DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/10/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 3-16 are pending. 1, 3-16 are amended. Claim 2 is cancelled.
3. Applicant’s argument, filed on 04/10/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1, 3-16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Applicant states that “However, Minotani does not describe that the STA determines, based on a preamble of a received first data unit from another STA, whether to perform transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme. Rather, Minotani's NOMA determiner 204 determines whether the STA is receiving a NOMA signal from the AP and does not determine whether the STA should perform transmission using NOMA scheme based on another terminal's preamble.
w).”
the Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Minotani discloses in para [0084]Fig. 9, Radio receiver 201 performs radio reception processing such as down-conversion and A/D conversion on a signal received via an antenna. Radio receiver 201 extracts a preamble section from the signal after the radio reception processing, and outputs the preamble section to preamble demodulator 202. Radio receiver 201 extracts a preamble section from the signal after the radio reception processing, and outputs the preamble section to preamble demodulator 20.
And in para [0085] Fig. 9, preamble demodulator 202 performs demodulation processing such as FFT on the preamble section inputted from radio receiver 201, and extracts control information and NOMA determiner 204 determines whether the demodulated data demodulated in data demodulator 203 is multiplexed by NOMA based on the control information inputted from preamble demodulator 202.
and [0088] NOMA determiner 204 determines whether the demodulated data demodulated in data demodulator 203 is multiplexed by NOMA based on the control information inputted from preamble demodulator 202. In other words, NOMA determiner 204 determines whether STA 200 is a user subjected to non-orthogonal multiplexing by NOMA. NOMA determiner 204 outputs the NOMA determination result to data decoder 205.
And also in para [0074] Fig. 8,Scheduler 105 performs NOMA scheduling for STA 200, for example, based on the radio quality information of each STA 200 inputted from data decoder 104. For example, scheduler 105 may determine the number of STAs 200 included in a NOMA group (i.e., the number of transmission target terminals or the number of multiplexed users), an MCS, a coding method, an allocated frequency resource, and a frequency bandwidth for DL data.
Therefore Minotani discloses based on a preamble of a received first data unit from another STA, whether to perform transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6,8,9 ,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada; Tomoyuki (US 20210321484 A1)hereinafter Takada, in view of Minotani et al. (US 20220240269 A1) hereinafter Minotani
As to claim 1 Takada teaches a first wireless communication terminal comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive a first data unit from a second wireless communication terminal, wherein ([0049] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 7. The communication unit 206 of the receiving device receives, from a transmitting device, an EHT PPDU having the frame structure (step S701), receiving device refers to the NOMA subfield included in the EHT-SIG of the PHY preamble)
the first data unit includes first type information indicating a non- orthogonal multiple access scheme in a preamble of the first data unit; ([0049] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 7 at least one of the communication unit 206 and the control unit 202 of the receiving device refers to the NOMA subfield included in the EHT-SIG of the PHY preamble to determine whether NOMA is used to multiplex data (step S702))
, position information indicating a position of the midamble and parameter information of [[a]]the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme-used by the first wireless communication ([0034][0035] Table 4, the communication device that transmits the PPDU including the EHT-SIG field can inform the communication device , in NOMA frame format; EHT MU PPDU, information related to NOMA may be informed at a position other than the eighth bit of the EHT-SIG A2 field; symbols And “0” is set for one EHT-LTF, “1” is set for two Midamble EHT-LTFs, “2” is set for four EHT-LTFs, “3” is Periodicity set for six EHT-LTFs, or “4” is set for eight EHT-LTFs; when the Doppler field is “1”, B8 and B9 indicate the number of EHT-LTF symbols, and B10 indicates the midamble period.)
