DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 05/26/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-12, 22-28 and 45 has been considered and entered. Claims 13-21, 29-44 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12, 22-28 and 45 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, recites the limitation “the first paging DCI” in line 1” and in lines 5 and 6 Claim 27 , recites the limitation “the first paging DCI” in line 3 and line 6.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims 6 and 27, because “the first paging DCI” was not previously recited in independent claim 1 and in independent clim 22..
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1- 8, 22, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TIE; Xiaolei et al. (US 20220109965 A1)hereinafter Tie, In view of Xue eta l. (US . A1) hereinafter Xue and further in view of Tooher et al. (US 20210176710 A1 ) hereinafter Tooher
As to claim 1 Tie teaches A monitoring method, comprising: starting a first timer after a first wake-up signal (WUS) is monitored; ([0255] when the WUS monitoring occasion is covered by active time (for example, is covered by a timing period of previous drx-InactivityTimer), the timer 1 is started or restarted (timer restart) at the WUS monitoring occasion)
and
starting the second timer by default in case the first timer expires ([0255][0256] timing of the timer 1 ends (in other words, the timer 1 expires (expires))/active time ends, Once active time ends, the timer timer 2 is started (or restarted) after the active time ends i.e., started by default. )
and the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal([0168] the network device may send the WUS, to wake up the UE to monitor the PDCCH in the corresponding DRX on duration. If the UE detects the WUS, the UE is woken up. )
Tie does not teach monitoring a second WUS before the first timer expires
or not starting the second timer by default by the terminal in case the first timer expires wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer by a terminal, and Tooher teaches a duration of the second timer represents a duration for the terminal to monitor a second paging DCI,
Xue teaches [[and]] monitoring a second WUS before the first timer expires, ([0125][0175] Fig. 5, terminal device receives (or detects, or monitors) a second signal, in the running phase of the timer #1, if the terminal device receives the second signal/second wake-up, through the wake-up circuit, the terminal device wakes up the primary circuit and the timer #1 may also be stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xue with the teaching of Tie because Xue teaches that receiving by terminal device to wake up the first module to receive a second signal, would reduce signaling overheads caused by notifying and waking up the first module. (Xue [0045])
The combination of Tie and Xue does not teach wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer by a terminal, and Tooher teaches a duration of the second timer represents a duration for the terminal to monitor a second paging DCI
Tooher teaches wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer by a terminal, ,([0138] [0139][0145] Fig. 2, WTRU detects one or more WUSs/second WUS, upon reception of a WUS, may trigger a second awake timer).
and Tooher teaches a duration of the second timer represents a duration for the terminal to monitor a second paging DCI, ([0132[0155][0165] Fig. 2, a WTRU may monitor a channel, During an awake timer 2, the WTRU may detect a transmission; a WTRU may monitor a second type of PO and/or a second type of PF/paging dci) may be considered conditional, a conditional PO and/or a conditional PF may be activated and may be used by a WTRU to monitor for a transmission, such as a paging message, SI, and/or the like)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tooher with the teaching of Tie and Xue because Tooher teaches that monitoring by a wtru for paging information, and a received paging information would allow wtru to enter a DRX cycle and to reduce power consumption of the WTRU.(Tooher [0099])
As to claim 2. The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein a duration of the first timer or the duration of the second timer is pre-configured; ([0255] [0256]: The network configures a timer 1, Timer 2. )
or the duration of the first timer or the duration of the second timer is configured by a network; or
the duration of the first timer or the duration of the second timer is determined according to first interval length information and duration ratio coefficient information configured by the network, wherein the first interval length information indicates a time interval between when the first WUS is currently monitored by the terminal and when the first WUS is monitored last time by the terminal.
Claim 23 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3 The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein the first WUS is used for triggering transition of the terminal to a second state from a first state. ([0273] one bit in the DCI of the WUS is used to explicitly indicate whether to trigger the UE to send an aperiodic uplink signal; if the UE detects no WUS, the UE does not send an aperiodic uplink signal/channel, and the UE is not woken up/change state.)
