the pump can alternate the direction of flow, therefore is capable of interchangeably directing flow in a second direction opposite the first direction); and
(d) a controller (Figs. 3-4, control system 20) capable of automatically switching the low-shear pump system to direct the flow of the conditioned medium containing cells through the recirculation loop in the first direction ([0096] teaches the pump is controlled by the control system to circulate the biological fluid through the hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30 and back to the bioreactor 11; [0061] fluid flow from the pump can cyclically alternate the direction of flow; therefore the control system is capable of automatically switching the pump to direct the flow as claimed), and after a predetermined period, automatically switching the low-shear pump system to direct the flow of the conditioned medium containing cells to the second direction, and vice versa ([0061] teaches the fluid flow from the pump can cyclically alternate the direction of flow, therefore, the controller is capable of automatically switching the pump to direct flow in an opposite direction after a predetermined period as claimed), wherein the first and the second directions are periodically exchanged ([0061] teaches the fluid flow from the pump can cyclically alternate the direction of flow, i.e. periodically exchanged) and the conditioned medium containing cells synchronously enters the recirculation loop from the bioreactor through the second port instead of the first port and the retentate returns to the bioreactor through the first port instead of the second port, and vice versa ([0061] teaches the fluid flow from the pump can cyclically alternate the direction of flow, therefore, the controller is capable of directing the flow such that the conditioned medium containing cells synchronously enters the recirculation loop, i.e. tubing 15,17, from bioreactor 11 through port 11b instead of port 11a, and the retentate returns to the bioreactor 11 through port 11a instead of port 11b, and vice versa, due to the cyclically alternation of the direction of flow the fluidic system); wherein the TEE perfusion bioreactor is configured to operate over a production cultivation period of 13-90 days at a viable cell density of about 60-300 x 10^6/mL (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 6 shows the system operates between 13-90 days, i.e. 13-17 days, at a viability cell density of 60-300 x 10^6/mL, i.e. 120-180), and wherein sieving is improved when compared to an equivalently-scaled non-switching system (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; [0038] teaches a rate of sieving of the bioproduct of interest may be at least 99%, which is interpreted as an improvement as claimed; additionally, Bransby’s bioreactor is identical to the claimed bioreactor and therefore, would have the intended use of “sieving is improved…” as claimed. See MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Note that “eukaryotic cells”, “fresh cell culture medium”, “whole cells”, “conditioned cell culture medium”, and “retenate” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article “eukaryotic cells”, “fresh cell culture medium”, “whole cells”, “conditioned cell culture medium”, and “retenate”) worked upon by a structure (TFF perfusion bioreactor) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation and intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional recitation and intended uses, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Bransby is identical to the presently claimed structures. Bransby discloses the claimed bioreactor, perfusion system, low-shear pump, and controller as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functional limitations and uses recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 2, Bransby further teaches wherein the low shear pump system comprises one or more centrifugal pumps ([0094] teaches the pump includes a PURALEV 200SU low shear re-circulation pump that includes a magnetically levitated rotor inside, e.g. centrifugal pump; [0039] “centrifugal levitating magnetic pump”).
Regarding claim 4, Bransby further teaches wherein the perfusion bioreactor is configured for culturing mammalian cells, insect cells, algal cells, or yeast cells (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 3 and [0038] teaches the bioreactor 11 is for culturing cells, therefore the bioreactor is structurally capable of culturing mammalian cells, insect cells, algal cells, or yeast cells; note that “mammalian cells, insect cells, algal cells, or yeast cells” are not positively recited structurally).
Note that “mammalian cells, insect cells, algal cells, or yeast cells” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article “mammalian cells, insect cells, algal cells, or yeast cells”) worked upon by a structure (TFF perfusion bioreactor) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 5, Bransby further teaches wherein the perfusion bioreactor is configured for culturing mammalian cells (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 3 and [0038] teaches the bioreactor 11 is for culturing cells, therefore the bioreactor is structurally capable of culturing mammalian cells, insect cells, algal cells, or yeast cells; note that “mammalian cells” are not positively recited structurally).