Takada does not teach a wireless control unit configured to determine, based on the preamble of the received first data unit of the second wireless communication terminal, whether to perform transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme; and a generation unit configured to generate a second data unit, based on the determination to perform the transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, wherein the second data unit includes in a preamble of the second data unit, terminal in a multi-domain of the non- orthogonal multiple access scheme;;and the wireless control unit is further configured to control transmission of the second data unit- the wireless communication device using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme
Minotani teaches a wireless control unit configured to determine, ([0085] Fig. 9, preamble demodulator 202 performs demodulation processing such as FFT on the preamble section inputted from radio receiver 201, and extracts control information and NOMA determiner 204 determines whether the demodulated data demodulated in data demodulator 203 is multiplexed by NOMA based on the control information inputted from preamble demodulator 202)
based on the preamble of the received first data unit of the second wireless communication terminal,([0088]Fig. 8, Fig. 9, NOMA determiner determines whether STA 200 is a user subjected to non-orthogonal multiplexing by NOMA, NOMA determiner 204 outputs the NOMA determination result to data decoder 205)
whether to perform transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme; ([0105]0106] Fig. 8, Fig. 9, AP 100 may determine the combination of STAs included in a NOMA group and the multiplex power ratio for the STAs in the NOMA group; AP 100 transmits a DL MU signal including a NOMA signal to STA 1 and STA 2, for example, based on the NOMA control information)
and
a generation unit configured to generate a second data unit ([0106] Fig. 8, Fig. 9 AP 100 transmits a DL MU i.e., second data unit, signal including a NOMA signal to STA 1 and STA 2)
based on the determination to perform the transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ; ([0105]0106] Fig. 8, Fig. 9, AP 100 may determine the combination of STAs included in a NOMA group and the multiplex power ratio for the STAs in the NOMA group; AP 100 transmits a DL MU signal including a NOMA signal to STA 1 and STA 2, for example, based on the NOMA control information )
wherein the second data unit includes in a preamble of the second data unit [0047] In the case of DL MU-MIMO or DL OFDMA, an Access Point (AP; or referred to as a “base station”) indicates control information to each terminal (e.g., also referred to as a station (STA)) using control information (e.g., so called SIG-B or a SIG-B field) of a preamble included in a DL MU PPDU,)
terminal in a multi-domain of the non- orthogonal multiple access scheme([0091] When STA 200 can perform SIC processing, in domain where the signal replica is subtracted from the data section may be the time domain or the frequency domain/multi domain)
;and the wireless control unit is further configured to control transmission of the second data unit- the wireless communication device using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme.( [0106] Fig. 8, Fig. 9, , AP 100 transmits a DL MU signal including a NOMA signal to STA 1 and STA 2, for example, based on the NOMA control information (e.g., scheduling information on NOMA) to be included in control information (e.g., SIG-B) (ST107))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Takada g because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
Claim 12 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 3 the combination Takada and Minotani specifically Takada teaches based on the determination to perform the transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme-generation unit is further configured to([0048] Fig. 6, Fig. 7, If it is determined that NOMA is used (YES in step S602), the communication device sets the value of the NOMA subfield of the EHT-SIG field to “1”, and generates a PHY preamble (step S603).)
determine based on the preamble of the first data unit, ([0048] Fig. 4, If it is determined that NOMA is used (YES in step S602) EHT_SIG-A, bit “1” indicates NOMA is used, (401, 402, 403, 404, 405/preamble -abstract), the communication device sets the value of the NOMA subfield of the EHT-SIG field to “1,
the parameter information to be used by the first wireless communication terminal; ([0034][0035] the communication device that transmits the PPDU including the EHT-SIG field can inform the communication device , in NOMA frame format )and
Takada does not teach generate the second data unit including, in the preamble of the second data unit, the determined parameter information
Minotani teaches generate the second data unit including, in the preamble of the second data unit, the determined parameter information ([0077][0080][0081] Fig. 2, Fig. 9, Data generator 106 generates a data sequence (i.e., DL data)e.g., data sequence includes second data, for STA 200, Radio transmitter 110 time-multiplexes the data section inputted from modulator 108 and the preamble section inputted from preamble generator 109.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Takada because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.(Minotani [0187])
As to claim 6. the combination Takada and Minotani specifically Takada teaches
wherein the reception unit is further configured to receive[[s]] information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme and being sent from the wireless communication device, ([0049] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 7. The communication unit 206 of the receiving device receives, from a transmitting device, an EHT PPDU in NOMA, having the frame structure described above (step S701)
and
the wireless control unit is further configured to determine, based on the received information, ([0048] Fig. 6, Fig. 7, If it is determined that NOMA is used (YES in step S602), the communication device sets the value of the NOMA subfield of the EHT-SIG field to “1”, and generates a PHY preamble (step S603).)
whether to perform the transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme([0048] Fig. 6, Fig. 7, The communication unit 206 of the transmitting device generates a radio frame including the data generated in step S601 and the PHY preamble generated in one of steps S603 and S604, and transmits the generated radio frame via the antenna 207 (step S605).)
