DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This correspondence is in response to amendments filed on March 23, 2026. Claims 1, 9, and 14 are amended. Claims 2-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-16, and 18-22 are filed as originally or previously presented. Claims 7, 11, 17, and 23-29 are canceled. The 112(f) claim interpretations have been withdrawn as having sufficient structure recited in the claims. Claims 6 and 10 have not been amended and therefore the 112(a) rejections are upheld. Response to arguments regarding the prior art rejections are included below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Hausler does not teach the amended limitations of corresponding independent claims specifically corresponding to an approximated curvature and derivative of curvature resulting from the derived polynomial surface model (Remarks Pages 9-10). The 102(a)(1) rejection has been withdrawn. Thus, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant further argues that Hausler does not disclose modulating one of a force profile, velocity profile, or rotational speed profile as a function of curvature along a modified trajectory (Remarks Page 10). The contested limitation remains rejected by Hausler. During the projection of the trajectory onto the 3D surface model, i.e., trajectory modification, positions of the trajectory template points are transformed to accommodate the surface model inclusive of its measured three-dimensional curvature. The force profile and rotational speed profile are described to be “position-dependent” such that when this transformation occurs, the position of the trigger points are modulated as a function of the curvature which the template is projected to along the modified trajectory. Modulating is merely defined by Merriam-Webster as “adjusting to or keeping in proper measurement or proportion”. As such, this transformation of position-dependent trigger points according to the 3D surface which the trajectory is projected to qualifies as a modulation as a function of curvature. Thus, argument has been considered but is NOT PERSUASIVE.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “…speed of the tool; ana control signal…” in lines 26-27. It appears the amendment which deleted only the “d” from “and” was made by mistake. As such, Examiner recommends re-amending the claim to recite “and” or delete “and” completely in line 26.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 6 recites the limitation “default trajectory” in line 1. Although Applicant discloses functions of “retrieving a trajectory template” in Paragraphs [0042], [0046], and [0111] of the specification, a selected trajectory template would not necessarily be considered as a default trajectory. In other words, default trajectories may include selected trajectory templates, but selected trajectory templates are not inherently default trajectories. As such, there exists no adequate support for such default trajectory and Examiner will instead read the limitation to include trajectory template in its place when rejecting the below limitations.
Claim 10 recites “projects a surface curvature into a 2-dimensional plane” in line 2. Applicant’s disclosure describes the projection of surface features and projection of trajectory/path into a 2-dimensional plane (see [0051], [0068-0069], [0079], [0187], and [0233]). Such features, trajectory, and/or path are derived based on varying analyses of a surface curvature, however the surface curvature itself may not be considered as a feature or trajectory which is projected into the 2-dimensional plane. Therefore, there is no such supporting description that would suggest that the curvature itself is projected into a 2-dimensional plane. In fact, Claim 17 of the instant application describes surface features being derived based on a derivative of approximated curvature which would directly contradict the claim that a surface curvature is a surface feature.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the default trajectory” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No such default trajectory has been introduced and as such it is unclear which default trajectory is being referred to. However, given the amendment, Examiner ascertains that Applicant meant to say “the first trajectory” as was referred to in claim 1 and will read the claim as such in light of the prior art rejection below.
Examiner notes wherein the claims have been addressed below, in view of the prior art record, as best understood by the Examiner in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejections provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausler (US 2018/0326591 A1) in view of Kim (“Extraction of Ridge and Valley Lines from Unorganized Points”, 2012).