Note that “mammalian cells” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article “mammalian cells”) worked upon by a structure (TFF perfusion bioreactor) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 6, Bransby further teaches wherein the TFF perfusion bioreactor is configured to operate over a production cultivation period of 20- 60 days (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0063]-[0065] teaches bioprocessing operations may extend into weeks or months of operation, where the instant disclosure is able to operate for extended periods; therefore, Bransby’s TFF perfusion bioreactor is capable of operating for over a production cultivation period of 20- 60 days).
Note that a functional recitation and intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional recitation and intended uses, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Bransby is identical to the presently claimed structures. Bransby discloses the claimed bioreactor, perfusion system, low-shear pump, and controller as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functional limitations and uses (i.e. operate over a production cultivation period of 20- 60 days) recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 7, Bransby further teaches wherein the TFF perfusion bioreactor is configured to operate at a viable cell density of about 100-150 x 10^6/mL (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 6 shows the system operates at a viability cell density of 100-150 x 10^6/mL, i.e. 120-180).
Regarding claim 8, Bransby further teaches wherein the bioreactor is configured for single-use (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 3, the bioreactor 11 is structurally capable of being single-use; [0062] teaches bioprocessing systems have been disposable or single-use).
Regarding claim 9, Bransby further teaches wherein the recirculation loop is configured for single-use (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 3-4, the fluidic loop from elements 11a to 11b, which includes tubing 15 and 17, is structurally capable of being single-use; [0062] teaches bioprocessing systems have been disposable or single-use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bransby as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2015015807 A1; cited in the IDS filed 01/14/2024).
Regarding claim 3, Bransby fails to explicitly teach: wherein the controller is configured to automatically switch the direction of flow through the low-shear pump system after the predetermined period of about 20 minutes to about 24 hours.
Bransby teaches cyclically alternating the direction of flow ([0061]).
Zhou teaches a perfusion bioreactor for continuous cell culture ([0002]). Zhou teaches the bioreactor includes a tangential flow filtration ([0006]) and a method including: (b) flowing cell culture from the reservoir through the TFF unit in a first flow direction for a first period of time, (c) reversing the first flow direction and flowing the cell culture through the TFF unit in a second flow direction for a second period of time, (d) reversing the second flow direction and flowing the culture through the TFF unit in the first flow direction for a third period of time, (e) repeating steps (c)-(d) at least two times, and (f) collecting the filtrate ([0006]). Zhou teaches flowing a cell culture through the TFF unit for a first period of time T1, reversing the flow direction, and flowing the cell culture through the TFF for a second period of time T2 ([0135]; Fig. 9). Zhou teaches a first period of time for flowing the cell culture in a first direction is between 30 seconds and 60 minutes ([0134]). Zhou teaches providing reversible tangential fluid flow provides for increased viable cell density, increased percentage viable cells, increased specific and/or volumetric productivity, increased specific glucose consumption, and decreased filter fouling ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Bransby to incorporate Bransby’s teachings of cyclically alternating the direction of flow ([0061]) and Zhou’s teachings of a perfusion reactor with a TFF unit and providing two directions of flow for a period of time and reversing the flow after a range of 30 seconds to 60 minutes ([0006],[0134]-[0135]) to provide: wherein the controller is configured to automatically switch the direction of flow through the low-shear pump system after the predetermined period of about 20 minutes to about 24 hours. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing the cyclic timing of filtration and therefore providing for increased viable cell density, increased percentage viable cells, increased specific and/or volumetric productivity, increased specific glucose consumption, and decreased filter fouling (Zhou, [0005],[0006],[0134]-[0135]).
Additionally, since Zhou teaches a time period of 30 seconds to 60 minutes, which overlaps with the claimed range of 20 minutes to about 24 hours, i.e. 20-60 minutes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bransby to provide wherein the controller is configured to automatically switch the direction of flow through the low-shear pump system after the predetermined period of about 20 minutes to about 24 hours. I.e., it would have been prima facia obvious to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 20-60 minutes) from the taught range of 30 seconds to 60 minutes (Zhou, [0134]) (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carroll et al. (US 20210047605 A1) teaches hollow fiber tangential flow filters (abstract) and fluid in a single direction or may cyclically alternate the direction of flow ([0026]).
Bhargav et al. (US 20210261900 A1) teaches a system including a bioreactor and TFF (abstract). Bhargav teaches the reverse of the feed fluid or the permeate fluid or the nutrient fluid through the tangential flow filter creates a turbulence, thereby reducing clogging of the tangential flow filter ([0070]).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758