Claim 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 4. The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein the first state comprises a deep sleep state, a power-off state, or a flight mode; the second state comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, an RRC inactive state, or an RRC connected state. ([0135] [0145] first state when the UE is in a sleep state, the UE is not woken up to monitor the paging PDCCH. And second state RRC connected state)
Claim 25 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 5. The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein power consumption of the terminal in the first state is lower than power consumption of the terminal in the second state. ([0135] [0145][0171] power saving message, for example, the PoSS, when the UE is in a sleep state, the UE is not woken up to monitor the paging PDCCH, uses less power and in connected state UE still monitors the PDCCH in the corresponding DRX on duration because the UE detects the WUS and that undoubtedly increases the power consumption of the UE )
Claim 26 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 6. The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein before monitoring the first paging DCI or the second WUS, the method further comprises: ([0238] Fig. 5,UE monitor a paging physical downlink control channel, the timer 1 is started or restarted (timer restart) at the WUS monitoring occasion)
obtaining configuration information; ([0247] In a first solution, in this embodiment of this application, whether the WUS is to trigger aperiodic uplink sending may be configured by the network or stipulated in a protocol.)
and determining a first resource location according to the configuration information before the first timer expires, ([0255] network configures a timer timer 1 before , the timer 1 expires, when configuring the WUS by using RRC signaling, the network device configures the uplink sending resource associated with the WUS, where the RRC signaling includes time/frequency domain configuration information (for example, and a symbol location in a slot) of the uplink sending resource,)
wherein the first resource location is used for monitoring the first paging DCI or the second WUS. ([0268][0270] , where the RRC signaling includes time/frequency domain configuration information (for example, a frequency domain start position, a symbol location in a slot) of the uplink sending resource ; WUS DCI carries scheduling information of the uplink resource that is, the scheduling information indicates time-frequency domain position information).
Claim 27 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 7 The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein the configuration information is carried in a system message, or the configuration information is configured by an RRC layer or an upper layer. ([0268]where the RRC signaling includes time/frequency domain configuration information (for example, a frequency domain start position, a frequency domain bandwidth, a quantity of time domain slots, and a symbol location in a slot) of the uplink sending resource)
Claim 28 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
As to claim 8 The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches , wherein the configuration information comprises paging configuration parameter information ([0232]Fig. 5, A quantity of paging frame PFs within the time length of one default paging cycle is denoted as N, and a quantity of PFs between two consecutive WUS monitoring occasions (where the two WUS occasions correspond to two DRX cycles) is denoted as x, a time length of one default paging cycle includes two paging frames, in other words, N=2.)
or
wake-up configuration parameter information,
wherein the paging configuration parameter information is used for configuring a paging occasion (PO);( [0232][0238] FIG. 5, a network configures that WUS DCI includes one bit indicating first indication information, if the bit is 1, it indicates that there is a short message (that is, system information changes, and/or there is a PWS notification), that is, the bit indicates that UE needs to monitor a paging physical downlink control channel,, the UE needs to immediately start monitoring a paging PDCCH on a next paging occasion (Paging occasion, PO).)
the wake-up configuration parameter information is used for configuring the first resource location. ([0258][0268] when configuring the WUS by using RRC signaling, the network device configures the uplink sending resource associated with the WUS, where the RRC signaling includes time/frequency domain configuration information (for example, a frequency domain start position, a frequency domain bandwidth, a quantity of time domain slots, and a symbol location in a slot) of the uplink sending resource, a time offset (offset) from the WUS, and the like).
