DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 8/5/2026. Claims 22-42 are pending. Claims 22-23, 25, 29-30, 33, 35-36, and 38-40 were amended.
The previous rejection to claim 35 under 35 USC 112(a) is withdrawn in view of amendments.
The previous rejection of claims 30-31, 35, and 39 under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments directed toward claims 22, 36, and 40 filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, with the pending rejection omitting the previous reference Sharma.
Arguments directed toward claim 23, 38, and 41 are persuasive. Claims 23-24, 29-32, 38-39, and 41-42 are objected to.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recites “a plurality of turns of a conductor comprising traces of a printed circuit board, the conductor having a single source point and a single terminal point and comprising a first region of clockwise turns and a second region of counterclockwise turns configured to reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero when alternating electric current flows from the source to the terminal point;”. As best understood by the examiner, the limitation “reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero” is a direct consequence of the first region comprising clockwise turns and the second region comprising counterclockwise turns.
The applicant argues on page 15 of arguments filed 2/6/2026 that “Shlomovitz discusses opposing-direction dual coils in the context of producing rapidly-fading magnetic fields to reduce eddy-current distortions from external ferrous objects (paragraphs [0032]-[0036], [0064]- [0069]), not in the context of achieving substantially zero mutual inductance between the two regions of a single continuous conductor. Neither reference discloses, teaches, or suggests designing a coil to achieve substantially zero mutual inductance as a deliberate engineering objective.”
As best understood by the examiner, the zero mutual inductance is a consequence of a crossover coil, i.e. transmitter coil having a portion wound in a clockwise direction and a portion wound in a counterclockwise direction. Shlomovitz teaches a transmitting coil in Fig. 7B comprising all the structural limitations as claimed, and would reasonably be interpreted as providing “zero mutual inductance” in an equivalent manner as claimed. That Shlomovitz is not explicitly “in the context of achieving substantially zero mutual inductance between two regions of a single continuous conductor” is immaterial to the fact that it would have been inherently present due to the configuration of the coil. Furthermore, the pending application discloses wherein the self-crossing coil reduces eddy currents in conductive frames or plates around the transmitter coil. See [0101]. Therefore, the embodiment in Fig. 7B of Shlomovitz would reasonably read on the limitations as claimed.
Further, as best understood by the examiner, the limitation “a plurality of turns of a conductor comprising traces of a printed circuit board, the conductor having a single source point and a single terminal point and comprising a first region of clockwise turns and a second region of counterclockwise turns configured to reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero when alternating electric current flows from the source to the terminal point;” is not physically correct or consistent with what is disclosed in the pending application.
As best understood by the examiner, a cross-over coil such as coil 64 of Fig. 6 of the pending application would have a total inductance of L = L1 + L2 – 2M wherein L1 is an inductance for the left-side triangular loop, L2 is an inductance for the right-side triangular loop, and 2M is the mutual inductance (with 2M corresponding to the mutual inductance of the left-side coil on the right-side coil and the mutual inductance of the right-side coil on the left side, and the negative sign due to the coils having opposite polarity). As best understood by the examiner, there is no way to “reduce the mutual inductance between the first and second region to substantially zero”.
As stated in the specification, “The fields [Bi(r)] generated by the two or more coils may be symmetrical to each other, so that the mutual inductance between the two or more coils and one or more other coils are substantially zero.” See [0013]. “The transmitter coil responsive to a mutual inductance between the transmitter coil and the electrically conductive loop is substantially zero and emits the fields [Bi(r)] with reduced power dissipation in the transmitter coil.” See [0016]. “From the symmetry equations, it follows that the mutual inductance between any pair of coils is approximately zero, which makes the self-crossing configurations described above almost mutual inductance free.” See [0099]. “By symmetry, it was shown that the mutual inductance between the three coils of self-crossing coil configurations 70, 80, and 90 are zero. Similarly, the mutual inductance between self-crossing coil configurations 70, 80, and 90 and any centered loop, surrounding transmitter coil unit 100 is zero, therefore the magnetic flux (Φ) of Coils 1, 2 through any centered conductive frame surrounding transmitter coil unit 100 is zero.” See [0101].
Furthermore, it is well known in the field of inductors that forming an inductor with a clockwise component and a counterclockwise component reduces the mutual inductance with other coils. See embodiments of Figs. 2-7 and corresponding disclosure of US 4,135,183. See Figs. 4-8 and col. 5, lines 4-11 of US 6,137,447. See col. 3, lines 3-33 and Fig. 3 of US 6,777,937. See [0140] and Figs. 6, 30 of US 2004/0261544.
