Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the 112(f) interpretations are no longer appropriate based on the amendments. Examiner has withdrawn the 112(f) interpretations where appropriate, however, the interpretation of a communication interface is maintained herein.
Applicant argues that A. Tanikella does not disclose a particle position sensor configured to detect a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article (Pages 10-11, Arguments). Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been updated, as necessitated by amendment. However, where relevant, Examiner has addressed Applicant’s arguments as they pertain to citations within the rejection of claim 18 and 1. Applicant argues the rejection of claim 18 (Page 13, Arguments) that A. Tanikella does not disclose detecting, using a sensor, a position of an abrasive article. Applicant references only [0072] of Tanikella regarding the SEM photomicrographs in relation to claim 18, however, all arguments directed towards the subject matter of Tanikella cited to in the rejection of claim 18 are addressed herein.
Examiner points out the microscopic interactions between an abrasive grain and a work surface are described in the context of Figs. 13 and 14; see [0208]: sensors may collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions (e.g. tribology) occurring in a grinding zone (i.e. the region between a grinding wheel and a work material). Sensors can be configured to extrapolate the depth of penetration of an abrasive grain, wherein each depth of penetration may then be linked to a specific microscopic interaction (i.e. the context of Figure 13, and an individual abrasive grain location as a depth of penetration is determined). The SEM photomicrographs are also disclosed as a methodology of evaluating the microscopic structures of abrasive grains (see [0072]). See [0234-0235] regarding microscopic data in the context of Figure 14. As can be seen in at least [0208], the sensors collect information including the depth of penetration of the abrasive grain against the work piece during each step of the grinding process. Furthermore, microscopic evaluations are disclosed in [0072], [0208], [0235], and wherein GPS is also disclosed in [0129]. Tanikella also discloses that the distinction between primary and secondary types of abrasive particles may be based upon the position of the abrasive particle within the body, wherein the primary abrasive particles may be positioned to conduct an initial stage of material removal or conduct the majority of material removal compared to the secondary abrasive particles; see [0114]. Therefore, as can be seen by at least the above citations and prior art rejection in view of Tanikella below, the reference discloses detecting the position (e.g. sensing the depth) of the abrasive particle of the abrasive article (e.g. of the abrasive grain).
Applicant argues that B. Tanikella does not disclose tracking a path of the abrasive particle based on the received position of the abrasive particle (Page 10, Arguments). Applicant argues that C. Tanikella does not disclose calculating an abrading volume based on the path of the abrasive particle and the current set of parameters (Pages 11-12, Arguments). Applicant lastly argues that D. Tanikella does not disclose providing a new set of operation parameters based on the calculated abrading volume (Pages 12-13, Arguments).
Regarding argument B, i.e. tracking a path of the abrasive particle based on the received position of the abrasive article (recited in amended claim 1), these arguments are directed towards subject matter which is addressed in an updated grounds of rejection below as necessitated by amendment, these arguments are considered moot. Please see the updated prior art rejection below regarding the argued amended limitation of claim 1.
Furthermore, in reference to arguments B, C, and D, Examiner further points out that the path of an abrasive particle is calculated (as it relates to material removal rate) in the context of the disclosure directed towards Figures 9A-9C. The dimensions of material removal rates are volumes of material removed over a period of time, i.e. abrading volume and volumetric rate. Paragraph [0141] discloses microscopic interactions in the context of material removal rates, wherein [0142-0143] provide formulas for the material removal rate with respect to the microscopic interactions shown in Figures 9A-9C.
Applicant argues in the contact of claim 18 that B. Tanikella does not disclose calculating a path of the detected abrasive particle on a work surface and C. Tanikella does not disclose calculating a first volumetric cut rate for the abrasive article, based on the calculated path and the retrieved operation parameters. (Pages 13-14, Arguments).
Claim 18 recites, inter alia, calculating a path of the detected abrasive particle on a work surface in contact with the abrasive article.
As pointed out above, figures 9A-9C of Tanikella disclose a path of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article. In an effort to reduce redundancy, please see the citations and explanations above as related to calculating a path of the abrasive particle on a work surface in contact with the abrasive particle.
