DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim has two period punctuations at the end of the claim following “roll”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-16,19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poloni (4,726,108). Regarding claims 11 and 12, Poloni discloses a roll-changing device (Fig. 3) including a roll changing carriage comprising a bridge crane (27) for moving working rolls (11) between a change stand (28) and for changing the working rolls (11) in and out of a rolling mill stand (25). Poloni discloses that the rolls are configured to be transported (col. 5, lines 24-27) by the roll changing carriage. Poloni discloses a cartridge (12,13,110), comprising a base body (12,13) including receiving spaces, arranged one above the other, comprising semi-circular edges on the base body (13) cooperating with the roll holder (12) for the working rolls (11), and a crane crossbeam (110), which is detachably connected (Figs. 1 and 2) to the base body (12,13). Poloni discloses that the cartridge (12,13,110) is detachably arranged in the roll-changing carriage (bridge crane, 27) and is connected and detached by a crane chain hook (24). The cartridge (12,13,110) is fitted with a load attachment (hook on vertical columns, 23; col. 4, lines 30-32) for engaging the crane chain hook (24). Poloni discloses (Figs. 11 and 12) axial shifting of work rolls (11) with a cartridge (10,33) including a base body (10) and a detachable crane cross beam (33) that is connected by a load attachment (34) to a crane hook (32) of a roll carriage. Regarding claim 13, the crane crossbeam (110) is fitted with the load attachment (hook on vertical columns, 23; col. 4, lines 30-32) for engaging the crane hook (24). Regarding claim 14, the crane crossbeam (110) surrounds the base body (12,13) on at least part of outer sides of the base body (12,13) wherein a crane crossbeam structure (16) extends downwardly (Fig. 1) and has a lower engagement profile (22) to cooperate with profile (21) on the base body (12,13; col. 4, lines 57-62) when the crane crossbeam (110) and the base body (12,13) are connected to one another (Fig. 2). Regarding claims 15 and 16, Poloni discloses that the crane crossbeam (110) has four vertically extending columns (23; Fig. 1). Regarding claim 19, Poloni discloses (Figs. 3 and 4) rolling stands (25,26) in a rolling mill shed comprising the roll-changing device (27). Regarding claim 20, Poloni discloses a system comprising an axial shifting guide (Fig. 5) is configured to axially pull/push the rolls (11) in connection with roll shafts (15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poloni (4,726,108). Poloni does not disclose six vertically extending columns. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to conduct routine experimentation with vertical column crane attachments to lift the roll cartridge. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to provide six vertically extending columns or as many columns as necessary to lift a heavy roll cartridge load with a crane device while providing enough attachment points to balance the heavy load.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-15-2026 have been fully considered. As discussed during the interview on 4-21-2026, the Examiner expressed his opinion that Poloni discloses the claim 11 amended subject matter (claim 11 amendment, 4-15-2026) as well as claim 20 subject matter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the base body (7) has a longitudinal extension (L) that corresponds to an axis of the rolls (2), wherein at least one of the vertically extending columns (10, 12) is arranged in each axial end region (13, 14) of the base body (7) in relation to the longitudinal extension (L) when the base body (7) and the crane crossbeam (8) are connected to one another, including the limitations of base claim 11 and intervening claims 14 and 15.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the crane crossbeam comprises a longitudinally extending upper beam arranged above the receiving spaces for the rolls in a coupled state of the crane crossbeam and the cartridge, and at least one vertical end column arranged at each axial end of the upper beam, including the limitations of base claim 11. Claims 22 and 23 would be allowable as they depend from allowable claim 21.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the base body comprises a longitudinally elongated base plate, two side walls extending upwardly from opposite sides of the base plate, and pairs of longitudinal rails arranged on the side walls, each pair of longitudinal rails including two rails disposed on opposing side walls and facing one another to define a respective receiving space for a roll, including the limitations of base claim 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725