As to claim 8 the combination of Takada and Minotani specifically Takada teaches wherein the second data unit in further in includes, in the preamble of second data unit, second type information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme ([0020][0034] Fig,. 4, EHT-SIG filed includes, for example, “1” is set in the NOMA subfield if NOMA is used, or “0” is set in the NOMA subfield if NOMA is not used. However, this is merely an example, and conversely, “0” may be set in the NOMA subfield if NOMA is used, or “1” may be set in the NOMA subfield if NOMA is not used)
As to claim 9 the combination of Takada and Minotani specifically Takata teaches further comprising:
The reception unit is further configured to receive information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme and from the wireless communication device, ([0049] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 7. The communication unit 206 of the receiving device receives, from a transmitting device, an EHT PPDU having the frame structure (step S701; receiving device refers to the NOMA subfield included in the EHT-SIG of the PHY preamble)
Takada does not teach wherein the generation unit further configured to generate the second data unit based on the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme
wherein the generation unit further configured to generate the second data unit based on the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme. ([0106] Fig. 8, Fig. 9 AP 100 transmits a DL MU i.e., AP generates second data unit, signal including a NOMA signal to STA 1 and STA 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Takada because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
Claim(s) 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada, Minotani and further in view of Hong et al. (US 20180278303 A1) hereinafter Hong
As to claim 7 the combination of Takada and Minotani does not teach wherein the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme includes at least one of:
information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is recommended
information indicating a third wireless communication terminal that has a capability to implement the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme[[;]],or
information indicating a maximum number of streams usable by the third wireless communication terminal- for transmission using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme
Hong teaches wherein the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme includes at least one of:
information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is recommended ([0064][0072] suggests a NOMA, non orthogonal multiple access transmission technique for transmitting a huge amount of data by using a limited small number of resources)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Hong with the teaching of Takada and Minotani because Hong teaches that using NOMA would allow base station remove a signal of the selected terminal from a received signal thereby aims at enhancing the performance of active user detection, performance of channel estimation, and enhancing the performance of data detection. (Hong [0072])
Claim 10 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada, Minotani and further in view of Tsujimaru; Yuki (US 20200343994 A1)hereinafter Yuki
As to claim 11 the combination of Takada and Minotani specifically Minotani teaches, the generation unit is further configured to generates the data unit on a basis of the information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme. ([0094] [0098] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, AP 100 transmits information identifying a NOMA group, NOMA control information may include, for example, information indicating whether the corresponding STA 200 is a NOMA user included in a NOMA group , modulator 207 generates a radio frame (i.e., packet signal), which is the data signal with a preamble section added,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Takada because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
the combination of Takada and Minotani does not teach wherein the wireless control unit and the wireless communication device are configured to mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, and
Yuki teaches wherein the wireless control unit and the wireless communication device are configured to mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ([0033][0034] Fig. 4, NOMA capability information is exchanged between the STA and the AP; NOMA capability information of the STA included in the association request frame, the STA can determine, based on the NOMA capability information of the AP obtained in scan processing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yuki with the teaching of Takada and Minotani because Yuki teaches that in NOMA scheme, a plurality of independent signals transmitted in parallel at the same time using a common frequency channel thereby the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved.(Yuki [0019])
Claim(s) 13, 14,15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada and further in view of Verma et al. (US 20180124778 A1)hereinafter Verma
As to claim 13 Takada teaches A wireless communication device comprising:
a wireless control unit configured to control transmission of information regarding a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme to a first wireless communication terminal ([0048] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 6, control unit 202 of the transmitting device generates data to be included in the data field (step S601). Then, the transmitting device determines whether to use NOMA to multiplex the data field of the PPDU to be transmitted and a second wireless communication terminal;)
and
a reception unit configured to receive, based on the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, a first data unit from- the first wireless communication terminal [[with]]using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme([0020][0049] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 7. The communication unit 206 of the receiving device, AP receives, an AP, from a transmitting device, i.e., terminal 103, a first EHT PPDU having the frame structure (step S701), receiving device refers to the NOMA subfield included in the EHT-SIG of the PHY preamble)
and a second data unit from the second wireless communication terminal using the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ([0020][0049] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 7. The communication unit 206 of the receiving device AP receives, from a transmitting device, i.e., terminal 104, a second EHT PPDU having the frame structure (step S701), receiving device refers to the NOMA subfield included in the EHT-SIG of the PHY preamble)
wherein
the first data unit includes a midamble ([0035] Table 1, first PPDU includes midamble)
and the second data unit includes a preamble, ([0035] Table 3, first PPDU includes preamble)
.and
Takada does not teach the reception of the midamble of the first data unit by the wireless communication device and the reception of the preamble of the second data unit by the wireless communication device is at a same time
Verma teaches that the reception of the midamble of the first data unit by the wireless communication device and the reception of the preamble of the second data unit by the wireless communication device is at a same time ([0070][0075] Fig. 6, the preamble and/or mid-amble of all UL response frames in a transmission slot are required to be identical to enable packet processing less challenging at the AP. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Verma with the teaching of Takada because Verma teaches that on the uplink, each STA transmits a spatially pre-coded data stream, which enables the access point to identify the source of each spatially pre-coded data stream. (Verma [0140])
Claim 16 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
As to claim 14 the combination of Takada and Verma specifically Takada teaches wherein the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme includes at least one of:
information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is recommended;
information indicating a third wireless communication terminal that has capability to implement the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme; ([0041] Fig. 1, Fig. 3, third STA 105, The MCS field is a field of the number of bits capable of uniquely specifying the MCS that can be used in data transmission using the NOMA scheme in the EHT standard)
or
or information indicating a maximum number of streams usable the third the wireless communication terminal for non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied.