Claim 18 further recites calculating a first volumetric cut rate for the abrasive article, based on the calculated path and the retrieved operation parameters.
Paragraphs [0141-0142] of Tanikella disclose a material removal rate calculation. Specifically, [0141] discloses: Each type of interaction could be incorporated into the analytical models and/or machine learning methods and systems described herein. For example, an abrasive-type interaction could include cutting (material removal), plowing (material displacement), or sliding (surface modification) effect. The dimensions of material removal rates are volumes of material removed over a period of time, i.e. abrading volume and volumetric rate.
Paragraph [0142] discloses: FIG. 9B depicts example force interactions and associated analytical models on a grinding process. As an example, the material removal rate (MRR) could increase proportionally to the tangential force and/or the normal force. Furthermore, FIG. 9B illustrates MRR as a function of the components of applied force (e.g., tangential force Ft and normal force Fn), which follow relationships that are governed by the principles of machining and tribology.
Lastly, [0143] discloses: FIG. 9C illustrates the variation in grinding power after time “t” at a given MRR and its associated four components: (1) initial threshold power P.sub.th(0), (2) change in threshold power with time P.sub.th(t), (3) power for cutting or chip making P.sub.c, and (4) change in P.sub.c caused by chip friction effects, P.sub.f(t). See also [0208] regarding depth of penetration and material removal.
Thus, the calculations of material removal rates are based on the path of an abrasive grain as shown in Figures 9A-9C and retrieved operation parameters (depth of penetration disclosed in [0141], power disclosed in [0143], data from sensors including an accelerometer as disclosed in [0153], gyroscopes, location tracking sensors, force sensors, pressure sensors, cameras, etc. as disclosed in [0154]).
Lastly, Applicant argues that D. Tanikella does not disclose setting a second set of operation parameters that produces a second volumetric cut rate based on the claimed first volumetric cut rate calculation (Pages 14-15, Arguments).
Tanikella does provide updated settings from the machine learning system, see at least [0193]. Furthermore, the system does incorporate the machine learning system for updating and/or adjusting settings; see [0220-0221], wherein [0141] specifically states: Each type of interaction could be incorporated into the analytical models and/or machine learning methods and systems described herein. For example, an abrasive-type interaction could include cutting (material removal), plowing (material displacement), or sliding (surface modification) effects. See also [0234-0236], as well as [0253]: At block 1614, the automated abrasive device may receive a notification from machine learning system 1210 with one or more control instructions. For example, the automated abrasive device may include an embedded computing device that may control the operations of the automated abrasive device.
In paragraphs [0147-0148], Tanikella discloses the processor may control one or more sensors and processes real time data collected by the sensors, wherein the sensor readings, machine learning models, and program settings (e.g. to adjust behavior of the computing device) are stored in data storage. This stored data is then used to determine abrasive operational data. Paragraph [0160] discloses providing prescriptive actions including adapting the speed rate of the abrasive wheel if given a current state. Tanikella also discloses in [0200] the collected abrasive operational data includes acceleration data, vibration data, gyroscope data and/or data extrapolated from the sound, acceleration, and/or vibration data (e.g., applied force data, RPM data, usage rate, etc.). The collected abrasive operational data may be correlated with a material, a material removal rate, an operating condition, an expended power, or a specific grinding energy. The control and update of the parameters, i.e. the material removal rate, is also described in [0192-0193] and [0206-0207]. Thus, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Tanikella discloses the argued limitation(s).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed towards claim 5, i.e. Tanikella does not disclose calculating a surface roughness of the work surface based on the calculated abrading volume (Page 15, Arguments), Examiner has not found persuasive. In paragraphs [0207-208], Tanikella discloses determining surface characteristics of a workpiece and tribology occurring in a grinding zone based on microscopic interactions such as material removal.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed towards claim 9, i.e. Tanikella does not disclose calculating abrading volume based on the velocity of the tracked abrasive particle along a calculated path (Page 15, Arguments), Examiner has not found persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has also been updated; however, as pointed out above, the calculation of material removal rate includes considerations of RPM and depth of penetration of an abrasive grain. See [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, etc.; wherein [0206-0208] disclose the RPM value is used to determine a force that is applied to the workpiece, wherein the force applied to the workpiece is used in material removal rate calculations as described in [0141-0143].
Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed towards claim 24, i.e. Tanikella does not disclose wherein calculating the surface roughness comprises calculating a relative velocity of the detected abrasive particle along the path, Examiner has not found persuasive. As explained above, surface characteristics of the workpiece, including tribology, are determined in the context of microscopic interactions involved in material removal rate of an abrasive grain and a workpiece surface, and wherein the material removal rate calculations include a basis in RPM. See at least the above citations of Tanikella and [0141-0143], [0200], [0206-0208].
Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed towards claim 31, i.e. Tanikella does not disclose detecting the geometry or orientation of the detected abrasive particle, Examiner has not found persuasive. A location of a particle is determined as explained above, including by positions of particles within zones (see [0114]). Tanikella discloses orientations and shapes of abrasive particles within groups and zones relative to one another in [0082]. Geometry of an abrasive particle is also determined in the photomicrographs as disclosed in [0071-0072], [0075-0076].
For the above stated reasons, Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive. Thus, this action is made final herein, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, please amend “wherein abrading machine” to read “wherein the abrading machine”.
In claim 19, please amend “the second cut volume rate” to read “the second cut volumetric rate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a communication interface configured to communicate with a computing system in claim 1. Specification: Page 15, lines 12-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “the current set of operational settings operation parameters”. However, claim 1 recites “a current set of operation parameters”. Please amend claim 12 to reflect consistent antecedent basis from claim 1, or amend the claim to reflect the limitation is establishing new recitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 19, 22-26, 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanikella (US 2023/0182263).
Regarding claim 18, Tanikella discloses a method of adjusting operation parameters for a robotic abrading system, the method comprising:
detecting, using a sensor, a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article (see at least [0207-0208]: sensors may collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions occurring in a grinding zone, and are configured to extrapolate depth of penetration of an abrasive grain, wherein each depth of penetration may then be linked to a specific microscopic interaction; see also [0072]: scanning electron microscope (SEM) photomicrographs of individual abrasive articles are taken; see also [0129-0130] describing a sensor and GPS device, [0153], [0165], [0208]; [0234-0235] regarding recording microscopic interactions between the abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process, i.e. machine learning system 1210 may collect data associated with microscopic interactions between an abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process. Each set of microscopic interactions may be tagged with a type of surface generated at the end of the grinding process. Accordingly, machine learning system 1210 may utilize this type of surface generated to predict how microscopic interactions can be manipulated individually or in some combination, based on machine tool capabilities, abrasive grains, bonds, the grain/bond interaction between the surface and the tool, or structure, work material properties, abrasive device features and specifications; see also [0209], [0244], [0212], [0258] [0260-0261]; [0273], [0302]; see also the regions 410, 420 , 430, and 430 which comprise different abrasive particles, [0097-0102], i.e. respective particles are located in specific regions; see Figures 3-6; see also [0114] disclosing the positions of abrasive particles and their processes, see also [0125] defining axes, sectors, and planes, wherein specific abrasive articles are located within identified planes; see also [0154]; [0175]);
retrieving a first set of operation parameters for the robotic abrading system, from a computing system associated with the robotic abrading system (see [0141], [0143], [0165]; see also [0153-0158]; [0165]; [0175]));
calculating a path of the detected abrasive particle on a worksurface in contact with the abrasive article (see Figures 9A-9C; see also [0141-0143] regarding types of paths, [0154], [0193]; see [0202] regarding recording in the x, y, and z axes; see also [0197], [0208], [0235]);
calculating a first volumetric cut rate for the abrasive article, based on the calculated path and the retrieved operation parameters (see [0141-0142] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0207-0208]; [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]); and
selecting a second set of operation parameters for the robotic abrading system, wherein the second set of operation parameters produces a second volumetric cut rate that differs from the first volumetric cut rate (see [0146-148]: programs settings to adjust behavior of the computing device, wherein the computing device provides instructions; wherein [0153] discloses using data collected in real time to determine improvements based on the collected data; see also [0154]; see [0160] disclosing prescriptive actions including adapting the speed rate of the abrasive wheel if given a current state; see also [0180], [0192-0193] discloses setting a new rotational speed by the controller, or the automated abrasive device may be a CNC machine; see also [0200], [0260]; [0413]; [0426]; [0467]; see [0142-0143] regarding adjusting material removal rate).