As to claim 22. Tie teaches A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory storing at least one program, and a communication interface, wherein the at least one program are operable with the processor to monitoring apparatus, comprising: a communication unit; and a processing unit configured to: ([0324] [0327]Fig. 9, a communication unit, includes processor coupled to a memory storing program instructions, having a transmitter/transceiver, )
start a first timer, after a first wake-up signal (WUS) is monitored with the communication unit; ([0255] [0327]Fig. 9, when the WUS monitoring occasion is covered by active time (for example, is covered by a timing period of previous drx-InactivityTimer), the timer 1 is started or restarted (timer restart) at the WUS monitoring occasion, monitored with transceiver)
and start the second timer by default in case the first timer expires ([0255][0256] timing of the timer 1 ends (in other words, the timer 1 expires (expires))/active time ends, Once active time ends, the timer timer 2 is started (or restarted) after the active time ends i.e., started by default. )
the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal([0168] the network device may send the WUS, to wake up the UE to monitor the PDCCH in the corresponding DRX on duration. If the UE detects the WUS, the UE is woken up. )
Tie does not teach monitor a second WUS with the communication unit before the first timer expires, wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer,
and a duration of the second timer represents a duration of monitoring a second paging DCI, and start the second timer by default in case the first timer expires and the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal, or not start the second timer by default by the terminal in case the first timer expires and the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal.
Xue teaches and monitor a second WUS with the communication unit before the first timer expires ([0125][0175] Fig. 5, terminal device receives (or detects, or monitors) a second signal, in the running phase of the timer #1, if the terminal device receives the second signal/second wake-up, through the wake-up circuit, the terminal device wakes up the primary circuit and the timer #1 may also be stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xue with the teaching of Tie because Xue teaches that receiving by terminal device to wake up the first module to receive a second signal, would reduce signaling overheads caused by notifying and waking up the first module. (Xue [0045])
The combination of Tie, Xue does not teach wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer, and a duration of the second timer represents a duration of monitoring a second paging DCI,
Tooher teaches wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer, 0138] [0139][0145] Fig. 2, WTRU detects one or more WUSs/second WUS, upon reception of a WUS, may trigger a second awake timer).
a duration of the second timer represents a duration of monitoring a second paging DCI,, ([0132[0155][0165] Fig. 2, a WTRU may monitor a channel, During an awake timer 2, the WTRU may detect a transmission; a WTRU may monitor a second type of PO and/or a second type of PF/paging dci) may be considered conditional, a conditional PO and/or a conditional PF may be activated and may be used by a WTRU to monitor for a transmission, such as a paging message, SI, and/or the like)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tooher with the teaching of Tie and Xue because Tooher teaches that monitoring by a wtru for paging information, and a received paging information would allow wtru to enter a DRX cycle and to reduce power consumption of the WTRU.(Tooher [0099])
Claim(s)9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
TIE, Xue Tooher and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 20210306951 A1) hereinafter Hwang
As to claim 9. The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher specifically Tie teaches , wherein in response to the configuration information comprising the paging configuration parameter information, ([0232]Fig. 5, A quantity of paging frame PFs within the time length of one default paging cycle is denoted as N, and a quantity of PFs between two consecutive WUS monitoring occasions (where the two WUS occasions correspond to two DRX cycles) is denoted as x, a time length of one default paging cycle includes two paging frames, in other words, N=2.)
determining the first resource location according to the configuration information comprises: , ([0255] network configures a timer timer 1 before , the timer 1 expires, when configuring the WUS by using RRC signaling, the network device configures the uplink sending resource associated with the WUS, where the RRC signaling includes time/frequency domain configuration information (for example, and a symbol location in a slot) of the uplink sending resource,)
determining at least one first PO according to the paging configuration parameter ( [0232][0238] FIG. 5, a network configures that WUS DCI includes one bit indicating first indication information, if the bit is 1, it indicates that there is a short message (that is, system information changes, and/or there is a PWS notification), that is, the bit indicates that UE needs to monitor a paging physical downlink control channel,, the UE needs to immediately start monitoring a paging PDCCH on a next paging occasion (Paging occasion, PO).)
and device identity (ID) information of the terminal, ([0236] DCI of the user equipment specific WUS includes one bit indicating the first indication information/device ID, )
The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher does not teach and taking the at least one first PO as the first resource location.