Further, it is known in the art of position sensors wherein a receiving coil has clockwise and counterclockwise portions such that the mutual inductance with a transmission coil is zero. See Figs. 6A-D and [0051] of US 2019/0265018. See [0025] and Fig. 3 of US 2015/0130451. See [0043] and Fig. 8 of US 2022/0057281.
Therefore, as best understood by the examiner, fields generated by the coil in the first region wound in a clockwise direction and a field generated by the coil in the second region wound in a counterclockwise direction would inherently provide the functional limitations wherein the mutual inductance with one or more other coils to be substantially zero.
Regarding claim 25, the coil of Shlomovitz is substantially identical to the coil as claimed and would reasonably provide the same results. See rejection below.
Regarding claim 33, arguments directed toward claim 33 are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 37, the applicant argues “Moreover, the specific advantage of the claimed single-conductor self-crossing geometry in this context - that the mutual inductance between the self-crossing coils and any centered surrounding metal frame is substantially zero (paragraph [0101]) - is a non-obvious structural consequence of the single-conductor geometry that is not taught or suggested by Shlomovitz's approach of reducing external distortion through field shaping.” As best understood by the examiner, the limitation as claimed is an inherent function of a self-crossing coil. Since Shlomovitz teaches a self-crossing coil equivalent to the coil as claimed as discussed above for claim 22, the functional limitation would reasonably be provided.
Therefore, claims 21-22, 25-28, and 33-37 stand rejected as outlined below.
Drawings:
The applicant argues on page 21:
“Applicant respectfully traverses the drawings objection under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The requirement to show "every feature of the invention" does not extend to environmental context in which a method is performed. Claim 37 is a method claim - the "metal frame of a patient support" is not a component of the transmitter coil nor a step of the method, but rather a locational qualifier describing the environment of use. The existing Figure 1 already depicts transmitter coil unit 100 within treatment room 400, which the specification at paragraph [0047j expressly identifies as the environment that includes the surrounding metal frame. Moreover, 37 CFR 1.83(a) itself carves out "conventional features... where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention." A metal frame of a hospital bed or examination table is a universally understood, conventional structure in the medical device field requiring no illustration for a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand.”
As best understood by the examiner, the applicant’s arguments are not supported by 37 CFR 1.83(a) and the quoted portion cited in the arguments omits relevant information. 37 CFR 1.83(a) states in its entirety:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings. (Emphasis added by examiner).
The examiner cannot find support for applicant’s assertion that the requirement to show every feature of the invention “does not extend to environmental context in which a method is performed.” 37 CFR 1.83(a) does not appear to provide any exceptions for method claims or “environmental context”.
Further, while the applicant’s argument states 37 CFR 1.83(a) “carves out ‘conventional features... where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention.’" the arguments misrepresents 37 CFR 1.83(a) by omitting the last part of the sentence. The quoted portion, in its entirety, states “conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box).”
Therefore, the claimed “metal frame of a patient support”, while conventional and not essential for a proper understand of the invention, “should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box)”. This may be done in an equivalent manner as “an enclosure or treatment room 400” as illustrated in Fig. 1 and recited in [0047] of the pending Pg. Pub..
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a metal frame of a patient support” as recited in claim 37 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recites “a plurality of turns of a conductor comprising traces of a printed circuit board, the conductor having a single source point and a single terminal point and comprising a first region of clockwise turns and a second region of counterclockwise turns configured to reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero when alternating electric current flows from the source to the terminal point;”. As best understood by the examiner, the limitation is not physically correct nor is it consistent with what is disclosed in the pending application.
As best understood by the examiner, the cross-over coil does not reduce the mutual reduction between the first and second regions substantially to zero, but rather the mutual inductance between the claimed coil having clockwise and counterclockwise regions and an addition coil are reduced to zero.
As best understood by the examiner, the cross-over coil such as coil 64 of Fig. 6 of the pending application would have a total inductance of L = L1 + L2 – 2M wherein L1 is an inductance for the left-side triangular loop, L2 is an inductance for the right-side triangular loop, and 2M is the mutual inductance (with 2M corresponding to the mutual inductance of the left-side coil on the right-side coil and the mutual inductance of the right-side coil on the left side, and the negative sign due to the coils having opposite polarity). As best understood by the examiner, there is no way to “reduce the mutual inductance between the first and second region to substantially zero” based on the configuration as claimed.