Regarding claim 22, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses detecting a wear amount of the abrasive particle (see level of deterioration disclosed in [0261]; [0425-0427]; see also [0200]; [0233-0234]).
Regarding claim 23, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses calculating a surface roughness of the worksurface (see at least [0141-0143] disclosing generating the surface of the workpiece and microscopic interactions between the tool and workpiece which includes material removal rate, MRR; see also Figures 9A-9C; see also [0207] sensors could include an image capture and analyze the image in order determine surface characteristics of the workpiece; see also [0206]; wherein [0208] discloses sensors which collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions, e.g. tribology, occurring in a grinding zone; see also [0234-0235] disclosing using microscopic interaction data correlated with abrasive device features and specifications, including how abrasive products or grinding processes achieve a specific set of microscopic interactions; see also [0241-0242]).
Regarding claim 24, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein calculating the surface roughness comprises calculating a relative velocity of the detected abrasive particle along the path ([0202], [0204-0208], [0218]; see [0141-0143] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]; see the GPS and location tracking sensors disclosed in [0154]; [0165]; see also [0259], [0291]; [0423-0425]).
Regarding claim 25, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein calculating the first volumetric cut rate comprises applying a polishing amount correction ([0180], [0235], [0253]).
Regarding claim 26, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the first set of operation parameters comprises at least one of an oscillation frequency, an oscillation amplitude, a relative velocity between the robotic abrading system and the worksurface, an applied force on the abrasive article or an abrasive article wear rate ([0141-0143]; [0200], [0202], [0205-0208], [0244]; [0357-0358], [0154]).
Regarding claim 29, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the first set of operation parameters is obtained in-situ ([0147]: real-time data is being collected; see also [0153], [0197], [0291], [0296]).
Regarding claim 30, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses detecting a relative position of the detected abrasive particle within a plurality of abrasive particles (see at least Figures 4, 5, and 6, as well as [0072]: scanning electron microscope (SEM) photomicrographs of individual abrasive articles are taken; see also [0130], [0165], [0208]; [0234] regarding recording microscopic interactions between the abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process; see also [0207-0209], [0260-0261]; [0273], [0302]; see also the regions 410, 420 , 430, and 430 which comprise different abrasive particles, [0097-0102], i.e. respective particles are located in specific regions; see Figures 3-6; see also [0114] disclosing the positions of abrasive particles and their processes, see also [0125] defining axes, sectors, and planes, wherein specific abrasive articles are located within identified planes; see also [0154]; [0175]; please also refer to the location sensing limitation as provided in claim 18).
Regarding claim 31, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses and further comprising detecting a geometry or an orientation of the detected abrasive particle (see Figures 4-6; see also [0071-0072], [0075-0076], [0082], [0114]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanikella (US 20200306927) in view of Chou (US 20140335761).