Hwang teaches and taking the at least one first PO as the first resource location. ([0400]Fig. 30, PO of a WUS for specifying a position at which the WUS resource is allocated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Hwang with the teaching of Tie, Xue and Tooher because Hwang teaches that a transmission of a WUS of a specific UE subgroup starts may be relatively determined based on an end of a time resource unit would prevents the overlapping between TDMed WUSs advantageously as well as reduces overhead necessary for signaling. (Hwang [0321])
As to claim 10 The combination of Tie, Xue Tooher specifically Tie teaches wherein the wake-up configuration parameter information comprises at least one of: offset information or period information, ([0269] network configures time/frequency domain configuration information of the uplink resource by using RRC signaling, but a specific time offset from the WUS is explicitly indicated by the WUS.)
the period information is used for configuring a period of the first resource location. ([0255] WUS monitoring occasion is covered by active time, timer 1 is started or restarted (timer restart) at the WUS monitoring occasion, for example, a start OFDM symbol or an end OFDM symbol of the WUS monitoring occasion)
The combination of Tie, Xue and Tooher does not teach wherein the offset information is used for configuring an offset from an ending position of the first WUS to a starting resource position of the first resource location;
Hwang teaches wherein the offset information is used for configuring an offset from an ending position of the first WUS to a starting resource position of the first resource location; ([0320] an end of a time resource unit may include an ending point of a WUS at which a WUS ends in a time domain or a last time resource unit among time resource units included in a WUS. Likewise, the start of the time resource unit or the time resource unit may include a starting point of a WUS at which a WUS starts in a time domain or a foremost time resource unit among time resource units included in a WUS)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Hwang with the teaching of Tie, Xue and Tooher because Hwang teaches that a transmission of a WUS of a specific UE subgroup starts may be relatively determined based on an end of a time resource unit would prevents the overlapping between TDMed WUSs advantageously as well as reduces overhead necessary for signaling. (Hwang [0321])
As to claim 11 The combination of Tie, Xue Tooher and Hwang specifically Tie teaches and the second WUS is monitored by the terminal;([0222] (Monitoring occasions) of the two consecutive WUSs e.g., monitor second WUS)
Tie does not teach further comprising: starting the second timer according to the second WUS in case the first timer expires
The combination of Tie, Xue and Hwang does not teach further comprising: starting the second timer according to the second WUS in case the first timer expires
Tooher teaches , further comprising: starting the second timer according to the second WUS in case the first timer expires ,([0138] [0139][0145] Fig. 2, WTRU detects one or more WUSs/second WUS, upon reception of a WUS, may trigger a second awake timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tooher with the teaching of Tie, Xue and Hwang because Tooher teaches that monitoring by a wtru for paging information, and a received paging information would allow wtru to enter a DRX cycle and to reduce power consumption of the WTRU.(Tooher [0099])
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
TIE, Xue Tooher, Hwang and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180070332 A1) hereinafter Chen
As to claim 12. The combination of Tie, Xue Tooher and Hwang specifically Tie teaches and the configuration information comprises the paging configuration parameter information([0232]Fig. 5, A quantity of paging frame PFs within the time length of one default paging cycle is denoted as N, and a quantity of PFs between two consecutive WUS monitoring occasions (where the two WUS occasions correspond to two DRX cycles) is denoted as x, a time length of one default paging cycle includes two paging frames, in other words, N=2.)
Tie does not teach further comprising: determining at least one second PO according to the paging configuration parameter information and device ID information of the terminal before the second timer expires, in case the second timer is started by the terminal and monitoring the second paging DCI at the at least one second PO.
