DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/15/2024 where claims 1-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2024, 11/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 01/15/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 20210014018 A1) hereinafter Noh and further in view of Kang et al. (WO 2017020680 A1)hereinafter Kang
As to claim 1 Noh teaches A wireless communication terminal comprising:
a generation unit configured to generate a data unit including, in a preamble, position information indicating a position of a mid-amble ([0080] [0085]Fig. 9, Fig. 11, a transmitting STA generates an EHT PPDU frame and transmits it to a receiving STA(s).frame includes, preamble, data field, midamble, Each midamble is present after M data symbols, where M is a positive integer (e.g., 4, 8, 10, or 16)/location of midamble)
a wireless control unit configured to cause ([0034] [00167] Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, processor executing a computer program (e.g., a sequence of instructions) contained in a memory or other non-transitory machine-readable storage medium)
sending of the data unit generated by the generation unit to the wireless communication device. ([0080] a transmitting STA generates an EHT PPDU frame and transmits it to a receiving STA(s). The receiving STA receives, detects, and processes the EHT PPDU)Noh does not teach parameter information of a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is used by the wireless communication terminal in a multi-domain of the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme to be applied to sending to a wireless communication device;
Kang teaches parameter information of a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is used by the wireless communication terminal in a multi-domain of the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme to be applied to sending to a wireless communication device;([page 3] lines 4-15, non-orthogonal multiple access extended space-frequency equivalent channel matrix of the time-frequency resources/scheme, for first targets the spatial domain and then the frequency domain/multi-domain, different non-orthogonal multiple access (NMO) pattern vectors e.g., parameters, are preferentially allocated to the uplink data of each terminal on the same time-frequency resource; , uplink data transmission is performed using pattern vectors of different non-orthogonal multiple access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Kang with the teaching of Noh because Kang teaches that full use of NOMA multi-domain would allow more terminals to transmit data simultaneously on the same time-frequency resources, thereby improving the system capacity or the number of access terminals.(Kang [page 8])
Claim 12 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, Kang and further in view of Minotani et al. (US 20220240269 A1)hereinafter Minotani
As to claim 2 the combination of Noh and Kang specifically Noh teaches further comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive a first data unit that is the data unit being sent from another wireless communication terminal,([0070][0082] Fig. 10, he DCM constellation mapper 1006 may receive or otherwise determine a set of parameters/settings, including a number of data subcarriers (N.sub.SD) for modulating the error corrected bitstream to subcarriers in each half of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol)
in the preamble ([0047][0074] Fig. 3b, FIG. 6 receiving STA receives, detects, and processes the PPDU frame, the frame format 600 includes a PHY preamble 602)
Noh does not teach the first data unit also including type information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, wherein the wireless control unit determines whether or not to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, on a basis of the preamble of the received first data unit, and
in a case where it is decided to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, the generation unit generates a second data unit, and
the wireless control unit causes sending of the generated second data unit to the wireless communication device.
Kang teaches the first data unit also including type information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ([page 7] lines 17-21, different non-orthogonal multiple access (NMO) pattern vectors are preferentially allocated to the uplink data of each terminal on the same time-frequency resource, and the uplink data of one terminal corresponds to one or more NMO pattern vectors)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Kang with the teaching of Noh because Kang teaches that full use of NOMA multi-domain would allow more terminals to transmit data simultaneously on the same time-frequency resources, thereby improving the system capacity or the number of access terminals.(Kang [page 8])
the combination of Noh and Kang does not teach wherein the wireless control unit determines whether or not to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, on a basis of the preamble of the received first data unit, and
in a case where it is decided to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, the generation unit generates a second data unit, and
the wireless control unit causes sending of the generated second data unit to the wireless communication device.