Regarding claim 1, Tanikella discloses an abrading operation monitoring system for an abrading machine (see Abstract, as well as [0192]), the abrading operation monitoring system comprising:
a particle position sensor configured to detect a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article surface (see at least [0207-0208]: sensors may collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions occurring in a grinding zone, and are configured to extrapolate depth of penetration of an abrasive grain, wherein each depth of penetration may then be linked to a specific microscopic interaction; see also [0072]: scanning electron microscope (SEM) photomicrographs of individual abrasive articles are taken; see also [0129-0130] describing a sensor and GPS device, [0153], [0165], [0208]; [0234-0235] regarding recording microscopic interactions between the abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process, i.e. machine learning system 1210 may collect data associated with microscopic interactions between an abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process. Each set of microscopic interactions may be tagged with a type of surface generated at the end of the grinding process. Accordingly, machine learning system 1210 may utilize this type of surface generated to predict how microscopic interactions can be manipulated individually or in some combination, based on machine tool capabilities, abrasive grains, bonds, the grain/bond interaction between the surface and the tool, or structure, work material properties, abrasive device features and specifications; see also [0209], [0244], [0212], [0258] [0260-0261]; [0273], [0302]; see also the regions 410, 420 , 430, and 430 which comprise different abrasive particles, [0097-0102], i.e. respective particles are located in specific regions; see Figures 3-6; see also [0114] disclosing the positions of abrasive particles and their processes, see also [0125] defining axes, sectors, and planes, wherein specific abrasive articles are located within identified planes; see also [0154]; [0175]);
a communication interface configured to communicate with a computing system associated with the abrading machine (see [0129-0132], [0141], [0143], [0146], [0149-0151], [0165]; see also [0153-0158]; [0165]; [0175]; see also [0006]); and
one or more processors and a memory storing executable instructions (see [0146-0149]) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, from the particle position sensor, the position of the abrasive particle on the abrasive article surface (see at least [0207-0208], [0129-0130], [0153-0154], [0165], [0234-0235], [0244], [0212], [0258], [0260-0261], [0273], [0302], [0097-0102], [0114], [0125], [0175], i.e. the citation of the particle position sensor are repeated herein as the data is then received);
track a path of the abrasive particle (see Figures 9A-9C; see also [0141-0143] regarding types of paths, [0154], [0193]; see [0202] regarding recording in the x, y, and z axes; see also [0197], [0203-0208], [0218], [0234-0235]).
retrieve, using the communication interface, a current set of operation parameters for the abrading machine (see [0141], [0143], [0165]; see also [0153-0158]; [0165]; [0175]; see also [0006]);
calculate an abrading volume for a worksurface contacted by the abrasive article surface based on the path of the tracked abrasive particle and the current set of operation parameters (see [0141-0142] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, which is an abrading volume removal, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0207-0208]; [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]; see the GPS and location tracking sensors disclosed in [0154]; [0165]; see also [0259], [0291]; [0423-0425]); and
provide a new set of operation parameters for the abrading machine based on the calculated abrading volume ([0157]; [0201] discloses transmitting the data to a machine learning platform; see [0220-0221]; [0234-0235]; [0267], [0271]; [0372]; [0056]); and
wherein abrading machine is configured to implement the new set of operation parameters (see [0146-148]: programs settings to adjust behavior of the computing device, wherein the computing device provides instructions; wherein [0153] discloses using data collected in real time to determine improvements based on the collected data; see also [0154]; see [0160] disclosing prescriptive actions including adapting the speed rate of the abrasive wheel if given a current state; see also [0180], [0192-0193] discloses setting a new rotational speed by the controller, or the automated abrasive device may be a CNC machine; see also [0260]; [0413]; [0426]; [0467]).
However, Tanikella does not explicitly teach that tracking the path of the abrasive particle is based at least in part on the received position of the abrasive particle.
