DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-16, 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malani (WO-2020206030).
In regards to claim 12, Malani teaches a connection unit for at least one vibration-tube module of a modular measuring device for determining the density of a measurement medium, the connection unit comprising: (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042])
a measurement-medium inlet, which extends along a first axis; (100 fig. 1; para [0045])
a measurement-medium outlet, which extends along a second axis; (100 fig. 1; para [0046])
a first vibration-tube inlet, which is fluidically connected to the measurement-medium inlet; and (fig. 1; para [0045])
a first vibration-tube outlet, which is fluidically connected to the measurement-medium outlet, (fig. 1; para [0046])
wherein the measurement-medium inlet and the measurement-medium outlet are opposite each other, separated from each other with respect to a first plane, and mechanically connected to each other by at least one support unit, and (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042])
wherein the first axis and the second axis each form an angle of greater than 45° to the first plane. (100, 144A, 148A, 149A, 144B, 148B, 149B fig. 1, ‘discloses inlet and outlet flow path assemblies of the Y block. With inlet and out let that is greater than 45° if a plane is driven in the device 100.’)
In regards to claim 13, Malani teaches a connection unit according to claim 12, (see claim rejection 12) further comprising a mounting region configured to detachably fasten the connection unit in a modular measuring device. (165 fig. 1, ‘enclosure lid’; 1120 fig. 11A, ‘support’; 1220, 1230 fig. 12, ‘cradle’, ‘latch’)
In regards to claim 14, Malani teaches a connection unit according to claim 12, (see claim rejection 12) wherein the connection unit is made of a material comprising a plastic. (para(s) [0004, 0006, 0032, 0039])
In regards to claim 15, Malani teaches a connection unit according to claim 12, (see claim rejection 12) wherein the first vibration-tube inlet extends along a third axis and the first vibration-tube outlet extends along a fourth axis, the third axis and the fourth axis lying in a second plane, which is arranged orthogonally to the first plane. (‘fig 1 shows and inlet path 142A though a hose barb 149A a first inlet and a U-shaped flow tube with a fist vibrational portion of the first tube in its defined axis and a second portion of second vibrational portion of second tube defined in its axis with a barb 148B and outlet.’)
In regards to claim 16, Malani teaches a connection unit according to claim 12, (see claim rejection 12) further comprising a second vibration- tube inlet, which is fluidically connected to the measurement-medium inlet, and a second vibration-tube outlet, which is fluidically connected to the measurement-medium outlet, such that the connection unit is operable for a second vibration tube of the modular measuring device. (‘fig 1 shows and inlet path 142A though a hose barb 149A a first inlet and a U-shaped flow tube with a fist vibrational portion of the first tube in its defined axis and a second portion of second vibrational portion of second tube defined in its axis with a barb 148B and outlet.’)
In regards to claim 18, Malani teaches vibration-tube module for a modular measuring device, the vibration-tube module comprising: : (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042])
a connection unit according to claim 12, (‘fig 1 shows and inlet path 142A though a hose barb 149A a first inlet and a U-shaped flow tube with a fist vibrational portion of the first tube in its defined axis and a second portion of second vibrational portion of second tube defined in its axis with a barb 148B and outlet.’)
a first vibration tube including a fixing portion, a first tube entrance, and a first tube exit, (100 fig. 1; para [0045-0046])
wherein the fixing portion is complementary to a fastening region of the connection unit, and wherein the fixing portion is connected to the fastening region in a force-closed manner by gluing, screwing, welding, or riveting, and (165 fig. 1, ‘enclosure lid’; 1120 fig. 11A, ‘support’; 1220, 1230 fig. 12, ‘cradle’, ‘latch’)
wherein the first tube entrance is connected to the first vibration-tube inlet of the connection unit, and the first tube exit is connected to the first vibration-tube outlet of the connection unit. (‘fig 1 shows and inlet path 142A though a hose barb 149A a first inlet and a U-shaped flow tube with a fist vibrational portion of the first tube in its defined axis and a second portion of second vibrational portion of second tube defined in its axis with a barb 148B and outlet.’)
In regards to claim 19, Malani teaches a vibration-tube module according to claim 18, (see claim rejection 18) wherein a pin of the fixing portion is welded to a through hole of the fastening region. (165 fig. 1, ‘enclosure lid’; 1120 fig. 11A, ‘support’; 1220, 1230 fig. 12, ‘cradle’, ‘latch’; para(s) [0074-0076, 00104], ‘;discloses methods to attach bottom portions of pipes for example molding, glue, epoxy.’)
In regard to claim 20, Malani teaches a modular measuring device for determining the density of a measurement medium, the modular measuring device comprising: (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042])
a vibration-tube module according toa vibration-tube module according to a holding device operable to being connected to the mounting region of the connection unit as to detachably fasten the vibration-tube module in the holding device. (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042]; 165 fig. 1, ‘enclosure lid’; 1120 fig. 11A, ‘support’; 1220, 1230 fig. 12, ‘cradle’, ‘latch’)
In regards to claim 21, Malani teaches a modular measuring device according to claim 20, (see claim rejection 20) further comprising a locking element for releasably locking the vibration-tube module in the measuring device in the mounting region. (165 fig. 1, ‘enclosure lid’; 1120 fig. 11A, ‘support’; 1220, 1230 fig. 12, ‘cradle’, ‘latch’)
In regards to claim 22, Malani teaches a modular measuring device according to claim 21, (see claim rejection 21) wherein the locking element is a clamping lock. (165 fig. 1, ‘enclosure lid’; 1120 fig. 11A, ‘support’; 1220, 1230 fig. 12, ‘cradle’, ‘latch’)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malani (WO-2020206030).
In regards to claim 17, Malani teaches a connection unit for at least one vibration-tube module of a modular measuring device for determining the density of a measurement medium, the connection unit comprising: (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042])
a measurement-medium inlet, which extends along a first axis; (100 fig. 1; para [0045])
a measurement-medium outlet, which extends along a second axis; a tubular support unit, which includes a tube inlet and a tube outlet; (100 fig. 1; para [0046])
a first vibration-tube inlet, which is fluidically connected to the measurement-medium inlet; (fig. 1; para [0045])
a first vibration-tube outlet, which is connected to the tube inlet of the tubular support unit; (fig. 1; para [0045])
a second vibration-tube inlet, which is connected to the tube outlet of the tubular support unit; and (100 fig. 1; para [0046])
a second vibration-tube outlet, which is fluidically connected to the measurement-medium outlet, (100 fig. 1; para [0046])
wherein the measurement-medium inlet and the measurement-medium outlet are opposite each other, separated from each other with respect to a first plane, and mechanically connected to each other by the tubular support unit, and (100 fig. 1, 1100 fig. 11A, ‘flow sensor’; ‘flow sensor’; 1200 fig. 12, ‘flow sensor’; abstract; para(s) [0034-0035, 0041-0042])
wherein the first axis and the second axis each form an angle of greater than 450 to the first plane. (100, 144A, 148A, 149A, 144B, 148B, 149B fig. 1, ‘discloses inlet and outlet flow path assemblies of the Y block. With inlet and out let that is greater than 45° if a plane is driven in the device 100.’)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Werner (CN-121057925), Cage (US 4,768,385), and Keita(US 2011/0088486) references further describe a modularized Coriolis flowmeter as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852