Minotani teaches wherein the wireless control unit determines whether or not to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, on a basis of the preamble of the received first data unit, ([0052] [0088] Fig. 2, Fig. 9, NOMA determiner 204 determines whether STA 200 is a user subjected to non-orthogonal multiplexing by NOMA e.g., multiplexing scheme based, NOMA determiner 204 outputs the NOMA determination result to data decoder 205.)
and
in a case where it is decided to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, the generation unit generates a second data unit, and ([0074][0077] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Scheduler 105 performs NOMA scheduling for STA 200, for example, based on the radio quality information of each STA 200 inputted from data decoder 104; Data generator 106 generates a data sequence (i.e., DL data)e.g., data sequence includes second data, for STA 200, and outputs the generated data sequence to encoder 107)
the wireless control unit causes sending of the generated second data unit to the wireless communication device. ([0077] [0081] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, Radio transmitter 110 performs radio transmission processing, such as D/A conversion, and up-conversion for a carrier frequency, on the time-multiplexed signal, and transmits the signal , e.g., generated data sequence including second data, after the radio transmission processing to STA 200 via the antenna.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
As to claim 3 the combination of Noh, Kang and Minotani specifically Minotani teaches wherein in a case where it is decided to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, ([0074][0077] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, Scheduler 105 performs NOMA scheduling for STA 200, for example, based on the radio quality information of each STA 200 inputted from data decoder 104; Data generator 106 generates a data sequence (i.e., DL data)e.g., data sequence includes second data, for STA 200, and outputs the generated data sequence to encoder 107)
the generation unit determines parameter information to be used by the wireless communication terminal on a basis of the preamble of the first data unit, ([0088] [0094] Fig. 2, Fig. 9, NOMA determiner 204 determines whether STA 200 is a user subjected to non-orthogonal multiplexing by NOMA, outputs the NOMA determination result to data decoder 205., generator 206, and generates a modulated signal, modulator 207 generates a radio frame (i.e., packet signal), which is the data signal with a preamble section added, and outputs the radio frame to radio transmitter 208)
and
generates the second data unit including, in the preamble, the determined parameter information to be used by the wireless communication terminal. ([0077][0080][0081] Fig. 2, Fig. 9, Data generator 106 generates a data sequence (i.e., DL data)e.g., data sequence includes second data, for STA 200, Radio transmitter 110 time-multiplexes the data section inputted from modulator 108 and the preamble section inputted from preamble generator 109.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
As to claim 6 the combination of Noh, Kang and Minotani specifically Minotani teaches wherein the reception unit receives information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme and being sent from the wireless communication device, ([0066] Fig. 7, FIG. 7, radio receiver 201 (e.g., corresponding to reception circuitry) receives information on a non-orthogonally multiplexed terminal group (e.g., NOMA group), NOMA scheme during a period (e.g., PPDU header)
and
the wireless control unit decides whether or not to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied,. ([0074][0077] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, Scheduler 105 performs NOMA scheduling for STA 200, for example, based on the radio quality information of each STA 200 inputted from data decoder 104; Data generator 106 generates a data sequence (i.e., DL data)e.g., data sequence includes second data, for STA 200, and outputs the generated data sequence to encoder 107)
on a basis of the received information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme ([0066] Fig. 7, FIG. 7, radio receiver 201 (e.g., corresponding to reception circuitry) receives information on a non-orthogonally multiplexed terminal group (e.g., NOMA group), NOMA scheme during a period (e.g., PPDU header)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
As to claim 7 the combination of Noh, Kang and Minotani specifically Minotani teaches wherein the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme includes at least one of:
information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is recommended;
information indicating a wireless communication terminal that can implement the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme; or
information indicating a maximum number of streams that can be used in a case where the wireless communication terminal that can implement the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme performs the sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied. ([0156] Fig. 15, NOMA control information may be indicated in configuring some of a plurality of configurable numbers of spatial multiplexes, some of the numbers of spatial multiplexes in which the NOMA control information is indicated is not limited to 1 type, and may be 2 or more types.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
Claim 10 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
As to claim 8 the combination of Noh, Kang does not specifically teach wherein the generation unit generates the data unit in which type information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is also included in the preamble.