As to claim 15 the combination of Takada and Verma specifically Takada teaches wherein the wireless control unit and the first wireless communication terminal mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ; ([0041] [0048]Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 6, third STA 105, The MCS field is a field of the number of bits capable of uniquely specifying the MCS that can be used in data transmission using the NOMA scheme in the EHT standard; The control unit 202 of the transmitting device generates data to be included in the data field (step S601). Then, the transmitting device determines whether to use NOMA to multiplex the data field of the PPDU to be transmitted)
the wireless control unit is further configured to control the transmission of the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme to the wireless first communication terminal on a based on the information indicating the capability regarding non orthogonal multiple access scheme.([0048] Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 6, MCS field is a field of the number of bits capable of uniquely specifying the MCS that can be used in data transmission using the NOMA scheme in the EHT standard, control unit 202 of the transmitting device generates data to be included in the data field (step S601). Then, the transmitting device determines whether to use NOMA to multiplex the data field of the PPDU to be transmitted
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 16 prior art Gordaychik; Brian [US 20190363843 A1] teaches in para [0168] The preamble selected by the UE may have preassociated resources for the data transmission. Some preambles may indicate contiguous resources while others indicate noncontiguous resources. The preamble selected may also indicate MCS, number of resources for data transmission or any other parameters disclosed herein. The DCI may indicate PDSCH resources which provide a MAC CE or other data. A fallback to 4-step RACH may also be performed. The RAR window time may be an offset considering: a first symbol of MsgA, the last symbol of MsgA including data, the last symbol of the preamble, the first symbol of data. The UE may transmit a midamble, for example, in between data transmissions of one or more frames or PPDUs. The midamble’ s may comprise one or more signal (SIG) fields, legacy training fields (LTF) fields or new training fields. Midambles may be placed within differently modulated or coded segments, which may also have different power levels, of a PDU. Midambles may provide NOMA interference cancellation parameters or any other data or parameter as disclosed herein. A RAR window may be extended beyond 80 slots and may extend upwards of 10 ms or more if the RAR is configured to occur in an unlicensed band. The RA-RNTI may be computed based on any parameter disclosed herein. Training fields may be secured by a key.
And in para Chun et al. [US 20170170937 A1] discloses in para [0625]Fig. 31, STA 1 to STA n that receive the sounding and/buffer status request frame transmits the sounding and/or buffer status frame to the AP (S3102).
And in para [0626] STA 1 to STA n may transmit the sounding and/or buffer status frame to the AP in order according to the order information indicated by the sounding and/or buffer status request frame.
And also in para [0627] Further, STA 1 to STA n may transmit to the AP the sounding and/or buffer status frame including the number of LTE symbols (for example, HE-LTF or HE-midamble) as large as the number of streams indicated by the sounding and/or buffer status request frame.
However, combination or prior arts records Gordaychik and Chun does not teach
For claim 4
wherein based on the preamble of the first data unit and the determination to perform the transmission using the non- orthogonal multiple access scheme,
the wireless control unit is further configured to control the transmission of the second data unit- to the wireless communication device such that a midamble of the first data unit and the preamble of the second data unit are received by the wireless communication device at a same time
And for claim 5
wherein based on the preamble of the first data unit and the determination in a to perform the transmission the non- orthogonal multiple access scheme,
generation unit is further configured to generate the second data unit in which the preamble of the second data unit has a position that matches a position of a midamble of the first data unit, and
a length that matches length of the midamble of the first data unit such that the midamble of the first data unit and the preamble of the second data unit are received at a same time
Therefore, claim 4 and 5 independently would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NOH; Yujin et al. [US 20200228634 A1] DOPPLER MODE IN A WIRELESS NETWORK
Zhang; Hongyuan et al. [US 9706599 B1] Long wireless local area network (WLAN) packets with Midambles
Sun; Yakun et al. [US 10027449 B2] Signal fields in a high efficiency wireless local area network (WLAN) data unit
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413