As stated in the specification, “The fields [Bi(r)] generated by the two or more coils may be symmetrical to each other, so that the mutual inductance between the two or more coils and one or more other coils are substantially zero.” See [0013]. “The transmitter coil responsive to a mutual inductance between the transmitter coil and the electrically conductive loop is substantially zero and emits the fields [Bi(r)] with reduced power dissipation in the transmitter coil.” See [0016]. “From the symmetry equations, it follows that the mutual inductance between any pair of coils is approximately zero, which makes the self-crossing configurations described above almost mutual inductance free.” See [0099]. “By symmetry, it was shown that the mutual inductance between the three coils of self-crossing coil configurations 70, 80, and 90 are zero. Similarly, the mutual inductance between self-crossing coil configurations 70, 80, and 90 and any centered loop, surrounding transmitter coil unit 100 is zero, therefore the magnetic flux (Φ) of Coils 1, 2 through any centered conductive frame surrounding transmitter coil unit 100 is zero.” See [0101].
Thus, the disclosure teaches wherein three coils, wherein two of the coils are crossover coils, have a mutual inductance reduced to zero.
Further, as stated in the response to arguments, it is known in the art of position sensors to comprise transmitting coils and/or receiving coils having a figure-8 configuration to reduce the mutual inductance with other coils to zero.
Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted wherein the figure-8 coil configuration of Shomovitz would inherently provide the limitation of reducing the mutual coupling between the transmitting coil and other conductive loops to zero.
Claims 36 and 40 are rejected for reciting similar subject matter as claim 22. Claims 23-35, 37-39, and 41-42 are rejected through a dependence on one of claims 22, 36, and 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 25, 33-34, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0343422 (Shlomovitz) in view of US 2005/0024043 (Govari).
Regarding claim 22, Shlomovitz teaches a transmitter coil for position-finding (a coil comprising magnetic filed transmitters 961, 962 of Fig. 7B), the transmitter coil comprising:
a plurality of turns of a conductor comprising traces of a printed circuit board, the conductor having a single source point and a single terminal point and comprising a first region of clockwise turns and a second region of counterclockwise turns configured to reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero when alternating electric current flows from the source to the terminal point (the conductors comprise multiple turns with coil 961 wound clockwise from the interior of the spiral to the exterior and transmitter 962 wound counterclockwise from the exterior to the interior of the spiral such that the currents is driven in opposite directions, wherein it would be understood that the coils can be formed on a printed circuit board 21, 144 to allow for printing the conductive coil; see Fig. 7B, 9B, 12A, see [0071]-[0073[, [0082], [0096]);
a connection that receives an alternating electric current to cause the transmitter coil to transmit a total electromagnetic field into a sensing region, the total electromagnetic field being measurable by a magnetometer within the sensing region to track a sensor (an alternating current is applied to the coil and may be of varying amplitude and frequency and with multiple frequencies simultaneously wherein the current is driven from an interior of the spiral to the exterior of the spiral of transmitter 961 then from the exterior of the spiral to the interior of the spiral of transmitter 962 to transmit a magnetic field into a sensing region as illustrated for a two-coil transmitter as illustrated in Fig. 5B; see Figs. 5B, 7B; see [0007], [0070]-[0073]);
wherein the turns are constrained by widths of the traces to converge toward a center, resulting in differing resulting magnetic fields from each turn (each transmitter 961, 962 comprises multiple turns wound from the exterior to the interior of the spiral such that the radius of each turn decreases in size and the size of each turn is limited by the size of the proceeding turn and, although not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand each turn carries the same current and the different diameter of each spiral would result in different magnetic fields generated from each turn in accordance with the Biot-Savart law; see Fig. 7B).
Shlomovitz fails to teach a low-frequency alternating electric current and a DC magnetometer.
Govari teaches a low-frequency alternating electric current and a DC magnetometer (A medical tracking system includes field generator coils 32 driven at frequencies in the range of 100 Hz-30 kHz. The claim does not positively recite the DC magnetometer, merely that the magnetic field is “measurable by a DC magnetometer”. See [0033]. As best understood by the examiner, any magnetic field driven at a frequency less than 1 kHz would be measurable by a DC magnetometer. See Further, Govari teaches in [0004] and [0049] wherein it is known for a position sensor to use Hall effect sensors which is a known type of DC magnetometer. Therefore, since the frequency range for exciting the magnetic field includes values below 1 kHz, the magnetic fields generated would reasonably be measurable by a DC magnetometer. Note: also see [0163] of US 2018/0340990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Govari into Shlomovitz since transmitted frequencies ranging from 100 Hz to 30 kHz are known in the art for tracking the position of an object. Further, it is also understood that magnetic field may be detected using DC magnetometers such as Hall sensors or magnetoresistive sensors. Therefore, although Govari is silent as to the particular frequency used, the choice of using a low-frequency detectable using a Hall sensor is known in the art and selecting a low-frequency would be an obvious matter of design choice without providing any new or unexpected result.
