CTNF 18/579,408 CTNF 94221 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a particle tracking system that receives, from a particle position retriever, a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article surface in claim 1. Specification: Page 9, lines 27-28 disclose abrasive cut calculator 630 receives positional information for one or more abrasive particles. a particle position retriever in claim 1. Specification: see page 10, lines 2-4; page 9, lines 18-20: an end effector, sander, or force control unit may be able to detect and provide particle positions and serve as particle position retriever 632. an abrasive operation parameter retriever in claim 1. Specification: page 11, lines 7-11 and 18-23; page 12, lines 1-13. a communication component in claim 1. Specification: Page 11, lines 24-28. an abrasive volume calculator in claim 1. Specification: page 9, line 27-Page 10, line 4. an abrasive parameters adjuster in claim 1. See page 8, line 31-Page 9, line 3, regarding parameter set generator; see also page 11, lines 1-6. a surface roughness calculator in claim 5. Specification: page 10, lines 19-20, surface roughness calculator 650. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, claim 1 recites “ the abrading system” . The preamble of the claimed invention recites “ abrading operation monitoring system” . Please amend the body of the claim to be consistent with the preamble. Regarding claims 11 and 12, claims 11 and 12 recite “ the current set of operational settings”. However, claim 1 recites “ a current set of operation parameters” . Please amend claims 11 and 12 to reflect consistent antecedent basis from claim 1, or amend the claims to reflect the limitations are establishing new recitations. Regarding claim 24, please amend “ calculating a surface roughness” to reflect “ calculating the surface roughness” for clarification regarding antecedent basis. Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-14, 18, 19, 22-26, 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanikella (US 2023/0182263) . Regarding claim 1, Tanikella discloses an abrading operation monitoring system (see Abstract, as well as [0192]) comprising: a particle tracking system that receives, from a particle position retriever, a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article surface ([0072]: scanning electron microscope (SEM) photomicrographs of individual abrasive articles are taken; see also [0130], [0165], [0208]; [0234] regarding recording microscopic interactions between the abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process; see also [0207-0209], [0260-0261]; [0273], [0302]; see also the regions 410, 420 , 430, and 430 which comprise different abrasive particles, [0097-0102], i.e. respective particles are located in specific regions; see Figures 3-6; see also [0114] disclosing the positions of abrasive particles and their processes, see also [0125] defining axes, sectors, and planes, wherein specific abrasive articles are located within identified planes; see also [0154]; [0175], [0129-0130]) ; an abrasive operation parameter retriever that retrieves, using a communication component, a current set of operation parameters for an abrading machine (see [0141], [0143], [0165]; see also [0153-0158]; [0165]; [0175]; see also [0006]) ; an abrasive volume calculator that calculates an abrading volume for a worksurface contacted by the abrasive article surface based on a path of the tracked abrasive particle and the current set of operation parameters (see [0141-0142] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0207-0208]; [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]; see the GPS and location tracking sensors disclosed in [0154]; [0165]; see also [0259], [0291]; [0423-0425]) ; and an abrasive parameters adjuster that provides a new set of operation parameters for the abrading system based on the calculated abrading volume ([0157]; [0201] discloses transmitting the data to a machine learning platform; see [0220-0221]; [0234-0235]; [0267], [0271]; [0372]; [0056]) ; and wherein the abrading system implements the new set of operation parameters (see [0146-148]: programs settings to adjust behavior of the computing device, wherein the computing device provides instructions; wherein [0153] discloses using data collected in real time to determine improvements based on the collected data; see also [0154]; see [0160] disclosing prescriptive actions including adapting the speed rate of the abrasive wheel if given a current state; see also [0180], [0192-0193] discloses setting a new rotational speed by the controller, or the automated abrasive device may be a CNC machine; see also [0260]; [0413]; [0426]; [0467]) . Regarding claim 2, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the communication component communicates the new set of operation parameters to the abrading machine ([0157]; [0201] discloses transmitting the data to a machine learning platform; see [0220-0221]; [0234-0235]; [0267], [0271]; [0372] regarding transmitting and implementing parameters; see also [0146-148], [0153-0154], [0160], [0180], [0192-0193], [0260], [0413]; [0426]; [0467]) . Regarding claim 4, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the abrasive parameters adjuster provides the new set of operation parameters using an iterative process ([0178]: iterative algorithms; see also [0180], [0206-0207]) . Regarding claim 5, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses a surface roughness calculator that calculates a surface roughness of the worksurface based on the calculated abrading volume (see at least [0141-0143] disclosing generating the surface of the workpiece and microscopic interactions between the tool and workpiece which includes material removal rate, MRR; see also Figures 9A-9C; see also [0207] sensors could include an image capture and analyze the image in order determine surface characteristics of the workpiece; see also [0206]; wherein [0208] discloses sensors which collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions, e.g. tribology, occurring in a grinding zone; see also [0234-0235] disclosing using microscopic interaction data correlated with abrasive device features and specifications, including how abrasive products or grinding processes achieve a specific set of microscopic interactions; see also [0241-0242]; see also [0051] disclosing end-material surface-finish as an output) . Regarding claim 9, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the abrasive volume calculator calculates the abrading volume based on a velocity of the tracked abrasive particle ([0202], [0204-0208], [0218]; see [0141-0142] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]; see the GPS and location tracking sensors disclosed in [0154]; [0165]; see also [0259], [0291]; [0423-0425]). Regarding claim 10, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the current set of operation parameters comprise an oscillation frequency of the abrading system, an oscillation amplitude of the abrading system, a rotational speed of the abrading system, a rotational speed of the worksurface, or a force applied by the abrading system on the abrasive article ([0141-0143]; [0200], [0202], [0205-0208], [0244]; [0357-0358], [0154]) . Regarding claim 11, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the current set of operational settings are a last operation set of operational settings for the abrading machine ([0261-0262]: wherein it can be determined that the abrasive wheel needs to be replaced, i.e. the last setting for the abrasive wheel to be used then discarded; see also [0148], [0151-0152], [0148], [0246-0247], [0291], [0192-0194]) . Regarding claim 12, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the current set of operational settings are a default set of operational settings for the abrading machine ([0148]: program settings; see also [0158] disclosing databases in order to store learned parameters, i.e. the stored information can be used as settings for other operations; see also [0246-0247]; [0151-0152]; [0291]) . Regarding claim 13, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the current set of operational settings are obtained in-situ ([0147]: real-time data is being collected; see also [0153], [0197], [0291], [0296], [0003]) . Regarding claim 14, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the particle position retriever is a sensor ([0072], [0154], [0208] regarding sensors for microscopic interactions) . Regarding claim 18, Tanikella discloses a method of adjusting operation parameters for a robotic abrading system, the method comprising: detecting, using a sensor, a position of an abrasive particle on an abrasive article (([0072]: scanning electron microscope (SEM) photomicrographs of individual abrasive articles are taken; see also [0130], [0165], [0208]; [0234] regarding recording microscopic interactions between the abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process; see also [0207-0209], [0260-0261]; [0273], [0302]; see also the regions 410, 420 , 430, and 430 which comprise different abrasive particles, [0097-0102], i.e. respective particles are located in specific regions; see Figures 3-6; see also [0114] disclosing the positions of abrasive particles and their processes, see also [0125] defining axes, sectors, and planes, wherein specific abrasive articles are located within identified planes; see also [0154]; [0175]) ; retrieving a first set of operational parameters for the robotic abrading system, from a computing system associated with the robotic abrading system (see [0141], [0143], [0165]; see also [0153-0158]; [0165]; [0175]) ; calculating a path of the detected abrasive particle on a worksurface in contact with the abrasive article (see Figures 9A-9C; see also [0141-0143] regarding types of paths, [0154], [0193]; see [0202] regarding recording in the x, y, and z axes; see also [0197], [0208], [0235]) ; calculating a first volumetric cut rate for the abrasive article, based in the calculated path and the retrieved operational parameters (see [0141-0142] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0207-0208]; [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]) ; and selecting a second set of operational parameters for the robotic abrading system, wherein the second set of operational parameters produces a second cut volume rate that differs from the first volumetric cut rate (see [0146-148]: programs