DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “ for performing the method for performing the method as recited in claim 6” includes a drafting error. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “ for performing the method as recited in claim 6”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 6 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation “a predetermined threshold value” in line 11. It is not clear whether it is the same or different predetermined threshold value as recited in lines 9-10. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “the predetermined threshold value”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a predetermined period of time reaches a predetermined threshold value” in lines 14-15. It is not clear whether it is the same or different predetermined period of time and predetermined threshold value as recited in lines 9-10. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “the predetermined period of time reaches the predetermined threshold value”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a predetermined form according to a predetermined threshold value” in line 16. It is not clear whether its is the same or different predetermined form and predetermined threshold value recited in line 11. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “the predetermined form according to the predetermined threshold value”.
5. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the signal" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a signal".
6. Claims 7-10 are rejected as depending from claim 6.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation “A rechargeable battery” in line 1. It is not clear whether it is the same or different rechargeable battery as recited in claim 6 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “The rechargeable battery”.
8. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites the limitation “A power tool” in line 1. It is not clear whether it is the same or different power tool as recited in claim 6 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “The power tool”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheeks et al. (US 2019/0006980) as cited in IDS dated 1/22/24.
Regarding claim 6, Sheeks discloses a method ([0232]-[0245], Figs. 54 & 55) for communication between a power tool (14, Fig. 1A, [0145]) and a rechargeable battery for supplying the power tool with electrical energy(18, Figs. 1A & 1B, [0145]), the rechargeable battery including a controller unit (574, Fig. 53, [0227]) having at least one first transceiver(582, Fig. 53, [0227]), and the power tool including a control unit (402, Fig. 28, [0189]) having at least one second transceiver([0232]), the method steps of: emitting at least one first signal from the first transceiver to the second transceiver([0239]-[0240], Fig. 54); emitting at least one second signal from the first transceiver to the second transceiver after a predetermined period of time has elapsed([0240], Fig. 54); shifting the power tool from a first operating state into a second operating state if a number of signals received by the second transceiver in a predetermined period of time reaches a predetermined threshold value or a form of a signal received by the second transceiver deviates from a predetermined form according to the predetermined threshold value([0240]); and emitting at least one signal from the second transceiver to the first transceiver in order to shift the rechargeable battery from a first operating state into a second operating state if the number of signals received by the second transceiver in the predetermined period of time reaches the predetermined threshold value and/or the form of the signal received by the second transceiver deviates from the predetermined form according to the predetermined threshold value([0240]).
Regarding claim 8, Sheeks discloses a system (electrical combination 10, Figs. 1A & 1B, [0145]) for performing the method as recited in claim 6, the system comprising: the power tool(14, [0145]); and the rechargeable battery (18, [0145]) including a first communication element (communication terminals [0232]), and the power tool including a second communication element connectable to the first communication element(communication terminal [0212]), wherein in a connected state, signals are transferrable between the first and second communication elements([0232]).
Regarding claim 9, Sheeks discloses the rechargeable battery for performing the method as recited in claim 6([0224]-[0238]).
Regarding claim 10, Sheeks discloses the power tool for performing the method as recited in claim 6 ([0224]-[0226]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is further comprising emitting a signal containing a synchronization pattern from the first transceiver to the second transceiver in order to adjust a transmission rate for the communication between the at least one first transceiver and second transceiver.
Sheeks does not disclose, teach or render obvious further comprising emitting a signal containing a synchronization pattern from the first transceiver to the second transceiver in order to adjust a transmission rate for the communication between the at least one first transceiver and second transceiver.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724