Regarding claim 25, Shlomovitz teaches in [0036]:
Distortion of the magnetic field during localization of an object therein deteriorates the accuracy of the target object localization within the magnetic field. Accordingly, aspects of the present disclosure are directed to reducing the magnetic distortion produced by ferrous objects outside an area of interest for localization, thereby improving the repeatability and accuracy of the localization system in response to environments with static and/or dynamic ferrous objects in proximity to the area of interest.” Emphasis provided by examiner.
Shlomovitz further teaches wherein a single magnetic field transmitting coil as shown in Fig. 4 generates a magnetic field as shown in Fig. 5A wherein the field reduces as a function of distance as illustrated by 610 in Fig. 6B and a dual coil having clockwise and counterclockwise rotations shown in Fig. 7B generates a magnetic field as shown in Fig. 5B wherein the field reduces as a function of distance as illustrated by 615 in Fig. 6B. As shown in Fig. 6B the magnetic field 615 generated by the dual coil decreases faster than the magnetic field 610 generated by a single coil which decreases the effects of eddy currents which distort the magnetic field and impede the tracking accuracy. See [0032]-[0036].
Therefore, Shlomovitz teaches using a dual coil comprising clockwise turns and counterclockwise turns having identical structure as claimed and Shlomovitz teaches wherein the dual coil generates less distorting eddy currents which deteriorates the accuracy of the target as claimed, it would be a reasonable presumption that the prior art structure inherently performs the same functions as claimed in view of the arguments provided is Shlomovitz. See MPEP 2182.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Shlomovitz and Govari teaches the transmitter coil of claim 22, provided together with a DC magnetometer configured to measure the total electromagnetic field for the position- finding, the DC magnetometer having a sensitivity substantially unaffected by frequency of the total electromagnetic field (see rejection of claims 21-22).
Regarding claim 34, Shlomovitz teaches the transmitter coil of claim 22, wherein the first and second regions are adjacently positioned (see Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 36, Shlomovitz teaches a method of operating a transmitter coil for position measurement (a method for using a coil comprising magnetic filed transmitters 961, 962 of Fig. 7B; see [0034]), the method comprising:
providing a transmitter coil comprising a plurality of turns of a conductor comprising traces of a printed circuit board, the conductor having a single source point and a single terminal point, the turns comprising a first region of clockwise turns and a second region of counterclockwise turns configured to reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero (the conductors comprise multiple turns with coil 961 wound clockwise from the interior of the spiral to the exterior and transmitter 962 wound counterclockwise from the exterior to the interior of the spiral such that the currents is driven in opposite directions, wherein it would be understood that the coils can be formed on a printed circuit board 21, 144 to allow for printing the conductive coil; see Fig. 7B, 9B, 12A, see [0071]-[0073[, [0082], [0096]);
providing an alternating electric current from the source point to the terminal point of the transmitter coil to transmit a total electromagnetic field into a sensing region (an alternating current is applied to the coil and may be of varying amplitude and frequency and with multiple frequencies simultaneously wherein the current is driven from an interior of the spiral to the exterior of the spiral of transmitter 961 then from the exterior of the spiral to the interior of the spiral of transmitter 962 to transmit a magnetic field into a sensing region as illustrated for a two-coil transmitter as illustrated in Fig. 5B; see Figs. 5B, 7B; see [0007], [0070]-[0073]);
accessing measurements of the total electromagnetic field made using a magnetometer within the sensing region; and calculating a position of the sensor, according to the accessed measurements (a magnetic sensor is coupled to the object and indicates a position of the sensor within the magnetic field; see [0007]).
Shlomovitz fails to teach a low-frequency alternating electric current and a DC magnetometer.
