CTNF 18/579,405 CTNF 97077 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “using a physical model” in Line 3. It is unclear clear what actionable and repeatable method step is encompassed by “using” a physical model. This is because the physical model is recited in Lines 3-5 as ‘taking’ “at least one of hot metal tapping rate, slag tapping rate, hot metal production rate, and slag production rate as an input.” It is unclear how one is to “use” the claimed physical model. Appropriate correction is required to establish actionable and repeatable method steps with positive active claim language. Claim 1 recites in Lines 5-6 “based on a mass balance assuming existence of the low permeability zone with poor permeation of slag at a bottom of a furnace.” This recitation presents the following issues of clarity: It is unclear what the term “based on” conveys, The term “based on” does not clearly indicate what tangible active method step is required, or how one is to carry out the claimed invention. There is insufficient information for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to make the step of using a physical model that is “based on” a mass balance assuming existence of the low permeability zone with poor permeation of slag at a bottom of a furnace. It is unclear whether the act of “assuming” is meant to be an actionable method step, is an assertion of the existence of the low permeability zone, is an action taken by “mass balance,” an action taken by “a physical model,” or some other meaning entirely. Appropriate correction is required to established concrete actionable and repeatable method steps. The recitation “poor permeation” in Line 6 is a relative term rendering the claims indefinite. The term “poor permeation” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not ascertainable what constitutes the metes and bounds or quantity of what constitutes ‘poor’ permeation. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 3 recites “a most recent predetermined period” in Line 4. The metes and bounds of “a most recent predetermined period” have not been established. It is unclear what defines recent, and how this relates to the period of time. Further, because predetermined is arbitrary, no period of time meets the limitation for a most recent predetermined period. Appropriate correction is required to establish concrete actionable and repeatable method steps with positive active claim langue. Claim 3 recites “calculating a position…using a relationship between an area ratio of the plurality of regions and the Δslag amount “ in Lines 3-5. It is unclear what constitutes cellulating “ using a relationship ” between an area ratio of the plurality of regions and the Δslag amount, what step or steps would be encompassed by this “use”, and to what end, effect or impact. No actual method steps are set forth within the claim in this regard. Additionally, a relationship has not been defined. Appropriate correction is required to establish a nexus between any calculating step and any relationship between other claimed elements. Claim 4 recites “presenting” in Line 1 and it is unclear whether this is a physical active method step, a visual presentation, or some other meaning entirely. Further, the use of the phrase “presenting an operation action to an operator” renders unclear whether the limitations that follow are a method step, an intended use, or an intended outcome of the ‘presentation.’ Claim 4 recites in Lines 2-3 “based on the liquid level of melt.” It is unclear what the term “based on” conveys. The term “based on” does not clearly indicate what tangible active method step is required, or how one is to carry out the claimed invention. There is insufficient information for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to make the step of presenting an operation action based on data. As set forth above, due to the lack of clarity, it is further unclear whether the limitations after presenting an operation action to an operator are required steps or an intended use of the presenting step. Claim 5 r ecites “producing hot metal” in Line 2. It is unclear how hot metal is produced by an operation guidance method that recites no hot metal production steps. It is further unclear the metes and bounds of “hot” metal. Appropriate correction is required to establish concrete actionable and repeatable method steps with positive active claim langue. Claim 6 recites “using the physical model” in Line 8. It is unclear how the blast furnace slag level estimation apparatus comprising a liquid level calculator is to “use” the claimed physical model. It is unclear how a calculator configured to calculate a liquid level of melt containing slag uses a physical model. The metes and bounds of “using” a physical model are unclear. The claims are drawn to an apparatus. Appropriate correction is required to establish tangible claim elements. Claim 6 recites in Lines 4-5 “based on a mass balance assuming existence of the low permeability zone with poor permeation of slag at a bottom of a furnace;” This recitation presents the following issues of clarity: It is unclear what the term “based on” conveys, The term “based on” does not clearly indicate what tangible active method step is required, or how one is to carry out the claimed invention. There is insufficient information for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to make the step of presenting. Further, due to the lack of clarity, it is unclear whether the limitations after presenting an operation action to an operator are required steps or an intended use of the presenting step. It is unclear whether the act of “assuming” is meant to be an actionable method step, is an assertion of the existence of the low permeability zone, is an action taken by “mass balance,” an action taken by “a physical model,” or some other meaning entirely. Appropriate correction is required to established concrete actionable and repeatable method steps. Claim 4 recites “an operation guidance apparatus…configured to present an operation action to an operator” in Lines 1-2 which renders unclear whether the limitations that follow are a method step, an intended use, or an intended outcome of the ‘presentation.’ Claim 4 recites in Line 3 “based on the liquid level of melt.” It is unclear what the term “based on” conveys. The term “based on” does not clearly indicate a nexus between the operation action and the liquid level of melt. As set forth above, due to the lack of clarity, it is further unclear whether the limitations after presenting an operation action to an operator are required steps or an intended use of the configured presentation. Claims 2-4 and 7 recite “liquid level of melt” while claims 1 and 6 recite “liquid level of melt containing slag.” Each instance of “liquid level of melt” in Claims 2-4 and 7 lack proper antecedent basis as they ultimately depend on a reference to “a liquid level of melt containing slag.” Appropriate correction is required and Applicant is encouraged to be consistent in the reference to a melt. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without reciting significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are drawn to a blast furnace slag level estimation method, a blast furnace slag level estimation apparatus, and an operation guidance apparatus. However, the estimation steps of Claims 1- 5, memory and calculator of Claim 6, and presentation interface of Claim 7 fail to provide a practical application to a mathematical concept. A mathematical concept is not to be accorded the protection of US patent laws. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Additionally, claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Independent Claim 1 recites calculating a liquid level of melt containing slag using a physical model based on a mass balance assuming existence of the low permeability zone with poor permeation of slag at a bottom of a furnace as an input. Because the method is drawn to the execution of making estimations, the dependent claims are ultimately drawn to a mathematical formulation and product. Independent Claim 6 recites a blast furnace slag level estimation apparatus comprising a memory and liquid level calculator. Though this claim includes a physical model, the claim is ultimately drawn to mathematical data generation, in essence rate and height. These claims fail to overcome the judicial exception. The mere integration of a device or processor does not bring the claimed subject matter outside the scope of an abstract idea. Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, the steps of Claim 6 ultimately amount to a mental process which could be calculated and implemented by hand. Though not relied upon in the instant 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, prior art NPL Roche, Li et al. CN 112458225 A, and NPL Brännbacka et al. are herein cited as teaching estimation methods for blast furnace slag levels, and liquid levels of melt containing slag. Even if the instantly claimed method and apparatus are found distinct, the recitation of estimating liquid levels, storing, calculating, and operating based on rate data fails to bring the invention beyond a mathematical concept. See MPEP 2106.05(a). In sum, the claimed estimation method, estimation apparatus, and operation guidance apparatus amount to an abstract idea and the claims do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Tying the production estimation method to a memory, calculator, and interface do not bring the claims outside the scope of an abstract idea. Claims 1-7 remain drawn to an abstract idea, a mathematical calculation, and mental process. The claims are therefore not patent eligible as currently written. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by NPL Roche et al . Regarding Claim 1, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Roche et al. discloses a method comprising calculating a liquid level of melt containing slag for each region in a plurality of regions separated by a low permeability zone, using a physical model that takes as an input slag production rate and slag tapping rate (Section 4.1), and is based on a mass balance assuming existence of low permeability zone with poor permeation of slag at a bottom of a furnace (Sections 3.3-3.4), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim. Regarding Claim 2, NPL Roche et al. discloses the liquid level of melt includes a liquid level of slag and a liquid level of hot metal (Figure 5). Regarding Claim 3, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Roche et al. discloses calculating a position of the lower permeability zone based on a difference in a slag tapping amount in each region in the plurality of regions for a most recent predetermined period, using a relationship between an area ratio of the plurality of regions and the difference in a slag tapping amount in each region in the plurality of regions, wherein the calculating of the position of the low permeability zone is performed before the calculating of the liquid level of melt (Section 3.2). Regarding Claims 4-5, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Roche et al. discloses iron production at (Section 1). The computer-generated display of recommend production parameters in Figure 4 and computer-generated display of in-furnace conditions in Figure 17 are read on the limitations of the instant claims for an operation guidance method comprising presenting an operation action to an operator to reduce permeability resistance based on the calculated liquid level of melt calculated by the blast furnace slag level estimation method according to claim 1. Regarding Claims 6-7, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Roche et al. discloses liquid level modeling and display of numerical models (Section 2). The computer-generated display of liquid levels and a model that takes hot metal production rate and slag production rate as input read on the limitations of the instant claims for a memory, liquid level calculator, and operation guidance apparatus . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 are alternatively and additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Roche et al. as applied to claims 1-3 above further in view of Li et al. CN 112458225 A . Regarding Claims 4-7, As set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections above, the claims do not recite tangible and repeatable positive active method steps and therefore, comparison to the prior art, in general, is rendered difficult. Digitizing a mathematical concept does not bring the claims outside the realm of the judicial exception. Nonetheless, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above NPL Roche et al. discloses the limitations set forth above including a slag level estimation method. NPL Roche et al. does not detail the specifics of its integration of a computer system. However, Li et al. ‘225 teaches a real-time online monitoring system that provides liquid level calculation allowing a producer (meeting the limitation for an operator) to alter molten metal processing parameters based on a calculation of liquid level estimation within a blast furnace hearth; the online monitory system features a graphic display mode, storage model, and liquid level calculator [0006], meeting the limitations for presenting an operation method and for a blast furnace slag level estimation apparatus. Li et al. ‘225 further teaches the monitoring permits stable and efficient production of iron from the blast furnace [0016]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to apply a real time monitoring system to present an operation action to an operator to reduce permeability resistance based on the liquid level of melt calculated by the blast furnace slag level estimation method disclosed in NPL Roche in order to permit stable and efficient production of metal based on the teachings of Li et al. ‘225 at (Abstract), [0006], meeting the limitations of the instant Claims . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Ng, Ka Wing, et al. "Coke size and shape characterisation for bed permeability estimation." AISTech-iron and steel technology conference proceedings . 2013. teaches calculating permeability at the bottom of a blast furnace and estimating pressure drop at the furnace bed. Brännbacka, Johnny, and Henrik Saxén. "Novel model for estimation of liquid levels in the blast furnace hearth." Chemical engineering science 59.16 (2004): 3423-3432. novel model for estimation of liquid levels in the blast furnace hearth teaches a physical model for tracking iron and slag levels in a blast furnace hearth. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MORIAH S. SMOOT whose telephone number is (571)272-2634. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am - 5pm EDT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Keith Hendricks can be reached at (571) 272-1401. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733 /M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 2 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 3 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 4 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 5 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 6 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 7 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 8 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 9 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 10 Art Unit: 1733 Application/Control Number: 18/579,405 Page 11 Art Unit: 1733