DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 01/15/2024.
Claims 14-16 have been cancelled.Claims 1-13 and 17-22 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (US 2021/0337517).
As of claim 1, LI discloses a resource pool configuration method, applied to a first-type terminal (para [0147] [FIG.1] a transmit end terminal (a terminal 1)), comprising:
determining resource pool configuration information (para [0156] discloses a base station sends configuration information A to a terminal 1, where the configuration information A is used to configure an SL BWP the terminal 1 the terminal 1 determines a frequency range of a transmission resource pool #A based on the configuration information A which corresponds to first-type terminal determines resource pool configuration information);
wherein the resource pool configuration information is used to indicate a frequency domain bandwidth of one or more resource pools (para [0176] the base station configures a plurality of SL BWP transmission resource pools), para [0128] [0156] discloses the frequency range of the transmission resource pool #A is included in a frequency range of the SL BWP), and
the frequency domain bandwidth belongs to a bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal (para [0159] disclose the bandwidth capability is used to determine configuration information of a sidelink BWP that includes bandwidth information of the sidelink BWP. A bandwidth of the sidelink BWP satisfies any one of the following conditions: the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a maximum value in a transmit bandwidth capability of the terminal and a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal; or the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a minimum value in a transmit bandwidth capability of the terminal and a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal; or the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal with corresponds to a bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal).
As of claim 7, LI discloses resource pool configuration method, applied to a second-type terminal, comprising: in response to determining that a terminal performing sidelink communication is a first-type terminal ([0149] a base station configure a transmission resource pool and a receiving resource pool for the transmit end terminal (terminal 1) (=first type terminal) and configure a transmission resource pool and a receiving resource pool for the receive end terminal (terminal 2 or second type terminal) based on one or more resource pools satisfying a capability of the first-type terminal (para [0128] [0159] disclose the user equipment report information about a bandwidth capability of the UE which is used to determine configuration information of a sidelink BWP wherein the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a maximum value in a transmit bandwidth capability of the terminal and a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal; or the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal (=resource pools satisfying a capability of the first-type terminal), which corresponds to second-type terminal determine that a terminal performing sidelink communication is a first-type terminal based on resource pools satisfying a capability of the first-type terminal),
performing the sidelink communication with the first- type terminal (para [0149] [0150] discloses the sidelink transmission resource pool is used for sidelink sending, and the sidelink receiving resource pool is used for sidelink receiving).
As of claim 10, LI discloses resource pool configuration method, applied to a network device, comprising: determining resource pool configuration information (para [0149] a base station (=a network device) configure a transmission resource pool and a receiving resource pool for the terminals),
wherein the resource pool configuration information is used to indicate a frequency domain bandwidth of one or more resource pools (para [0176] disclose the base station configures a plurality of SL BWP transmission resource pools), para [0177] [0156] disclose the frequency range of the transmission resource pool #A is included in a frequency range of the SL BWP), and sending the resource pool configuration information. Para [0156] discloses a base station sends configuration information A (=resource pool configuration information) to a terminal 1).
As of claims 2 and 11, rejection of claims 1 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further discloses the resource pool configuration information is used to indicate a plurality of resource pools (para [0177] discloses the base station configures a plurality of SL BWP transmission resource pools).
As of claims 3 and 12, rejection of claims 2 and 11 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering the plurality of resource pools belongs to the bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal (para [0170] discloses a BWP is a segment of bandwidth in a carrier, and a bandwidth of the BWP be less than or equal to a bandwidth supported by the bandwidth capability of the terminal. The bandwidth supported by the bandwidth capability of the terminal be less than or equal to a carrier bandwidth (BW) (=total bandwidth). When the base station configures a BWP for the terminal, different bandwidths be configured for different BWPs).
As of claim 4, rejection of claim 2 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering the plurality of resource pools is greater than the bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal (para [0129] discloses the bandwidth supported by the bandwidth capability of the terminal be less than or equal to a carrier bandwidth (BW), para [0252] [0288] discloses a maximum radio frequency bandwidth supported by a system (=a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering the plurality of resource pools) which corresponds to a total bandwidth is greater than a bandwidth capability range supported by a first-type terminal); and the resource pool configuration method further comprises: within first time, monitoring partial resource pools of the plurality of resource pools; (para [0158] the frequency range (=total bandwidth) of the transmission resource pool #A (=partial resource pools) is included in a frequency range of the SL BWP which corresponds to monitoring partial resource pools);
wherein a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering the partial resource pools belongs to the bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal. para [0156] [0159] disclose the frequency range of the transmission resource pool #A is included in a frequency range of the SL BWP and information about the bandwidth capability is used to determine configuration information of a sidelink BWP).