Govari teaches a low-frequency alternating electric current and a DC magnetometer (A medical tracking system includes field generator coils 32 driven at frequencies in the range of 100 Hz-30 kHz. The claim does not positively recite the DC magnetometer, merely that the magnetic field is “measurable by a DC magnetometer”. See [0033]. As best understood by the examiner, any magnetic field driven at a frequency less than 1 kHz would be measurable by a DC magnetometer. See Further, Govari teaches in [0004] and [0049] wherein it is known for a position sensor to use Hall effect sensors which is a known type of DC magnetometer. Therefore, since the frequency range for exciting the magnetic field includes values below 1 kHz, the magnetic fields generated would reasonably be measurable by a DC magnetometer. Note: also see [0163] of US 2018/0340990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Govari into Shlomovitz since transmitted frequencies ranging from 100 Hz to 30 kHz are known in the art for tracking the position of an object. Further, it is also understood that magnetic field may be detected using DC magnetometers such as Hall sensors or magnetoresistive sensors. Therefore, although Govari is silent as to the particular frequency used, the choice of using a low-frequency detectable using a Hall sensor is known in the art and selecting a low-frequency would be an obvious matter of design choice without providing any new or unexpected result.
Regarding claim 37, Shlomovitz performed in a medical setting with a metal frame of a patient support surrounding the transmitter coil (Shlomovitz discloses the method is performed with a medical device shown in Fig. 3 having a table 78 and addresses magnetic distortions caused by ferrous/conductive objects such as metallic (conductive) objects, and any other object that otherwise affects the accuracy of a magnetic tracking system, but doesn’t specifically identify “a metal frame of a patient support”. It would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the invention would be applicable for a table having a metal frame to suppress distortions caused by eddy currents arising in the metal objects as outlined in the reference. See Fig. 3; see [0032], [0045], [0047], [0051]-[0052]).
Claim(s) 26 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0343422 (Shlomovitz) in view of US 2005/0024043 (Govari), and in further view of US 2018/0343042 (Luzinski).
Regarding claims 26 and 35, Shlomovitz fails to teach wherein the turns of the conductor generate reversal of winding direction from clockwise to counterclockwise by crossing over each other; and wherein the first and second regions are overlappingly positioned.
Luzinski teaches wherein the turns of the conductor generate reversal of winding direction from clockwise to counterclockwise by crossing over each other; and wherein the first and second regions are overlappingly positioned (Figs. 1, 5, and 14 teach wherein first and second regions of a Fig. 8 coil are wound overlappingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Luzinski into Shlomovitz as a known alternative configuration for forming a figure eight coil which would not require undue experimentation or provide any new or unexpected results and amount to a mere substitution of one known element for another known element to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143 I. (B).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0343422 (Shlomovitz) in view of US 2005/0024043 (Govari), and in further view of US 2021/0141034 (Sharma).
Regarding claims 27-28, Shlomovitz teaches the transmitter coil of claim 22, but fails to teach the transmitter coil of claim 22, provided on the printed circuit board with at least two other transmitter coils, and wherein at least one of the other transmitter coils does not reverse winding direction between clockwise and counterclockwise.
Sharma teaches a transmitter coil provided on the printed circuit board with at least two other transmitter coils (additional coils 120 and 130 are provided with coil 11, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate it would be obvious to form the coils on the same circuit board, such as stacked layers of a multi-layer circuit board as illustrated in Fig. 1); and wherein at least one of the other transmitter coils does not reverse winding direction between clockwise and counterclockwise (third electromagnet coil 130 does not reverse the winding direction; see Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Sharma into Shlomovitz to generate magnetic fields in the X-, Y-, and Z-axes to generate the desired total magnetic fields for each of the X-, Y-, and Z-axes based on the desired linearity.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0343422 (Shlomovitz) in view of US 2005/0024043 (Govari) and US 5,659,281 (Pissanetzky).