Tooher teaches before the second timer expires ([0130] If the WTRU receives no transmission and the first timer expires during the subsequent awake time (e.g., the second awake time), the WTRU may start the second timer and enter/remain in the sleep state (e.g., the second sleep state)e.g., ) in case the second timer is started by the terminal ([0130] the WTRU may start a second timer and may enter and remain in a sleep state until the expiration of the second timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tooher with the teaching of Tie, Xue and Hwang because Tooher teaches that monitoring by a wtru for paging information, and a received paging information would allow wtru to enter a DRX cycle and to reduce power consumption of the WTRU.(Tooher [0099])
The combination of Tie, Xue Tooher and Hwang does not teach further comprising: determining at least one second PO according to the paging configuration parameter information and device ID information of the terminal
Chen teaches further comprising: determining at least one second PO according to the paging configuration parameter information and device ID information of the terminal ([0051][0062] Fig. 13, based on UE ID, the UE determines one paging narrow-band from the selected set of narrow-bands, UE determines the number of POs within this cycle to monitor paging message in step 1303, the number of POs could be indicated in DCI with M-PDCCH. The UE decodes paging message within a set of frequency resources at the PO in step 1304, then UE checks if there it is paged at the PO in step 1305)
; and monitoring the second paging DCI at the at least one second PO. ([0060][0062] Fig. 12, Fig. 13, the UE determines the number of Pos/second PO within this cycle to monitor paging message in step 1303, the number of POs could be indicated in DCI with M-PDCCH/second paging message in second paging DCI)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Chen with the teaching of Tie, Xue Tooher and Hwang because Chen teaches that repeating paging message within a subframe or within a limited number of subframes would reduce delay.(Chen [0064])
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tang et al. (US 20200146030 A1) hereinafter Tang, Tie and Tooher
As to claim 45. Tang teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store computer programs for electronic data interchange (EDI), wherein the computer programs are operable with a computer to perform the following: ([0104][0106] a non transitory he computer readable storage medium stores a computer program for electronic data interchange, and the computer program causes a computer to execute parts or all of the acts described for the user equipment to perform)
Tang does not teach starting a first timer after a first wake-up signal (WUS) is monitored; and monitoring a first paging downlink control information (DCI) or a second WUS before the first timer expires, wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer by a terminal, and a duration of the second timer represents a duration for the terminal to monitor a second paging DCI. and starting the second timer by default in case the first timer expires and the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal, or not starting the second timer by default by the terminal in case the first timer expires and the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal.
Tie teaches starting a first timer after a first wake-up signal (WUS) is monitored; ; ([0255] when the WUS monitoring occasion is covered by active time (for example, is covered by a timing period of previous drx-InactivityTimer), the timer 1 is started or restarted (timer restart) at the WUS monitoring occasion)
and monitoring a first paging downlink control information (DCI) or a second WUS before the first timer expires, ([0238] Fig. 5,UE monitor a paging physical downlink control channel, the timer 1 is started or restarted (timer restart) at the WUS monitoring occasion)
starting the second timer by default in case the first timer expires ([0255][0256] timing of the timer 1 ends (in other words, the timer 1 expires (expires))/active time ends, Once active time ends, the timer timer 2 is started (or restarted) after the active time ends i.e., started by default. )
and the second WUS is not monitored by the terminal,([0059] [0060] the power saving message is a wake-up signal WUS; power saving message is two consecutive WUSs, and a time interval between monitoring occasions (Monitoring occasions) of the two consecutive WUSs is less than a preset time length/monitoring second WUS)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tie with the teaching of Tang because Tie teaches that when the UE is in a sleep state, the UE is not woken up to monitor the paging PDCCH thereby reducing power consumption of the UE in the connected state.(Tie [0010])
The combination of Tang and tie does not teach wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer by a terminal, and a duration of the second timer represents a duration for the terminal to monitor a second paging DCI
Tooher teaches wherein the second WUS is used for triggering start of a second timer by a terminal, ,([0138] [0139][0145] Fig. 2, WTRU detects one or more WUSs/second WUS, upon reception of a WUS, may trigger a second awake timer.)
and a duration of the second timer represents a duration for the terminal to monitor a second paging DCI. ([0132[0155][0165] Fig. 2, a WTRU may monitor a channel, During an awake timer 2, the WTRU may detect a transmission; a WTRU may monitor a second type of PO and/or a second type of PF/paging dci) may be considered conditional, a conditional PO and/or a conditional PF may be activated and may be used by a WTRU to monitor for a transmission, such as a paging message, SI, and/or the like)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tooher with the teaching of Tang, Tie because Tooher teaches that monitoring by a wtru for paging information, and a received paging information would allow wtru to enter a DRX cycle and to reduce power consumption of the WTRU.(Tooher [0099])
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turtinen; Samuli et al. [US 20220312325 A1] WAKE-UP SIGNAL WITH RANDOM ACCESS RESPONSESHI;
Cong [US 20220182940 A1] DISCONTINUOUS RECEPTION PROCESSING METHOD, AND TERMINAL DEVICE
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413