Chou teaches determining a location of an individual particle, i.e. detect a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article, and then performs a process based at least in part on the received position of the abrasive particle ([0012]: one or a plurality of captured images are formed on the different regions of the chemical mechanical polishing conditioner by the image capture device. Then the captured images are transmitted into the image recognition module to transform optical signal into electronic signals through the image recognition module, and then the electronic signals are transformed into optical spectrums and a color matching is performed to determine one or a plurality of risk diamonds on the chemical mechanical polishing conditioner, further, the coordinate locations of risk diamonds are determined by a general position location system. Then the coordinate locations are transformed into the display device by the image recognition module to show the coordinate locations of risk diamond; see also [0014-0015]; [0017]: the present invention will determine whether the conditioner has risk diamonds or not and position thereof by means of detecting every diamond particle on the conditioner; [0018]: in the detection apparatus of the chemical mechanical polishing conditioner of the present invention, the coordinate locations of the risk diamonds may be outputted into the mobile platform (such as XY-stage; [0031]: the present invention will detect every diamond particles shown yellow color on the conditioner to determine whether the conditioner has the risk diamonds 23 or not and the position thereof, and at risk diamonds may be removed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chou, i.e. obtaining position data of a singular abrasive grain/particle and using the data to perform a process based on the position data, into the invention of Tanikella. In combining the teachings of Chou into Tanikella, Tanikella would implement the path tracking shown in at least Figures 9A-9C based on the location of the abrasive particle. One would be motivated to do so not only to obtain a more precise reading of the abrasive article’s condition, thereby easily pointing out defective particles, finding and determining particles which are imparting unwanted surface modifications, but also in order to provide additional data to the machine learning model such that the machine learning model can recognize individual particle transformation over time, thereby enhancing future processes. Furthermore, Chou suggests that an advantage of recognizing and performing an operation based on individual particles can avoid scratches and breakages produces by erroneous abrasive particles (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate the new set of operation parameters to the abrading machine (Tanikella: [0157]; [0201] discloses transmitting the data to a machine learning platform; see [0220-0221]; [0234-0235]; [0267], [0271]; [0372] regarding transmitting and implementing parameters; see also [0146-148], [0153-0154], [0160], [0180], [0192-0193], [0260], [0413]; [0426]; [0467]).
Regarding claim 4, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to provide the new set of operation parameters using an iterative process (Tanikella [0178]: iterative algorithms; see also [0180], [0206-0207]).
Regarding claim 5, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to calculate a surface roughness of the worksurface based on the calculated abrading volume (Tanikella: see at least [0141-0143] disclosing generating the surface of the workpiece and microscopic interactions between the tool and workpiece which includes material removal rate, MRR; see also Figures 9A-9C; see also [0207] sensors could include an image capture and analyze the image in order determine surface characteristics of the workpiece; see also [0206]; wherein [0208] discloses sensors which collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions, e.g. tribology, occurring in a grinding zone; see also [0234-0235] disclosing using microscopic interaction data correlated with abrasive device features and specifications, including how abrasive products or grinding processes achieve a specific set of microscopic interactions; see also [0241-0242]; see also [0051] disclosing end-material surface-finish as an output).
Regarding claim 9, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to calculate the abrading volume based on a velocity of the abrasive particle along the path (please refer to the combination statement as applied above regarding employing the abrasive particle location data and the path; see also Tanikella: [0202], [0204-0208], [0218]; see [0141-0143] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]; see the GPS and location tracking sensors disclosed in [0154]; [0165]; see also [0259], [0291]; [0423-0425]).
Regarding claim 10, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the current set of operation parameters comprises at least one of
an oscillation frequency of the abrading machine, an oscillation amplitude of the abrading machine, a rotational speed of the abrading machine, a rotational speed of the worksurface, or a force applied by the abrading machine during contact between the abrasive article surface and the worksurface (Tanikella: [0141-0143]; [0200], [0202], [0205-0208], [0244]; [0357-0358], [0154]).
Regarding claim 11, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the current set of operation parameters comprises a last-used set of operation parameters for the abrading machine (Tanikella: [0261-0262]: wherein it can be determined that the abrasive wheel needs to be replaced, i.e. the last setting for the abrasive wheel to be used then discarded; see also [0148], [0151-0152], [0148], [0246-0247], [0291], [0192-0194]).
Regarding claim 12, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the current set of operational settings operation parameters comprises a default set of operation parameters for the abrading machine (Tanikella: [0148]: program settings; see also [0158] disclosing databases in order to store learned parameters, i.e. the stored information can be used as settings for other operations; see also [0246-0247]; [0151-0152]; [0291]).
Regarding claim 13, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches wherein the current set of operation parameters is obtained in-situ (Tanikella [0147]: real-time data is being collected; see also [0153], [0197], [0291], [0296], [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, Tanikella in view of Chou teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tanikella further teaches, wherein the particle position sensor comprises at least one of an end effector sensor, a sander sensor, or a force control unit sensor configured to detect the position of the abrasive particle (please refer to at least the combination statement as applied above, wherein Chou provides an image recognition model and camera, see [0012]; wherein Tanikella teaches of a force sensor in [0127], see also [0072], [0154], [0129-0130], [0208]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723