Minotani teaches wherein the generation unit generates the data unit in which type information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is also included in the preamble. ([0090][0094] Fig. 9, when the NOMA determination result indicates that the signal is a NOMA signal (i.e., multiplexed by NOMA). ,modulator 207 generates a radio frame (i.e., packet signal), which is the data signal with a preamble section added, and outputs the radio frame to radio transmitter 208.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
As to claim 9 the combination of Noh, Kang and Minotani specifically Minotani teaches further comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme and being sent from the wireless communication device, ([0053] [0056] The STA receives a NOMA signal, and extracts and decodes a desired signal from the NOMA signal based on the multiplex power ratio/scheme. )
wherein the generation unit generates the data unit on a basis of the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme. ([0094] [0098] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, AP 100 transmits information identifying a NOMA group , modulator 207 generates a radio frame (i.e., packet signal), which is the data signal with a preamble section added,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, Kang and further in view of Tsujimaru; Yuki (US 20200343994 A1)hereinafter Yuki
As to claim 11 the combination of Noh, Kang and Minotani specifically Minotani teaches, the generation unit generates the data unit on a basis of the information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme. ([0094] [0098] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 9, AP 100 transmits information identifying a NOMA group, NOMA control information may include, for example, information indicating whether the corresponding STA 200 is a NOMA user included in a NOMA group , modulator 207 generates a radio frame (i.e., packet signal), which is the data signal with a preamble section added,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Noh and Kang because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
the combination of Noh, Kang and Minotani does not teach wherein the wireless control unit and the wireless communication device mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, and
Yuki teaches wherein the wireless control unit and the wireless communication device mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ([0033][0034] Fig. 4, NOMA capability information is exchanged between the STA and the AP; NOMA capability information of the STA included in the association request frame, the STA can determine, based on the NOMA capability information of the AP obtained in scan processing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yuki with the teaching of Noh, Kang and Minotani because Yuki teaches that in NOMA scheme, a plurality of independent signals transmitted in parallel at the same time using a common frequency channel thereby the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved.(Yuki [0019])
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20200036426 A1)hereinafter Kim
AP As to claim 13 Kang teaches a wireless communication device comprising
sending of information regarding a non-orthogonal multiple access scheme to a wireless communication terminal;([page 21] lines 36-38 For scheduling services, different non-orthogonal multiple access (NMO) pattern vectors are preferentially allocated to the uplink data of each terminal on the same time-frequency resource, and the uplink data of one terminal corresponds to one or more NMO pattern vectors)
receive a data unit being sent by the wireless communication terminal with the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme applied, on a basis of the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme.([page 22] lines 6-13, the uplink data transmitted by terminal using the same non-orthogonal multiple access pattern vector on the time-frequency resource is detected based on the non-orthogonal multiple access extended space-frequency equivalent channel matrix of the time-frequency resource)
Kang does not specifically teaches a wireless control unit configured to cause; and a reception unit configured to
Kim teaches a wireless control unit configured to cause ([0159][0161] Fig. 18 BS includes, a processor 120 for controlling the transmitting and receiving modules 110 and 130, the BS transmit the plurality of beams to the first UE based on the NOMA scheme)
and a reception unit configured to ([0159] [0161] Fig. 18 , processor 120 of the BS 100 may a plurality of beams to the first UE using the estimated channel information based on the NOMA scheme)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Kim with the teaching of Kang because Kim teaches that using NOMA scheme would allow a BS to increase radio transmission capacity by transmitting a plurality of beams to UEs according to the NOMA scheme. (Kim [0116])
Claim 16 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
As to claim 14 the combination of Kang and kim specifically Kang teaches wherein the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme includes at least one of:
information indicating the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme that is recommended;
information indicating a wireless communication terminal that can implement the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme; ([page 8] lines 25-30, implement non-orthogonal multiple access technology and uplink , combination of MIMO technology makes full use of the characteristics of non-orthogonal multiple access technology in time-frequency domain, coding domain, power domain and spatial domain to support more terminals to transmit data)
or
or information indicating a maximum number of streams that can be used in a case where the wireless communication terminal that can implement the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme performs sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, Kim, Yuki and Minotani
As to claim 15 the combination of Kang and kim specifically Kang teaches does not teach the wireless control unit causes sending of the information regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme to the wireless communication terminal on a basis of the information whose notification is provided,([page 23] lines 19-23, For scheduling services, different non-orthogonal multiple access (NMO) pattern vectors are preferentially allocated to the uplink data of each terminal on the same time-frequency resource, and the uplink data of one terminal corresponds to one or more NMO pattern vectors)
the combination of Kang and kim does not teach wherein the wireless control unit and the wireless communication terminal mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, and
the information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme.