Regarding claim 40, Shlomovitz teaches a method of designing a transmitter coil manufactured as part of a printed circuit board (a coil comprising magnetic filed transmitters 961, 962 of Fig. 7B; see [0034]) the method comprising:
selecting power constraints for the transmitter coil, and dimensional constraints of the printed circuit board (the coils may generate magnetic fields of varying amplitudes, wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the current amplitudes and coil dimensions appropriate for generating the design field as a matter of routine optimization without requiring undue experimentation or providing new or unexpected results since is would be a matter of common sense for the coil to fit on the circuit board, and the radius of the coils and current applied to the coils would be determined based on the desired magnetic field wherein the resolution is determined based on the magnetic field, the current in the coils, the number of windings and the physical dimensions including wire gauge, inner/outer diameters; see coil of Fig. B; see [0062], [0095]);
selecting an initial number of transmitter coil turns, sized to fit within the dimensional constraints of the printed circuit board, while maintaining material construction and cross-sectional size consistent with the power constraints, the turns comprising a single conductor having a single source point and a single terminal point, and comprising a first region of clockwise turns and a second region of counterclockwise turns configured to reduce mutual inductance between the first and second regions to substantially zero when an alternating electric current flows from the source point to the terminal point (the conductors comprise multiple turns with coil 961 wound clockwise from the interior of the spiral to the exterior and transmitter 962 wound counterclockwise from the exterior to the interior of the spiral such that the currents is driven in opposite directions, wherein it would be understood that the coils can be formed on a printed circuit board 21, 144 to allow for printing the conductive coil, wherein the number of windings, current, and diameter are known parameters for determining the size of a desired magnetic field; see Fig. 7B, 9B, 12A, see [0062], [0071]-[0073[, [0082], [0095]-[0096])
wherein the adjusting geometries is performed to optimize at least one of the group consisting of calculated overall tracking error and calculated power dissipation (the coil is designed to reduce a magnetic field in a separate area to mitigate the effect of the magnetic-field disrupting components on the localized magnetic field in the region or interests which impedes the tracking accuracy; see [0006], [0032], [0036], [0051]).
Shlomovitz fails a low-frequency alternating electric current; and to teach iteratively adjusting geometries of the transmitter coil turns within the power constraints and the dimensional constraints.
Govari teaches a low-frequency alternating electric current (A medical tracking system includes field generator coils 32 driven at frequencies in the range of 100 Hz-30 kHz. See [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Govari into Shlomovitz since transmitted frequencies ranging from 100 Hz to 30 kHz are known in the art for tracking the position of an object. Further, it is also understood that magnetic field may be detected using DC magnetometers such as Hall sensors or magnetoresistive sensors. Therefore, although Govari is silent as to the particular frequency used, the choice of using a low-frequency detectable using a Hall sensor is known in the art and selecting a low-frequency would be an obvious matter of design choice without providing any new or unexpected result.
Pissanetzky teaches iteratively adjusting geometries of the transmitter coil turns within the power constraints and the dimensional constraints (Optimization of the magnetic field parameters toward the design goal is then performed by iterative adjustment of the size, location and current in the coils 70A through 70C, followed by evaluation of the field after each incremental adjustment. Upon the simulated field reaching the optimal condition relative to volume of interest VOI, the position, current and size of each coil is then determined. See col. 5, lines 50-63 and col. 15, lines 13-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Pissanetzky into Shlomovitz in order to gain the advantage iteratively designing a coil which generates a magnetic field by iteratively adjusting the size, location and current in the coils to reach an optimal condition for a given tolerance limit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24, 29-32, 38-39, and 41-42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The limitations as claimed provide benefits as outlined in [0081]-[0088] of corresponding Pg.Pub. US 2024/0337472, including real-time electromagnetic tracking run at very high rates, simplifying calculations suitable for a low-end processor or memory, and speed up computation by a factor of 10-20 times.
The prior art of record does not teach the subject matter of claims 23, 38, and 41 in combination with all other limitations of the parent claim, respectively.
Claims 24 and 29-32, definite and enabled by the specification, are allowed through a dependence on objected claim 21.
Claim 39, definite and enabled by the specification, are allowed through a dependence on objected claim 38.
Claim 42, definite and enabled by the specification, are allowed through a dependence on objected claim 41.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
US 2018/0340990 teaches “[0163] Coil 1002 may produce a DC (or substantially low frequency AC) magnetic field that can be detected by MR element 1006, but which does not produce eddy currents in the target. The signal produced by detection of the DC (or substantially low frequency AC) magnetic field may be used to adjust sensitivity of the magnetic field sensor.” The sensor may be a Hall effect element or magnetoresistor element. See [0070].
US 2010/0138183 teaches “[0023] The magnetoresistance sensor 10 provides a very small form factor, excellent signal-to-noise ratio (low noise operation), and excellent low frequency response. Low noise combined with wide dynamic range enables the magnetoresistance sensor 10 to be used for position and orientation tracking in surgical navigation systems. The low frequency response of the magnetoresistance sensor 10 allows a surgical navigation system to operate at very low frequencies where metal tolerance is maximized.” Also see [0025] of US 2012/0165657.
US 2016/029998 teaches in [0607], “Magnetometers can also be classified as “AC” if they measure fields that vary relatively rapidly in time (>100 Hz), and “DC” if they measure fields that vary only slowly (quasi-static) or are static.”
Additional references are provided which are also relevant to the limitations as claimed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858