DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Properzi (3,646,790). Properzi discloses a roll-changing device (Fig. 1) for changing working and/or intermediate rolls (rolling cylinders; col. 2, lines 29-30) of a rolling mill stand (1) comprising a roll-changing carriage (28,34), with which the rolls to be changed out or in can be transported, the language in claim 11, lines 3-4 is “can be transported” but Properzi discloses that the rolls are actually transported (col. 4, lines 10-28). Properzi discloses a cartridge (2,5), comprising a base body (block 2; Fig. 1) including receiving spaces comprising holes for the rolling cylinders and the drive component (3) and a crane crossbeam (5), which can be detachably connected (“body 5 mounted on top of each unit”; col. 2, line 45) to the base body (2). The claim 11, line 9 language is “can be detachably” arranged which does not require that the cartridge is actually detachable but Properzi discloses that the cartridge (2,5) is detachably arranged in the roll-changing carriage (28,34; col. 4, lines 27-30). The cartridge (2,5) is fitted with a load attachment (hole 24 in crane crossbeam 5; col. 3, lines 41-44) for engaging a crane hook (25). Regarding claim 12, the receiving spaces are arranged one above another (Fig. 1) which illustrates that there are two receiving spaces in the base body (2) for a metal material to pass through hole (2a). Regarding claim 13, the crane crossbeam (5) is fitted with the load attachment (24) for engaging the crane hook (25).
Claim(s) 11-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poloni (4,726,108). Poloni discloses a roll-changing device (Fig. 3) including a roll changing carriage comprising a bridge crane (27) for moving working rolls (11) between a change stand (28) and for changing the working rolls (11) in and out of a rolling mill stand (25), the language in claim 11, lines 3-4 is “can be transported” but Poloni discloses that the rolls are actually transported (col. 5, lines 24-27). Poloni discloses a cartridge (12,13,110), comprising a base body (12,13) including receiving spaces comprising semi-circular edges on the base body (13) cooperating with the roll holder (12) for the working rolls (11), and a crane crossbeam (110), which can be detachably connected (Figs. 1 and 2) to the base body (12,13). The claim 11, line 9 language is “can be detachably” arranged which does not require that the cartridge is actually detachable but Poloni discloses that the cartridge (12,13,110) is detachably arranged in the roll-changing carriage (bridge crane, 27) and is connected and deteched by a crane chain hook (24). The cartridge (12,13,110) is fitted with a load attachment (hook on vertical columns, 23; col. 4, lines 30-32) for engaging the crane chain hook (24). Regarding claim 13, the crane crossbeam (110) is fitted with the load attachment (hook on vertical columns, 23; col. 4, lines 30-32) for engaging the crane hook (24). Regarding claim 14, the crane crossbeam (110) surrounds the base body (12,13) on at least part of outer sides of the base body (12,13) wherein a crane crossbeam structure (16) extends downwardly (Fig. 1) and has a lower engagement profile (22) to cooperate with profile (21) on the base body (12,13; col. 4, lines 57-62) when the crane crossbeam (110) and the base body (12,13) are connected to one another (Fig. 2). Regarding claims 15 and 16, Poloni discloses that the crane crossbeam (110) has four vertically extending columns (23; Fig. 1). Regarding claim 19, Poloni discloses (Figs. 3 and 4) rolling stands (25,26) in a rolling mill shed comprising the roll-changing device (27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poloni (4,726,108). Poloni does not disclose six vertically extending columns. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to conduct routine experimentation with vertical column crane attachments to lift the roll cartridge. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to provide six vertically extending columns or as many columns as necessary to lift a heavy roll cartridge load with a crane device while providing enough attachment points to balance the heavy load.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the base body (7) has a longitudinal extension (L) that corresponds to an axis of the rolls (2), wherein at least one of the vertically extending columns (10, 12) is arranged in each axial end region (13, 14) of the base body (7) in relation to the longitudinal extension (L) when the base body (7) and the crane crossbeam (8) are connected to one another, including the limitations of base claim 11 and intervening claims 14 and 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak et al. (KR 2007-0109498) discloses a roll changing device (Fig. 3) for changing working rolls (2) comprising a roll changing carriage (6) configured to transport the rolls (2). Kwak discloses a cartridge (20,40) comprising a base body (40) including receiving spaces (42) for the rolls (2) and a crane crossbeam (20). Kwak discloses that the cartridge (20,40) is detachably arranged in the roll changing carriage wherein the cartridge (20,40) is fitted with a load attachment (22) for engaging a crane hook (8) of the roll changing carriage (6).
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725