Yuki teaches wherein the wireless control unit and the wireless communication terminal mutually provide notification of information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme, ([0033][0034] Fig. 4, NOMA capability information is exchanged between the STA and the AP; NOMA capability information of the STA included in the association request frame, the STA can determine, based on the NOMA capability information of the AP obtained in scan processing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yuki with the teaching of Kang and Kim because Yuki teaches that in NOMA scheme, a plurality of independent signals transmitted in parallel at the same time using a common frequency channel thereby the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved.(Yuki [0019])
The combination of Kang, Kim, Yuki does not teach the information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme.
Minotani teaches the information indicating capability regarding the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme. ([0228] Fig. 24, Fig. 25, When AP 300 transmits a NOMA signal to a plurality of STAs 400, the reception processing capability information corresponding to the plurality of STA 400 to scheduler 305; When AP 300 transmits a NOMA signal to a plurality of STAs 400, for example, reception processing capability information holder 304 outputs the reception processing capability information corresponding to the plurality of STA 400 to scheduler 305.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Minotani with the teaching of Kang, Kim and Yuki because Minotani teaches identifying by STA number of spatial streams common to NOMA users would reduce the overhead of the NOMA control information, thereby improving the system performance.. (Minotani [0187])
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 16 prior art Gordaychik; Brian [US 20190363843 A1] teaches in para [0168] The preamble selected by the UE may have preassociated resources for the data transmission. Some preambles may indicate contiguous resources while others indicate noncontiguous resources. The preamble selected may also indicate MCS, number of resources for data transmission or any other parameters disclosed herein. The DCI may indicate PDSCH resources which provide a MAC CE or other data. A fallback to 4-step RACH may also be performed. The RAR window time may be an offset considering: a first symbol of MsgA, the last symbol of MsgA including data, the last symbol of the preamble, the first symbol of data. The UE may transmit a midamble, for example, in between data transmissions of one or more frames or PPDUs. The midambles may comprise one or more signal (SIG) fields, legacy training fields (LTF) fields or new training fields. Midables may be placed within differently modulated or coded segments, which may also have different power levels, of a PDU. Midambles may provide NOMA interference cancellation parameters or any other data or parameter as disclosed herein. A RAR window may be extended beyond 80 slots and may extend upwards of 10 ms or more if the RAR is configured to occur in an unlicensed band. The RA-RNTI may be computed based on any parameter disclosed herein. Training fields may be secured by a key.
And in para Chun et al. [US 20170170937 A1] discloses in para [0625]Fig. 31, STA 1 to STA n that receive the sounding and/buffer status request frame transmits the sounding and/or buffer status frame to the AP (S3102).
And in para [0626] STA 1 to STA n may transmit the sounding and/or buffer status frame to the AP in order according to the order information indicated by the sounding and/or buffer status request frame.
And also in para [0627] Further, STA 1 to STA n may transmit to the AP the sounding and/or buffer status frame including the number of LTE symbols (for example, HE-LTF or HE-midamble) as large as the number of streams indicated by the sounding and/or buffer status request frame.
However, combination or prior arts records Gordaychik and Chun does not teach
For claim 4
wherein in a case where it is decided to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, the wireless control unit causes sending to the wireless communication device such that the midamble of the first data unit and
the preamble of the second data unit are received by the wireless communication device at a same time, on a basis of the preamble of the first data unit.
And for claim 5
wherein in a case where it is decided to perform sending to which the non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied, the generation unit generates the second data unit in which the preamble of the second data unit is disposed to have a position and a length matching a position and
a length of the midamble of the first data unit such that the midamble of the first data unit and the preamble of the second data unit are received at a same time in the wireless communication device, on a basis of the preamble of the first data unit.
Therefore, claim 4 and 5 independently would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bala et al. [US 20200396698 A1] UPLINK ASYNCHRONOUS NON-ORTHOGONAL MULTIPLE ACCESS
Lee; Hojae et al. [US 10833796 B2] Method and apparatus for competition-based transmitting of uplink data in wireless communication system to which non-orthogonal multiple access scheme is applied
MANOLAKOS; Alexandros et al. [US 20190052420 A1] METHODS AND APPARATUS RELATED TO DEMODULATION REFERENCE SIGNAL DESIGN AND RELATED SIGNALING
/ATIQUE AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413