As of claim 5, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose sending capability information to another device different from the first-type terminal, wherein the capability information is used to indicate a capability of the first-type terminal (para [0159] discloses the user equipment report information about a bandwidth capability of the UE to the base station (=another device different from the first-type terminal).
As of claim 9, rejection of claim 7 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose the one or more resource pools satisfying the capability of the first-type terminal are determined from a plurality of resource pools (para [0159] discloses a bandwidth of the sidelink BWP satisfies any one of the following conditions: the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a maximum value in a transmit bandwidth capability of the terminal and a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal; or the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a minimum value in a transmit bandwidth capability of the terminal and a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal; or the bandwidth of the sidelink BWP is less than or equal to a receive bandwidth capability of the terminal).
As of claim 17, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose a resource pool configuration apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the resource pool configuration method (para [0390] [FIG. 20] disclose the communications apparatus 2000 (=UE) includes one or more processors 2001 one or more memories 2002).
As of claim 18, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose a non-transitory storage medium, storing instructions that when executed by one or more a processor of a terminal causes the terminal to perform the resource pool configuration (para [0079] [0124] discloses the storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed by a processor causes the terminal to perform the resource pool configuration method).
As of claims 19 and 20, rejection of claims 7 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose a resource pool configuration apparatus, comprising: a memory; one or more processors that are communicatively coupled to the memory; wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to perform the resource pool configuration method (para [0390]
[FIG. 20] disclose the communications apparatus 2000 (=UE) includes one or more processors 2001 one or more memories 2002).
As of claims 21 and 22, rejection of claims 7 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose a non-transitory storage medium storing instruction that when executed by one or more processors of a terminal causes the terminal to perform the resource pool configuration method (para [0079] [0124] discloses the storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed by a processor causes the terminal to perform the resource pool configuration method).
As of claim 13, rejection of claim 11 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI further disclose wherein a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering the plurality of resource pools is greater than a bandwidth capability range supported by a first-type terminal (para [0129] discloses the bandwidth supported by the bandwidth capability of the terminal be less than or equal to a carrier bandwidth (BW), para [0252] a maximum radio frequency bandwidth supported by a system (=a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering the plurality of resource pools) which corresponds to a total bandwidth is greater than a bandwidth capability range supported by a first-type terminal); and
a total bandwidth of continuous resources covering partial resource pools of the plurality of resource pools belongs to the bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal (para [0158] the frequency range (=total bandwidth) of the transmission resource pool #A (=partial resource pools) is included in a frequency range of the SL BWP and para [0159] discloses the information about the bandwidth capability is used to determine configuration information of a sidelink BWP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US 2021/0337517) in view of ZHAO et al. (WO 2020227869).
As of claim 6, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI does not explicitly disclose but in the same field of endeavor ZHAO teaches in response to determining that a frequency domain span between monitoring resource pools to be switched is greater than the bandwidth capability range supported by the first-type terminal, stopping data transmission and reception within second time (ZHAO, [Figure 4e]:
the maximum bandwidth supported by UE1 is 100MHz, and the network equipment configures 4 resource pools for UE1. Among them, resource pool 1 is located in the 10MHz bandwidth, resource pool 2 is located in the 0-50MHz bandwidth, resource pool 3 and resource pool 4 is within a bandwidth of 60-100 MHz, the maximum bandwidth supported by UE2 is 10MHz, and the network device configures 1 resource pool for UE2, denoted as resource pool 1, which is located within the 10MHz bandwidth, UE1 and UE2 first need to exchange their respective capability information, so within the bandwidth range supported by both UE1 and UE2, a resource pool is selected for side-line data transmission, therefore if the resource pools is switched to any of the resource pool 2, resource pool 3 or resource pool 4 which has greater bandwidth capability range than the bandwidth capability range supported by the terminal UE2, it is obvious to stop or prevent UE2 for data transmission and reception with using resources pools 2,3, or 4 with the limited 10MHz capability).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of LI with the teaching of ZHAO in order to improve bandwidth utilization using the corresponding resource pool for side-line data transmission as taught by ZHAO.
As of claim 8, rejection of claim 7 cited above incorporated herein, in addition LI disclose in para [0159] the user equipment report a bandwidth capability of the UE (=first-type termina) to the base station, but LI does not does explicitly disclose second-type terminal receives capability information from the first-type terminal however in the same field of endeavor ZHAO teaches receiving capability information from the first-type terminal, wherein the capability information is used to indicate the capability of the first-type terminal (ZHAO, [Fig. 4e] discloses UE1 (=first-type terminal) and UE2 (=second-type terminal) exchange their respective bandwidth supported capability information, that implies second-type terminal receives capability information from the first-type terminal).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of LI with the teaching of ZHAO in order to improve bandwidth utilization using the corresponding resource pool for side-line data transmission as taught by ZHAO.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471