Regarding claim 1, Hausler teaches a robotic system (System of Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 which include robots 31, 32, 33, and 34.) comprising:
a surface inspection system that receives sampling information for a number of areas within a region of a worksurface (“In the present example, manipulators 31, 32, and 33, equipped with sensor heads 21, 22, and 23, are employ ed in a robot cell and perform the surface inspection simultaneously” [0028]. The sensor heads collect image data which creates a point cloud, i.e., sampling information, over their designated inspection region, i.e., region of a worksurface. The use of multiple such sensor heads may apply to “a number of areas within a region of the worksurface”.);
a robotic arm, coupled to a surface engaging tool, the robotic arm being configured to cause a surface processing tool to engage the region of the worksurface (“FIG. 2 shows a robot cell with a manipulator 34 that is equipped with a grinding tool 24 (e.g. an orbital grinding machine)” [0033]. The paragraph further describes the grinding tool’s “contact force” and the act of the tool being “pressed against the surface”. Thus, there is a robot arm, i.e., manipulator, coupled to a grinder, i.e., surface engaging tool, which causes the grinder to contact/press, i.e., engage, the worksurface.);
a robotic controller configured to retrieve a first trajectory for the worksurface “The at least one defect is categorized based on the determined parameter set. That is, the defect is assigned to a defect category. A machining process stored in a database is selected in dependency of the defect category of the at least one defect. Each machining process is associated with at least one template of a machining path along which the defect is to be machined” [0011]. Thus, an indicated defect is assigned a category to which a trajectory template is determined. See Paragraph [0044] in which the data processing device which performs the trajectory selection additionally performs control of disclosed methods and thus will be determined as a robotic controller.); and
a process mapping system comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to (“…the data processing device 50 may include one or more processors with a memory containing instructions that, when executed, cause the optical inspection system to perform the activities described herein” [0032]. Thus, the data processing device will be considered as the process mapping system with a processor and a memory which stores instructions that are executed by the processor to perform the designated mapping activities.), based on the sampling information:
approximate a surface topography in the region of the worksurface (“The first result of a three-dimensional measurement of a defect candidate is a point cloud that describes the three-dimensional structure (the topography) of the relevant surface area. For each defect candidate, for example, its lateral extension (across the surface) and its height or depth (extension perpendicular to the surface) can be determined with great precision from the point clouds provided by the sensor heads 21, 22, and 23 (see also FIG. 3) using surface reconstruction” [0031]. Thus, the point cloud, i.e., sampled points, describes/approximates the topography of an area of the surface.) …
generate a surface processing plan, based on the approximated surface topography, for the region based on the approximated surface topography that comprises a modified trajectory (“In accordance with one further embodiment, the method comprises the localization of defects in a surface of a workpiece as well as determining a three-dimensional topography of the localized defects and categorizing at least one localized defect based on its topography. Dependent on the defect category of the at least one defect, a machining process is selected” [0008]. “Each machining process may be associated with at least one template of a machining path along which the defect is to be machined. A machining path for the at least one defect may then be determined by means of projection of the at least one template onto the workpiece surface in accordance with a CAD model of the workpiece” [0010]. Thus, based on the detected/approximated topography, a machining process is selected which produces a machining path which is modified from an original template.), wherein the surface processing plan comprises a modification to one of:
a force profile along the first trajectory; a velocity profile for the surface engaging tool along the first trajectory; a rotational speed profile, for the surface engaging tool, along the first trajectory (“A machining step is defined by one or more machining paths, which are defined by base points, a path velocity with which the machining paths are to be run through, as well as time and/or position-dependent trigger points on the machining paths at which specifiable actions may be triggered (e.g. change of process parameters such as, e.g., contact pressure, rotational speed, activation of a rotational and/or eccentric motion of the grinding tool and the like)” [0036]. Thus, along the trajectory, there exists a path velocity (profile) which the tool follows throughout the trajectory, as well as trigger points in which the pressure, i.e., force, and the rotational speed of the tool along the surface changes, thereby setting force and rotational speed profiles. Such profiles are modified when the trajectory is modified as such trigger points are position-dependent.);
wherein the trajectory modification accounts for the presence of a surface feature identified in the approximated surface topography (“Dependent on the geometry of the workpiece, certain areas of the workpiece surface may not be able to be machined (e.g. design edges and the like). Such “forbidden areas” of the workpiece surface may be marked in the CAD model, for example, as a set of edges (depicted as spread lines), which must not overlap with a machining area (see FIG. 9, edge 11)… Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template. This situation is illustrated in FIG. 9” [0042]. Thus, the trajectory template is modified to account for the presence of an edge, i.e., surface feature which may not be machined.);
wherein at least one of the force profile, the velocity profile, or the rotational speed profile is modulated as a function of the determined curvature along the modified trajectory (As identified above, the force and rotational speed profiles are position-dependent. When the trajectory template is projected onto the three-dimensional surface, such position-dependent force and rotational profiles are modulated such that each profile is a function of the determined curvature along the modified trajectory in which the trigger points for the profile are projected.); and
generate a control signal for the robotic arm that comprises the surface processing plan (“…in accordance with the selected machining process, a robot program for the robot-assisted machining of the at least one defect is generated with computer assistance” [0008]. Thus, the robot program implements the machining of the defect via the robot manipulator over the designated machining path, providing the appropriate control signal to the controller 40.).
