DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The patent US 10209667 discussed in the specification on page 1, has been considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/15/2024 are acceptable for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHOU (CN205193435U, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, ZHOU teaches a switch device 24 for a toner port of a toner container, comprising: a base (2410) for accommodating the toner container, wherein the base (2410) has a toner outlet (2400); a rotating block (26) having a toner discharge channel (24, opening), wherein the rotating block (26) is rotatably coupled to the base (2410); and a driving sliding plate (30) for driving the rotating block (26) to rotate, wherein the toner port 1155 of the toner container is opened when the rotating block (26) rotates to a position where the toner discharge channel (11520) communicates with the toner outlet (2400), and the toner port 1155 of the toner container is closed when the toner discharge channel (11520) does not communicate with the toner outlet 2400 (figures 21, 25-30, 33, 36, [0137-0140]).
Regarding claim 2, the switch device 24 further comprising: a connecting rod (262), which has a first end coupled to the rotating block (26) for driving the rotating block (26) to rotate and a second end connected to the driving sliding plate 30 (figure 25).
Regarding claim 7, the rotating block (26) comprises a rotating block plate part (30), and the toner outlet (2400) of the base (24) is closed by the rotating block plate part (30, via holes 302a) when the rotating block 30 rotates to a position where the toner discharge channel (11520) does not communicate with the toner outlet (2400) of the base (24), so as to achieve closing the toner port of the toner container (figure 31; [0143-0144]).
Regarding claim 8, the driving sliding plate (6) comprises a first holding portion (6-2), at which the driving sliding plate (6) is driven to slide when the toner container is loaded.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the rotating block (30) has a circular shape, a fanned shape, a V-shape or other irregular shapes (30, shape shown in figure 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (CN205193435U, cited by applicant) in view of PENG et al. (CN 109856937A).
Zhou teaches regarding claim 3, a switch device 24 further comprising: [a compressed sealing [cotton piece]], which is attached on the rotating block (26), has a first toner discharge hole (2400, in switch), and is located between the base (24) and the rotating block (26)(this is unclear with respect to the specification) after installation, wherein the first toner discharge hole (2400) is coaxial with the toner discharge channel (11520) of the rotating block (26).
ZHOU does not teach the full recitations of claims 3 for a cotton seal.
However, it is known in the art to place a seal around toner discharge hole. Regarding claim 3, PENG teaches a cotton seal (abstract).
ZHOU and PENG are concerned with developing device that accept toner cartridges. ZHOU teaches the use of seals [0081] but PENG teaches a seal formed of cotton (abstract).
The rationale for combining the teachings of PENG with the teachings of ZHOU relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to a known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of PENG with the teaching of ZHOU to obtain sealing with the inherent properties of cotton for a discharging hole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CHIESA (US 6,363,235 B1) teaches a toner bottle with shutter system.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG