DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 10/11/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been obviated by amendments to the claims. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 10/11/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been obviated by amendments to the claims. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 10/11/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Turner’s relied-on disclosure does not establish the particular stored-sample comparison and correlation-based scoring operation recited in claim 23. The Applicant argues that identifying whether movement has occurred at predetermined classes of joints does not constitute a disclosure of comparing current joint parameters with stored samples representing undesired release patterns of a joint and scoring their correlation. The Applicant argues that these features are completely absent from Turner. The Applicant points to Pars. [0032-0034] of Turner and argues that this disclosure of Turner also doesn’t teach the indicated limitations. The Applicant argues that although Turner addresses uncontrolled movement of a master controller, the Office Action has not identified a disclosure of the complete combination requiring stored samples indicative of undesired release patterns of a joint, scoring of assessed joint parameters based on correlation with those samples; and determination of undesired release based on that comparison, followed by joint locking.
This is not found persuasive. The Examiner maintains that Turner does teach every feature of claim 23. The Examiner relies on Figs. 5-6 and Pars. [0027-0029] of Turner to teach all of the limitations of instant claim 23. Specifically, regarding the limitation “comparing the assessed joint parameters to a set of stored samples, the stored samples being indicative of undesired release patterns of the joint; wherein said comparing comprises scoring said assessed joint parameters based on their correlation to said stored samples”, the Examiner maintains that Fig. 6 and Par. [0029] of Turner teaches this limitation. Turner teaches that “some joints of a master control can be identified as gravity joints and some joints of a master control can be classified as non-gravity joints” (Par. [0029]). Turner also teaches “If movement occurs on at least one non-gravity joint, decision block 620 determines that the movement is not uncontrolled, and a block 630 continues the current operation of the medical system, e.g., drives a slave device to follow the movement of the master control” (Par. [0029]). Turner further teaches “If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master.” The Examiner maintains that the stored classification of non-gravity joints and gravity joints may be considered stored samples. For instance, the classification of non-gravity joints and gravity joints corresponds to stored samples that help identify whether or not the movement is considered as controlled or uncontrolled. Further, the indication of movement on one or more gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints is representative of multiple stored samples, while the indication of movement on at least one non-gravity joint is also representative of multiple stored samples. Regarding the Applicant’s arguments towards the “scoring” limitation, the Examiner maintains that under broadest reasonable interpretation, the determination/identification of movement of respective joints does anticipate scoring. Scoring does not have to be numerical and can instead be a descriptive category such as “pass/fail” or “yes/no”, as it is in Turner. With regards to the limitation “based on said comparing, determining undesired release and entering a pause mode in which said at least one joint locks to prevent relative movement of said rigid segments”, the Examiner maintains that Turner’s Fig. 6 (# 640) and Par. [0029] teaches this limitation. Again, Turner teaches “If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master”. The Examiner interprets Turner’s teaching of determining the movement is uncontrolled and shifting the medical system to a locked mode to anticipate this limitation. Therefore, the prior art rejections are maintained. Please see prior art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-27, 34-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Turner (WO2016/025440 – cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 23, Turner teaches (Fig. 6, # 600) a method of determining undesired release of an input arm which controls movement of a surgical mechanical arm (Pars. [0028-0029] – Fig. 6 is a flow diagram of a process 600 that detects uncontrolled movement of a component of a robotic medical system), (Fig. 5, # 500 – master control, i.e. input arm, 510/520/530/540 – i.e. rigid segments) the input arm comprising a plurality of rigid segments coupled to each other by joints (Par. [0027] – Fig. 5 schematically illustrates one implementation of a master control 500 having multiple joints that permit manipulation of the location, orientation, and grip angle of a control tip 510), the method comprising:
- (Fig. 6, # 610) assessing one or more parameters of at least one joint of the input arm (Par. [0028] – Process 600 begins with execution of a block 610 that measures movement of a manually operated component of a robotic medical system. The manually operated component generally has multiple degrees of freedom of motion, and in one implementation that manually operated component is a master control such as master control 500 of Fig. 5. Movement measurement 610 generally includes detection or measurement of coordinates or changes in multiple degrees of freedom of the component, e.g., measurement of current rotation angles for multiple joints of a master control);
- (Fig. 6, # 620) comparing the assessed joint parameters to a set of stored samples, the stored samples being indicative of undesired release patterns of the joint; wherein said comparing comprises scoring said assessed joint parameters based on their correlation to said stored samples (Par. [0029] – If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master.; the stored classification of non-gravity joints and gravity joints may be considered stored samples, and the scoring may be compared with identified movement of the respective joints);
- (Fig. 6, # 640) based on said comparing, determining undesired release and entering a pause mode in which said at least one joint locks to prevent relative movement of said rigid segments (Par. [0029] – If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master.).
Therefore, claim 23 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 24, Turner teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein said one or more parameters include: a position of the joint, a velocity of movement of the joint, acceleration of the joint (Par. [0028] – Movement measurement 610 generally includes detection or measurement of coordinates or changes in multiple degrees of freedom of the component, e.g., measurement of current rotation angles for multiple joints of a master control; Par. [0030] – More generally, definitive input can be logically or mathematically identified by a control system through evaluation of relationships for or among the positions, orientations, velocities, or accelerations of degrees of freedom of a master control, particularly for relationships that are indicative of input from the user's hand.).
Therefore, claim 24 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 25, Turner teaches the method according to claim 23, comprising assessing and comparing said one or more parameters for all input arm joints (Par. [0028] – Movement measurement 610 generally includes detection or measurement of coordinates or changes in multiple degrees of freedom of the component, e.g., measurement of current rotation angles for multiple joints of a master control; Par. [0029] – decision block 620 may determine that movement is uncontrolled if movement occurs on specific gravity joints or degrees of freedom and no movement occurs on non-gravity joints; subsets of “gravity” and “non-gravity” input joints combine to include all input joints).
Therefore, claim 25 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 26, Turner teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein (Fig. 5, # 551, 552, 553, 554 – sensors, i.e. encoders; Fig. 6, # 610) said assessing comprises receiving position data from at least one encoder of said at least one joint (Par. [0027] – sensors 551, 552, 553, 554 measuring rotations; Par. [0028] – Movement measurement 610 generally includes detection or measurement of coordinates or changes in multiple degrees of freedom of the component, e.g., measurement of current rotation angles for multiple joints of a master control.).
Therefore, claim 26 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 27, Turner teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein (Fig. 6, # 640) said determining is finalized within a time period shorter than a time delay between control signals generated by said input arm and actual movement of said surgical mechanical arm (Par. [0029] – If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master.; Turner necessarily teaches this limitation. In order to prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master, the determining must be finalized within a time period shorter than a time delay between control signals generated by said input arm and actual movement of said surgical mechanical arm).
Therefore, claim 27 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 34, Turner teaches the method according to Claim 23, wherein (Fig. 6, # 640) locking of the joints prevents corresponding movement of the surgical arm controlled by the input arm (Par. [0029] – If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master.).
Therefore, claim 34 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 35, Turner teaches the method according to Claim 23, wherein (Fig. 5, # 510, 550) one of said joint parameters is an indication that the input arm is in contact with the user's hand (Par. [0027] – Control tip 510 includes a grip angle sensor 550. For example, a user may insert fingers into loops movably mounted on control tip 510, and sensor 550 can measure a separation 514 between the finger loops.; Par. [0031] – More generally, definitive input can be logically or mathematically identified by a control system through evaluation of relationships for or among the positions, orientations, velocities, or accelerations of degrees of freedom of a master control, particularly for relationships that are indicative of input from the user's hand.).
Therefore, claim 35 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 36, Turner teaches the method according to Claim 23, wherein (Fig. 6, # 620) the method is used for detecting a drop of the input arm as a result of undesired release thereof (Par. [0003] – However, after a physician has taken a medical system out of the locked mode, the physician might release a master control while remaining in position to use the medical instrument. Releasing the master control under such circumstances may create the risk of the master control moving without physician input, resulting in uncontrolled motion of the medical instrument; Par. [0029] – If movement occurs on one or more of the gravity joints but none of the non-gravity joints, block 620 may consider the movement to be uncontrolled, and a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master.).
Therefore, claim 36 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 37, Turner teaches the method according to Claim 23, wherein (Fig. 6, # 640) the locking of the joints is sufficient for supporting a weight of at least one segment of the input arm connected to that joint (Par. [0004] – When autonomous movement is detected, the medical system may be placed in a locked mode in which movement of the master control is decoupled from movement of an instrument or in which one or more axes of the master control are locked in their current positions [i.e., supporting weight of segment of input arm connected to that joint]; Par. [0029] – a block 640 can change the operating mode of the medical system, e.g., to shift the medical system to a locked mode or otherwise prevent movement of the master or prevent movement of the slave in response to the movement of the master).
Therefore, claim 37 is unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 40, Turner teaches the method according to Claim 23, wherein the method further includes a step of exiting said pause mode (Par. [0003] – In particular, the system may default to the locked mode unless sensors detect that a physician is in the proper position for use of the system including, for example, being in position to view any movement of an end effector of the medical instrument.).
Therefore, claim 40 is unpatentable over Turner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (WO2016/025440 – cited on IDS) in view of Whitney, et al. (US 2015/0185837).
Regarding claim 28, Turner teaches the method according to claim 23, as indicated hereinabove. Turner does not explicitly teach the limitation of instant claim 28, that is wherein said comparing comprises implementing a time warping algorithm to which said assessed one or more parameters are inputted.
Whitney teaches a gesture-based walking and control system for wearable devices (Title, Abstract). Whitney also teaches the limitation of instant claim 28, that is wherein said comparing comprises implementing a time warping algorithm to which said assessed one or more parameters are inputted (Par. [0035] – The touch sensor data, a touch intensity map, centroid coordinates, and direction of the centroid's movement can be utilized to train the sensor processor logic with a gesture recognition system (e.g., Finite State Machine (FSM), Hidden Markov Model (HMM), Dynamic Time Warping (DTW), etc.). In one embodiment, the sensor processing logic is trained to detect a pattern of sensor data that corresponds with an intentional user gesture, and disregards random, unintentional input that may be detected by the sensors. This allows the sensor logic to determine if an actual gesture occurred, or if the sensor input data pattern is a false positive.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented Whitney’s time warping algorithm for distinguishing between intentional and unintentional user gestures into Turner’s method of comparing movement/location parameters of a joint for determining undesired release of an input arm, because doing so would be an example of using a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way. One of ordinary skill in the art would have desired implementing such a gesture recognition system such as Dynamic Time Warping in order to allow for determining if an actual gesture or unintentional gesture occurred in order to avoid incurring false positives (Par. [0035] of Whitney).
Therefore, claim 28 is unpatentable over Turner and Whitney, et al.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (WO2016/025440 – cited on IDS) in view of DiMaio, et al. (US 2021/0338354).
Regarding claim 29, Turner teaches the method according to claim 23, as indicated hereinabove. Turner also teaches the limitation of instant claim 29, that is wherein said scoring takes into account acceleration (Par. [0031] – definitive input can be logically or mathematically identified by a control system through evaluation of relationships for or among the positions, orientations, velocities, or accelerations of degrees of freedom of a master control, particularly for relationships that are indicative of input from the user's hand.). Turner does not explicitly teach the limitation of instant claim 29, that is wherein said input arm comprises at least one inertial measurement unit embedded within said input arm or mounted on it, and wherein the acceleration is measured by said inertial measurement unit.
DiMaio, directed to analogous art, teaches systems and methods for controlling a robotic manipulator or associated tool (Title, Abstract). DiMaio teaches the limitation of instant claim 29, that is wherein (Fig. 7, # 702, 704) said input arm comprises at least one inertial measurement unit embedded within said input arm or mounted on it, and wherein the acceleration is measured by said inertial measurement unit (Par. [0055] – In the example of FIG. 7, the operator input system 700 may include a local sensor system 704 located at the input device 702. The local sensor system 704 may include one or more sensors including, for example, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), an electromagnetic sensor, a hybrid sensor system incorporating two or more sensing technologies, other suitable sensor systems, and a combination thereof. In some examples, the IMU may include an accelerometer configured to measure the linear acceleration of the input device 702, and a gyroscope configured to measure the angular velocity of the input device 702. The local sensor system 704 may provide local measurement data of the input device (e.g., pose data, acceleration data, and angular velocity data of input device 702) to the control system.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the inertial measurement unit of DiMaio’s input device into Turner’s input arm, because doing so would be an example of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Turner teaches (Figs. 5 and 6) measuring movement of a manually operated component of a robotic medical system (Pars. [0027-0028]). Turner teaches (Fig. 5, # 551-554) several sensors for measuring rotation of rigid elements (Par. [0027]). Turner further teaches that definitive input can be logically or mathematically identified by a control system through evaluation of relationships for or among the positions, orientations, velocities, or accelerations of degrees of freedom of a master control, particularly for relationships that are indicative of input from the user's hand (Par. [0031]). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to implement such an inertial measurement unit of DiMaio’s input device to acquire the movement measurements that Turner is already measuring for in step 610 (Fig. 6). One of ordinary skill in the art would have desired implementing the IMU of DiMaio’s input device into Turner’s input arm in order to provide accurate motion measurement data (e.g., acceleration, angular velocity) of the input device with low latency (see Par. [0057] of DiMaio).
Therefore, claim 29 is unpatentable over Turner and DiMaio, et al.
Claims 38-39 and 41-43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (WO2016/025440 – cited on IDS) in view of Klingbeil, et al. (US 2020/0352663).
Regarding claim 38, Turner teaches the method according to Claim 23, as indicated hereinabove. Turner does not teach the limitation of instant claim 29, that is wherein said method comprises, prior to the assessing step, checking that a pause mode was not initiated by the user.
Klingbeil is directed to analogous art and teaches unmatching/matching a user interface device (UID) to a robot grasper for engaging teleoperation (Title; Abstract). Klingbeil also teaches the limitation of instant claim 29, that is wherein, (Figs. 5A-B, # 59) prior to the assessing step, checking that a pause mode was not initiated by the user (Par. [0021] – when seeking to re-engage teleoperation from a paused mode (also referred to as a clutched mode, where the control system had frozen the robotic grasper in response to the user actuating a pause or clutch button in the UID or the user initiating another form of pause or clutch command), the algorithm need not look for an initial unmatch and instead can allow re-engagement of teleoperation when it detects that the UID user input matches the held, jaw angle and/or grip force of the surgical robotic grasper.; Par. [0049]; Par. [0050] – Pausing the surgical robotic system could be performed by voice command, interaction with a user interface, a button on the UID, or other controls, etc., any of which in various embodiments could place the surgical robotic system into the PAUSED 59 mode. When the user is ready to resume teleoperation, it may be the case that the UID no longer matches the frozen position of the surgical robotic grasper, as the UID may have been set aside, moved, opened or closed, etc. The state diagram in FIG. 5B shows how the UID can be again matched to the surgical robotic grasper, so that teleoperation can be resumed from the PAUSED 59 mode.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented Klingbeil’s method of checking whether a pause mode was initiated by a user into Turner’s method, because doing so would be an example of using a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way. One of ordinary skill in the art would have desired being able to have a user-initiated pause mode so that the user (e.g., surgeon) can rest, observe the patient or progress of surgery, obtain additional surgery strategy or instructions, consult with other surgical personnel, etc. (see Par. [0050] of Klingbeil). One of ordinary skill in the art would have desired the algorithm to check if the user initiated a pause mode in order to prevent any kind of movement of the input device from having an impact on movement of the effector device (e.g., slave device/surgical robot arm).
Therefore, claim 38 is unpatentable over Turner and Klingbeil, et al.
Regarding claim 39, Turner, in view of Klingbeil, renders obvious the method according to Claim 38, as indicated hereinabove. Klingbeil also teaches the limitation of instant claim 39, that is (Figs. 5A-B, # 59) wherein entering a user-initiated pause mode is performed by actuating a first interface (Par. [0050] – Pausing the surgical robotic system could be performed by voice command, interaction with a user interface, a button on the UID, or other controls, etc., any of which in various embodiments could place the surgical robotic system into the PAUSED 59 mode.).
Therefore, claim 39 is unpatentable over Turner and Klingbeil, et al.
Regarding claim 41, Turner, in view of Klingbeil, renders obvious the method according to Claim 40, as indicated hereinabove. Klingbeil also teaches the limitation of instant claim 41, that is wherein (Fig. 5B, # 59) exiting said pause mode is performed by actuating an interface (Par. [0021] – the algorithm need not look for an initial unmatch and instead can allow re-engagement of teleoperation when it detects that the UID user input matches the held, jaw angle and/or grip force of the surgical robotic grasper.; Par. [0050] – The state diagram in FIG. 5B shows how the UID can be again matched to the surgical robotic grasper, so that teleoperation can be resumed from the PAUSED 59 mode. Two possibilities are expressly accounted for in the state diagram. One possibility is that the system is paused with robotic grasper force >F.sub.min (value 71), e.g., the surgical robotic grasper 30 is clamping on tissue. Another possibility is that the system is paused with robotic grasper force <F.sub.min (value 73), e.g., the robotic grasper is open and not clamping on anything.).
Therefore, claim 41 is unpatentable over Turner and Klingbeil, et al.
Regarding claim 42, Turner, in view of Klingbeil, renders obvious the method according to Claim 39, as indicated hereinabove. Klingbeil also teaches the limitation of instant claim 42, that is wherein the method further includes (Figs. 5A-B, # 59) a step of exiting said user-initiated pause mode by actuating a second interface (Par. [0021] – when seeking to re-engage teleoperation from a paused mode (also referred to as a clutched mode, where the control system had frozen the robotic grasper in response to the user actuating a pause or clutch button in the UID or the user initiating another form of pause or clutch command), the algorithm need not look for an initial unmatch and instead can allow re-engagement of teleoperation when it detects that the UID user input matches the held, jaw angle and/or grip force of the surgical robotic grasper; Par. [0050]).
Therefore, claim 42 is unpatentable over Turner and Klingbeil, et al.
Regarding claim 43, Turner, in view of Klingbeil, renders obvious the method according to Claim 42, as indicated hereinabove. Klingbeil also teaches the limitation of instant claim 43, that is wherein (Figs. 5A-B) the first interface and the second interface are different type interfaces (Par. [0021] – In contrast, when seeking to re-engage teleoperation from a paused mode (also referred to as a clutched mode, where the control system had frozen the robotic grasper in response to the user actuating a pause or clutch button in the UID or the user initiating another form of pause or clutch command), the algorithm need not look for an initial unmatch and instead can allow re-engagement of teleoperation when it detects that the UID user input matches the held, jaw angle and/or grip force of the surgical robotic grasper.; pause or clutch button, i.e. first interface; matching the held, jaw angle, and/or grip force of the surgical robotic grasper, i.e. second interface; Par. [0050]).
Therefore, claim 43 is unpatentable over Turner and Klingbeil, et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 44 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 44, the prior art of record (namely Turner) does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination wherein said method comprises calculating a respective score for each of at least two joints of said input arm independently, and integrating said respective scores using a cost function to determine whether said undesired release has occurred. Further search was conducted but no other prior art reference could be found that teaches or renders obvious the limitations of instant claim 44.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T. HOLTZCLAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796