However, Hausler does not explicitly teach …approximate a surface topography … by fitting a polynomial surface model to the sampled points to determine surface curvature and a derivative of the curvature at each of a plurality of sampled surface locations;
identify, based on the polynomial surface model, a surface feature corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature…
Kim, pertinent to the problem at hand, teaches …approximate a surface topography … by fitting a polynomial surface model to the sampled points to determine surface curvature and a derivative of the curvature at each of a plurality of sampled surface locations (“An MLS surface [1, 9] is implicitly defined as the set of points that project on to themselves under the MLS projection. Approximating this surface involves two steps: the approximation of a local reference plane and the fitting of a local bivariate polynomial to points projected on to that reference plane” (Section 3.2). “We use the MLS approximation, together with a third-degree polynomial P, for estimating the curvatures (k max and k min) and their derivatives (e max and e min) at a point” (Section 3.4). Thus, there is an approximated surface topography which is determined by fitting a bivariate polynomial surface model to the sampled points which are then used to estimate curvature and derivative of curvature at each point.);
identify, based on the polynomial surface model, a surface feature corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature (“Having found the maximal and minimal curvatures (k max and k min) and their derivatives (e max and e min) at each point r, we can detect ridges by finding the zero-crossings of curvature derivatives” (Section 3.5). Thus, there is a ridge, i.e., surface feature, corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature based on the polynomial surface model.)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hausler to include the calculated surface polynomial and derivative of curvature for the extraction of surface features as taught by Kim with a reasonable expectation for success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the approximation for the derivative of a curvature as taught by Kim reduces computational time for such an approximation (Kim, Page 269). Such a modification would be considered as a simple substitution in which the CAD model of Hausler could be substituted for the surface estimation as taught by Kim to obtain predictable results, given that Hausler already provides a three-dimensional estimation of the surface topography around the defect (see MPEP 2143.I(B)).
Regarding claim 2, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 1,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the surface processing plan comprises a trajectory modification that accounts for the presence of a surface feature identified in the approximated surface topography (“Dependent on the geometry of the workpiece, certain areas of the workpiece surface may not be able to be machined (e.g. design edges and the like). Such “forbidden areas” of the workpiece surface may be marked in the CAD model, for example, as a set of edges (depicted as spread lines), which must not overlap with a machining area (see FIG. 9, edge 11)… Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template. This situation is illustrated in FIG. 9” [0042]. Thus, the trajectory template is modified to account for the presence of an edge, i.e., surface feature which may not be machined.),
wherein the surface feature comprises a concave surface, a convex surface or an edge within the region (The surface feature depicted in Fig. 9 is edge 11.).
Regarding claim 3, Hausler discloses the system of claim 1,
wherein the surface processing plan comprises a trajectory modification that accounts for the presence of a surface feature identified in the approximated surface topography (“Dependent on the geometry of the workpiece, certain areas of the workpiece surface may not be able to be machined (e.g. design edges and the like). Such “forbidden areas” of the workpiece surface may be marked in the CAD model, for example, as a set of edges (depicted as spread lines), which must not overlap with a machining area (see FIG. 9, edge 11)… Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template. This situation is illustrated in FIG. 9” [0042]. Thus, the trajectory template is modified to account for the presence of an edge, i.e., surface feature which may not be machined.),
wherein the trajectory modification comprises a discontinuous trajectory (“When the machining paths belonging to different machining processes R.sub.j R.sub.k, lie too closely side by side such an overlap may occur. Whether an overlap (i.e. a collision of two machining processes) will occur can be determined during the projection (FIG. 5, step S8). …in the event of two neighboring defects D.sub.i, D.sub.k of different categories, it may be checked (with the use of software), whether an overlap can be avoided when applying a transformation to the respective templates (see FIG. 8)” [0041]. Thus, the transformation of the template shown in Fig. 8(a) is modified such that two discontinuous trajectories are projected over respective defects.).
Regarding claim 4, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 3,
with Hausler further teaches wherein the trajectory modification moves the trajectory away from an identified surface feature (“Whether this is the case (i.e. an overlap exists) may be checked during the projection of the template onto the surface of the CAD model (FIG. 5, step S8). Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template. This situation is illustrated in FIG. 9… To calculate the machining path of the process for machining the defect D.sub.k, the machining path has been shifted and skewed in the present example to avoid an overlap with edge 11” [0042]. Thus, the path was modified such that it was shifted and skewed away from the edge, i.e., surface feature.).
Regarding claim 5, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 1,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the trajectory comprises a series of waypoints through the region (“A machining process R.sub.j may include one or more machining steps each with one or more respective machining path templates X.sub.i. Each of the templates X.sub.i is composed of a set of points (at least two points) X.sub.i1, X.sub.i2, etc.” [0040]. Thus, the path is generated from a template which transforms the set of points, i.e., waypoints, which will be traversed by the machining process through the region.).
Regarding claim 6, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 4,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the default trajectory is selected based on a defect size, defect location, defect type or defect severity (“In practice, relevant or useful criteria for the categorization of surface defects may be, e.g., the distinction of defects with regard to size categories (e.g. very small, small, medium, large), the distinction of defects with regard to their lateral extension (e.g. defined by the average or maximum radius of the defect), the distinction of flaws with regard to their extension perpendicular to the workpiece surface (e.g. an encapsulation (bulge) with a height of more than 5 μm, a crater (dent) with a depth of more than 10 μm, etc.)” [0037]. Thus, defect size and severity are described to be relevant to the categorization of such defects, in which the categorization determines the machining path. Paragraph [0038] continues on regarding the type, frequency, and spatial arrangement of defects in determining the repair plan.), and
wherein the surface processing plan comprises a trajectory modification that accounts for the presence of a surface feature identified in the approximated surface topography (“Dependent on the geometry of the workpiece, certain areas of the workpiece surface may not be able to be machined (e.g. design edges and the like). Such “forbidden areas” of the workpiece surface may be marked in the CAD model, for example, as a set of edges (depicted as spread lines), which must not overlap with a machining area (see FIG. 9, edge 11)… Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template. This situation is illustrated in FIG. 9” [0042]. Thus, the trajectory template is modified to account for the presence of an edge, i.e., surface feature which may not be machined.),
wherein the trajectory modification is based on the identified surface feature (“Whether this is the case (i.e. an overlap exists) may be checked during the projection of the template onto the surface of the CAD model (FIG. 5, step S8). Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template. This situation is illustrated in FIG. 9… To calculate the machining path of the process for machining the defect D.sub.k, the machining path has been shifted and skewed in the present example to avoid an overlap with edge 11” [0042]. Thus, the path was transformed such that the edge, i.e., surface feature, was considered in order to avoid any potential overlap with the edge.).
Regarding claim 8, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 1,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the robotic arm executes the control signal and follows the trajectory (“Subsequently, the computer-assisted generation of a robot program for the robot-assisted machining of the at least one defect can be carried out” [0007]. Thus, the robot program which implements the planned trajectory causes the robot to execute the control signals for following the trajectory.).
Regarding claim 9, Hausler teaches a repair plan generation system for a defect on a worksurface (“Furthermore, a system for the automated detection of defects in a workpiece surface and generation of a robot program for the machining of the workpiece is described” [0012].), the system comprising:
a surface sampling receiver that receives a surface topography of the worksurface (“The system shown in FIG. 1 includes a data processing device 50 which, in one embodiment, is configured to (inter alia) localize defects and determine the mentioned three-dimensional topography of the localized defects (or defect candidates)” [0032]. Thus, the data processing device receives the surface topography.), wherein receiving the surface topography comprises obtaining sampled surface points (“In the present example, no separate image acquisition is required for the three-dimensional measurement, but instead only a digital evaluation of the two-dimensional camera images (curvature images, the curvature information is in the gray values of the individual pixels); from these, point clouds of 3D coordinates of points on the surface of the workpiece (in the areas of defects/defect candidates) can be calculated” [0029]. Thus, curvature images are used to estimate the 3D coordinates of the point clouds, thus receiving a surface topography which comprises obtaining sampled surface points.)…
a defect indication receiver that receives an indication of a defect on the worksurface, proximate the surface curvature (As indicated above, the data processing device receives and localizes the indication of defects on the worksurface. Such worksurface approximations are determined based on surface curvatures, thus making the defects proximate the surface curvature.);
a robotic controller configured to, based on the defect indication, select a trajectory template for the worksurface (“The at least one defect is categorized based on the determined parameter set. That is, the defect is assigned to a defect category. A machining process stored in a database is selected in dependency of the defect category of the at least one defect. Each machining process is associated with at least one template of a machining path along which the defect is to be machined” [0011]. Thus, an indicated defect is assigned a category to which a trajectory template is determined. See Paragraph [0044] in which the data processing device which performs the trajectory selection additionally performs control of disclosed methods and thus will be determined as a robotic controller.),
a process constraint receiver that receives a parameter constraint for a robotic repair unit (“For each defect category K.sub.j a machining process R.sub.j for the robot-assisted machining of the surface defect is stored in a database (e.g. included in the memory of the data processing device 50 shown in FIG. 1). A machining process R.sub.j for the machining of a defect D.sub.i of a specific defect category K.sub.j is defined by a the tool to be used and the machining steps to be performed with the tool. A machining step is defined by one or more machining paths, which are defined by base points, a path velocity with which the machining paths are to be run through, as well as time and/or position-dependent trigger points on the machining paths at which specifiable actions may be triggered (e.g. change of process parameters such as, e.g., contact pressure, rotational speed, activation of a rotational and/or eccentric motion of the grinding tool and the like)” [0036]. Thus, the data processing device includes a memory which stores the parameter constraints for the machining path based on the tool being used and the severity of the defect.);
a trajectory modifier that modifies a trajectory template, wherein the trajectory modifier comprises a processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (“…the data processing device 50 may include one or more processors with a memory containing instructions that, when executed, cause the optical inspection system to perform the activities described herein” [0032]. Thus, the data processing device will be considered as the trajectory modifier that modifies a trajectory template with a processor and a memory which stores instructions that are executed by the processor to perform the designated trajectory transformation activities.), cause the processor to:
transform the trajectory template into a transformed trajectory, based on the surface curvature (“In accordance with one further embodiment, the method comprises the localization of defects in a surface of a workpiece as well as determining a three-dimensional topography of the localized defects and categorizing at least one localized defect based on its topography. Dependent on the defect category of the at least one defect, a machining process is selected” [0008]. “Each machining process may be associated with at least one template of a machining path along which the defect is to be machined. A machining path for the at least one defect may then be determined by means of projection of the at least one template onto the workpiece surface in accordance with a CAD model of the workpiece” [0010]. Thus, based on the detected/approximated topography which is further based on the surface curvature, a machining process is selected which produces a machining path which is modified from an original template when it is projected onto the approximated surface. The projection comprises a series of transformations and therefore is performed using “a transformer”.);
a repair plan generator that generates a repair plan based on the transformed trajectory and comprises, along the transformed trajectory, set process conditions (“A machining step is defined by one or more machining paths, which are defined by base points, a path velocity with which the machining paths are to be run through, as well as time and/or position-dependent trigger points on the machining paths at which specifiable actions may be triggered (e.g. change of process parameters such as, e.g., contact pressure, rotational speed, activation of a rotational and/or eccentric motion of the grinding tool and the like)” [0036]. Thus, the machining paths which are transformed as described above, include a plan with the defined trajectory and process conditions which the tool should adhere to when performing the machining.), the repair plan generator comprising:
a force modulator that sets an applied force of a tool on the worksurface; a velocity modulator that sets a velocity at which the tool moves across the worksurface; a tool speed modulator that sets a rotational speed of the tool (“The controller 40 does not only set the trajectory of the robot but also the tool-dependent parameters relevant to the repair process such as, e.g., contact pressure of the grinding tool 24, rotational speed or velocity of the abrasives and the like” [0033]. The controller sets the contact pressure (force), tool velocity, and tool rotational speed. Thus, the controller may serve as each of the force modulator, the velocity modulator, and the tool speed modulator.); an
a control signal generator that communicates the generated repair plan to a robot controller that automatically implements the repair plan and completes a defect repair based on the repair plan (“…in accordance with the selected machining process, a robot program for the robot-assisted machining of the at least one defect is generated with computer assistance” [0008]. Thus, the robot program implements the machining of the defect via the robot manipulator over the designated machining path, providing the appropriate control signal to the controller 40. Also see [0033] as disclosed above which describes the controller setting the trajectory for the machining performed by the robot.); and
wherein at least one of the applied force, the tool velocity, or the rotational tool speed is modulated as a function of the determined curvature along the transformed trajectory (“A machining step is defined by one or more machining paths, which are defined by base points, a path velocity with which the machining paths are to be run through, as well as time and/or position-dependent trigger points on the machining paths at which specifiable actions may be triggered (e.g. change of process parameters such as, e.g., contact pressure, rotational speed, activation of a rotational and/or eccentric motion of the grinding tool and the like)” [0036]. Thus, when the trajectory template is projected onto the three-dimensional surface, such position-dependent applied force and rotational tool speed are modulated such that each is a function of the determined curvature along the modified trajectory in which the trigger points for the profile are projected.).
However, Hausler does not explicitly teach … wherein receiving the surface topography comprises… fitting a polynomial surface model to the sampled points to determine surface curvature and a derivative of the curvature at each of a plurality of sampled surface locations…
identify a surface feature based on a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature determined from the polynomial surface model…
Kim, pertinent to the problem at hand, teaches … wherein receiving the surface topography comprises … fitting a polynomial surface model to the sampled points to determine surface curvature and a derivative of the curvature at each of a plurality of sampled surface locations (“An MLS surface [1, 9] is implicitly defined as the set of points that project on to themselves under the MLS projection. Approximating this surface involves two steps: the approximation of a local reference plane and the fitting of a local bivariate polynomial to points projected on to that reference plane” (Section 3.2). “We use the MLS approximation, together with a third-degree polynomial P, for estimating the curvatures (k max and k min) and their derivatives (e max and e min) at a point” (Section 3.4). Thus, there is an approximated surface topography which is received by fitting a bivariate polynomial surface model to the sampled points which are then used to estimate curvature and derivative of curvature at each point.)…
identify a surface feature based on a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature determined from the polynomial surface model (“Having found the maximal and minimal curvatures (k max and k min) and their derivatives (e max and e min) at each point r, we can detect ridges by finding the zero-crossings of curvature derivatives” (Section 3.5). Thus, there is a ridge, i.e., surface feature, corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature obtained from the polynomial surface model.)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hausler to include the calculated surface polynomial and derivative of curvature for the extraction of surface features as taught by Kim with a reasonable expectation for success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the approximation for the derivative of a curvature as taught by Kim reduces computational time for such an approximation (Kim, Page 269). Such a modification would be considered as a simple substitution in which the CAD model of Hausler could be substituted for the surface estimation as taught by Kim to obtain predictable results, given that Hausler already provides a three-dimensional estimation of the surface topography around the defect (see MPEP 2143.I(B)).
Regarding claim 10, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 9,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the transformer:
projects the surface feature into a 2-dimensional plane (The defect, i.e., surface feature, is projected into a defect plane which is a two dimensional plane defined by the vector which is normal to the center of the defect (see [0035]).);
maps the trajectory template to a boundary; transforms the mapped trajectory template, wherein transforming comprises modifying a trajectory parameter (“Dependent on the geometry of the workpiece, certain areas of the workpiece surface may not be able to be machined (e.g. design edges and the like). Such “forbidden areas” of the workpiece surface may be marked in the CAD model, for example, as a set of edges (depicted as spread lines), which must not overlap with a machining area (see FIG. 9, edge 11). Whether this is the case (i.e. an overlap exists) may be checked during the projection of the template onto the surface of the CAD model (FIG. 5, step S8). Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template… To calculate the machining path of the process for machining the defect D.sub.k, the machining path has been shifted and skewed in the present example to avoid an overlap with edge 11” [0042]. Thus, the machining path template is mapped to the surface boundary, which is in this case the edge 11, and the trajectory is transformed based on this initial mapping and the analysis of the edge position.); and
mapping the transformed trajectory to the surface topography, resulting in the transformed trajectory (Fig. 9 shows the resulting transformed trajectory for D.sub.k mapped to the surface.).
Regarding claim 12, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 9,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the surface sampling receiver receives surface samples from a camera (“FIG. 1 shows an example of a measurement system with a plurality of sensors, guided by manipulators (industrial robots), for the optical inspection, with the use of cameras, of the surface of a workpiece 10, for example, a car body painted with base coat and primer” [0028]. Thus, the inspection of the surface which receives the samples to be analyzed is performed by a camera.).
Regarding claim 13, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the system of claim 9,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the tool is a sander or polishing tool (Grinding is synonymous with sanding and thus the grinding tool 24 may be considered to be a sander.).
Regarding claim 14, Hausler teaches a method of removing material from a worksurface (“The present disclosure generally relates to the field of industrial robots, in particular to a system and a method for the automated detection of defects in surfaces (e.g. painting defects on a car body) and the robot-assisted machining thereof, in particular by grinding and polishing” [0002]. Thus, there is such a method of machining defects in a worksurface by grinding and polishing which equates to removing of material.), the method comprising:
identifying a target area on the worksurface for material removal (“The purpose of the surface inspection is a detection (this includes a localization) of surface defects and a three-dimensional measurement of at least those areas of the workpiece surface in or on which a defect has been detected” [0028]. Thus, a detected defect determines the target area of the worksurface.);
sampling a surface around the target area on the worksurface (“In the present example, manipulators 31, 32, and 33, equipped with sensor heads 21, 22, and 23, are employed in a robot cell and perform the surface inspection simultaneously” [0028]. The sensor heads collect image data which creates a point cloud, i.e., plurality of sampled points, over their designated inspection region, i.e., target area on the worksurface.);
modeling the surface and, based on the model, approximating a surface topography, wherein modeling the surface comprises obtaining sampled surface points (“The first result of a three-dimensional measurement of a defect candidate is a point cloud that describes the three-dimensional structure (the topography) of the relevant surface area. For each defect candidate, for example, its lateral extension (across the surface) and its height or depth (extension perpendicular to the surface) can be determined with great precision from the point clouds provided by the sensor heads 21, 22, and 23 (see also FIG. 3) using surface reconstruction” [0031]. Thus, the point cloud models the three-dimensional structure of the system, thereby detecting the topography of the surface. As described above, the sampling of the worksurface generates the point cloud data, and thus the modeling approximates the surface based on the obtained sampled surface points (see [0028]).)…
modifying a surface processing trajectory, using a transformer, based on the detected surface topography, wherein the transformed surface processing trajectory comprises a continuous curve through a series of waypoints (“In accordance with one further embodiment, the method comprises the localization of defects in a surface of a workpiece as well as determining a three-dimensional topography of the localized defects and categorizing at least one localized defect based on its topography. Dependent on the defect category of the at least one defect, a machining process is selected” [0008]. “Each machining process may be associated with at least one template of a machining path along which the defect is to be machined. A machining path for the at least one defect may then be determined by means of projection of the at least one template onto the workpiece surface in accordance with a CAD model of the workpiece” [0010]. Thus, based on the detected/approximated topography, a machining process is selected which produces a machining path which is modified from an original template when it is projected onto the approximated surface. The projection comprises a series of transformations and therefore is performed using “a transformer”. Additionally, it can be seen in Fig. 6-8 that the path is a continuous curve for each machining area through a series of preselected points, i.e., waypoints.);
generating a repair plan comprising, at each of the waypoints:
an applied force; a velocity; a rotational tool speed of a tool (“A machining step is defined by one or more machining paths, which are defined by base points, a path velocity with which the machining paths are to be run through, as well as time and/or position-dependent trigger points on the machining paths at which specifiable actions may be triggered (e.g. change of process parameters such as, e.g., contact pressure, rotational speed, activation of a rotational and/or eccentric motion of the grinding tool and the like)” [0036]. Thus, throughout the machining path, i.e., repair plan, there are set pressure (force), velocity, and rotational speed of the tool which may change depending on which waypoint triggers a transition.); and
a tool angle with respect to the worksurface (“The tool is aligned by the manipulator 24 such that the force F, which is exerted by tool 24 onto the surface of workpiece 10, is always effective normal to the direction of the respective surface (n.sub.i1′ or n.sub.i2′)” [0043]. Thus, the tool will analyze the surface such that the alignment, i.e., angle, results in a pressure force normal to the surface.);
wherein at least one of the applied force, the velocity, the rotational tool speed, or the tool angle is modulated as a function of the determined curvature along the transformed surface processing trajectory (“A machining step is defined by one or more machining paths, which are defined by base points, a path velocity with which the machining paths are to be run through, as well as time and/or position-dependent trigger points on the machining paths at which specifiable actions may be triggered (e.g. change of process parameters such as, e.g., contact pressure, rotational speed, activation of a rotational and/or eccentric motion of the grinding tool and the like)” [0036]. Thus, when the trajectory template is projected onto the three-dimensional surface, such position-dependent applied force and rotational tool speed are modulated such that each is a function of the determined curvature along the modified trajectory in which the trigger points for the profile are projected.), and
transmitting a control signal to a robotic material removal system, wherein the control signal comprises the repair plan (“…in accordance with the selected machining process, a robot program for the robot-assisted machining of the at least one defect is generated with computer assistance” [0008]. Thus, the robot program implements the machining of the defect via the robot manipulator over the designated machining path, providing the appropriate control signal to the controller 40.).
However, Hausler does not explicitly teach wherein modeling the surface comprises… fitting a polynomial surface model to the sampled points to determine surface curvature and a derivative of the curvature at each of a plurality of sampled surface locations;
identifying based on the polynomial surface model, a surface feature corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature…
Kim, pertinent to the problem at hand, teaches wherein modeling the surface comprises… fitting a polynomial surface model to the sampled points to determine surface curvature and a derivative of the curvature at each of a plurality of sampled surface locations (“An MLS surface [1, 9] is implicitly defined as the set of points that project on to themselves under the MLS projection. Approximating this surface involves two steps: the approximation of a local reference plane and the fitting of a local bivariate polynomial to points projected on to that reference plane” (Section 3.2). “We use the MLS approximation, together with a third-degree polynomial P, for estimating the curvatures (k max and k min) and their derivatives (e max and e min) at a point” (Section 3.4). Thus, there is an approximated surface topography which is received by fitting a bivariate polynomial surface model to the sampled points which are then used to estimate curvature and derivative of curvature at each point.);
identifying based on the polynomial surface model, a surface feature corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature (“Having found the maximal and minimal curvatures (k max and k min) and their derivatives (e max and e min) at each point r, we can detect ridges by finding the zero-crossings of curvature derivatives” (Section 3.5). Thus, there is a ridge, i.e., surface feature, corresponding to a zero-crossing of the derivative of curvature based on the polynomial surface model.)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hausler to include the calculated surface polynomial and derivative of curvature for the extraction of surface features as taught by Kim with a reasonable expectation for success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the approximation for the derivative of a curvature as taught by Kim reduces computational time for such an approximation (Kim, Page 269). Such a modification would be considered as a simple substitution in which the CAD model of Hausler could be substituted for the surface estimation as taught by Kim to obtain predictable results, given that Hausler already provides a three-dimensional estimation of the surface topography around the defect (see MPEP 2143.I(B)).
Regarding claim 15, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 14,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the transformer transforms the surface processing trajectory by:
projecting the surface processing trajectory into a 2-dimensional plane (“These machining paths are stored (e.g. in the mentioned database) in the form of templates, which are defined in a plane (the defect plane) independently from the actual geometry of the workpiece” [0039]. Thus, the template is projected onto the 2-dimensional plane which is the defect plane.);
mapping the surface process trajectory to a surface boundary within the surface topography; transforming the mapped surface process trajectory; (“Dependent on the geometry of the workpiece, certain areas of the workpiece surface may not be able to be machined (e.g. design edges and the like). Such “forbidden areas” of the workpiece surface may be marked in the CAD model, for example, as a set of edges (depicted as spread lines), which must not overlap with a machining area (see FIG. 9, edge 11). Whether this is the case (i.e. an overlap exists) may be checked during the projection of the template onto the surface of the CAD model (FIG. 5, step S8). Also in this case, an attempt may be made to avoid an overlap by use of a transformation (shift, rotation, scaling, skew) of the respective template… To calculate the machining path of the process for machining the defect D.sub.k, the machining path has been shifted and skewed in the present example to avoid an overlap with edge 11” [0042]. Thus, the machining path template is mapped to the surface boundary, which is in this case the edge 11, and the trajectory is transformed based on this initial mapping and the analysis of the edge position.) and
mapping the transformed trajectory to a surface topography of the worksurface to obtain the transformed surface processing trajectory (Fig. 9 shows the resulting transformed trajectory for D.sub.k and its associated interpolation mapped to the surface.).
Regarding claim 16, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 15,
with Hausler further teaching …smoothing the mapped surface process trajectory (The path is formed using spline interpolation, which is smoothing (see [0039] and [0040]).).
Regarding claim 18, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 14,
with Hausler further teaching wherein a target area comprises a defect (“The purpose of the surface inspection is a detection (this includes a localization) of surface defects and a three-dimensional measurement of at least those areas of the workpiece surface in or on which a defect has been detected” [0028]. Thus, the area which is inspected, i.e., target area, is determined to comprise a defect.).
Regarding claim 19, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 14,
with Hausler further teaching wherein sampling a surface comprises a vision system imaging the surface (“FIG. 1 shows an example of a measurement system with a plurality of sensors, guided by manipulators (industrial robots), for the optical inspection, with the use of cameras, of the surface of a workpiece 10, for example, a car body painted with base coat and primer” [0028]. Thus, the inspection of the surface, i.e., sampling, is performed by a camera which images the worksurface.).
Regarding claim 20, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 14,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the applied force at each of the waypoints is a modified applied force, modified by a force modifier based on the surface topography (“During the machining, the machining tool is always pressed onto the workpiece 10 perpendicular to the workpiece surface with a defined, adjustable force” [0039]. Thus, the force applied to the machining path is adjustable, i.e., modified, based on the angle at which the tool must be rotated in order to be pressed perpendicular to the surface.).
Regarding claim 21, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 14,
with Hausler further teaching wherein modifying the surface processing trajectory comprises a homeomorphic transformation of a trajectory template (“The template may be adapted to the defect D.sub.i dependent on its lateral extension, e.g. by means of transformation by shifting, rotating, scaling or skewing or an arbitrary combination of shifting, rotating, scaling and skewing” [0041]. Such shifting, rotating, scaling, and skewing are homeomorphic transformations.).
Regarding claim 22, Hausler as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 14,
with Hausler further teaching wherein the modified trajectory comprises a discontinuous trajectory (“When the machining paths belonging to different machining processes R.sub.j R.sub.k, lie too closely side by side such an overlap may occur. Whether an overlap (i.e. a collision of two machining processes) will occur can be determined during the projection (FIG. 5, step S8). …in the event of two neighboring defects D.sub.i, D.sub.k of different categories, it may be checked (with the use of software), whether an overlap can be avoided when applying a transformation to the respective templates (see FIG. 8)” [0041]. Thus, the transformation of the template shown in Fig. 8(a) is modified such that two discontinuous trajectories are projected over respective defects.).
Conclusion
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656