DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR SURROUNDED BY SHIELDING AND MOUNTED ON A CIRCUIT BOARD AND DEVICE USING THE SAME--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimori et al. (2016/0315425).
With regard to claim 1, Nishimori teaches, as shown in figures 1-13: “A board connector 1 to be mounted on a circuit board 81, comprising: a housing 23 including a receptacle 26 open forward and a rear wall (right wall of 5 in figure 8) provided on a side opposite to a front end part where the receptacle 26 is open; an outer conductor 7 fixed to the housing 23 through the rear wall; an insulating dielectric 27 disposed inside the outer conductor 7; an inner conductor 9 disposed inside the dielectric 27; and a ground spring 13 to be connected to the outer conductor 7, the receptacle 26 including a first wall (top wall of 5 in figure 8) to be disposed on a side opposite to the circuit board 81, a second wall (bottom wall of 5 in figure 8) to be disposed on the circuit board side and a third wall (left wall of 5 in figure 7) coupling the first wall and the second wall, and the ground spring 41 and 43 including a first enclosure connecting portion 43 disposed on an outer surface side of the first wall and a second enclosure connecting portion 41 disposed on an outer surface side of each or either one of the second wall and the third wall”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (2016/0315425) in view of Ishikawa et al. (2017/0324176).
With regard to claim 2, Nishimori teaches: “The board connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Nishimori does not teach: “wherein the ground spring includes a mounting body portion to be disposed along an outer surface of the rear wall, the first enclosure connecting portion includes a plurality of first connection springs projecting forward from a front edge of the mounting body portion, and the second enclosure connecting portion includes a plurality of second connection springs projecting forward from the front edge of the mounting body portion”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ishikawa teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “wherein the ground spring 50 includes a mounting body portion 51 to be disposed along an outer surface of the rear wall (right wall in figure 3), the first enclosure connecting portion 56 includes a plurality of first connection springs 56 projecting forward from a front edge of the mounting body portion 51, and the second enclosure connecting portion (left 56 in figure 3) includes a plurality of second connection springs 56 projecting forward from the front edge of the mounting body portion 51”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ishikawa with the invention of Nishimori in order to fix the ground spring to the housing (Ishikawa, paragraph 25).
With regard to claim 3, Nishimori as modified by Ishikawa teaches: “The board connector of claim 2”, as shown above.
Ishikawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “wherein the mounting body portion 51 has a rectangular tube shape and includes a first mounting wall (right wall of 51 in figure 3) corresponding to the first wall (right 23 in figure 3), a second mounting wall (left wall of 51 in figure 3) corresponding to the second wall (left 23 in figure 3) and third mounting walls 71 corresponding to the third wall 22, a pair of the third mounting walls 71 are provided to face each other in a direction orthogonal to a facing direction (left-right direction in figure 3) of the first mounting wall and the second mounting wall, and the second enclosure connecting portions 56 are disposed on both the second mounting wall and the pair of third mounting walls 71”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ishikawa with the invention of Nishimori as modified by Ishikawa in order to fix the ground spring to the housing (Ishikawa, paragraph 25).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (2016/0315425).
With regard to claim 6, Hirokawa teaches: “…the board connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Hirokawa also teaches, as shown in figures 1-13 and taught in paragraph 71: “A device 89, comprising… a circuit board 81 having the board connector 1 mounted thereon; and an enclosure 89… the circuit board 81 being accommodated inside the enclosure 89, the enclosure 89 being electrically connected to the outer conductor 7 via the ground spring 43, the enclosure 89 including a first spring receiving portion to be connected to the first enclosure connecting portion 43”.
Hirokawa does not specifically teach the enclosure “made of metal”. However, paragraph 71 of Hirokawa teaches the enclosure being grounded. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the enclose out of metal in order to form a conductive connection with the ground. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Hirokawa also does not teach: “and a second spring receiving portion to be connected to the second enclosure connecting portion”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first enclosure connecting portion and first spring receiving portion in order to provide more grounding. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831