settings to adjust behavior of the computing device, wherein the computing device provides instructions; wherein [0153] discloses using data collected in real time to determine improvements based on the collected data; see also [0154]; see [0160] disclosing prescriptive actions including adapting the speed rate of the abrasive wheel if given a current state; see also [0180], [0192-0193] discloses setting a new rotational speed by the controller, or the automated abrasive device may be a CNC machine; see also [0260]; [0413]; [0426]; [0467]) . Regarding claim 19, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the second cut volume rate is greater than the first volumetric cut rate (see [0142-0143] regarding adjusting material removal rate, see also [0146-0148], [0153-0154], [0160], [0180], [0192-0193], [0208], [0260], [0192-0193], [0260], [0413]; [0426]; [0467]) . Regarding claim 22, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses detecting a wear amount of the abrasive particle (see level of deterioration disclosed in [0261]; [0425-0427]; see also [0200]; [0233-0234]) . Regarding claim 23, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses calculating a surface roughness of the worksurface (see at least [0141-0143] disclosing generating the surface of the workpiece and microscopic interactions between the tool and workpiece which includes material removal rate, MRR; see also Figures 9A-9C; see also [0207] sensors could include an image capture and analyze the image in order determine surface characteristics of the workpiece; see also [0206]; wherein [0208] discloses sensors which collect information indicative of the microscopic interactions, e.g. tribology, occurring in a grinding zone; see also [0234-0235] disclosing using microscopic interaction data correlated with abrasive device features and specifications, including how abrasive products or grinding processes achieve a specific set of microscopic interactions; see also [0241-0242]) . Regarding claim 24, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein calculating a surface roughness comprises calculating a relative velocity of the detected abrasive particle along the path ([0202], [0204-0208], [0218]; see [0141-0142] and [0145-0148]; [0200]: the sensors can be used to collect and correlate data including a material removal rate, RPM, applied force data, and so on; see also [0206]; see also [0240-0241]; [0244-0245]; see the GPS and location tracking sensors disclosed in [0154]; [0165]; see also [0259], [0291]; [0423-0425]) . Regarding claim 25, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein calculating the first volumetric cut rate comprises applying a polishing amount correction ([0180], [0235], [0253]) . Regarding claim 26, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the first set of operational parameters comprise an oscillation frequency, an oscillation amplitude, a relative velocity between the abrading system and the worksurface, an applied force on the abrasive article or an abrasive article wear rate ([0141-0143]; [0200], [0202], [0205-0208], [0244]; [0357-0358], [0154]) . Regarding claim 29, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses wherein the first set of operational settings are obtained in-situ ([0147]: real-time data is being collected; see also [0153], [0197], [0291], [0296]) . Regarding claim 30, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses detecting a relative position of the detected abrasive particle within a plurality of abrasive particles (see at least Figures 4, 5, and 6, as well as [0072]: scanning electron microscope (SEM) photomicrographs of individual abrasive articles are taken; see also [0130], [0165], [0208]; [0234] regarding recording microscopic interactions between the abrasive device and workpiece during a grinding process; see also [0207-0209], [0260-0261]; [0273], [0302]; see also the regions 410, 420 , 430, and 430 which comprise different abrasive particles, [0097-0102], i.e. respective particles are located in specific regions; see Figures 3-6; see also [0114] disclosing the positions of abrasive particles and their processes, see also [0125] defining axes, sectors, and planes, wherein specific abrasive articles are located within identified planes; see also [0154]; [0175]) . Regarding claim 31, Tanikella discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Tanikella further discloses detecting a geometry of the detected abrasive particle (see Figures 4-6; see also [0072], [0075-0076]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sahlin (US 2022/0025237), see Figures 6 and 7, as well as [0095] Chung (US 2017/0239777), see [0018] Chou (US 2014/0335761), see [0007-0011] Bajaj (US 2014/0273752), see [0052-0054] Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAKENA S MARKMAN whose telephone number is (469)295-9162. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:00 am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached at 313-446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 11 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 14 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 15 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/579,408 Page 16 Art Unit: 3723